Hard Habit To Break

23 50
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

People have habits. Whether good or bad habits we have to end it for some reasons. 

Do you have bad habits or vices? How did you manage to control it? What did you do before you decided to quit?

Let’s talk about bad habits first. What do you think drives people to do bad things over and over? Consider simple mannerisms. Three week ago, I posted about filming myself talking about the current teaching and learning process. It was a part of the task assigned to my son by his teacher in junior high. 

As I was watching the replay, I noticed several mannerisms while I was talking. There was the scratching on the back of my head even if it was not itchy, frequent touching of my nose, moving my head left and right, clearing my throat and other movements that are noticeable. In short I was not pleasing to the eye while talking in front of the camera. The reason was that I am a camera shy person.

Nevertheless I have delivered a five-minute speech about  education in front of a camera.

Memorabilia

https://unsplash.com/photos/_9xDiRFt4iQ

Some people have the habit of picking up something as a souvenir. Most Pinoys have this habit. Don’t get me wrong here because I have talked to some or known people who have this attitude of picking memorabilia when visiting places. Honestly I also do that but not to the extent that I would do it because I needed it. You know there is this an unexplainable pleasure in doing this thing.

When I had the opportunity to travel for work related reasons, it was my first time to go on board an airplane. There were two Pinoys at my company for the same working place destination. When we got to the place and headed to the villa, I was surprised by one kababayan because he was able to pick up the blanket provided by the flight stewardess in the plane. I wasn’t aware the passengers could bring home those blankets. However I never did anything like that even if it was my first time. I already had photos documented on my smartphone.

There was also a TV show in one of the local TV stations in Manila where a celebrity guest admitted that she has this habit of picking up things as a souvenir.  As far as I can recall she said that she brings home a small spoon when she dines at a first class hotel restaurant.

I always mentioned in some of my posts that I was once a heavy drinker when I was still single. Then of course smoking is always part of drinking. It was a habit for me but not really a vice. Habits and vices are pretty much similar but they are two different things. 

https://unsplash.com/photos/Pdty4SxW-2E

When habits are uncontrollable it becomes a vices.

So far I was able to control my alcohol intake and my smoking habit. When I met my wife and had a family, my drinking habit had lessened. Although I still smoke, my maximum consumption of cigarettes a day was only three to five sticks.

When my kids are growing up, I no longer smoke at home. I only smoke when I’m at the office during breaks. Then I would drink during company events.

So it appears that the habit of smoking was once a big challenge for me. Before I worked at a BPO, I didn't normally buy cigarettes per pack because of low consumption. However, when I started working in this type of industry, my smoking habit tended to worsen. I just notice myself buying cigarettes per pack and I can consume six to eight sticks per day during office hours. 

Sometimes I think that it is really the nature of my work that I become more prone to risking my lungs due to smoking. In a sense it is because being a Workforce analyst is kind of stressful.

Yesterday's post, I mentioned that I rejoiced when I finally made it to work from home although it was kind of sad knowing that COVID was the reason for all of this. But whether we like it or not, there are good things that the lock down has brought to us. I need not have to mention all of them here because you know the good things the lock down brings.

https://unsplash.com/photos/dDYRYivNzbI

Surprisingly I no longer smoke for sixteen months, not even once.

The last time I lit a cigarette for a smoke was March 15, 2020. Did I finally end my bad habit? I can’t tell for now. But honestly I am a person who doesn’t just go out and smoke at a distant store hiding from my kids. It was 550 days that I did not smoke and as of this current time.

So as much as I wanted to, I would prefer to just have work from home set up so that I can fully stop my habit of smoking. There is a lot of temptation in the office even if I wanted to stop and quit smoking. My old boss was a woman and she smoked. Sometimes she would ask me to join her for a “Yosi break” as she called it. So how can I resist?

I am looking forward to this bad habit of mine being completely stopped even if everything will go back to normal.

Some habits are really hard to end. Sometimes even if we want to quit, the people around us are not letting it go. So we just wished to vanish and live somewhere where people don’t have this habit we want to avoid.

But it’s not the people that influences us, it is yourself who can control these bad habits. It is only us who can end it if we really take time to discipline ourselves. Nobody but us. 

When was the last time you did your bad habit? How did you feel after that? Share it in the comments, I would love to read it. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao! 

Feel free to check my previous posts:

Sharing My Work From Home Experience

Little By Little

Faith Healer: Santigwar

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

Special mention to my sponsors:

Cineholic JonicaBradley 

 Pantera  immaryandmerry 

Bloghound FrieLincs

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Ole Witt

Irina Iriser

Johan Godínez

13
$ 6.82
$ 6.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 6
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Smoke free for 3½ years already 😊 naalala ko na naman yung assignment/project ng anak mo. Hehe. Nabanggit mo na yan last time. Kaya mas lalo tuloy ako nacucurious ngayon. May isa akong agency noon for Canada na hindi ko inaapplyan kasi may video resume. Hahahaha. Sabi ng tropa ko kung ayaw ko daw magsalita, sabihin ko na lang daw ang pangalan ko kaso lang asahan ko daw na hindi ako matatanggap. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why I can relate to this? Hehe! I smoke to before but then I slowly leave the habit. In fact I was a chain-smoker. I only stopped because I got admitted to the hospital because of it. Glad that you are on your way to leave smoking, sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, So you were smoking back then. Sometimes the only thing we stop a bad habit is when it can harm us or other people. Good thing you are safe now dear.

Yes, I know i can make it to stop and here now I'm smoke free hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup I only stop when I was admitted to the hospital. If not, then for sure I'll be doing it until now. It's my kind of calm so I can't easily leave it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Good thing you already stopped smoking. It is such an achievement indeed. Hopefully you will not get into it again. For you health. ☺️

God bless always!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I am looking forward to disciplining my self hehe.

Thanks.. keep safe dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome, dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations! Not to light a cigarette for a smoker is a big thing. It has been a long time now you have not smoked. A lot of smokers cannot do that if they want to give up.

I had a bad habit when I was a child. I liked everything to be in line and to be perfectly aligned. If there were a few beer coasters on the table they had to be paralell to each others. If they were not I aligned them.

I lost this bad habit fortunately. I think it was a bit of an OCD to be honest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you dude.. I hope this is for good.

People evolve and eventually these habits changes over time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing you have not smoked for more than a year already. I hope this will continue, Sir, as I know how bad smoking is to our health. My dad was hospitalized for a damaged liver and kidney because of smoking (and lil bit drinking). He had to suffer, and of course, us too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, i'm looking forward to that. I hope i can completely stop this habit even when all thing get back to normal.

That's the sad part when all have to suffer for one person's mistake. So we have to end it before it's too late. I hope your dad is okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations for your achievements ❣️ I was once a smoker but now I am pure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Bro. Congrats to you too.. At least you were able to stop it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so happy for you sir to the achievement you have. Yes sir we need to discipline ourselves, it's not the influence but we're the only who can control it. .

God bless you sir...🙏❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I am thankful that it did not reach to the extent that I would do the smoking even at home. keep safe dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sir that's why I'm happy for you.. Good health always sir...

Stay safe too sir..🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you cant resist yosi po talaga, you can try vaping po. May mga nabibiling vape na manipis lang at kasing laki ng cigarette. May mga kakilala ako na nagbitiw sa yosi dahil sa vape. Vape is much more safe naman po kesa sa yosi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pinag iisipan ko rin mag vape kaso may mga nababalita din kasi na dangers about it. Thanks for the recommendation dude.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

a small spoon when she dines at a first class hotel restaurant. -- haha nenok po ba to sir? o pinapaalam naman niya?

haven't been checking on myself regarding my bad habits. wala pa ulit.. ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes at tuwang tuwa pa sya na ikino-kwento nya sa TV host. LOL! sikat pa nman sya until now hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, congrats on your achievement, kuya. Di mo ba hinahanap hanap ang yosi? hehe. Di ko alam anong bad habit ko eh. Cguro yung pagkain ng nga chips in between meals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks.. Di nman ako ganon katalamak mag yosi kasi sa bahay di na rin ako nag yo-yosi noon.. pag nasa work lang.

Chips before meals kadalasan mga kids gumagawa at nagiging dahilan ng loss of appetite.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great accomplishment, kuya. Keep it up! You're welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago