Mirror, mirror on the wall...

69 115
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

...who's the baddest of them all?

Borrowing that line from a tale we are all familiar with (or are we?) and changing it a little bit.

The lead image was a photo I took in one of my walks in our town where Farmgirl went. Read it here. That is where I usually run most of the time back then. The field is the famous strawberry field where you get to pick fresh strawberries and some other veggies too.

I will not talk about that though. I'm not the one to talk about negativity but I'd like to try.

Let's go back the title.

Awhile ago I was reading news about Jake Davison who killed five people before killing himself. One of the victims was a 3-year-old girl.

According to reports, he is linked to what is called 'incels' or "involuntary celibates."

These are group of single men who loathe and despite women and resents those who are in a relationship.

Some of them may have been NGSB. Some may have been treated badly or humiliated by women in one way or another. Some may have been rejected by women or failed to build relationships. Some may have been brokenhearted. Whatever the reason is, they feel they are not "boyfriend" material so they would rather hate women.

There were mass shootings (at least six in US) related to 'incel.' A man in Canada killed 10 people and injuring others when he rammed a rented van in a busy city district. There were other reports that are related to 'incel.'

Source

This reminded me of what my partner said.

If people will look into a mirror, it will reflect different faces, different kinds of people. If that mirror is a human, it will reflect what kind of person you are and will act that way.

I want to relate that to "we create monsters."

I believe that we are inherently good and kind. The way we treat others will have an effect on people. We, the people, the society, are the ones creating these monsters who keep doing these crimes and violence against others. You may say that it is up to us to not be affected by how others treat us. We should focus more on the positive side of things. How can that be when all we show to others is totally the opposite? Maybe one action is not enough but one action from a lot of people is a different situation.

There are other groups out there that were built on hate it's because of the way people treat them.

Back to 'incels', according to a report, these 'incels' are affected so much by the way they were treated and how sorry they feel not only that but they will soon feel frustration, depression, loneliness that they soon resort to suicide. In chat rooms and forums and channels for 'incels', they are even "encouraged" by others to do so but they "should not be selfish" in that they should kill others first before killing themselves.

On the brighter note of things, there are those who call themselves 'incels' but they are not as extreme as the others. Some say they are not violent and they don't act on their misogyny. There were even those who became 'ex-incels.'

So we really should be more kinder and nicer to others in words and actions. Also, we should guard ourselves from who we spend our time with. We should be with those who would encourage us not to do harm but to help us improve and have better outlook in life and not feed fire to the negativity that we already feel.

I am talking in general and not to just men but we should treat everyone nicely. Do not take people for granted.

Have you heard of 'incels?' What kind of person will you see when you face the mirror?

The is just the tip of the iceberg. There is more about incels and other extremist out there.

44
$ 12.32
$ 10.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 28
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Hello. very interesting your post. and especially the two final questions. have you heard of "incels". what kind of person will you see when you face the mirror? Of the first question I only know that it was formed through the Internet, by heterosexual men, who hate women for not being able to have a relationship with any woman. They transmit hatred and violence towards women. The second question has to do with your own personal image. How you feel animated, mentally, that's how you will look. If you feel beautiful, that mirror will shine!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true we should be the light to others. Whatever bad experiences we had, we should use that as our inspiration to do good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I probably should go back to reading news. .. or not.. waah .. not sure.. I haven't heard of incels but your writeup brought me back to Littleton Colorado Shootout years ago. Actually any shoot out I go back to Littleton Colorado.

Sad about these incels though. Too much hatred leading to unnecessary bloodshed. i hope when I look at myself in the mirror i see hope, happiness and love.. and hope to be reflecting that too to people i meet.. even though i am a snob . . most times hahahahah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Anybody can be triggered incel or not especially if he/she was maltreated physically, verbally, emotionally.

Lol! I'm a snob too. No wonder we get along haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Snobs unite! hahahahah..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Never heard of incels before but that's such a sad news. It's also true, people are inherently good but when selfishness and greed comes first that's when bad things happen.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We should learn to love ourselves more not in a selfish way but rather acceptance of who we really are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Getting to know about some new worda like incels. To my knowledge such peoples may be from their upbringing, the society they li, their upbringing etc. Such peoples should be given more attention in society.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. There are lots of things to consider.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

never heard of it.. andami ng issues sa earth ..grabe.. pati eto..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol! Kaya nga e. Nakaka worry lang baka gayahin to sa atin. Dami pa man din single :D :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

e. Nakaka worry lang baka gayahin to sa atin. Dami pa man din single

hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never heard about 'incels' Thanks for the info. Whatever we might see in the mirror, love and embrace every bits.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right. Let love reign instead :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay wow.............just wow............ See this made me google Incels ......... And your writing is so good and how do you find these stuff......... Wow

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There's really so much more about incels that I haven't discussed here but it really boils down to how our actions and words affect others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi namin tong nilalaro ng mga kaibigan ko nung bata pa kame. Hahaha. 😁❤ namiss ko tuloy. Huling humarap sa salamin panget. 😅 baddest face. Nga lang

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha! May ganun pala na game. Di ko lam yan a :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

diko pa narinig ung word before, naalala ko mahilig ako tumingin sa salamin na may kandila tas mag mimirror mirror HAHAHAHA

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah parang sa bloody mary lang. Di ko pa natry yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually I don't know about incel's group it my first time to hear that, by the way my mirror on the wall is my best friend if I look at my mirror they said I'm beautiful charrrrr 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We all should have a mirror like that :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never heard that word before sir! nakakatakot! I wanted to see myself in the mirror as better than before, beautiful and good." If other can't appreciate me then I will do it for my self ...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wen garud. Dakkel effect na gmin ti utak piman.

That's right, appreciate yourself more :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should mindful of the people we surround ourselves with. Bad company corrupts the soul, they say.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. Misery loves company they say but we shouldn't rule our lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These people can be anywhere and you don't even know it, the serious problem of these people for some reason are social resentful and attack anyone. Definitely you have to be very kind when you go out on the street, you do not know who you are going to find that probably has a conflict situation and you will have a bad day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is very wise indeed. People these days are easily triggered.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I absolutely agree. We, the society are the ones who created monsters that's been lurking around. And sometimes, we ourselves became one of those monsters that we hated the most.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We should guard ourselves and choose who we spend our time with for we might be influenced by the wrong kind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We certainly should treat everyone nicely. I guess those men have suffered a lot or been abused by women. I think I have watched a movie something like this but I forgot its title. Whenever I face the mirror I always say "be a better version of yourself, pretty, and always choose to do good even they doing bad at you".

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This could be avoided too if we choose the right kind of people and not those who will fuel our dark side.

I like that - to be better than yesterday :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First time to hear the incels group.. and It really caught my attention.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I really got curious when I read the news. It really does happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is an alien to me, incels. Thanks for this, friend. I never thought there will be humans who will resent someone just because he/she's in a relationship. Quite disturbing to me. Haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's what hate does and that's what this group promotes. We really choose the people we spend time with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. The people we are with influence us as well so we should choose our companions.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, incels, it's new to me. I even search it more to fully understand. There are still a lot of things that we must know. But no matter what, we should not judge and try to understand them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true. There are people out there who have been wronged that are lashing out their anger to the world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon ko lang narinig yang mga incels sir. Medyo matanda man ako nag-asawa, I never hated women. Pero minsan talaga, merong mga experiences na naglead sa kanila sa maling daan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Nagkabad experience na nga, napunta pa sa maling crowd.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello sponsor i am much distressed by that news. But i heard once those incels. But even that we must treat other people with respect no matter what their status in life. For we do not know what is their daily life struggle. Do not judge others so you will not be judged.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Respect, tolerance and understanding are the things we should always give and have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest with you I didn't know incels, but for me we need to be kind and treat them fair, because some of them had a trauma from a different kind of problem. We didn't know how they feel, all they need is love and understanding. WhenI look at the mirror I see the woman with a broken heart but soon it will be heal. I will not stuck myself in this kind of situation. Thank you I learned a new in your article.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right on that one. We should be more considerate of others and how they feel.

I like that courage and fighting spirit you have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read the Davidson news a couple of days ago. I hadn't heard about the Incels before that.

And when I see myself in the mirror after a few years of life, LOL. I still like what I see and try to feel better about myself every day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I didn't know that some of the mass killings were related to incels.

That's good! I still see a happy me too :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's me before, but then I changed my perspective in life, I know how thet feel but I don't know which is which. So what am I doing is always being happy. I smile as I can so that I can spread positivity

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's is commendable. It's good that you are now sharing positivity. We really need more of that these days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I look at the mirror I see my self. Myself representing all the pain have felt plans I have ahead and all the wrongs I must make right

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That was deep :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I face the mirror, I want to see a better person in me but not an incel. I have not for once heard of people like these before.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is my first time too. I have been reading about those mass shootings but nothing about incels.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that we should look past all prejudice in this way, we can actually understand each person we come across. Thank you for a great Article it is an eye opener.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So true! Even among us we still have discrimination.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I rarely look at the mirror but once I took a glance I would say "haggard yarn?😂" joke i've heard about them when I watched a kdrama about a prosecutor dealing with a criminal who is incel

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maganda din ang kdramas minsan kasi updated sila sa issues :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kumbaga ina adopt nila ang real happenings sa mundo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo nga e para maging aware din mga nanonood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see a little child who needs to be reassured whenever I see myself in the mirror. Sabi nya nga saken "Naks, ganda mo" char lang.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's some thought you have. We all need assurance especially these trying times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes tama, so self-assurance is needed. I do it while no one's around para di ako makapagkamalang may sayad hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The mirror told me that I've been deeply wounded, but slowly trying to heal and picking myself back up. Oh, English tadta comment ko ah hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe we are here for you :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe always have. Thank adu adu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only know incels from you and its creepy. I'm scared that there are people like that. Yes, our beliefs could create monster in us but I wish they do not decide to be the monster and its sad

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your fear is understandable. Talking to the wrong people will surely lead to disaster.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The mirror has been my only friend through my rise and fall. Telling me I can be I understood by showing my only my beauty and ignoring my flaws. The butter truth is when we look into the mirror, we only see what we want to see. But what exactly is this mirror showing us? We need to find this out by thinking deeply.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true. The mirror doesn't show who we really are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago