Love me when i live, not when I die...

52 72
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

There was a poem I wrote sometime back, it was inspired by a true life story a friend of mine told me.

The Story.

He told me of a pastor who was pretty much close to his mother.

This pastor had a church and also had members (atleast few members).

It was going on pretty well, till one fateful day when an incident occurred

It rained heavily on that fateful day; heavily enough to collapse the whole building of the church. I guess the foundation of the church wasn't strong enough.

No life was lost, but this Pastor became extremely sad, he was downcast and started pleading with his Church members to assist him with funds to rebuild his church.

No one came to the rescue, the pastor developed an high blood pressure and fell seriously ill, it was then he came to meet my friend's mother and narrated his ordeal to her.

Sighs...

She assisted in the best way she could, but I guess it wasn't enough. He died.

His burial.

The rate of people who came to attend his funeral made my friend wonder and kept wondering:

Where were all these people when he needed them the most?

They made his funeral a grand one, bought the best coffin to place his dead body in.

What triggered my tears was when I heard that after this Pastor's death, they all gathered money to rebuild his church as a way of paying their last respect to him. They rebuilt his Church.

They rebuilt his church!! Why didn't they do this when he was very much alive and badly needed their help? Where were they when he needed them the most? When his church collapsed? When he felt ill? When he asked and begged for help? Where were they?

Of what use is their help now that he's dead? Of what use is the grand funeral they hosted for him?

The money they spent for the burial ceremony would have gone a long way in helping him when he was alive.

Where were they when he was alive?

The truth is that; people have normalized not helping you in time of distress or need, it has become normal for people to stretch forth their hands to help or you when you're gone.

They attend one's funeral, shedding crocodile tears, lamenting and wishing falsely that you were still with them.

How Sad!!.

Honor me when am alive, not when am dead. I want to embrace the feeling of love you share.

I want to know that I'm loved and cherished. If you can't love me when am alive, hale and hearty, if you can't aid and rescue me when I'm sick and dying, then don't love me when I die.

I would have said much more, but this article is quite connected to my next article; which I'll share tomorrow to buttress more on this topic.

It's always best to do what you can to help save a life, than to do nothing and do everything when that life is gone.

Sponsorship renewal:

It's one thing to be sponsored and it's another thing for that sponsorship to be renewed, I want to extend my deepest gratitude to these great and top-notch writers on this great platform.

To @Talecharm and @MichaelBCH , thanks immensely for the sponsorship renewal.

I'll reply to all the comments on my previous article and attend to other unread articles tonight, I couldn't do that yesterday because I was indisposed.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

25
$ 3.45
$ 2.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.08 from @Aimure
+ 20
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

There's a popular saying in my language that says that " People are Enemies while alive, Friends at death". When I go to a deceased's place and see people cry. I discover that some of them there might have done their best to salvage the situation, while some persons there who I'm sure were not even in Talking terms with the deceased would also be crying.

Like if there's anything you have to do for me, do it now that I'm still alive, not when I'm dead. What's the usefulness of the beautiful coffin, when that money would have saved and extended his life span by 10 yrs or more. Why didn't they build the church while he was still alive? They had to begin the building project when he's dead. It's not right in any sense but those are the characteristics of humans, we shouldn't expect anything less

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Wow! I love what your language says, it covers it all. Honestly; they cry so well, acting like they truly cared.

A beautiful coffin can't be compared to a life, you've said it all. With humans, (sighs) we shouldn't expect anything less.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It seems this is a Nigerians kinda mentality, I dunnot know much, but I think it is. This is one thing I hear of at least twice in two months. I think I should attribute it to the fact that people here like ceremonies, they don't care whether they go bankrupt or not, all they want is to celebrate, even things that aren't worth celebrating. May the Almighty help us

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, it's a Nigeria kind of mentality, hmm, this is true, never really thought of this. People love ceremonies ooh, buying of clothes for parties and the likes.

Amen Mich.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes people what we need have their excuse for not helping us this time it could be familial case or anything that couldn't be discussed in public.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't have any other remark but to express my dejected heart for the pastor's life. He did everything he could, but the members didn't come to his aid not until he died with a shattered and disappointed heart.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's really sad and indeed painful, sometimes life could be so unfair.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a very sad reality Ella. One quote says you're only loved twice in your lifetime, the day you're born and the day you die.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmm, deep, this quote explains alot. it's the deepest fact I've seen about life; explained with few words

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our world is full of these stories. We need to understand people before when they are buried inside of earth. We should understand by their feelings. It is natural here world know your worth after when you have died.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes! And it has become the norms of the world, it keeps happening over and over again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People are fond of doing this thing. They like to lavish money on the dead who may have suffered while alive. I wonder if they have no shame at all...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They obviously have no shame, it's just so pathetic.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nigerians are very fond of this, you see someone who didn't care for his or her parents throwing lavish party at their funeral.

Or someone passing through medical issue not being supported but when the person passes away then they stretch forth their hands to the dead person relative.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly Mr Tomi, they are so very fond of doing this. They love showoffs.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This story has given a deep meaning because indeed almost everyone also applies the same pattern in essence everyone will regret it in the end and they will think of someone who has left by doing his last message.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is the sad reality of today's world.. People only pretend to care when the person is no more. It's all for show off. Even if they promise to take care of the late man kids, they would only so it for a sort while and when no one is looking again. They'd drop them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's really sad and it happens alot in the world we live in. honestly, it's just for show off. This...🥺 They truly never do. Really pathetic.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

LoL. So, another pastor will now pastor the church they built or na the man ghost. That's not an honour to the man.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Asin ehn, I really don't even understand why they decided to still rebuild the church.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your title of that article I use most of the time with my family and friends. Because Lover should love in live not after die.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true sis, it so sad when some people start to show that they care, when someone is already gone, but the moment they still alive they even think about them. A very sad reality😞

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear, it's just so pathetic.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most of the time it happened, I was always curious why people attend when they died, but when someone stays alive and ill, no one was there.. that was so sad.. 😩

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Honestly! It's just so pathetic, and it's quite unfortunate that it's what has become the norms.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was such a heartbreaking moment, but I think it is the reality. People only sees your worth when you die. People start telling stories about you and how good you are, but they forgot to do it when you are still alive. Such a sad reality.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly! A really sad reality

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is indeed a great lesson ,, the poem makes me remember some memories with my grandmother ... Good topic sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang lungkot naman nun,,,pero totoo naman talaga maraming tao ang my ganyang pag uugali,,

$ 0.01
1 year ago

And this has become a norm in this world, we keep hearing this hard to adjust 😭. This example you gave, I've witnessed it I'm different occasions, massive and talk of the Town kind of burial but it was hunger that killed the deceased 🤦

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Honestly, it's so sad, really sad... Aaah! Imagine what killed him, and there was enough food in his burial!. Aaaah!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Imagine someone that died of hunger, there was enough food in his burial, the truth is that people just like showing up when the person is gone and they will want to show off what they got by taking charge of almost everything in the burial.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, that's just how the world is. They are so available when a person dies.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is what Laycon said in one of his songs that he wants to smell his roses while he is alive. We need to value people and cherish them while they are alive and not when they are dead and can no longer feel their worth. That's bad of humans cos they are fond of that, they can borrow you money to drink and be useless but can't borrow you money to go to school and learn.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sighs...issues of life, exactly, they can borrow a person money to do useless things, but they can't borrow to help finance the future of the person.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is sad but it is the world we live in today .. i once saw a quote that said “ at a man’s funeral there was a lot of food and drinks to eat but guess what the man died of hunger”

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! Imagine, goodness, such a world indeed. This is so sad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Every person wants to be loved while living, and to be helped when he asks for help. But unfortunately people are bad. They realize the value of something after it dies.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly! They realize its value after it dies and some don't even realize it at all. They just put up a show of fake concern.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

maybe even their attitude is a lie. even tears

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Best song for this article is by partoraking titled : celebrate me If you listen to the song and what it means, you would understand what this article is saying.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Really! Wow! I should, I really should download that song. Thanks Fash.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Night walker lady

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol 😂 boss, you're also online. 😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can relate very well to this, it is sad to see people coming up the help when it is irrelevant. Nigerians are so good at this, they can't help you with 5k but they can buy lace of 100k to attend burial.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So true, I don't just know if they just fancy seeing the dead. Maybe that's prolly why they do this almost all times.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its the new normal. The saddest part is that it would cost no more than a fraction of the burial cost to actually help the person oo

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Honestly ooh, exactly! To help them when they were alive would even have been cheaper ooh, but they prefer spending exorbitantly to celebrate the dead...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very beautiful and inspiring you said my dear Ella. We should try to save a life, not mourn when that life is gone. How good it is for our loved ones to cherish and love them while they are alive. What is the use of cherishing and loving them after their death?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No use my dear Ellen, cherishing and loving them when they're gone has no use to me...it's always best to cherish them when they're alive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's sad when people only try to do something for you or something for your loved ones in your name when you're dead, when I fact they have not been around to offer you any hand when you're alive.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly Dan, it's just so sad and unfortunately that's just how life is.

$ 0.00
1 year ago