The Most Fun Way of Getting Rich: Be a Character in a Game

14 71
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

I guess most people think that saving and investing money or building wealth or getting rich is boring, hard, stressful, impossible, and any other not-so-good connotation. Well, I also agree with some parts. I agree that building wealth is sometimes boring, hard, and stressful, and I was also in a place where I felt that it was impossible, especially because I am just a student from a middle-class family.

However, all of those negative connotations I had in mind changed when I watched one video of one of my favorite finance YouTubers, Steve Antonioni aka “Cash College”. He mentioned that he sees “wealth-building" as a real-life “game” so it would be more interesting and exciting. Sadly, I forgot the specific YouTube video so I can't be able to share it with you.

And then after some months, I watched another YouTube video again that is somehow similar to the “Cash College” video which is making wealth-building more fun and considers it to be a real-life game. This time, it is a video from "Vincent Chan".

Both of their videos really stayed in my mind because they made me realize that I shouldn't be too serious in thinking about my personal finance like I need to keep on saving money, I need to keep hustling, and the like. It made me realize that I must somehow change my perspective on building wealth. Instead of taking it seriously, I should take it more interesting by imagining that I am a character in a video game.

Here’s how to gamify your financial journey...

1. Decide your “Main Quest”

You would notice that in every game, there will always be an ultimate goal for a player.

Just like in games, decide your main financial quest.

  • Is it to attain financial independence?

  • Is it to retire early?

  • Is it to buy your dream house?

  • Is it to purchase a car?

2. Know the smaller quests that you need to do

Just like in games, there will always be smaller quests that a player must do in order to achieve the main quest. You must know these and keep track of them whether you are making a progress or what.

Here are examples of smaller quests:

  • Save more money than what you spend every month. Your income must be greater than your expenses. The leftover from your income can be your savings. (Income > Expenses)

  • Avoid impulse buying.

  • Follow a certain budget.

3. Plan your rewards

Many studies have shown that more people are able to achieve such tasks if they know that they are going to get a reward in return. True enough, in games, there are always rewards.

Here are some examples:

  • Once I save more than what I spend this month... my reward is to order my favorite baked sushi!

  • Once I achieve a ₱100,000 net worth... my reward is to take myself on a date.

  • Once I achieve ₱250,000 before I graduate... my reward is to travel to Japan or South Korea.

  • Once I achieve ₱1,000,000... my reward is to travel outside of Asia.

Create your own rewards. In that way, you will get more motivated!

4. Create your own different levels

Just like in games where a player plays different levels, customize different levels for yourself too!

Here’s an example:

  • Level 1: Negative Net Worth (you have more debts than savings)

  • Level 2: Zero Net Worth (your debts and savings are equal)

  • Level 3: Positive Net Worth (your savings are more than your debts)

  • Level 4: ₱50,000 Net Worth

  • Level 5: ₱100,000 Net Worth

  • Level 6: ...

And so on... You decide yours! It's so fun to think of having different levels!

Closing Thoughts

Those are the 4 ways in which you can gamify your financial journey. You can do it on paper, on a spreadsheet, or on anything that you like. You can customize anything as well and find what works for you. After all, this is personal finance. Personal.

Adulting life, most of the time, is too serious, so let's not take our financial journey too seriously as well. Let's add extra spice and fun to it! It is so much better!

This is what I think is the most fun way of building wealth! Let's be a character in a real-life game! Alice in Borderland yarn? Hahaha.

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!

P.S. A huge thank you as always to @OfficialGamboaLikeUs for renewing her sponsorship last day for nth time. Your support is highly appreciated. Stay safe and wish you all the best, sis! ❤️


My Previous Money-Related Articles:

Let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: April 12, 2022

16
$ 6.55
$ 6.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.04 from @Jher0122
+ 7
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

Nakaka stress na taalaga ang adulting life haha ..pero dahil dito naisip ko ulit na dapat enjoy lang .. There's no reason to be stressed with the things going aroud us..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This sounds fun sis hihi. Ma apply nga to at ng maiwasan kong tumanda ng maaga dahil sa stress sa sobrang kagustuhang yumaman agad HHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go ahead sis! Tama yan HAHAHAHA Hindi pwedeng yumaman nga tayo, pero pumanget naman dahil sa stress. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap mag imagine hehe sana bumalik na talaga ako sa dati yung positive at grinder talaga whooo! 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya yan ibalik sis! <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

awesome.. i have not watched these videos nor know these people but I must say you are in the right track.. and this article is an indication that you are already on your way to getting rich soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha how i wish po. thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas maganda Ang may goal Kasi may direction ka kung Anu Ang gusto mong e accomplish. Goals are our intrinsic motivation to obtain a certain success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako sis medyo wala akong set na goal kasi I don't want to get disappointed at the end of the day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero I still think sis na to have a goal is better than non at all. Disappointment is normal naman, I think. Maybe set a realistic one to prevent diappointment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama naman talaga sis. Dapat hindi i-take seriously kasi mas pinapalala mo yung situation. Mas lalo mo pinapa stress yung sarili. Dapat just go with the flow lang. May focus pero dapat i-enjoy. Yan kasi cause na mag overthinking tayo which is not good for our health talaga kaya dapat i-enjoy din, have fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly!!! Money is just a tool, diba? It shouldn't control our emotion that much, kaya wag seryosohin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis. We must enjoy lang while we are working to achieve our dreams. Hindi dapat sobrang seryosohin kasi hindi rin maganda.

$ 0.00
2 years ago