PHOTOWALK: Napanak nagnagna (I went for a walk)

83 90
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Walking is my kind of exercise.

It is easy to do. You don't need a lot of equipment. You can do it at your own pace. You get to see the beautiful things around you.

It helps your joints, heart and even helps you to lose weight. To know more about the benefits of walking, check it out here.

Depending on my mood, my route, the weather and time, sometimes I will add jogging to my walking routine. I like taking long walks as well. Sometimes it takes me 1-2 hours walk and probably more. Weekends are the times that I can walk more for I have no work to think about.

I like to go for a walk because it helps to clear my mind. You get distracted by the things you see along the way. Whenever I feel like I have gained weight just like now, I'd go for walk/jog. I have to discipline myself to do it at least 4-5 days a week. It depends on how motivated I am. Sometimes I can even go for seven days a week.

I prefer walking in the mornings when everything is peaceful. There are less cars on the road. I like observing the world come to life.

I bring my phone with me to capture things of interests. I don't have music for I have birds along the way anyway accompanying me. Natural music.

If I am in luck, I could witness a gorgeous sunrise. Sometimes that will stop me altogether and I would record it and then I'd go home. Happy to bring home the sunshine with me.

Since the start of the monsoon, I can't go out for a walk. For almost a month, I gained back the weight I lost and probably more.

When the weather gets better, I'll start my walking/jogging again.

This time, let me take you to one of the trails we frequent here in the city.

Camp John Hay Eco-Trail

This is a very easy trail. It's just about 1 km long. The entrance could be at the Paintball Republic across Filling Station you you can opt to enter through Panagbenga Park. It's easy to go to and get out of. Just be careful not to go to the golf course because that's off limits.

When we need a quick escape away from the city and a place to relax our body and mind, we come here at the Eco Trail. There is a brook where you can spend your time too. You just have to bring with you bug/mosquito repellant. If you want a quick time with the trees, this is the place for you. During the dry season, the place is not as lush. Wet season is not a good idea to come because some parts are flooded and muddy.

It was here that I first saw a scaled-feathered malkoha which is a bird that is endemic here in the northern parts of the country. I was searching for my photo of it but I haven't saved it in my fb. I might have uploaded it somewhere online but I can't remember where.

Back when I was practicing the slow shutter of my DSLR, this is where I did it. I also did some photoshoots here. Nature will always be a perfect subject when starting photography and it's always a subject I keep going back. Just when you think you have seen it all, you'll be surprised that there are new things to discover.

There used to be a butterfly sanctuary near the paintball republic but they transferred that to the Panagbenga Park where there is also an aviary and a cafe named Saleng Cafe. I like their carrot cake and lemongrass-soybean coffee. Sometimes I buy their carrot cake to take home. However, they have been closed since pandemic hit and as far as I know, they haven't opened yet.

One of my memorable walks here was I crushed my current phone during our walk there which is the last one I think - two years ago. Miraculously, my phone still works although not 100% as it was before especially the camera. When I asked around where I can have a replacement for the back case, no one seems to know.

What happened was I was going down the steps when I slipped. To break my fall, I used my hand which was gripping my phone. Because it happened so fast, no time to transfer my phone to the other hand. Good thing I was holding my phone face up such that when I fell the lower back portion was crushed to thousand pieces. I thought I would be buying a new one sooner or later but two years and counting it still works! I came out of the trail unharmed but just worried about my phone. If one of these days it will die on me, I'll probably go bury it somewhere along the eco trail.

The photo above of the silky water among mossy rocks was the only photo taken using Nikon D5000. The rest was taken using my phone.

I wanted to write earlier on but I just can't. There are many subjects to write. I do have the available photos that I needed. However, my mind just can't do it. I have to will myself to do it but I kept delaying it. Fortunately, once I started it, the thoughts just flowed through my keyboard.

31
$ 12.02
$ 10.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 22
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Oh wow. I'll on purpose get lost on that trail. I would do the trail the first time running to get a quick view of the land, then the 2nd time I'll walk to soak it in and after that πŸ€” I'll loose myself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the right way to do it :D Whenever I revisit trails, I discover new things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you use that same macro lens on your phone for some of those other photos?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No, I didn't. That's how my phone's camera should work but those were the last shots it functioned that well. It can't focus that well anymore.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very capable phone camera. Some of the shots look like macro shots.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's the main reason why I bought this phone :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good choice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello there kailyan! I really like your photos! Still to check your channel out. This week maybe. And your other articles!

Lapit na vacation grad school sa UC.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Halu kailyan :D Ala ket sala-salamat :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Walking is my favourite exercise too (right after dancing of course). Like you, I also don’t listen to the music while walking, rather to birds and nature in general. I did listen to music when I was running though, as it would somewhat help me. I haven’t done any running for over a year though.

My nearby forest is also very muddy, even in summer with so much rain we had. I got myself a pair of wellies and I go anyway. I should really go more often though.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Music is good for running/jogging. It helps for motivation. Walking for me is to slow down and take everything in so I don't need music.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello. what a beautiful place! I would add more benefits to walking in a place like this. I would add peace, relaxation, meditation, time to be grateful that we enjoy special moments. Thank you for sharing. Greetings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yes! Those too. It's what we seek for and do when we go there even for a little bit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wooow. Huhuhu ang galing2 talaga eh. Ganda ng pagkakuha ng mga pictures 😭

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe...maraming salamat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also loved walking po ..best if inside a nature like that po. Kitaim man lang ti panagpagpagna po kit nagadu napipintas nga mabalin.picturen..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pirmi a bro. Bareng makapagpagna tu manen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayna, napipintas dagita dan! Nakadanun ba kayo jay ayan ni Alice in Wonderland? hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awan rabbit nga suruten isu han pay haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a very nice trail, and as usual amazing pics. Your phone is good if it still works after that bump. It reminds me of one my son had who survived many falls, including a fall into a swimming pool. And it only broke one day that my son didn't realize that he had dropped it when he got into the car and closed the door on it. This time the screen was damaged, but incredibly it still turned on.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We are the lucky ones for having phones as sturdy lol! I guess the universe knows we can't afford just yet to buy a new one :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, you are right. Although, my son's phone needed to be replaced after that. Phone sturdiness has a limit, LOL And you could think on replace yours after finishing your house. ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right. Now and again I pray to give me one more day to keep my phone working until our house is finally done.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A speed and healthy walk always keeps you fit....physically and mentally..enjoy your walks By the way my favorite is carrot πŸ₯• cake

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. That's why we like going there for a quick recharge :D and yes, that carrot cake at the end :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

seeing your photos make me want to walk too.. haha nakaka inspire..

sayang naman ung scaled-feathered malkoha photo mo sir..hanapin mo please...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wala e nasama sa nasunog hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Super duper like ang mga pics :) We went to Camp John Hay, in the butterfly garden. My daughter loves the butterflies so much. You're so lucky to live there :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think you've been to the way to the eco trail. I'm not sure if there are other butterfly sanctuaries there but that's the area where I know it was.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

check ko mga pix namin uli

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ang gaganda talaga ng kuha, naaagaw ng mga pics yung atensyon ko palagi AHHAHA

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe. Salamat ng marami!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is so beautiful😍 I want to live in that place it looks so peaceful and not crowded Nature is the best subject in photography Your shots is so beautiful and fantasticπŸ‘Œ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's part of the property of Camp John Hay so no one is allowed to live there. It's great that they have preserved green spaces for us to enjoy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know that no one can live there .lol

They are so amazing because these days it is really hard to preserve them because of climate change and many more matters

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. More and more "developments" happen all the time but destruction to the nature is it's price.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag sa ganyan, kahit maghapon pa ako lumakad hindi ako makakaramdam ng pagod. 😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe. Sarap nga magstay jan buong mag hapon :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sometimes hate walking to be honest. But when I'm surrounded with nature just like you, then why not? Lol Yung place kasi talaga parang nasa paradise 😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ayoko din maglakad pag mainit haha! Nakakaubos energy hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh, I also need to walk na ata coz my belly belly is still a belly, daw na akong buntis aguyy.

Anyway, Ang gaganda talaga ng kuha mo. Professional level po 🀩, kaso naaalala ko ung Wrong Turn doon sa ano sa Camp John Hay, pero ang saya manirahan sa ganyan na kapaligiran ee πŸ€©πŸ’™

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo din pang horror ang dating haha! Ako nga e un ilang buwan na pinaghirapan ko na ma lose, nagain ko lang in two weeks haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a beautiful view, peace and tranquility that invites you to walk for hours. Beautiful photos, that phone paid what it should, keep taking pictures.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think those were the final clear shots before it started having issues.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sanaol gnyan nakikita pag nag walking. Sobrang Ganda ng hay eco trail parang dyan nag shoot c edward at bella sa Twilight 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe. Ganun ba? Di ko kasi napanood un although familiar ako sa movie at book.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ganyan talaga. Hehe! Pag may time nalang 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Palaban ang phone mo though it crushed to thousand pcs😁.. your photography is just outstanding, sana all n lng😁.. when I was younger, I prefer to walk the road nga umaway kesa agpara ti pagluganan jaja, I think that was the introverted me. Kaykayat q agkitakita ti babassit nga flowers ti ruot mtlng.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! I hope it lasts longer. Mayat a nu kasta ti madalanan. Ditoy gamin ket kalsada en idi isu ta awan madalanan masapul apan aghike nu kayat makakita sabsabong hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napakaganda dyan talaga. Namiss ko na rin magwalking. Labas ng kanto namin, pahaba na park, tapos may park ulit pagdating sa dulo, then Baywalk at dagat na.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sarap naman jan lapit ng dagat. Sana makapaglakad na tayo soon hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo sir. Miss ko na ang lamig sa Baguio. Miss ko na rin ang fresh air sa dagat. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dbale sir, magagawa mo din yan soon. Tiis na muna hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga. Siguro pwede na umakyat ng baguio after second dose ng vaccine. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ou basta fully vaccinated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice shots sir, ang gaganda....hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That silky shot is wicked!!! .. saya ng nature walk mo sir bestie! Ganda ng shots din!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maraming salamat sa pag appreciate. Nitry recreate yun pero di na ma achieve haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are many things to discover when we go for a walk. I can see those beautiful flowers and rocks in water. You had a wonderful moment capturing those images. I am sorry about your phone and thank God it's still working up till now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

God is wonderful for my phone is still doing the best it can. He doesn't like me buying a new one yet :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love walking in beautiful places and in nature. You did nice photoes. There is nothing better, then to escape from a city or from where cars are coming and going.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Although the road is close by, at least it's not as noisy like that in the city proper. That's the reason we really coming to this trail.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have taken long walk which has made you to keep your body fit and to feed your eyes to see some simple happening. To me, I don't truly like taking photos not until I started blogging.

Great walk...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I do like taking photos for my own collection. Since I have learned about blogging, I found a way to share them. I guess in a way it raises awareness, influence others to see the beauty of things around them, to appreciate it more and be grateful for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to take long walks too and just take pictures especially when I am on vacation or when I isolate myself to reflect .. but I usually don’t take my phone because I might get distracted and that might sour the fun of taking the walk in the first place and then my friends usually complain that k walk to slow πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! That sounds like my friends back when social media was not a thing. I was the designated photographer back then that's why they understand. When social media became that popular and started to be part of everyone's life, now they are the ones slowing me down lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know right? It's not so easy to write a travel blog. Hahaha. Takes time and effort but worth it naman. πŸ˜†

As usual the photos are great. I hope you can find the bird photo somewhere. Now I'm curious what it looks like. Haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Google mo na lang haha! Sorry pero wala na copy. Nasama sa nasunog hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awtsss sorry naman di ko naalala may trahedya nga palang nangyari haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mas malala trahedya sa utak ko di ko maalala kung san ko nashare yung pix na un haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all my DSLR 😁 galing mo kumuha ng photos

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Parang gusto ko na nga ulit bumili e hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all dami pera 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagpipintas dagita captures mo, nagmayat aghike no kasta ti makita :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe salamat! Adu ladta met ti mapix uray nu mamin anu kami karasubli dita :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For sure, lalo ta you have the good eyes and steady hands to capture them :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah not that steady hands anymore. It's one of the challenges I face when taking photos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't say you're getting older, lol! I think it happens, we all get shaky at times, but your photos are really great :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! More like too much coffee? :D :D Thanks again!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala nag eco trail cia. Ay kunak nu yellow trail, mas mahabang trail to d ba? πŸ˜… Relaxing kc pag nature walk. Parang inaabsorb ng nature ang negative energy natin πŸšΆβ€β™‚οΈπŸŒΏπŸŒ³

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yun yellow trail and mas mahaba. Matagal na yan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago