YG Treasure Box

20 49
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago
Topics: K-POP, KPOP, Series, Show, Tv Show, ...

"YG Treasure Box" was a survival show produced by YG Entertainment and broadcast by JTBC2 from November 16, 2018 until January 18, 2019. So it was around 3 years ago and happened during pre-pandemic.

For those who don't know yet,  YG Entertainment is a South Korean multinational entertainment agency established in 1996 by Yang Hyun-suk. It has already produced most of the known artists such as BIGBANG, 2NE1, PSY, BLACKPINK, WINNER, iKON, etc.

The greatest purpose of the show was to produce a new boy group. It consists of 29 male trainees from YG Entertainment South Korea (main) and YG Entertainment Japan (subsidiary), to compete in order to make it to the debut group.

It is my first time actually knowing that there's such a thing as YG Entertainment Japan, a sub-branch or something.

One of the main reasons why I watched "YG Treasure Box" is because I am a YG stan (fan of YG artists) since I was in Grade 7, which is way back in 2014, meaning I was a fan for 8 years now. And I wasn't that updated anymore with YG artists in 2019 'til 2021. It was just when 2022 started, that my energy to become an active fangirl again was restored. Haha.

Since I have said that I was a YG stan for many years already, I already know the standard of the main producer Yang Hyun-suk when it comes to the artists that they produce. It's not all about the looks. It's more one charisma, stage presence, and a lot of other factors. If you're familiar with YG, you know that it's so hard to please YG aka Yang Hyun-suk.

So before I watch this survival show, my expectations are already high.

Did the "YG Treasure Box" trainees reach my high expectations? YES.

Yes, they did. How?

Their vocals!

The vocalists in this survival show are just insanely good, especially Bang Ye-dam, Jeongwoo, Junkyu. This is my favorite performance of them...

Bang Ye-dam, even if he was just a trainee, he already write and produce his own songs! I guess it was on episode 1 when he performed his own piece in front of YG for their monthly assessment. So friggin' talented! 😭

YG proved once again that YG Entertainment is the powerhouse of powerful rappers!

YG Entertainment is known to produce amazing rappers such as G-DRAGON, T.O.P., Mino, Bobby, B.I., CL, Lisa, Jennie, etc.

Most of the lead rappers of YG are songwriters and know how to produce music at the same time. That's why when I saw rappers here in "YG Treasure Box", even though they are still trainees, I'm not that shocked anymore to see them already write their own lyrics and produce music.

My favorite rap performance in this show is this one...

Jung Jun-hyuk, the small kid... he was only 14 years old at that time! Damn. He is always praised by YG since episode 1. I am sure that he'll have a bright future ahead because of his talent.

Choi Hyunsuk on the other hand is my bias. 😍 His height is small compared to other idols but his attitude is 6' feet tall when he performs!

Both of them are my fave duo in this show! Their moments together were so cute, they were like brothers. They became a duo because they chose each other as partners, but there were some twists in the show and sadly, they have to become rivals and so one of them needs to be eliminated. 🤧

No lip sync.

I don't know about others but for me, I REALLY hate it when a performer just lip sync or is so obvious to have intense autotune or is pre-recorded. It's so annoying!!! I have seen other KPOP survival shows already wherein the trainees just lip sync, and I have seen KPOP idols as well who lip sync.

One of the reasons why I really like YG artists is that THEY SING LIVE.

Closing Thought

Overall, "YG Treasure Box" is a 10/10 survival show for me. Not just because I am a YG stan but because YG exceeds my expectation every time. It's just so amazing how they find talented people and train them to be great artists.

The 12 trainees from this show already debuted as "TREASURE". They originally sang the famous song "Darari".

Also, I have a previous article about another survival show that I watched last January which is I-Land (Enhypen). And I am thinking of writing an article wherein I do compare and contrast between "I-Land" and "YG Treasure Box".

Anyways, if you're a KPOP fan or we stan same group or anything, just comment down below. I badly want a fellow KPOP stan friend here on read.cash world. 😅

P.S. Thanks a bunch to my newest sponsor @itsmeCguro! I deeply appreciate your support. 🤗

Don't forget to upvote if you like this article. And subscribe for more content!

I write things that spike my interest such as finance, investing, kdrama, kpop, architecture, my learnings, and misadventures.

Maraming salamat sa pagbabasa at hanggang sa susunod na artikulo. Paalam!


My Previous KPOP-Related Articles:

Previous Articles:

Let's be friends on my noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: April 20, 2022

10
$ 6.87
$ 6.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @kingofreview
+ 3
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago
Topics: K-POP, KPOP, Series, Show, Tv Show, ...

Comments

Well! I don't like such types of shows. But in my country even on my friend list people are fans of this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay, we have different preferences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kyahhhh, BigBang and iKon from YG nakuuu haha. Gaganda din ng mga boses nitong bago ha. Bigla ko namiss pagrarap ni Bobby huehue

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fan ka din nila no? Ano ano mga fandom mo ate? Hihi. True. Miss ko din rap ni Bobby and BI. May comeback iKon this May kyaaah~

$ 0.00
2 years ago

waah i felt so foreign..wala talaga akong kilala

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay po hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun treasure laigi ko na ririnig sa Tiktok. Ayun napa search ako kung anong kanta yun. Tapos ayun lagi ko na pinapatugtog. Ang catchy kasi hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aling kanta ba sis? Yung Darari?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy, they are really handsome sis😍 YG indeed the next future generation in the world of k pop to be known.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pinakinggan ko yung mga songs sobrang gaganda. Honestly ngayon ko lang na encounter to sis. Bilib talaga ako sayo sis dami mong alam. Ako sa mga Korean series lang talaga ako naka focus at sa mga artists. Dami talagang mga adik sa mga Koreans mostly siguro sa ating country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ito na kasi kinalakihan ko sis since elementary ako. Kaya siguro di ko na maaalis yung interest ko sa kpop or kdrama related things. Parang nga, sobrang mainstream na ng kpop ngayon dito satin compared noon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya pala sis kaya ang dami akong naeencounter dahil sayo sis dahil ang dami mo alam about sa kanila sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron nyan sa laptop sobrang tagal na pero pinanood ko lang yung part na nagjudge yung BLACKPINK. Yung sinabihan sila ni Jisoo na "Kids these days are shameless" HAHAHAHAHHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Panoorin mo na lahat hahahaha. Oo, nagjudge dun BLACKPINK.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang gusto ko nga panoorin eh anlupet nyang rap battle sa vid!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! Grabe 14 years old pa lang yan jan huhu galing nya since ep 1. Panoorin mo na!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess you are really a fan of them 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess you are really a fan of them 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago