Thoughts over coffee.

60 84
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Coffee is now part of my life and I speak in behalf of all coffee lovers out there. I have not been a coffee lover before. I prefer milk, choco drink, tea, water - anything other than coffee. I think it was when I started working in a BPO that my coffee started. It was a gradual process. I find it bitter at first but I have grown to love it.

It started with tasting the coffee of co-employees. Yes, we are just a small company so we get to share things like that. One person in particular mixes just the right amount of coffee and sugar and everyone likes it - everyone who drinks coffee that is. We work night shifts so we need something to keep us awake especially when the weather gets cold.

Cold nights and early mornings will find us still working. What better way to perk us up but power naps and coffee. The effect of coffee is instant.

Instant coffee is where I started. I would buy different brands of 3-in-1. I think there was even a 7-in-1 which was being promoted as something healthier option for it has different ingredients that like ginseng and some mushroom and what-have-you. Everything is healthy anyway as what they all advertise so anything will do. I would buy whatever I feel like buying at the time.

Time and time again I would buy different kinds of instant coffee brands. I think I might have tried everything that was there. (I'm exaggerating just to give you an idea how I tried to be adventurous with coffee.) Of course I always stayed within the budget so I don't go with the more expensive ones. I know my limit. Coffee is not the only thing I have to buy. There are other necessary needs too.

Too much coffee though caused my stomach to suffer. Since I started working from home, I can drink 2-3 or probably more sachets. There were times I would put powdered milk and choco and sugar in addition to my coffee. I did that for a while until I grew tired of it. I used to eat a lot of sweets so I was trying to find in my drink the sweetness.

Sweetness made me go search for cakes and cafes in town. When my stomach didn't agree with the instant coffees that I had been drinking, that's when I started transitioning to brewed coffee. Since I already have cake, then I ordered brewed coffee to go with that. I would still put sugar and cream in my coffee though until gradually I learned to let go of those and that's when I began loving the bitter taste. I think that is where I stopped learning about coffee. There is so much more going on about coffee and the industry. Coffee growers and farmers here in the country have a touch competition with the imports from other countries that have infiltrated our markets for many years for a long time. Now that more and more coffee lovers and enthusiasts are getting knowledgeable about the industry, they are raising awareness.

Awareness of our local farmers and how they cannot compete with the global market are being raised and being spread with the help of social media. That is why it is important to know where your coffee comes from and where is the real source. Remember that not because it is cheaper, then it is better. Those cheaper coffee are hurting our local coffee industry for those cheap coffee were most probably from other countries. Some business owners would label their products as coffee from our locality when it reality it is not.

Not that I am saying all cheap coffee is bad but it wouldn't hurt to know where is the source of your coffee. Supporting your local businesses, growers and farmers will help us better improve our own. Know more about the products you buy and start supporting local businesses now.

Now, I am sipping my last cup of coffee for the day. I wanted to quit but I know it will be impossible. Maybe it is not the coffee that I am addicted to. Maybe it's just the warmth of the drink and some taste of coffee. But as long as there is some of that taste of coffee in there, I will keep drinking.

Drinking coffee has become a habit. Whether the weather is cold or warm or hot, I still would go for coffee.

This is my take on the challenge that I read from the post of LykeLyca entitled Connecting Under the Weather. In this challenge, you have to start your next paragraph with the last word of the previous paragraph.

I have already written an article about coffee but since our weather is just perfect for coffee, I decided to write about that. A storm just passed us but another one is coming. More coffee weather ahead!

As always, I thank you all for your time and support.

33
$ 8.45
$ 7.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @aaskelter
$ 0.08 from @King_Gozie
+ 16
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

I have to check back in your article if you did it, you did it!! Coffee helps me to work hard and smart because it keeps me awake as always.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I can talk a lot about coffee :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aaahhh this is fun .. connect connect that last.. hmmmm..... Before I was a 3-in1 lover too.... .kopiko brown to be exact... But i did drink black before that too. When I saw one 3 in one with Low Acid... a friend pinged me and told me to start brewing my own coffee instead. . . so i came back to loving the beans and having them black... less guilt on the sugar part...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

But now I'm back to 4-in-1 lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope you are enjoying the weather with sweet coffee. So many methods of making and drinking of coffee , will sure make us to prepare a hot cup of coffee ☕. It's difficult to identify from markets which is real tasty one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess it's up to us what taste we want and what we prefer :D I prefer home grown of course.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my country they are coffee producers. There is an excellent coffee here and of course I am addicted to it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I still haven't seen Venezuelan coffee sold here for our market is more on local products. If I find one, I'll definitely try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh coffee. I'll choose coffee over and over again. It goes with bread so well for me

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Coffee goes well with everything for me :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coffee is life ako sir pero don lang sa instant coffee, diko kaya ang black coffee. Mostly twice a day ako ngkakape at same sayo sir nag aadd ako ng sugar at creamer

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sanayan lang siguro sa black coffee hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We're allies! Coffee's the best! I drink coffee with no sugar.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Cheers to black coffee!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coffee & me, a never ending love story. Good to see you on the same club.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There is always a love story with coffee :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I started loving coffee when I was in college. Dahil talaga yun sa thesis kaya ako na addict eh 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaka adik kasi talaga hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabi, ang damin nyong coffee lover dini. Ako'y di makapag pasawa sa kape kasi ung sikmura ko huehue. So gatas at kape lang ang sakin, very very maliit lang na portion ba haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

May pagka lactose intolerant kasi ako kaya di masyado sa gatas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My fathers is really addicted of coffee. I think 5 times to drink in a day. And remember coffee is also anti oxidant perhaps there's also benefits to drink it .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

5 cups sounds about the same amount I drink or probably more but sometimes less :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In this I can not accompany you friend. I definitely don't like coffee or milk. I've tried but really can't. My mom says to stop drinking milk even months after being born, I didn't like it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not everyone can drink coffee or milk because of upset stomach.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't say I am a coffee addict, but it is my beverage :) I saw some local coffee brands in the supermart in LTB and I do hope it will be patronized. Bought a pack and someone snatched it from me, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lots of cafes have now sprung up every where around here. The pine scent is already replaced with coffee :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like coffee very much, sometimes I had one when I woke up, another one when I had breakfast, the next one when I got to the office, one more after 2 hours, the next one after lunch, now it comes at 2 pm, probably one more before leaving work, another one when I got home, if at night I stayed late a little coffee at night, it was too much coffee for one day, the moment came when my stomach could not stand it. Today I can drink about 4 a day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Whenever my stomach hurts because of too much coffee, I'd give it a rest for days or even weeks then get back to it again :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coffee is a drink that I must consume every day. The reason, coffee can be an energy booster when starting the day for me. I often feel sleepy and feel tired quickly if I don't drink coffee

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Gotta find ways to stay energetic and awake :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now, I don't drink much coffee because sometimes I palpitate, It feels not comfortable to me. Most of all drinks I prefer coffee

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Anything in excess is not good :) Drink in moderation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coffee is what completes my day before when I don't have palpitations. There's not a day i wouldn't have a cup of coffee in my hand. I like the sweet one as well as the strong one. I like everything as long as it's coffee.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My taste is like a ping pong sometimes. Now I'm into 4 in 1 ;D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here kuya Lee. I started to drink coffee because I am working in BPO too. I used to only drink milk and milo. And now, coffee is life na. And I agree about supporting local businesses in this one too. Natry mo na po yung mais na coffee?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

D ko na natry. Pero nung bata ko pinapakulo namin ung buhok ng mais at un ang tsaa namin hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been drinking coffee since I was a teenager. it's my only vice and I can't start my day without it. it's said to be one of the most pleasant aromas in the world. It has the ability to wake you up, make you alert and warm you up on cold days. God bless coffee, hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank goodness for coffee! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coffee is life here haha habang nagwowork hindi maiwasan mag coffee para maiwasan ang antok.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Iba din kasi talaga ang kape e hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coffee is life ba hehehe. It really helps although some are suggesting to eat apples instead to stay awake (because the sugar is stronger than caffeine)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They also said eating something sour helps to stay awake but doesn't work for me :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magiging coffee lover talaga basta nagtrabaho sa BPO kuya para iwas antok.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. BI talaga ang work :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

si sis bloghound ata ung gumawa nung coffee na channel sa noise noh?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang daming channels dun hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. She got this challenge from me and you took it too.. Unfortunately, I'm not a coffee lover haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There are other alternatives to coffee :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe yung 7 in 1 na coffe ano kaya lasa nun at ano kaya ang ingredients nun. Baka 1 week ka gising nun hehe. Kawawa din pala ang local farmers ng coffee natin. Sana ilimit lang yung import. Tayo nga dapat mag export para dagdag kita hindi yung puro sa tax naka asa lahat.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wala antukin pa din ako kahit nagkape hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

parang di kona kaya talaga pag walang kape. kape is life more than ever. hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo din. Parte na ng buhay hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coffee is the best aroma, but I choose to drink Ginger tea for caffine level reasons... I just love the smell of coffee :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh yes! The aroma by itself is uplifting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love drinking coffee though I don't drink always because I palpitate and I become praning also, checking the back door many times to see if it is already locked.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe. I rarely do palpitate after drinking coffee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

coffee lover here too and i think I do understand you when it comes to quitting. And it's really not the caffeine we are addicted to.. it's the warmth that the coffee gives, the warmth that is almost comforting on cold days.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree. These days, it is the warmth of hot beverage that I am addicted to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a nice trend for these days especially for me who's like floating. Lol. I am not into coffee nor drinking other hot drinks. Di kami sinanay ng mama ko h

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di rin ako sanay sa kape. Nung nagstart na ako nagwork tsaka na adik hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago