What If You Were the Last Person on Earth?

61 91
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Earth, What If, Survival

The other day, I read a post on noise.cash from Sydney saying that she got to watch a recommended video on YouTube asking the question,

"What if you were the last person on Earth?"

I recalled that I also got to read or watch almost the same weird question on YouTube before from the same YouTube channel, What If?

So to visualize this question, let's put our imagination to work.

Imagine that one day, you wake up without the noise of your parents to wake you up, or no gossiping neighbors, no noisy vehicles roaming around, no other person around you but yourself, and everything that used to work is no longer working. There's no news from the Television because there are no newscasters and anchors. You can't access your social media accounts and the apps are no longer working because there are no employees to monitor them. And then you realize that you are the only person living on the planet.

So technically speaking, you can now access and enjoy almost everything that was established when there were still other people existing with you.

And because you are the last person, you can drive any car you want, eat any food you crave for that are in the convenience store, you can travel anywhere as long as you know how to drive your own car, and you can stroll inside the mall for as long as you want. And basically speaking, everything belongs to you.

So what would you feel? Are you delighted and excited? Or would you be sad and worried?

Do you think you would last with this kind of situation? For how long?

"What if you were the last person on Earth?"

This question is uncomfortable to think of but let me answer this one from my own point of view and preference.

I am an introvert. I enjoy my own company. I don't really rely so much with other people. I somehow feel like I can survive even if I don't interact with others. I have been isolating myself even before the pandemic came. I can stay all day inside my room for a month or even a year just so I don't get into physical contact with others and talk to them.

I can live all by myself, or so I thought.

If I was the only person on Earth, I would then get to have a great sleep and wake up with enthusiasm because no noise disturbed me while I was asleep. I don't have to worry about being late in school anymore because there are no longer classes to attend to. I can be lazy all day and nobody will get mad at me for doing so. I can go wherever I want and do anything I want without worrying about what other people would think of because they don't exist. I can then get to enjoy all of the good things that I wasn't able to enjoy and try all the things I haven't tried in my life.

I can be weird, commit mistakes, do something stupid, and laugh at myself without the feeling of embarrassment because there are no other eyes looking at my every action.

If I was the last person on Earth, I would feel that a total freedom was given to me.

However, I don't know if how long would I last with this kind of situation.

Yes, I would be happy that finally I get to wake up in the morning not because of any disturbances but because my body clock woke me up. I would get to cook my own food and just take care of myself without thinking of other people.

I would survive but living will become meaningless and life will be pointless.

A wise man once said,

"No man is an island."

No matter how independent you seem you are. Even if you think that you can survive your life without the help of anyone. Just because you are used to being alone and having someone to bug you around seems irritating. It is still impossible to live a good life without anyone else around you.

Because at one point or another, in any circumstances, it is undeniable that we need other people more than we think.

Living your life without your parents beside you is pointless. Having no friends to hang out with is boring. Life is not memorable if we don't get to create fun memories with our loved ones.

Without our teachers, we wouldn't learn anything in school. Without the bus driver, we wouldn't get to arrive to our destination. Without the farmers and fisher folks, there wouldn't be any food to eat. Without the doctors, nurses, and medical staff, the sick people wouldn't be cured. Without the engineers and architects, no buildings would rise.

Though it seems peaceful to live alone, all of the people living on this planet and the strangers we meet every day, have their own role and impact in our lives.

Even that old friend who became an enemy and afterwards became a stranger came into your life to teach you a lesson.

All of our lives are intertwined, and we wouldn't survive life without each other.

How about you? If you were the last person on Earth, what would you do?

29
$ 12.37
$ 11.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
+ 11
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Earth, What If, Survival

Comments

If ever that happens, I could just die in loneliness, sadness and longings will envelope your surroundings, its hard to be alone, I think just a week or two of seing no humans makes me go crazy, so yah even I hate in a crowded place, I don't think I could live alone, anyways this is really good read, thanks for sharing this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. Me too. 🤧 Thanks for reading. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really would he hard to live alone on earth with no other humans around. It may be ok for a day or a week, but as time goes by sadness/loneliness will sink in and from there, other problems will arise. There really is "no man is an island."

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, perhaps depression will kill that last person on Earth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It would be heart breaking to not be with my family and loved ones. In general I think I would survive pretty well though. This has given me an idea for a post! Your writing is beautiful and I love your quote with no man is an island.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Same here. Hihi Thank you so much for appreciating my writings. 😹💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung ako nalang tao sa mundo baka dikona maisip mag enjoy at magpray nalang ako ng magpray . Naalala ko tuloy Yung nanay ni recca

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Sinong Recca po? Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Flame of recca hahahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

This will be more interesting and fun if we are two let so that communication will be flowing

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, but sadly, you're all alone. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This will be more interesting! Because i'm also an introvert guy. I would like to enjoy my own company. Though it would be better, if there's another person with me😉

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! There won't be another person, just yourself. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feeling ko tamang tama talaga ang sinabi mo atengg What was the use of living kung hindi mo namn ito maeenjoy with someone you love. Having a peaceful life is Goooood pero boring di ako mag tatagal sa ganyan nakakamatay din ang ka boredom hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! True. Need din natin ng panggulo sa tahimik nating buhay minsan. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would be sad. I might get depressed. A fleeting feeling of happiness then a realization that I will be alone for the rest of my life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, same sentiment. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In such a situation, I would have different feelings consisting of certain levels. I would have been puzzled as I had to figure out what was going on first. I would act stupid and pointless, trying to understand what was going on. Then there was the fear. I was afraid because not everyone is there, only me. So why? Later I would think that I have a special identity. Since I am a believer, I used to think that this was specially made for me by God. Once the initial shocks were over, I would find a safe place and hoard food. Since I am single, I will be responsible for my safety, anything I eat. Not having to work, not using money can be good parts of the job. In the next days, I'll go on a trip to a tropical region. Because I want the temperature to stay at a certain degree. But overall it would be like a nightmare. There is no one, there is only me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh. That's nice if you are a believer. 💚 And yeah, I will also be alarmed and frightened at first knowing that I'm all alone in the planet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh Phew....the mere thought about it creeps me out lol.. I don't want to be the last person on earth ever, because the food available is fine but they all get spoiled one day and I have to make my own, like agriculture and stuff, and what if I get old and can't even start a tractor lol...and what about petrol? they all get evaporated soon enough and we might get stranded somewhere without help and don't even get me started on animals... if there are no one around to stop, wild animals take control over the city and it will take them literally a few days to find the last human and make them their lunch lol... and what if I need some medical atention bruhhhh....no thank you.. lemme perish before all humans do 🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha! I loved reading your comment. Lol! 🤣 Yeah, same here. I won't last a day with those wild animals. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Probably, I will just sleep all day hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha! Kain tulog nalang po ano. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I'd move to a mall, I don't think I'd get out of there with all the things to do, if I run out of supplies I'd look for another mall, hahaha, lots of videos, movies, junk food, whiskie, beer, sexo????...... what a problem...... well there are dolls https://es.dhgate.com/product/adult-real-sex-doll-life-size-realistic-silicone/487400608.html they look so real, they even have artificial intelligence.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha! Sounds like a nice plan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not also the type of person who can be with everyone and being alone makes me feel better but being alone and the only person living on earth it makes me find it creepy. I can't stand being just the only one here as I can imagine creepy things as well when that will happen.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Nakakatakot din ung mag-isa ka lang talaga sa buong mundo. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We enjoyed our own company and we are contented being alone, but the question is, for how long? It's like a nightmare waking up knowing you're the only one left.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Baka gustuhin mo nalang din mawala kapag ganun. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung ako lang ang matitirang tao sa mundo, hindi rin siguro ako mabubuhay dahil matatakutin akong mag isa.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same po. Hahaha! Baka kainin lang ako ng mga hayop jan. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha pasaway dami kong tawa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't want to be the last person though. I feel like I will die soon 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! Baka 1 week lang din aabutin ko. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i like solitude, i think i would surround myself with nature and sing all over the place, naked as a madwoman. hehhehehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! Then you would go to an island to enjoy life. 😹💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would probably feel the same way if I were to be left as the last person on earth. I enjoy solitude too. The problem is for how long? No matter how long we were used to be alone we will always find someone to talk to, for a companion. Probably, I would die after how many days of being loneliness out of sadness.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. So true. Maybe after a week of being alone, I will miss the people already. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am an introvert din po kaya sa tingin ko ay okay lang po iyan pero sa totoo lang po ay hindi naman talaga nakaka enjoy kung mangyari man yan. Sa una lang po masaya pero habang tumatagal ay palungkot na ng palungkot ang buhay kapag mag isa ka lang.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totoo din. Sa umpisa lang masaya. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you were the last person on earth; you'd enjoy this feeling for only a short period after which you will begin to lose your mind.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah. Lols!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would definitely visit the Vatican City. Need to find some answers there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha! I hope you'll find answers there. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Siguro maganda lang siya sa umpisa sis. Pero kapag matagal na, mafefeel mo din yung boredom. Maghahanap ka pa rin siguro ng makakausap or company.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo nga po. Parang nakakabaliw din yan. Sarili mo nalang kakausapin mo ganun. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is meaningful, I like your Content, All of your opinions are Fact. We can't live without a help of any people. Everyone of us has a function and Purpose, we are connected to each other.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for reading. 😹💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will... look for a candy floss machine, find transport and maybe go live to Buckingham Palace... Well ... the whole planet is mine. Just have to avoid the zombies

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! That's nice. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It would be really hard for me I guess. Just like you I also like to be alone sometimes, but that would be only for a while. Probably the reason why God created Eve so that Adam could have companion, because he knows, Adam couldn’t make it alone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. That's a good point. Indeed, God created man and woman so we have company in being a steward of God's creations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know what will happen, but it really feels bad to think like this. But I could rule the world alone. I liked the thought process.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aha! You will literally rule your own world then. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm an introvert too but being the last person on earth. I can't imaging me loving it. I admit it that sometimes I want to be alone in a short span of time, Life is not easy to be alone. Yes you can do whatever you want, No rules, and everything. So, after you've done all those things? What will you do next?… Nothing. No one to ask, No one to Play with, No one to communicate, No one to bond with.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree with you. Everything will get boring once you're doing the things you want when you're alone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no,I couldn’t survive without anybody,I think it’s not called life anymore if there will be no life around me,hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh. So true too. Life is meant to be shared with others. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I am the last person on earth, as long as there is enough food and water, I will be fine..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww. Okay lang po sa inyo mag-isa?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Siguro?.. Hehehe.. Pero syempre mas maganda kung may kasama diba..

$ 0.00
2 years ago