Who Am I

10 50
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

BTS is a Korean pop band with Park Jimin as the lead vocalist and dancer. Ed Sheeran is an English singer -songwriter who is popular too for his songs like “Thinking out loud” and “Perfect”.

Are you a fanatic of some celebrity, singer, artist or group of popular people? Do you know about their personal life? Are you stalking them?

I am a fan too. I have admiration also for some artists, particularly music artists and Hollywood actors.

https://unsplash.com/photos/TjIEWmBDyDE

Most people are admiring their favorite artist or group, like for example the current trending Korean boyband BTS, to the extent that they would stalk them. Some teens and some millennials are even addicted to Korean pop culture these days. They would collect memorabilia, buy all their music albums and even would follow almost all their concert tours.

On the other hand, some people who admire celebrities know more about their life and the current updates. They would research all about their personal background from childhood up to how they became popular.

What could be the reason why we admire these celebrities and pop artists?

For musicians of course perhaps their music is pleasing to the ear or like radio friendly. Another thing is they are beautiful, handsome and talented artists. The same goes with movie and TV celebrities.

I for example, love metal and rock music so I tend to do research about how the band existed. For Hollywood actors, I will just check their biography and read current news about them. I am not really a fan of local actors and artists, you can hate me with that but I know whose local artist or celebrity to admire with. I even admire politicians but with a good reputation of course.

Bright kids about current trends but not in class

https://unsplash.com/photos/O7qGhQGsUqs

Kids these days seemed to be aware of almost trending on social media. Even a five years old kid can memorize a song from BTS or Blackpink. They can answer you quickly when you try to ask them for information about these groups. Unfortunately when you ask some kids about their online lessons they will just smile or scratch their heads. They can memorize all BTS member names but when asked about their lesson they are forgetful.

In the same manner some teens are also like these kids who know almost everything about their favorite K-POP other than their online lessons. They can answer you quickly if you ask them who Jimin is. How old is he? What are his favorites? Or even all about his personal life.

Know Thyself

https://unsplash.com/photos/UBCGLGA2gbg

Often we are also like this. We tend to know more about other people than knowing about ourselves. Who are you? Or who am I? Have you tried to ask yourself this question once?

How would you describe yourself? What are the most important things in your life? Do you love yourself?

These questions about yourself are sometimes hard to answer or explain. How have you known yourself these days?

Funny how it seems but sometimes we know more about other people than knowing ourselves. We are always updated on the current life events of a certain celebrity. We always know what our friends post on social media. We even know all about our neighbor’s mistress but forget to know what is happening with our partner. Or even what our kids have been up to lately. 

How have you been so far? Are you living your life as you wanted to be? Do you get enough sleep? Are you gaining more weight these days?

https://unsplash.com/photos/9LSTxzIaXiA

Some of these questions may have negative feedback from you. We might not notice that we are getting obese but we tend to notice our Facebook friend who looks overweight oh his recent post.

There is nothing wrong in knowing information about other people's lives. But knowing them to the extent that you don’t even know more about yourself is kind of a shame.

Know Thyself is an ancient Greek injunction. People seem to forget about self knowledge when they start to know and talk about other people. It is important that we know all about ourselves before we have to know others. I admit sometimes that I don’t know all about myself. I also have the habit of criticizing people but failed to criticize myself. But after that I realized my blunder and reflected.

https://unsplash.com/photos/GBEHjsPQbEQ

So the next time you see a post from your friend on social media, ask yourself first before you think of something about it.

Whenever you see your neighbor going out wearing tight jeans but looks uncomfortable, just think of her as having a boosted self confidence. Shen might know more about herself than you know yourself.

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

Feel free to check my previous posts:

I'm Not Perfect But I Keep Trying

Techy Tips: Lowering Your Water Consumption At Home

Making Life A Little Less Complicated

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

Cineholic JonicaBradley 

 Pantera  immaryandmerry 

Bloghound FrieLincs

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Oğuz Şerbetci

Yan L

Priscilla Du PreezPriscilla Du Preez

Ehimetalor Akhere Unuabona

Andre Mouton

11
$ 19.59
$ 19.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 8
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Iba kasi talaga impact ng mga KPop sa lahat worldwide. I am not really familiar with their songs pero kahit papano medjo familiar na ako who is who. Hehe. Or some of them. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My eyes lighted up at the sight of BTS! heheh, guilty but a proud fan of kpop here. I got a lot of things to say about myself but when I try to speak it out, I am at loss for words. Sure I could talk about BTS all day, but I grow frozen when asked about myself. Maybe because I am still that same shy, person who prefer being reserved than being outgoing. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a fan of Depeche Mode and I know some things about the members. I am more into the music, than the members, but it is good to know at least basic things about them and follow the news. I get your point some people know more about others, than themselves and that is not the way it should be. Good article of yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya, bawal judgemental at wag assuming mga kuya, mga ate ✌😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Social media has brought out the worst in us. There are more toxic people out there more than ever, hiding behind real and fake profiles. Whenever I was asked to describe myself, I'm still at loss what to say. I'm not that good describing myself so why should I judge others? We only see the surface but we don't know what's going on or what others are dealing with.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

yes exactly, and some parents seemingly tolerating their kids with some of these social media.

Knowing ourselves is pretty difficult to some. It's surprising sometimes when other people tell us of who we are we tend to frown because that's the truth and we haven't noticed it in ourselves.

Me too, even if i can described myself, I know there is more of me that I am not aware of.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One effective way for me to stop myself from judging or criticizing other people is pinching myself literally when a thought of judgement come to mind :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, how hard. (laughs)

But anyway at least we get to control ourselves and thus by doing so prevents us from committing sin. 😊👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yeah. I don't pinch myself anymore these days though, which means I haven't thought undesirable things towards others :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah that's the best part. 👍🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago