Sharing My Work From Home Experience

17 53
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

It’s been sixteen months that I have been working from home and I have just renovated my home office for the third time.

When I started for an office job six years ago,  I sometimes thought,  can we at the Workforce department do work from home set up.

https://unsplash.com/photos/ZebJVcS8HUg

There was one particular department at the company who was allowed to do work from home whenever they couldn't report to the office for certain circumstances. Sometimes when the weather is bad or they need to look after their kids because their partner is out, they will send call-in advice to do work from home instead.

When I was transferred to the support group from operations, most of my tasks at workforce were capable of doing even without reporting to the office. I am currently the scheduler and submit reports only internally.

So I wonder, if some employees in the company are allowed to work from home, why not give some department privileges to do the same? Anyway I didn’t dare to ask some people I know at the higher position. For sure there are reasons why some employees can do a WFH schedule.

Working From Home To Avoid Being Infected

Here comes the pandemic, honestly I was rejoicing when the company declared to have all employees do work from home. But don’t get me wrong nobody wants this COVID to happen and by having employees advised to work from home in some companies was a good move. At least to avoid being infected by this virus. However not all types of jobs can do work from home set up.

I felt content when finally I am now working at the comfort of my home but sad at the same time that the reason was about the pandemic.

Actually I wasn’t prepared to do work at home. I am living in the largest city of metro manila and I don’t own a house. So it’s kind of hard to make a home office if you are just renting and living with neighbors you don’t personally know .

During the first month, I felt the struggle. It was summer when the President declared a lock down and during that time the heat was unbearable. We don’t have an air conditioning system at home so it is hard to endure the heat in such a workplace.

I made a table out of a used TV rack and set up my small office in one corner of the house.

The computer system generates heat and it adds up to high temperatures at home. Good thing my in-law gave me a Cool Air, a fan with a water container. At least it helps to lessen the heat.

Struggles of Working at home

https://unsplash.com/photos/MT9HfRglelU

I thought working from home would be like no hassle because you need not have to hurry. You can start working even when you wake up ten minutes before your shift starts. You will not have to worry about traffic. You will not get wet when it rains. You can save money for transportation. You will no longer worry about what to wear and or you will no longer see the people you don’t like.

Those are the only things that seem favorable when working at home. However I really have struggles during the first quarter of working at home. I am still not getting used to it because there are things to consider about having an office at home.

The first factor affecting working from home is the sudden electricity outage. If you are a freelancer that’s not really a big deal. But if you are working on a schedule basis, that’s kind of different. Another thing is internet downtime. Even if your electricity seems stable but your ISP doesn't seem to cooperate, it is still a big problem. Some companies are having this offsetting of schedules but there are companies who are strict with their policy. They just don’t accept offsetting.

If you are living in an apartment I guess it is more convenient to work at home. But if you are living in a rented house surrounded by neighboring people who seem to have occasions every night, it is kind of a real struggle. Then during the day kids are playing outside shouting and yelling like there is no deadly virus spreading is another struggle.

Mr. DIY Guy

https://unsplash.com/photos/-3pHPLmitr0

I mentioned earlier that I just made my office table, it's DIY. At first I felt comfortable with the table I made, but as days went by I felt numbness in my right arm up to my shoulder. It appears that the height of the table was not proportional to the height of my chair. So I did some renovations with my home office to make it a more conducive working place. 

The funny thing was, I am a person who seems to work on certain projects whatever comes to mind. I don’t  look for guides or search for the proper standard of measurement of something. 

So when I’m done with the third renovation of my table, that was the only time that I decided to look into the internet about the standard height of a computer table. But as per checking, it seems there is no standard height. There are 27 inches, 25, 22 and even 30 inches which was the first setting of my DIY table. 

Today I just lowered it down and made it 26 inches high. I hope it’s not that low but I don’t feel any numbness in both of my arms while I am writing this article for more than two hours now.  

Anyway this has been one of my stories while still working at home. Some employees at the company are now working onsite in the office and we can still choose to work at home. Unless the management had ordered for all their employees to stop working at home and report to work at the office then, I can do nothing but to obey. 

However the pandemic is not over yet and the COVID cases are not decreasing so I think they will not risk employees' lives just to work in the office.

I am kind of used to this working set up somehow. But I also miss working in the company's premises. I miss the fun and the events. I just hope this pandemic will end soon.

Thanks for reading. Ciao! 

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Little By Little

Faith Healer: Santigwar

Regretfully Yours

The Free Unlimited Browsing Technique

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

Special mention to my sponsors:

Cineholic JonicaBradley 

 Pantera  immaryandmerry 

Bloghound FrieLincs

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Surface

Nathana Rebouças

vadim kaipov

14
$ 10.51
$ 10.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 8
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Ako din ok ako sa work from home setup. Hehe. Naexperience ko siya for a few days lang years ago kaso mas bet ko pa din talaga yung nasa restaurant tapos magorder take kahit na may nakakainis na guest 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are advantages and disadvantages of being a work from home. I am also work from home now due of pandemic. It's better for us since we're not safety going outside always. We pray that this pandemic will end soon and everything is going back to normal.

God bless you Bjorn..🙏❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so too. I think we, that are able to do the task at home, should remain working at home until this pandemic ends. Keep safe dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it's for our own safety Bjorn...Safety first...

You too, Thank you so much Bjorn...❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to this wfh set up. Its been a year and a half already as well. Just like you, first months feels different talaga. Akala madali e. Pero nasanay na din as days goes by. And same with the internet and electricity outage. Good thing lang, our company provided an option to have a fibr connection and internet allowance. Kaya medyo magaan na siya now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here, the company also provided as electricity allowance aside from internet allowance. Some of my team mates wanted to work onsite because they are aiming for the high amount of hazard pay and transpo allowance for those who don't want to avail the service shuttle. They were asking me to join them but I refused. Never mind those additional incentives, more important is we don't have to worry of being in contact with different people outside.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you are wfh, the major problem that you will face is the internet and sudden blackout. Unlike from office where you got back up or generator. That's the negative side of it. But yeah, knowing that some of us work from home because of the pandemic is not good to know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes true, good thing the company provided us also a UPS so that we can save our work when sudden electricity outage occurs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are so many benefits of working from home especially helping to save transport fare but it looks boring at some point because you would feel like missing some sets of people at work and the fun to be with your colleagues and gist. I hope everything becomes normal again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

socialization is pretty much important in an institution, however we just have to wait until this pandemic ends so that we can now do the things we missed with our colleagues.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The first thing i liked about working from home is stretching my sleeping hours and not preparing for the commute/drive to work. No Traffic. But yes I agree there were struggles. I felt that summer heat. The fan I was using for sleeping is the same fan I'm using for working so no resting for the fan and it gave up. I had to buy another. I used to be also satisfied with my trolly as a table and the sofa as my chair. eventually i needed to buy my table and set it up properly when I realized the wfh setup will take longer. I also miss the thought of having seatmates and lunchmates hehe. But knowing we are all stuck at home for now it makes it lighter .. everyone's health first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes considering the health risk this pandemic brings, I think it is important to stay and work at home for those employees that are able to do the task at home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we were actually hoping the management will get to see that a wfh setups is equally productive as during the time we were reporting to work. Though nakakamiss nga makakita ng officemates haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was frustrated in the start of work from home thing last year. My boss even calling me at 12 am in the night to make a video lecture for the students. But with the time I started enjoying it. It seems more efficient to work at night and sleep all day lol 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes that's the downside of it.. I hate it when my colleagues would ask me something during my day off.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yah, working from home definitely has its pros and cons. I quite like working from home to a certain extent because at one point, I had to work till late and it helps to be able to have the balance of working and resting when needed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely, you can just lay down anytime when you feel like all drained.

$ 0.00
2 years ago