Little By Little

11 45
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

I was trying to have a goal of building some abs in the past years. It’s not that I wanted to attract some girls by showing some muscles but just to have some good shape.

I always wanted to go to the gym to build some muscles but never have I tried not even once. Sometimes I plan to just buy a set of weights so that I can just do it at home but still I can’t make a purchase. I also tried those video tutorials of building a muscle without using any object to lift or push but failed to continue.

Are you on this goal of physical enhancement too? How did you succeed? Did you not get bored of the process?

https://unsplash.com/photos/CQfNt66ttZM

I am just a normal guy who stands five feet and five inches tall that weighs 120 pounds.

I used to drink beer and other local liquors when I was just living alone. You know when men drink a lot of beer they will develop abs, absolutely fats. (laughs)

This is the reason why I wanted to go to the gym because I already have the so-called beer belly. Yes, it’s kind of embarrassing for me because I just can’t wear a corporate dress better because of my belly. But I don’t consider it a problem.

So I just decided to do the workout at home by following YouTube videos on full body workout with sets and reps. Ten to fifteen minutes of workout everyday before going to the office was my routine.

https://unsplash.com/photos/zbF-lW3k1QU

At first it was tiring because I am not used to doing push ups, squats or planks. But as days went by, I am kind of used to it and it feels good. I just do the routine in a couple weeks, then months. However there were times that I felt lazy enough to do the routine. This was the real struggle, on how to maintain consistency. So I tend to have lapses. Sometimes I will do it on the next day, which will make it just four times in a week. Then it lessens to three or two times a  week until I completely stopped the process.

The reason why I discontinued was that I felt like nothing was changing. I looked into the mirror but I haven’t seen any development with my body. I still saw one pack ab. Where were the other five? (laughs)

I was demotivated because I don’t see any changes. I was inconsistent. I didn’t take it seriously. I give up.

There are things in our life that we easily give up if we haven't seen the result in an instant. We just feel bored of doing things because we think that it is useless because nothing changes. We want to make things happen fast and we don’t have patience to deal with time. 

Three days ago, I posted about self-improvement with the title, Play With Starting Small. I talked about how to deal with your goals before it goes big. We have to start by improving little things first with what we do or what we want to achieve. 

Underestimating

https://unsplash.com/photos/n8wuzsypQ1M

With the goal of bodybuilding for fitness, I guess one thing was certain for sure. I failed to see small things, I underestimated the little changes. There has to be some changes with what I do little by little, it’s just that I don’t see it because my mind was focused on seeing the bigger picture fast. 

So I belong to those people who easily quit, lose hope or are demotivated ones.

I guess this happens to many people, not just me. It doesn’t mean that things do not work fine when we don’t see the progress right away. It should be done step by step, little by little. We may just don’t see it but if we keep going consistently, no stopping, no lapses then we will achieve the goals we want.

Just like the education process, you can’t graduate from a certain course like becoming an engineer if you just enrolled today. A five years old kid can’t graduate sixth grade tomorrow right away if he just enrolled today.

That was the most important thing that I neglected when I was starting to achieve the goal of having a good body shape. 

I am not into competition

But somehow I realize that what’s the point of building abs and muscle when I already have two kids and a loving wife. I am not going to compete in a bodybuilding competition anyway. Besides, my wife was kind of doubtful especially that my current job is full of pretty girls. You will know it if you are working at a BPO company.

So I forgot about it. I just make sure that I am physically fit by doing simple exercise at home. You will know it if you are healthy or ill because you own your body. I also bought a bike so that I can have a weekly round for a sweat during my day off.

It is important that we should see these little changes on things and never underestimate them. Remember that little changes are the way to big changes. Little changes add up everyday and make way to big changes over time.

https://unsplash.com/photos/_0Sw8lB5GVU

As I have said in my post about self-improvement, we should start small things first. Do it consistently and commit. Learn to appreciate little changes. You may not see it but for sure it does make change. Do not hurry. Be patient. In due time you will be surprised by the big results. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao! 

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Faith Healer: Santigwar

Regretfully Yours

The Free Unlimited Browsing Technique

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

Special mention to my sponsors:

Cineholic JonicaBradley 

 Pantera  immaryandmerry 

Bloghound FrieLincs

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Danielle Cerullo

Gabe Pierce

Jesper Aggergaard

Benjamin Wedemeyer

13
$ 13.91
$ 13.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 3
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hahahaha. Ang cute. Sa abs relate ako diyan. Sa akin parang baby bump 🤣 pero nagawa ko before as in 5 months both diet and exercise and yung unang napansin ko is yung sa upper mid line nagkaron ng cut tapos sumunod yung sa left and right may parang pashape na siya. Hehe. Hirap explain. Hindi ko alam kung nasave ko yung photo na yun pero aliw na aliw ako. Walang pandesal na mala 6 pack pero ok na ako doon sa may cuts.

Nagawa kong 5 months kasi andoon yung nachallenge ako na magpapayat talaga tsaka kasi minimonitor ng nutritionist noon yung progress ko in terms of weight, body fat, visceral fat, water weight, muscle mass and kung ano-ano pa. Hindi ko lang namaintain kasi ayaw na magbayad ng tatay ko. Mahal daw. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yun lang.. minsan kasi nakakatamad din.. lalo kapag nag fail ka ng isang session.. nakakatamad na haha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa akin ginagawa ko kapag nakamiss ako exercise today, dodoblehin ko the following day. Kaya mas lalo ayoko magmiss kasi ang hirap. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tried to go to the gym before. it worked out fine for me, but my schedule started to get in the way. deployments, projects, over time happened and disrupted my schedule. So after that I stopped. And shifted to regular weekend (and some weeknight) sports for exercise. Come pandemic. Joined my brother with a little HIIT.. but that stopped too. Planning to go back soon..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like how you relate it with education. We can't graduate from school the first day or year we started, it takes a process. This is how it is for exercising. I think the only way to maintain consistency is to set goals on when you feel like having a little result. It may be a goal of one month, two months of exercising before thinking of stopping. This will make us feel energized and dedicated to do because we would be looking forward to seeing result at that particular time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually to go to gym ,this is best way to utilize time in productive way. Once i joined gym my instructor said to me that come here regularly . I said yes but that day was my first and last day at gym lol. Actually i am thinking to join it but so busy in my acadamic work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Leisure like this needs time and devotion. But if we want just to be fit there is no need actually to go to the gym.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get self-conscious just thinking of going to the gym so I resort to jogging/walking. Sometimes even that I feel as if people are looking at me lol! but I can bear with that other than in enclosed spaces like the gym.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was in the middle east I used to jog alone because almost all of my kababayan are playing basketball and I don't.

Most of the Gym I think are enclosed and air conditioned. I think it's not good to sweat out in an air conditioned area.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Little changes add up everyday and make way to big changes over time. True, try doing small steps it will automatically change into something big ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes indeed. little changes matters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago