Pink Venom by BLACKPINK

15 51
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago
Lisa, Jennie, Jisoo, Rose

"BLACKPINK" is a girl group under YG Entertainment, who debuted on August 8th, 2016. I can say that they are the biggest K-POP girl group at the moment. The group has been on hiatus for 2 or 3 years I think, that's why their comeback for this year is really a hot topic. So many people have been waiting and were thirsty for it. And I am kinda one of them. Haha.

Anyways, for those who aren't familiar with them...

  • Lisa - main dancer, lead rapper, sub Vocalist, maknae

  • Jennie - main Rapper, lead vocalist

  • Rosé - main vocalist, lead dancer

  • Jisoo - lead vocalist, visual (I do think all of them are visual though)

My reaction to "Pink Venom"

When the teaser of this was out, I thought it was kinda similar to the concept of EXO's old song called "MAMA", because I saw that there are people with hoods. But it wasn't like that at all.

Before the music video was released, BLACKPINK has a live countdown first where the 4 girls talk about the comeback, and even gave hints about it. After a while, the music video premiered and I was there waiting.

The first time that I watched it, I really like the visuals. It's very YG style. And I thought that this music video really screams "we have a budget!" because it really seems very expensive. Which I already expected because YG has been saying that the comeback of BLACKPINK was the most expensive music video so far among the past YG music videos.

I like the introduction where Jisoo was playing a traditional Korean plucked string instrument called geomungo or hyeongeum, which translates to "black zither".

I also like the powerful ending that has a lyrics of "Ratatata ratatata ratatata ratatata". It sounds very catchy.

Honestly speaking though, the first time I heard the song, I thought that it was really bad. I expected a lot from this comeback, you know. And some of my other friends who are into k-pop as well said their opinion about it that the song isn't that good.

After a few days though, the song stuck in my head, up until now. I am having a LSS (last song syndrome) with it. I somehow even like the steps which they call #PinkVenomChallenge.

Then, it was very recent when they uploaded the dance practice of their new song. As usual, they all look so pretty in here.

For this comeback, Lisa is the one who stands out the most for me. I really find her aura very powerful and charismatic. 🥵

Closing Thought

Am I too late to publish this article? Because the song was released 6 days ago. Hahaha. I guess this is kinda late, but whatever.

If you haven't listened to Pink Venom by BLACKPINK yet, I hope some of you will consider listening to it. It doesn't matter whether you like it or not. We all have different preferences, anyways.

Have a wonderful day ahead!

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!


My Previous KPOP-Related Articles:

Previous Articles:

Let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: August 26, 2022

12
$ 3.18
$ 3.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.03 from @pajeroz
+ 2
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
1 year ago

Comments

Inabangan ko din 'to. favorite ko yung intro na scene ni Jisoo! Kaso same formula lang ginamit nila sa DDDD, KTL, at HYLT. Siguro kasi same producer lang din naman. Pero catchy naman yung kanta hanggang ngayon nga inuulit ulit ko hahahhaha.

Abangan ko na lang yung title song!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, may similarities sya jan sa mga past songs nila. Baka nga dahil sa same producers and same songwriter na din, si Teddy. Oo catchy sya, na LSS ako eh. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Darn! I love blackpink so much! I streamed this hard when it came out a week ago.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Blink spotted. 🖤💗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

lovely sound track and dance moves too.. not much critique on the song I liked it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad you like it too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gusto ko yung song. Halos songs nila maganda sis kaya ako fun talaga ako ng BlackPink. Idol ko si Jennie at si Lisa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bet mo pala mga rappers sis. Same here~ Pero si Lisa yung ultimate bias ka sakanila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis. Idol ko sila dalawa. Oo iba talaga din si Lisa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, on point yung visuals. Gusto ko rin yung kay Jisoo. Yun ang fave part ko. But yung song, di ko gaanong feel. Di ako makaconnect sa kanta kasi yung nafifeel ko, hindi connected ang mga kanta. Yung transitioning medyo off siya saakin. But yung unang napansin ko talaga yung part ni lisa na parang sa pon de replay ni rihanna. I don't know if it's just me but the song gives off a chillin-eeeey genz vibe compared sa mga previous comeback nila na iba ang impact talaga. Pero nakikinig parin naman ako until now, except sa last part.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here, unang pakarinig ko ganyan din nafeel ko.Nagandahan ko naman kahit papano eventually.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As their listener for over three years, medyo nakulangan lang ako ng light sa comeback nila haha. Totoo naman kasi pero catchy pa rin kahit papano. Ewan ko ba kung bakit ganon feel ko kaya di talaga siya ganon ka-hit. Marami akong nakulangan such as:

  • too much interpolation and sampling from the other songs, and I'm just thinking that it makes the song unique compared on their other songs
  • catchy but empty dance break (wala man lang ako naramdamang hype sa part na yon😢)
  • Parang unnecessary talaga yung nga lines nila Jisoo and Rosé kasi maganda kung yung kanta kung sa Jenlisa sub-unit na lang siya nirecord tutal parang featuring lang sila don eh.

But overall, maganda haha. Inabangan ko talaga yan haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here. Parang kulang na kulang talaga. Super abang ako kaya high expectations ko kahit papano. Kaya siguro ganun na feel ko. Pero habang tumatagal, nagugustuhan ko naman yung song.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lovely ladies

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree!

$ 0.00
1 year ago