Of screams and whistles

54 97
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Hello, beautiful people from Read.cash!

Halloween is just a few days away. So I thought today might be a good day to share some stories of ghosts and spirits. Myths and legends of ghosts and apparitions are popular in Venezuela. And I'm going to tell you about a couple of them that originate in the Los Llanos region of my country. Where among landscapes of immense plains, some of the best-known legends of spirits have emerged. Some are terrifying and can even end the lives of those who cross their path.

My grandmother's Nanny (Nana) used to tell me these and many other stories when I was a little girl. She was from a town called Cúa, where they fervently believed in the appearance of these and other spirits.

La Sayona

Perhaps one of the best-known legends here is the one of La Sayona. The ghost of a woman dressed in a Saya, a kind of white robe. She appears to her victims as a striking-looking woman. But it's said, the ghost can transform into a wild animal that devours its victim, who are womanizing and unfaithful men. La Sayona never attacks women.

The legend tells, she was a beautiful young woman named Casilda. She was married and had a baby. One day while bathing naked in one of the rivers of the plain, she realized a man was spying on her. The man, when discovered, excused himself by saying that he had come to warn her that her husband and Casilda's mother were having an affair. The jealous woman ran home and set it on fire, killing her husband and baby inside. Their screams of terror were heard by the villagers. And Casilda went looking for her mother to kill her too. It's said that he killed her with a machete. But the mother cursed her before she died. And condemned her to be a Sayona forever and to avenge the women of the men who were unfaithful to them.

So my dear friends, if one day you travel through the Venezuelan plains, don't flaunt your adventures. And even less before beautiful and seductive women.

Image by Darkmoon_Art from Pixabay 

El Silbón (The whistler)

The Silbón is the spirit of a young plainsman of the town of Guanarito, who murdered his father and was condemned to wander eternally carrying a sack with his bones on his back.

There are several stories around this legend. But one of the most popular is that the young man killed his father with his bare hands because he mistreated his wife. His grandfather, realizing what he had done, cursed him and condemned him to wander like a lost soul.

The victims of this spectrum are said to be drunkards and womanizers who are dismembered by this spirit. But he warns about his presence with a hiss. It is said that the closer you hear its popular whistle, the further he is, and the further you hear it the closer he is.

Many in the plains say they have heard the hiss and it is said that if several people hear it, nothing happens, but when there is only one person who hears it, it means that that person will die.

This is my post for the Halloween Contest organized by the master and queen of all things spooky around here @Theblackdoll.

Thank you to my wonderful sponsors. You all rock!

Special thanks today to @Princessbusayo and @MegaKyodaiBanrai for renewing their sponsorship. Thanks a lot!

To you, my dear readers. Thank you so much!

#Halloweencontest2021

Image credit on the caption.

Lead Image - Image by Stefan Keller from Pixabay

All writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise.Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

October 27, 2021


24
$ 11.01
$ 9.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.48 from @Theblackdoll
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 18
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

I like La Sayona. I hope she haunts every unfaithful people all around the world lol! But that's really tragic and rather sad.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

LOL. yep, the story is quite sad and tragic. And most of the tales of phantoms and tormented spirits of Latin American popular culture originate with a tragedy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The evil man who spied La Sayona caused all the trouble. He may be the one to be punished.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, he is the cause of all the tragedy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, La Sayona did all those to her husband, child, and mother out of impulse hehe. Too bad for the guy who spied on her at the river causing that to happen. Both legends are interesting. It seems they like to harm those who are doing bad things :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. They are like a kind of warning and a reminder to stick to good behavior, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was a child visiting my grandparents in the countryside, they always told us these stories so that we wouldn't go out to play at night, they told us that when we went to sleep a hairy hand would grab us if we played in the street during the night. Good stories Coqui.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can write an article for the contest about that creepy hairy hand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That´s why I like all folklore in Latin America, they all have particular stories like this, that tells a story, but have a history inside as well, beautiful and horryfiyng

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep, Latin American folklore has many creepy stories like these. It's part of the culture.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

La Sayona, I wonder if the church created her myth so men behaved themselves 😲 I like those Eliana

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, well, I don't think it's a church thing. But myths with spirits similar to this are also in the tradition of other Latin American countries. They are part of popular culture.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A long time ago I heard these stories in the Venezuelan fields where I worked.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

In the fields, they love these kinds of stories

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a little scary the first story. Imagine, jealousy is a huge evil. They lead to terrible things. These Hurban stories lend themselves to a pile of things. Good luck in the contest! 🙏

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! Good luck to you ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the La Sayona of all the urban legends you shared. I like her to punish unfaithful guys who hurt women. That shoul teach them a lesson. It's just sad that Casilda's husband has an affair with another loved one too. It's more painful than some other woman. The El Silbon can make anyone get paranoid when hearing a hiss. Thank goodness they are just legends. It woul be really scary if they really exist.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

But the darkest thing about the story of La Sayona is that the husband wasn't cheating on her. But she believed the man who was spying on her naked in the river.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My parents always told me about spooky stories that they experienced during their youth. Though we grow up in the same house as where my mother grew up, we never felt something unusual, so we never believe her. Well, I guess parents just love to scare us to behave.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe, I liked these spooky stories when I was little.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our grandparents experience alot of horror during thier times:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When one loses one's grandparents in death just as i lost mine, then the pains are somewhat difficult to bear cos grandparents cover a whole lot for you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

all of these are quite creepy, but what I like most is the whistler

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I also like the whistler. The belief that if you hear the whistle in the distance, it is when it is closest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The two are creepy. Halloween in the air. Scary horror stories.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I miss my grandparents who have passed away. My parents tell me their stories instead and these are even creepier in the rural areas because of the darkness every night.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Of course, these stories are more terrifying in rural areas. That is why they are so popular here on the plains.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There seem to be a whole lot of these stories by our grandparents, the masters of folktales. The story of a woman who roastee her daughter thinking it was corn still makes me cringe till date.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A woman who roasted her daughter thinking it was corn is creepy and weird. You can write about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most definitely will.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why is it that our grandparents, when they tell us horror stories it creeps us out? My grandmother used to tell us stories about ghosts and urban legends. I dont know what to react if i encounter this entity. 😱

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I used to love those stories. Just be careful if you listen to a whistle in the far, haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gosh! Halloween is coming friend. Haha I found this scary one. I mean I noticed these days many were posting creepy stories, hahah good thing i found this this morning

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can post one too. There is a Halloween contest ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Both were creeppyy..I think I will freeze if I happen to experience either one of them

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I can say that the times I have gone to Los Llanos, I haven't experienced them and never heard any whistles. LOL But I loved hearing stories like these when I was a child.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The whistler one is scary.. Come to think of it, when the whistle sounds soft, then he's near? Like what?? 😮 I am creeped out!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, that's what the legend says.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could remember different horror stories as well while reading your story coco. I realized also that Halloween is coming.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tell us about any of those stories and join the contest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will definitely love to. I will write some soon. Thanks 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG! Now how do I go to bed? What's more, I don't know why I read the stories, if I know them very well, LOL. To participate are myths or legends of our countries or can I create a story?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can create a story. You just need to write about spooky things and publish it on the topic Halloween Contest 2021 and tag Theblackdoll. You have until Oct,30

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks 905, LOL, I'll try to participate

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Try hard 1000 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Thank you for sharing your local horror characters. In the Philippines, we also have so many fictional horror characters and they are so insane.....lol! well, I will share soon.. Thank you for giving us information on some of your traditions.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome! And I will love to hear about the horror legends you have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for participating sis.. I just have one doubt in the story one Casilda's.... she burned their house and killed her mother that's fine, but is it true that they are cheating on her or it was just a rumor??? I wanna know... because if it was true, then the Mother's curse would not work know?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They weren't cheating on her. The man who was spying on her while she was swimming naked in the river invented it when he was discovered. As an excuse for being there, he told her that he was there to warn her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my God what a sick sick person to do that... Poor husband, kid and Mother.. they were killed unnecessarily because of one moron's lust.. Now the curse makes sense.... the mother should have cursed "Go kill people who spread rumors instead of killing people who cheating"... I hope Casilda killed that guy later

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is a horror story but since it's real and happens,I think many people would be scared in your locality of doing anything that would take their life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Damn, I'll never see the river the same again haha! This is the time of horror stories, I am both scared and interested.🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago