Is tracking money effective or not?

30 68
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Everyone had their own money and earning in the platform. We have a consistent cash flows given by this platform and your salary in work. Then have you ever track your money? Like how much do you spent yesterday, last week and last month? I know some of us are not a fan of tracking and managing our finances. But, I want you to know that if you have money, then you should know how to manage it wisely.

I have been into financing lately. I kept listening to financial managing, tips on saving, ways of spending your monthly budget and so on. In fact, I really didn't feel like to manage my money since I don't have money to manage. And I know that's the most common problem why we are not into financial management. But, we all love money and spend our money to things we love to purchase.

Since I was young, I had this desire to breakdown my expenses for a whole day. Although I am not working and earning, but I still have daily allowance which is enough to portion it to details. I still remembered that my first ever money managing was when I was fifth grade. I have this kind of book that I would love to buy, but I don't want to tell it to my mother. The book is compilation of short stories and jokes.

You know, when we were young especially in grade school. There are a lot of vendors selling story books, coloring books, puzzles, grammar books and etc. So, in that point, I decided to save money for that. My daily allowance back then was ₱60. That money, I have to keep at least ₱10 everyday so that after a week or two, I can buy the book I want. Thankfully, I bought two or three books back then.

In those years, that was the time I was opened into world of financial budgeting. Although it's not professional since I as just a little boy, but it's more than enough for me. Thus, I don't have big money to budget too. Since then, I am tracking my money. It lasts for three months I guess because after I bought all the books I want. I stopped saving and budgeting. And I think that's the problem!

Courtesy: General Blue

We stopped tracking, budgeting, portioning or whatever you called it when we already bought the things we want. It's like what is the purpose of this whole financial managing if we don't have a goal, right? Our interest in managing our money is lessening day by day. I am guilty in that. I thought that when you already had the things you wanted, then it's okay for you to stop managing your money wisely. That's a big misconception I had.

From fifth grade, I started saving again when I was in 10th grade. But this time, it is a book again. It was not a story book, but a grammar book. I started to save ₱10 a day so that after a month I can buy a new grammar book in Book Sale in SM Bacoor. Yeah, my heart and mind was so focused on saving and before I left our house I will leave the ₱10 in my cute little piggy bank so that I will not spend it on school.

Again, after I bought my first ever English grammar book when I was in 10th grade. I decided to stop saving and tracking my money because I have no purpose now. Why to save money if you don't where you will spend it right? Another mistake I had before. I thought it was okay to stop, well, it's okay to stop tracking your money, but as early as you track your money. It will become a habit that you cannot easily removed in your lifestyle.

That's why when I reached college, I started to do some part time jobs in our school library. In that way, I can earn some penny to add for my weekly budget. I just want you to know that tracking money is not about how big or small your money. Sometimes, we think that if my money is small and I only have few allowance everyday or every week. I should not track or manage my money. No, you have to track it because it's your allowance and it doesn't matter how much it was.

At first, I tracked my money through my notes. I jotted down my whole day expenses like food, transportation fare, school stuffs, and emergency. So that I know where my money went and I will think for a moment if what I bought is good and worth it. As some says, you have to spend money but not bigger than you can earn. That's right. For me, I only spend my money to daily and unavoidable needs. Everyday, I always allotted 10% for savings. No matter what happens, 10% is what I saved.

Courtesy: Vertex42

But today, I upgraded my tracking ways. I used excel now. It's way easier. You just have to enter the formula and that's it. You can also keep the data in a folder and review it when the time comes. At least, you know how much money is coming and how much money will be spend daily. It's very effective in a sense of, you are learning to manage your finances and you keep improving. Thus, you will realize what things to buy first. It's like a matter of prioritization.

I'm not impulsive person when it comes to spending. I always think two steps ahead so that I could analyze if it's worth it or not. Meaning, tracking your money is to track your way of living. You cannot live without money. You cannot avoid the influence of money. But, you can manage and track it the way you wanted. We all need money and you have to earn it. Even if you're earning small, that's still a good reason to start tracking your finances.


Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

Hooray! Unending appreciation to these people above. They are source of encouragement to me to write well. I know you will become one too. Awiee!

My previous articles you might like to read:

Thank you for reading and I'll see you next time!

17
$ 4.32
$ 3.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Big-E
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 12
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

I was also tracking my expenses by using a spreadsheet on my phone and I input my details every time. But I always lost track of my expenses these past few months because I forget sometimes to input my details. Now, I just limit my money to spend and set aside first my savings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa simula ksi denn puro nkasavings mga earnings ko pero pg ginalaw ko nmn isang bagsakan din kya super grateful ako sa noise at read kahit papano kumikita ako sa sarili kung sikap. Kya ipon ka denn para may mahuhugot pg may emergency.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truee po yan ate. Sobrang mahalaga ang savings and emergency fund lalo na kung biglaang may babayaran or bibilhin. Ipon lang ng ipon. Hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have an excel sheet about my earnings to track how much can I afford for my luho. My luhos are just junk food. I do not but expensive stuff.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least it is food so it's okay. I have free money as well. My free money is where I will get my fund for buying my wants in mall or foods too. Hehe. Cheers! Luho lang sakalam.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gang umpisa lang ako sa pag track haha! Try ko ulit next month.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. Mahirap din kasi maging consistent kuys kung wala naman talaga deep purpose kung bakit mo sya gagawin. Pero ako kasi nakasanayan ko na.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Gusto ko din naman para matrack talaga ang expenses kaso nawawala talaga sa utak ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Seeing the complete opposite of me in you, I honestly love how you spend money wisely and not impulsively. Tracking money is a great way to manage and use expenses wisely... I think I'll tap from this

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure! Well, tracking money is to give you an overview of your finances. Whether we like or not, money will come and we need it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used not to have track my money when I was single, but when I got married I started to do it..how much I spent last week so that I can budget also for the coming week..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. Since you are already a married woman, then you really have to track the income and expenses of the family. It's hard to budget if you don't know how much money left.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes.. kaya ang dami ko ng Grey hair haha..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm happy to see someone else track money like I do, my friends think I'm weird because I track my money and I'm cautious of the way I spend money

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel the same way. We earn the money and we have rights to do whatever we want. But when all the money is gone, you don't know where it goes. You will ask yourself, where did the money went to? So tracking will enter.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How old are you Den? I am happy to hear that someone like you knows to track your finances and tracking it will help you save and budget right? I remember my father who tracks his expenses until the very last peso. Me personally I never do that as long I know that we have savings and we never spend more than what we earned. Keep it up, it will not just help you now but even to your future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm 16 po ate. Charr. 21 na po ako ngayon. Dati nag try din ako na mag stop mag track ng money pero nanoticed ko na nakakalimutan ko kung ano mga ginastos ko for the whole week haha. Kaya back to tracking talaga lagi. Para may overview or summary ka.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh diba at least you are mature enough para sa ganyang bagay. Keep it up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nuxxx, tracking it is cool. Para malaman if need bang nag bawas ng paggastos if ever napapasobra na diba. As for me, hahah alam nyo naman na atang tamad ako huehue. Sa if gagastos man ako naglalaan lang ako ng allowance for the whole week or 2 weeks ganern. So parang matic na ng natatrack sya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truee ate. Hirap kasi non na laging nagastos tas iniisip mo san ba napunta yung pera ko. Hahaha. Tas manghuhula ka pa kung ano mag binili mo last week. Malaki naman budget mo teh eh hahha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In remember elem I only had 20 pesos allowances morning to afternoon ha ha then HS becomes 50 college yeah I need to budget things on college. Dami din sudden expense eh xerox at mga contributions. I also track my financial last year then I got bored haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang mahal pa kasi ng pera before I mean mataas ang value ng peso. True, xerox at contribution talaga yung kumakain ng budget ko eh haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako nalang ata di nagtratrack ng pera because wala naman akong pera 😂HAHA sipag na sipag pa ako dati magipon para makabili ng laruan kaso hiniram ng nanay ko kaya ayun tinigil kona haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Isang pagsubok satin na kapag hiniram ni mudra ang pera. Haha. Nakakatamad na agad mag ipon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it's astounding at such a young age, you've already tried tracking and saving ur money. It will surely be helpful in the long run as an adult, keep it up bro 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is indeed. Actually, it's helpful nowadays since I'm earning in this platform. I can manage my finances well enough. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good job ka Jan boi! Maganda yan malalaman mo san napunta ang pera mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga po ate. Sobrang laking tulong nya ngayon since may income naman na po ako. Hehe. Sulit yun tracking and managing dati.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay din yung ganito, pero diko pa natry. Basta kapag may gusto ako, pag ipunan ko nalang galing sa allowance ko. Allowance namin dati 60-70 din depende sa budget ni mama, pero naglalakad lang kami madalas kaya nakakasave din kung may bet bilhin. Lagi ko naman pinag iipunan eh mga pens. Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh diba, kapag talaga gusto natin mabili ang isang bagay. Talagang pinag iipunan natin maigi. Kapag walang goal, parang hirap mag ipon. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago