Life Smart Or Book Smart?

106 114
Avatar for Bloghound
2 years ago

Just out of curiosity, my dearest friends. What is more important? Life smart or book smart?

Disclaimer:

Any content provided by yours truly is not intended to malign any individual or anything. My blogs contain my opinions. I respect if you do not agree. Thank you.

Both are important. However, it's easy for me to say "life smart" from my perspective. I didn't walk through life with my head in the clouds. Again, that's because I'm not book smart that I would say that.

my daughter

Book smart is when you significantly get your knowledge from book-learning, instead of viable experiences. Life smart on the other hand means, you know a ton about feelings and how to deal with relationships and stuff.

I often wonder when I see people who have not lived life talk so knowledgeably with so much conviction based on what they read. I admire their knowledge without question. Sometimes it takes my breath away. But then I think, "Do you know from experience that what you read fits what you think?" And then question whether they are really so smart in the long run.

There are definitely some areas where "book smart" is necessary - such as a career field. But aside from that, when it comes to living life, I think it takes living life to learn. A book cannot do that for you, nor can a college education. You know, if you research, there are a ton of college graduates who cannot even get jobs, and will not work at Department stores or something they consider menial labor.

Another thing is those who are so smart like someone I know - Mensa IQ level. He studies just because he loves to educate himself. That's all well and good, but he also thinks everyone else is an idiot. This is a man who has lived life too. He was a rock star. He did the drugs and orgies etc. He has both backgrounds in life and travel/education. Sadly though, he does not accept people in his life and will die lonely as a result in my opinion. He likes to say, "I suffer fools lightly" meaning, if you are not intelligent, he has no time for you.

I also "had" a friend who was 23 years old at that time who thought he knew everything about everything. He was pretty well self-taught via the internet. And since he spoke with such conviction, people tend to listen to him. I kind of thought he was full of hot air even though sometimes, he made sense. I just couldn't respect his perspectives because he had not lived them. Does that make sense?

I've said it many times before (not exact words, but) "I have met a lot of brilliant a**holes". Ooops. Sorry.

I personally hate to read. I cannot remember the last time I read a book. I walk through life like a sponge, not just absorbing but analyzing. Everything I see, everything I hear, is something to give me perspective -something to think about and learn from. I think a day does not go by where I have not learned something about myself or the world around me. No book can give me that. I have learned how to work with people, how to manage people through learning about the people I have met in life.

I would never encourage my daughter to not want to educate herself. Although I would also not tell her it will be the basis of her success. Life has so much more to offer than what they tell you in a classroom. It's up to you to want to find it.

Now let's be honest. Many walk through life not thinking or considering anything. They do not challenge thoughts or ideas that may be common. Some people make the same mistakes over and over because they never learn from their first mistakes. They do not look inward at all to try and see where the mistake happened to begin with.

Life smart in my opinion can also mean knowing how to apply what you have learned from books.

What about you, my friends? Which side are you? Book smart or life smart?

Good evening to you all and wishing you a pleasant weekend wherever you may be.

One love

@Bloghound

July 31, 2021

6:45 pm

Philippines

(All photos are my own and taken by me - unless otherwise stated)

41
$ 13.90
$ 11.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pichi28
$ 0.11 from @Idksamad7869
+ 26
Sponsors of Bloghound
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bloghound
2 years ago

Comments

Can I choose both Life smart to guide my deicision in lifeand bok smart to know b the rules

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i think I'm balanced with both cuz chemistry, recipe books and i really try to experience things for myself before i share it to people XD but i ain't such an asshole

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I know you aren't, sis hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

can I choose both? hehe. but I think I would prefer life smart coz it will be based on your experiences and that would be easier to understand life and make us stronger and bolder :) hehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sure you can, Graceee!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life smart will survive life... ung book smart kasi mostly theories lang

$ 0.03
2 years ago

nailed it, sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life smart, I think. Kasi matalino nga pero walang diskarte. Hehe. Pero palagay ko wala ako sa dalawa. Hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

meganun, Iyan? hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, it should be balance. Being a book and life smart will help you in your journey. Kasi for me, if you are just book smart, you tend to create mistakes in life given na di naman lahat tinuturo ng libro. On the other hand, if you are just life smart, you are scarce with learnings and knowledge na important din para di ka maloko ng society.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Great points, bunso. But what I've shared is based on what I've already seen and experience :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One works for one, and not on the other. I think it really depends on the person, diskarte nlng sa sarili. I have known some people who aren't into books, but has great wisdom about life because of how they take experience along the way.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Of course, doctora. kung san ka masaya, gora hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gora talaga tayo sa golden diamond badge madam! Bongga!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why choose when I can have both? LOL, sounds a joke but true. It's best to have a balance between the two. 🤗

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sure you can, sis lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer both coz i know confidently iam.lol.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's cool, Ace :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would choose both 😜 I like reading books and I learned a lot from the books like "Rich Dad Poor Dad" , "Think And Grow Rich", "The Power Of Your Subconscious Mind" and "The Power Of Now" and then I implement the learning to my life. 😍

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I do have a book "think and grow rich" :) I haven't finished it since 2007 haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is smart is what I prefer. Things we learn in real life is sometimes different from what we just learned from the book. But anyways, both of them give significance to our life.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Absolutely, ading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life smart, of course! ;) Although I do like to read, hehe

$ 0.05
2 years ago

And I know you are life smart as ever, Coqui!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello mamshy! As always, I prefer to be smart at life and apply everything I learned in books in real life. ☺️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's wonderful, sis. Life teaches us so many things we can't find in books :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life smart ako sis, I can't even concentrate or focus reading a book in one go unless it really hooked me. I love observing, talking and analyzing other people's lives. People who think they are intelligent enough bores me..heheh

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Apir tan ngarud, sis hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wen sis, apir! Heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Xoxoxox

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me life smart po coz those knowledges that comes from the book will remain a knowledge and cannot be use in real life .If it cannot be apply in real life ,it only means that it's useless and it's just a baggage ..in todays era ..being smart in life is more efficient than to have more knowledge that cannot be use..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Brilliant choice, ading :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to be book smart and life smart. But if I'm left with the choice of picking one,i will go for life smart anyday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I choose both sis. Since book smart has a lot of learnings which we can apply through life smart, book smart can be the giver while the life smart is the performer. Life smart is base on our experiences and the actions which most the easiest way to be a fast learner...

God bless you sis...🙏😇

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You have both, sis! God bless you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much sis.. have a nice day...❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Book smart or life smart? I am not sure which smart I am😂😂 I am just anything smart since I am not a dummy😂 But I agree with most aspects of your explanation and terms here. Not everything will be taught to us in the classroom or we can read from books.

Some people who are book smart usually think they are better than everyone else and I am not mincing words. I have seen and met a lot of such people but often when it comes to the applications of those things they feel they know in book? Just sit back and watch them make fools of themselves.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

My thoughts exactly 😁 Thank you, zelly!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Based on my experience for almost 18 years of my life I become book smart, I study, I read, I learn from it. From it I gain higher intelligence quotient. But then for the last two years of my life Im trying to learn from what life really is. There are some knowledge from book that can't be applied to real life. And vise versa

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Basta ako Snail, hirap iapply ang algebra sa buhay haha. Seriously, you are correct!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opooo, not unless you take engineering pero sa experience and mistake parin po talaga mas mabilis naruto ang tao

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will choose life smart because you can learn based on your own experience. In books author wrote and made that sometimes it is a fiction only from their imaginary mind.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yay tama po, mhy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you, life smart is better for me as well because it comes from experience. My mom didn't finish her degree, she was undergraduate but she is smart because of her life experiences. I am speaking in behalf of my mom, I still lack experience in life haha still have to eat a lot of rice lol

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yung rice talaga ang starring jan Hart no? 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo haha kain muna madami 🙊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The lessons we learn from life are quite different from books and they are both important as you have stated in the post.

Another thing is that both knowledge help us in achieving different things in life .

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Absolutely, George!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would prefer life smart. I love reading books but I realized it made me narrow-minded to the real things that are happening to the world. I mean I became more idealistic. I still read books but I prefer real-life experiences. I know someone who is book smart but could not even know how to deal with people properly and some simple house chores that appear to be "normal" to me. Not that I don't like book smart people, it somewhat makes them "detached" from what is really going around them.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Both are good as long as you could apply naman what you have learned from books, jas. Thank you for sharing your thoughts 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe yung mga kasama ko kasi sa bahay halos lahat book smart..Not generalizing ha but talking from experience :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd be Life smart. You could read every book and still want to commit suicide, read every self-help and still want to end life. I know a lot of book smart people who wants to die because they cant accept that their life couldn't be as perfect as a fairytale.

It's not just all about IQ, we need emotional intelligence too. And that's what most people and parents neglect to teach their children.

Good for your daughter, Bloghound. You got her. I know every trial would come her way ,she will surpass because you'll teach her to be life smart

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Love it. Thank you, Mura! That was pretty well expressed po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahilig ako magbasa ng books pero mas gusto ko makinig ng totoong kwento ng isang tao, madalas kasi ako makapulot ng aral. Maganda kase pag nababasa mo sa book ung ibang bagay tas yung iba maririnig mo mismo as true experience rin nila

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Experience pa din ang ating pinaka the best na teacher, sis 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good evening, Bloghound! I prefer life smart, though I'm not that smart in terms of living my life. I make mistakes but I learned from them. My experience has become my teacher.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Beautiful!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Both concept complement each other. What is life when you don't read books? Reading books helps your life to be smarter anyway. The books I read have in no small measure affected my life and turned my reasoning around positively. I like to still books all the time. Life smart is buoyant with book smart. There is no other way smart-ness can pay except that you read up books about great things that has happened to mankind.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Id rather be street smart or life smart.. And we have to instill that to our kids😊❤️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Obkors, mars! Kaw pa! 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think this has something to do between theories and actual application.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Books are just a book, I prefer to listen to real stories of people or read books about certain people especially those legendary. What just comes to my mind is the idea of my mentor told me, "not everything is the pages of book but in experience". So as Agriculturists we must learn from lessons but must absorb more from the real farmers.. I loved this one, I loved books too

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Some of my relatives are farmers too, so pak na pak yang sentiments mo, kabsat 🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life smart still 💯 (yay got to use it) ... Though i cannot measure myself as life smart purely. I love reading books and i love relating to people, evaluating my experiences, listening to theirs, shuffling both .. et voila! ME hahaha. I hope in the shuffling.. i did not lose "smart" though.

Thing is, I will not have the same experience as everyone. Factor in personality, coping mechanism, background, etc So one's "life smart" way will not be the same as my "life smart" way.

Both are good .. balance is key. Both fills in the gaps where one can be utilized and the other cannot be utilized.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Pag dalawa nagkasabay, winner! I know you are smart in both, Pich! Xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaa eenie meenie mayni moe .. pag salya... Charge to experience . Token in the life smart slot hahaha....

But but but... 🤓 I see you as smart on both too 🤔 just a thought.. haha 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naks :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lols.....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learn from the school of hard knocks. But don't get me wrong, I also go through proper education so that I can have a good grasp of what's needed to be successful in life. It's a balance, I guess. You have a point though.

Arrogant people who are too smart for their own good do not know what they do not know. I stay away from these self-important and self-absorbed fools.

One thing about people who reads a lot and based on that speaks with authority on a subject..I have this to say - Would you learn from a career employee how to start a successful business? Maybe since some principles are universal but I'd still prefer learning from someone who'd gone through it. It's a real-life experience and no need to worry about plagiarism (lol. just couldn't help myself there.) There are so many such people. The marketing hype hides the lack of personal experience.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

With people who are life smart, it is to do with common sense and experience through actual real-life situations. With book smart, it is common sense, but common sense is not always that common in these people lol. But I do agree with everything you have mentioned, Dood. Rock on!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, common sense is not common at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Knowing and learning from book is good but when you do not apply what you have learned in life, you will miss it. We all go to school and are taught the theory aspect and so, it out duty to do the theoreotical aspect in life so we can understand more and get more knowledge. Life would teach us the experience we need to know which books fail to provide.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Well said, Princess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think both are important because with book you can get degree but if your life is not smart then you can't survive Life smart is applied in our daily life but book smart apply in our career life and those who are saying book smart is not important on what basis they Said? Because in my personal view both are important

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I so much agree with your perspective, books really do have effects on your way of life, you need to be smart in life

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, sistah. All from my experiences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Experience is the best teacher in life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed it is!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would rather choose being life smart since I hate reading. 😁 There might be a tendency that what you read, cannot be applied in life. so it's better to be practical.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Naman, kuya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

opo ate. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Will, I guess I would agree with your perspective then since I myself is a life smart person. Though I read and learn from books but 80% of what I conquer and enjoy with life is from my own experiences.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's wonderful, sis Grace!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakaproud ka din sis.. most successful person are those life smart.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Super, sis. Lalo pag manood ka sa mga viral videos. Very inspiring.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes super inspiring. Yong feeling mo you can do it too Kasi kaya nila 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po :) Nakakatuwa at nakakainspire.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I go for life smart too... There are so many lessons in life that you will not find in any book 😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

like cooking scrambled eggs :D haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, I chose life smart sis. Iba pa rin kung ang natutunan mo ay based on experience. Pero importante din naman ang book smart. Kung iaaply natin sa educational learning, mas matututo tayo kung inaapply natin ang ating natutunan sa real scenario.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yay! Pang Miss U and sagot,sis. Love et!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd go for the life smart because As you said po ..You cana apply what you've learned from the book. Because it's useless to learn so many lessons from the book but in the end can't apply in real life situations..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Pag di mo iapply ang galing mo, useless talaga. Salamat sa sagot, Jerome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Both! But personal experiences are better than books. Nevertheless, we must educate ourselves with general knowledge. Who knows we need it that knowledge one day. I'm not a book reader, I hope I grew up liking it but no.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I have to agree with you on that, sis. Ako din eh. Di ako book reader. Read.cash reader lang hehe. Good morning an as inyo!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'd say life smart or it isn't bad if you can balance both. I met many who never finished school yet they are so smart in the real sense of the word. Mas may wisdom sila sa tingin ko :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Both would be awesome, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree with the (almost) last sentence. I personally love reading, listening to educational material and just learning in general. I’d say the key is the balance between the two. Learning first and then applying it in life or learning by doing. Both are very valuable.

I also don’t think there are people who are not intelligent at all. Everyone has their area of knowledge/interest and some might need a different approach than the school for example can not deliver to them in the way they can understand.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Very well said, Monika. Well, I am just lazy reading books and I would fall asleep after reading 3 pages lol. Missed you, my friend!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Maybe reading just isn’t your thing and there are at least 7 ways of how people learn, so for you it might be easier to learn by listening or by doing. Everyone is different and books are not the only way to learn.

Lots of love to you Jerryl 😘💙

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I think you hit the right words, Monika. I learn buy listening and doing :) Love back at ya, my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You said that exactly right and i was interested in reading book to get lesson and implement in life until a girl say this is only girls things they read books from then till now i didn't feel comfortable reading book.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ohh yeah? That's ironic. Are you still seeing that girl? hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know where she is but she's in noise cash 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh hehe. Maybe I know her. Btw, thank you for the sponsorship :) I can't approve because it says need photo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago