Things I Don't Buy (Save Money!)

23 57
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Each one of us has a different lifestyle, preferences, and so on. Other people can't live without a particular material thing, while others can. It's all a matter of differences. But for this article, I want to share the things that I can live without, so I don't buy them anymore and it helps me save my money.

Disclaimer: I am a student living with my parents. I acknowledge and I am completely aware that my parents provide the necessary things for me and my other siblings. The things that I am going to mention are those that my parents don't need to provide for me and are only optional, at least in my opinion.

1. Feminine wash

Back when I was in high school, there was a time when I guess feminine wash was starting to be a thing for ladies because of the advertisements of feminine wash brands such as PH Care. I was kind of pressured when I was in junior high school so I bought maybe just one bottle then used it. After that, I think I didn't buy anymore. Later on, I learned somewhere on the internet that feminine wash is unnecessary. Ladies can just wash their down there with just water or with a gentle hypoallergenic liquid washes. It is because our intimate area is a self-cleaning organ which means the vagina naturally produces discharge that eliminates dead cells and bacteria. It is normal for it to have a scent. I actually don't think feminine wash can help the intimate area to have a fragrance-like scent, but maybe just for a few minutes? Haha.

2. Perfume

Perfumes, fragrance, cologne... they are not my thing. Ever since I was a kid, I just borrow from my mom and don't actually buy for myself. Or maybe I did, once or twice but I am not really into it. At this point in my life, I rarely splash myself with any scents even if there's an event or party, it is something that I don't particularly think about like what others do. I know other people who love it, like they even have perfume collections and some even find their signature scents, and I have heard others who regretted obsessing over finding their signature scents because they later on realized that they just hoarded perfumes and so it's a waste of money. Fortunately, my body smells okay or is odorless even if I am sweaty, that's why perfume is unnecessary for me.

But I guess in the future, if I am going to buy one for myself, I will buy just one which I really like and the scent is long-lasting because I hate re-applying perfumes. Haha.

3. Cheap Jewelries

You know those necklaces, rings, bracelets, and all that jewelry on Lazada, Shopee, or other online stores that cost for only around P50? They easily tarnish and can be used for only once or a very few times. Plus, they are also very harmful to our planet because they are too disposable and add up to a pile of trash. Please don't buy those!

I don't have much jewelry. What I own are mostly gifted or stolen from my mom's closet (kidding 1/2 haha). If there's an event, I just borrow from my mom or my sister-in-law. If ever I am going to buy affordable jewelries, I prefer to choose one that has a non-tarnish on the description and has good reviews.

4. Watch

I think I never bought a watch for myself because it's expensive. I only had watches that were gifted to me by my aunts but they are not with me anymore because they are already broken. The only thing I have now is my mom's watch. Hahaha. The one with the brown slim strap. I love it! I used to wear it to school pre-pandemic days even if it doesn't work anymore. I just love it so much. I don't wear it as often anymore but I still keep it until now. And yes, even if it doesn't have a battery, I'd still use it. Kaya pag may nagtatanong sakin kung anong oras na, di ako agad maka-sagot at yung phone ko ang tinitignan ko ng oras. Hahaha.

5. Bags

I think I will never purchase a bag anymore because the existing bags I have now are for different purposes. I already have backpacks, tote bags, sling bags, and so on. If I have an event or party and a classy bag is needed, I just borrow from my mom, my sister-in-law, and from my girl friends.

If in the future I am going to work in an office or something, I don't need and I don't want to buy the lady-like shoulder bags because I have my mama. I am the heiress of her things because I am an unica ija. Haha. She has these designer bags like Prada, Hermes, Louis Vuitton, Celine, etc. that are mostly gifted to her because she's a super kind person. That's how kind she is! ♡ But she doesn't use those bags that much and she also don't have a special closet for them like those people on YouTube. Hahaha. As in those are just in a plastic box waiting to be used. She prefers to use any bags that are big enough to put on her umbrella, lunch box, water, etc. She’s a very simple and not materialistic person. I love her. ❤️

6. Wallet

I can't remember the last time I bought a wallet or if I ever bought one. I think all my wallets are just given to me.

The two wallets I am currently using for years now are: a souvenir coin purse (that has a "I ♡ BICOL" and a Mayon Volcano and Cagsawa Ruins photo) given to me by a boy friend (not boyfriend), and a Michaela long wallet where I put bills and cards given to me by my two friends who are a couple and at the same time, my church mates.

I don't care about my wallet, what matters for me is the money inside.

7. Speaker

I never bought a speaker. I am annoyed by other people who use speakers without considering others. For instance, if you are in an apartment and if you have a roommate that is studying for an upcoming exam, you don't just use your speaker to blast loud songs for the sake of yourself and not think of your roommate. It is okay in some situations, but there are instances when I am really annoyed with speaker-owners. Use earphones instead. Sorry for the lil rant.

I prefer earphones and the built-in speakers on my phone and laptop. Maybe I would purchase my own speaker if I already have my own space.

8. Gym Memberships

I have never experienced working out in a gym. And in my perspective, it’s pricey. It’s also not that necessary anymore especially during this pandemic. I think everyone would rather workout at the comfort of their home because it is much safer.

9. Fast Fashion

Ever since I stumbled across the YouTube channel of Kristen Leo (see attached YouTube video), I have learned so much about the in-depth destruction reality of our dear planet Earth, and one of them is fast fashion.

I am someone who is not that obsessed with dressing up fancy or anything. My style is just minimal, basic, timeless.

For years already, I mostly just buy from thrift stores (ukay-ukay). It's been a long time since I last bought a cloth that is super cheap and unsustainable on Shopee or online in general.

I highly encourage you guys to watch videos or documentaries about fast fashion as you will be educated about it. It's such an eye-opener how it destroys our planet. If you don't want to watch any of them, at least opt for clothes on thrift stores.

Closing thoughts

Those are 10 things that I never bought or I stopped buying. Not purchasing any of them helps to increase my savings.

How about you guys? What are the things that you don't buy and enable you to save your money instead? You can share yours on the comment box.

As always, thank you for reading! Until the next blog.❤️


References:


Previous Articles:

Get to know me more on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: September 20, 2021


18
$ 0.28
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.05 from @ZehraSky
+ 4
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

I don't really buy jewelries because I won't be needed them, I think. Also the gym membership, although I need to work out mybe I can do it at home just to be fit and healthy. Hahaha but truth, no need to buy those stuff we need to save. ✨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Perfume nabili naman ako kapag may pera haha kaso yung mura lang kapag walang pambili Spray nalang sa pabango ni mama 😅 Jewelries malabo ako makabili . Family first muna bago ang luho sa sarili 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered back in college because my roommates they have a feminine wash in their toiletries so I thought, I should use one also as I think it was necessary, so I bought one bottle of it and after 3 weeks of using it, my professor in Biochemistry course, he explained how unnecessary to use feminine was as it disrupts the natural vaginal flora if continuously used it could lead to something serious like rapid growth of bacteria. Vaginal discharge is healthy just washing with clean water would do to care for our organ.

I find the wallet relatable also. I am already working, and up until now what I use to keep my bills and coins is just a black leather purse which I bought in a store owned by Moslems. I don't have like to use long wallets because I just use small bags and definitely it will not fit in there.

And Ukay-ukays are the best!

You are practicing practicality at the same time very trendy and fashionable 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I just learned about the effects of feminine wash on YouTube. And yes, I was also pressured back then to buy one, but at least not anymore.

Agree. Ukayukay are the best!

Thank you sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have to admit I was very intrigued reading about your washing of the vagina. But of course I would. I am a guy. lol.

On a serious note, seems like you have a good handle on what you need and what you don't need. Always good for us to evaluate our spending, because saving is so important. And if we save right? Well, then one day we can buy whatever we want.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha. True. If we eliminate purchasing those things that don't matter that much, we can buy those more important stuff for ourselves.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Halos lahat ng namention mo sis. Kahit ngayon wala akong perfume or cologne man lang.😁 Hindi kasi ako mahilig sa mga ganyan. Yung bag ko, nung college ko pa to at hanggang ngayon nagagamit ko pa rin siya. Binigyan naman ako ng bag ng nanay ng partner ko kaya dalawa na bag ko ngayon. Isang shoulder bag at isang sling bag. When it comes to clothes, suki ako sa ukay-ukay.haha Nung nagdemo ako, tinanong ako ng isang kasama ko kung saan ko daw nabili damit ko at magkano. Sinabi ko ukay-ukay lang to ma'am. Yung tag P50.hihi

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nakiki-spray lang din ako ng perfume or cologne minsan. Hahaha. Suki din ako sa ukay-ukay po. Ang saya nga bumili dun eh bukod sa mura pa, madalas high quality.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most everything on your list I don't spend on either. Fancy bags and wallets, what do I need them for? For me, it's always utility.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awee same here mostly you've tackled🥰 For the feminine wash owee don't have space in my wallet! What the use of feminine? It is just giving you a harmful effects as well as wasting money. For the fake jewelry, its not really my type. All I want is jewelry from pawnshop hahaha.. Yeah, I told u were same assets that don't want to buy it, it is just wasting amount. I love this article🥰 Thank you crazyfilipina and God bless you💕✨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a fan of jewelries as well.. Bags? I only buy bags when the one thatvI am using is already broken. Watch?i have my cellphone to monitor the time so I don't think this will still be needed. Takaw snatcher lang to.. Actually pati yung sa jewelries.. Wallet? Binilhan ako ni mister 2 years ago as a gift sa birthday ko kasi eversince, hindi talaga ako mahilig mag wallet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halos lahat din po yan ay hindi ko binibili dahil hindi ko naman po ganoong kailangan. Lalo na po yung mga jewelries, hindi po kasi ako talaga mahilig sa ganyan at kahit ata may okasyon at hindi po ako nagsusuot ng alahas. Yung sa feminine wash din po di na ako namimili simula nung nakapanood po ako ng video na minsan may mga feminine wash na nakakasama sa atin.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same. Nakapanood din ako ng video noon kaya di na ako bumili ever. Tsaka wala na din kasi akong pera pambili hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas okay daw po na water lang ang ipanghugas para mas safe. Hahhahha same po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here hindi talaga ako mahilig bumili ng bag at wallets. Pero kasi need ko din mga yan kahit may lakad. Nakakahiya kasi ngay pag may okasyon tapos ako lang yung parang out of place 🤣 tsaka part talaga yan ng pagiging dalaga natin kahit naman may work tayo eh need talaga natin mga yan para di nakakalat ang pera. Pero syempre kahit isa lang na bag at wallet okay na din ako. Speaker, di ako mahilig bumili din ng ganyan haha nakikihiram nalang ako if sino meron mas prefer ko pamandin headset.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes me too sis all of it.. Except the watch. I love collecting watch ever since. My partner want me have a gym but I don't want to. I prefer to do exercise in my room.. God bless you sis..🙏😇

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. I wonder how many watches have you collected already. I also prefer exercising in room. Gym seems intimidating for me. God bless you also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe not too much sis... Yes were the same sis. I'm comfortable in my room compare to the gym...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I too don't use wallet and watch but I have those JBL speakers but I only use it in any family function.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's fine to own speakers. It's useful for events, outings, or hanging out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fast fashion is a big no for me. I stick to classic clothes and clothes that I can mix and match. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago