Names And Labels Are Nothing But Interpretation

6 38
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Our purpose in life in this universe is just to be here, experiencing things, creating meanings and labels. 

How do you label yourself? What kind of music do you listen to? What genre do you write?

These are only a few questions that can be found in this week's writing prompt which is about names or labels. I think I'm going to elaborate more on these three questions for this prompt. 

How do we label our self?

Two weeks ago I posted an article with the title Who Am I. I guess some writings in that post can be considered as how we label ourselves. I talked about things or people that seemed we know more about than knowing who we are. 

Honestly, I don’t know more about myself but I can label myself with a different personality depending on the people around me. I can’t recall the title I posted about personality but I tell you I can be named as your most loyal friend or even your worst enemy. I can be an A-hole too depending on how people will treat me. 

When we label ourselves, do we also label others the same as we label ours? Sometimes I also tend to be judgmental or to jump into conclusions easily. Does physical appearance can label a person? Yes, of course. We can always name them based on how they look. If a person is wearing a police uniform we can easily identify them as a person with authority. Thus name him policeman. If you knew his personality and for example he is not doing his duty as a policeman, would you still name him based on how he appears to be? So we label others depending on how we look at them outside and inside. 

What type of music do you listen to?

In some of my posts, I always talked about what kind of music I listen to. It’s funny that I had to admit that the things I know about music are only those that are a product of musical instruments. Neglecting the appreciation of music that the sound from animals creates or the sound of water droplets from a faucet.

If you are a moody person perhaps you like to listen more to melancholic songs or the emo music as they categorically name the genre. On the contrary you may want to listen to music with dance beats if you are a jolly person.

Why did a sound from an instrument that produces beats and rhythms arranged then synchronized was named music? Why not name it rock, stone or metal?

The origin of the word was then again derived from the Greeks and their myths of the gods and goddesses - mousike. The art of music eventually became experimental through the ages.

If you try to ask some teens these days what type of music they listen to, they will answer like, I listen to Ed Sheran, BTS, or Beyonce. It’s funny that they can name a piece of music according to the name of the artist. They never care if it is hip-hop, rock or pop that they listen to. If the song sounds beautiful to their ears they never care what genre the music is categorized. These types of people know how to distinguish a music from just a sound. 

What genre do I write?

When I published my first article here at read.cash, I wrote about time travel. I choose that type of classification to distinguish myself from other writers/bloggers on this platform. So what type of genre do I write about?

Time travel stories need a lot of reading and research, however I made posts about time travel in different ways. You might think that I knew a lot about quantum physics, string theories and the parallel universe because of my time travel stories but I'm not.

So I just write stories about my past experiences. From childhood to present. So what exactly is the label of my stories? I say it’s more motivational and inspirational. I get my stories mostly about life experiences. Sometimes I also write about fiction and trending news. Along with these life experiences stories, I also integrate it with technology. And this is where the label time travel stories came from.  

Thanks for reading. Ciao! 

This is my participation for Writing prompt #11: Labels

  1. Write anything on Labels

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag  @JonicaBradley

  5. Join the Promptly Jonica community and submit your story or article there.

  6. HAVE FUN!

*All words are mine. I know what I write. Beware of plagiarizers

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Falls Are Am

Transceiver Devices

Hard Habit To Break

Sharing My Work From Home Experience

Little By Little

Faith Healer: Santigwar

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

Special mention to my sponsors:

Cineholic JonicaBradley 

 Pantera  immaryandmerry 

Bloghound FrieLincs

Shout out to @Firenze my new sponsor!

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

Lead image source


8
$ 8.30
$ 7.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 4
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Bigla ako napaisip how I am going to label myself kasi nabasa ko comment ni Firenze. Siguro doon ako sa lazy. Hahaha. Charot. Marupok? Doon na lang ako sa Libra. 🤣 basta mga writing prompts from JonicaBradley, gusto ko talaga laging nababasa ang sayo. Soon babalik ako sa writing prompts.

Parang ayaw kita makaaway. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha.. grabe naman.. siguro po kasi we are both libra. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome kuya.

I suddenly think how to label myself, and isa lang naisip ko. Isa lang akong free spirited hooman

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I also agree. Labels are just interpretation and it has nothing to do with the thing. Labels make sense when people use it to associate with the things. Before when thing doesn't have a name people who live together would have a consensus of what should be the name of that thing and then after, they will use it in their circle. I just remember this from one of our Language classes.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello, my friend.

Today with the use of social networks we call labels what we used to indicate with stereotypes, archetypes, phenotypes, and any other type that comes to mind. Hahaha

Well, let's talk more seriously. Labels based on prejudice can take us away from reality. So it is wise to be accusatory so as not to pigeonhole someone. More when people fulfill more than one role in life.

I really liked your article and the reference to how young people label music.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Genotype, prototype, writertype ooopps! (laughs)

People who labels other people base on prejudiced impression are racist and or narcissist. Some people spends a lot of time judging other people by how they reflect off other things, and being objective. Naming other things has no meaning other than the meaning you give to it and it's distinction.

Well that was only my observation about them but at least they know that it is a type of sound named music.

Thanks for the read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago