Into the Unknown

96 128
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

We have been talking a lot of about the weather. Here, it was rainy, is still raining sometimes.

I like rain, you say.

I like it too! I like the music it creates on the ground, on the tin roof, on anything it hits.

We also have fog.

I love fog! you say.

I love it too! I like how it enshrouds the surroundings turning everything mystic, mysterious and magical

However, too much of anything is not healthy.

It's the monsoon season all right. We can't escape that fact. We had three weeks of incessant rain. The rain and fog turns everything into water. Water is a powerful element. It can destroy.

We had 24/7 of rain and fog alternately or at the same time.

Look at these pebbles. The continuous rain created these tiny towers. I find that impressive. If rain can do that in a small scale, imagine how great damage it can cause in a bigger scale.

Here in our apartment, water seeps through walls. We had so much rain that it even rains inside our room. Thus we have used plastic containers to catch the dripping water. Not only that but even in our bathroom. Our landlord will fix everything soon when the weather is better.

That is nothing as compared to those who were affected by floods and landslides.

Today, the weather is better for the sun won.

The sun shone bright and lasted almost the whole day. We were able to hang our laundry to dry under the sun but one day is not enough.

Everything in the apartment is damp and moldy.

My partner was browsing online and came across a business which offers misting service. He made an appointment right away and he serviced our unit earlier.

Hours prior to the appointment, we placed items in plastic bags like utensils, kitchenware, etc. I have no idea about this process or the solution they are going to use. I kept asking questions to my partner if it is safe. According to the guy, it is safe. Everything is safe when we talk about business.

Have you had misting service done in your homes or cars?

This is said to kill odor, molds, bacteria - disinfecting your place.

I'm very skeptic sometimes but we still went ahead with this.

It was a simple process. The guy used a misting machine called Bac-To-Zero. He placed the solution (I forgot to ask what's in it) in the machine, plugged it and started the process. We stayed outside of course. We closed windows and doors while he did his thing. I just peaked twice to get photos.

The service guy said in the chat that he thinks one bottle of the solution is enough but when he came and did the misting, it took two bottles. When he was done misting, he came out and we waited for 10 minutes for the mist to do its purpose.

We chatted him and asked about the business. He said that this was just a hobby for him, not yet a full blown business. It was offered to them by a relative asking if they are interested to try it which they did accept since everything is provided for.

They are the cheapest service in the city. Some are wondering why was it so cheap and some even said that they are not legit. One bottle costs Php200.00 (around USD4.00) plus service fee of PHP150.00 (around USD3.00). We spent PHP550.00 for this. Other services would charge you double to triple of that.

The guy left soon after that and we waited around 20 minutes more for the mist to disappear. My concern then was that since it is mist, it will moisten everything. They guy said it will not but it did, at least the floor did where the mist settled. Amazingly, nothing else. I didn't know if it worked for there are still molds and there is still the odor caused by damp and cold.

I checked for the price of Bac-To-Zero online and it costs around PHP8,000.00 (around USD158.00). This can be a good business indeed. Especially here in the mountains where damp and mold is the enemy. However, as I stated above, I'm not if it worked.

We were planning to give it another shot. We were of the mind that it's just the first time, maybe it needs another misting. We will see about that in a month or two.

If you tried misting, did it work to kill molds?

I don't want to use mothballs or paraffin balls. I saw online that cedar balls are better alternative so I ordered that online. I hope that works. I am hoping to receive have that delivered by next week.

We are considering buying a dehumidifier too. What do you think?

This is my diary for today taking a break from travel posts. I appreciate every one of you for your unending support and appreciation.

Because of the misting that we had today, we were busy with packing and unpacking and then cleaning. Then I had work done which made my day full and really busy I couldn't come here or in noise.

I'll be posting this and then go to sleep for tomorrow's work awaits.

I hope that you have a better day wherever you are.

Stay safe.

45
$ 13.17
$ 11.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
+ 26
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Mas matindi nung Bible times. Ginigiba nila ung merong mold at papalitan. Ganon sila kalinis .. ok Lang din sakin ang ulan. Pero gusto ko Sana ung isang bagsakan with matching kulog and kidlat. At gusto ko sa Gabi 😂. Choosy 😂✌️, gusto may schedule 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naku pwede siguro gawin pag may pampatayo din hehe. Ah gusto ko din pag ganun. Sarap matulog :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magkakamold talaga pag lagi umuulan. And they are not good for your health. Hopefully di kayo too tired sa pagunpack.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Lalo na may asthma at rhinitis mga kasama ko dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana naman walang naglileak sa apartment nyo kasi ang cause, like our bedroom may tumutulo nagkakamolds yung part na yun..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganun din dito may leak pero kahit un ibang parts ng haus meron pa din molds kahit walang leak.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Upon reading the title, I thought it is another Song themed article. 😁 Combining the songs of Frozen 😁

Haven't tried misting, so no idea on that. 😥

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha! I think one post about songs is enough for me :D :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I moved closer to the sea I had the same problem with mold starting in places. I solved it by keeping the area as dry as possible and well ventilated and used a soap water solution to clean it first. It's helped me so far. The mist sounds like fumigation for insects, I doubt it works for mould but I haven't tried that remedy before. I hope it works. Please let us know if it does work.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ventilation is a problem for we can't open windows. Even when the windows are closed, water comes in. This is a problem every wet season. I'll try the soap water solution. That's right, it's like fumigation and I think it didn't work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same, I like the rain but when it’s raining too hard I can’t help but worry about the dams and the possible flooding in some places 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Those are real concerns. I remember what happened in Cagayan Valley. So much loss.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatakot siya talaga.

Anyway, going back to the topic, we haven’t tried misting in here 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ow I love the peeble formation and I must. We all love rain but too much of it is dangerous. Good for you, your partner is such a homemaker, making sure everything is clean..I hope misting works for yoy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I really hope so but I'm leaning more towards dehumidifier.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

parang ang hirap ata pag maulan xd

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ou. Yun talaga ang concern dito e pag monsoon season.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the first time that I'd heard about misting to prevent molds. Btw, I'm curious about those pebbles? Why would it jut out like that? What's supporting them?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's my first time too :D The sand holds them like that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I like rain, ang ayoko lang yung tumulo sa loob at bumabaha sa labas hahaha. Misting pala ang tawag dyan. Dito kasi sa bahay ang daming molds, tapos nababahuan ako sa mothballs. Search ko nga kung may ganyang service dito samin.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nag moist naman un floor namin. Ayoko din ng mothballs kaya try ko cedar balls.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like rain when it's moderate but when it's too much it can cause damage like floods and landslides. So everything that is too much has bad effects.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right. Too much is not pleasant.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di pa namin natry misting. Di rin ata bagay sa house namin kasi luma na at more than 70 years old na. Antigo na. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Luh ang tibay ng house nyo :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ancestral house na po. 3 lang po kami dito, tapos medyo malaki. Kaya di nalilinisan ng buo, at medyo nabubulok na. Gusto ko din sana magrent kami ng wife ko. Kaso wait na lang namin na magpatayo ng bago. Tsaka mahirap rin iwan yung kuya ko. Medyo may depression eh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah kaya pala. Sana nga makapagpatayo ng kayo ng bago. Ganda na din yan bagong simula nyo ng wife mo. Oo mainam na na kasama nyo kuya mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup. Kaya nga todo ipon dahil gusto ko rin magkaroon ng sariling house.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tiwala lang. Makakaipon din kayo :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes we tried this before I gave birth just to make sure our house is clean (cleaner) once the baby arrives... just like you, I am not sure if it worked! haha, i only felt like the room had some scent but then it disappeared after a few days...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope it was a pleasant scent? There was no scent whatsoever after this which is good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes it was a pleasant one which made our unit very fragrant...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Three weeks that is that my son ket han naipainit nga nalaing, mayat lng ta adda lawlawa an balay da moder tapnu Jan problema pagsampayan ti lampin.mayat init d mysa aldaw kn d kalman, tatta cloudy manen. Hoping the sun'll shine kasi molds can't be combat without it.. Try kya a second session for misting baka mawala amoy molds

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Rigat talaga nu pinagtutudo. Kaasi met ni baby. Makita nu kasatno nu agpa second session tu pay hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah! It's amazing how the rain eroded some parts of the pebbles there. And I hope that everything is fixed already oj time to avoid hassle. Hehe! Rain for me is joy. Just sharing ☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yesterday and today we saw the sun, not much but it's enough :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eeyah, is painful I heard water is penetrating into your room. Is more like flooded house, it is one the thing I hate most. The house owner should please fix it on time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Truly. We had leaks every time there's a storm but this is the worst for it's three weeks straight.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eeyah,,sorry about that sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If this will not be fixed soon, we might start looking for a new place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh,that's good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh this season does bring molds and mildew. In that case, I would probably choose dehumidifier. I am curious though how the misting goes for you, hope it's effective :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can't tell any difference. We had to mop the floor after for it was damp. I guess that's the mist settling. I hope soon I can buy a dehumidifier.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see. Tapos mas hassle pay dayta misting ta masapul han exposed jy gamit (like kitchen utensils etc) need to pack them :)

Wen makagatang kyo sigurado hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wen garud. Kunak ibabawi kuman ti madama packing e ta panpanunutek jay panag unpack haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha nailaw-anen ngem at least na try yon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually have a song in mind when I read the title. There was one time that one of my colleagues tried misting our office because one of our colleagues has exposure to Covid positive. Also, we have at times disinfection in the office through liquid spray. The solutions are really not smelling good, so we really go outside the vicinity. I don't really know as to how effective it is.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm not sure about it too for there were still molds and mildew and then the floor is wet so we had to mop it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang ok nga dehumidifier. Hindi ko pa na try misting.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Try ang lahat na pwede mag work hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True .. pag merong nag result ng sobrang ok... Edi yun na ang regular na gagawin ..!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well I am intrigued how this demisting works for you, I would have said get a dehumidifier.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm intrigued too lol! I'm not sure exactly how it works or if it did. Yup, checking online now for prices of dehumidifier :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If everything is damp then a dehumidifier will definitely help. Good luck.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks! I'm already checking online and will be canvassing this weekend for that :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're in luck with the rain, we're experiencing a drought in my area, and if it doesn't rain for a while, it will get serious.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Not really for everything is saturated and causing landslides and floods. I hope you have rain there soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have not heard of any such service of misting around here. It isn't really needed. There isn't much humidity here. Even when it rains. The weather is quite dry. I hope it works for you and removes mold.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't know if it was effective for I see no difference so far. I'm going to get a dehumidifier soon for it still rains here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A dehumidifier can work better, and you have it there whenever you need it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Where to go while this misting season..? Is it safe to remain there ?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's not safe for people with asthma because of the mist. We stayed outside in the yard while the process was ongoing. We can't just leave the guy there :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Misting, that is a good idea, I wish to know how can we do it at home yun tayo lang mag misting.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maalala ko nung bata ako nagpap usok mama ko sa loob ng bahay pero parang once or twice lang nya ginawa. Un pinanggatong lang ginamit nya hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ginawa din sa bahay namin noon pero dahil ata sa lamok, ay pest control pala yun hindi s a misting hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Parang ganun din na process kaso eto pang mold lang. Akala ko nga pati lamok kaya hindi pala hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never tried misting before but I think I should suggest doing so to my family. I think you should try this again (and if possible each month). I hope it will get better results then. Though it feels like it needs some time and requires attention like that, I think it's still worth it.

Keep safe this rainy season!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. But if the cost will be the same with having a dehumidifier, maybe I'll just op for dehumidifier.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is actually the first time that I heard about misting, like most of us on the comment section. LOL.

I also suggest that you can give it another try, I hope it'll work on the 2nd time. and oh if you do that, another set of packing and unpacking your things. good luck with the trouble! haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! It's the packing and unpacking really that's troublesome lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true! I can imagine since that's what we always do these days, with all these construction happening at home. lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope the construction there will be done soon :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haven't heard the misting thingy and how it works hehez. Hehez 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

As what I can see, it didn't. Maybe it's one of those things that it needs a second time or third time :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeahhh I'm one with the million people who doesn't know what misting is hahahaha. Ang alam ko lang para sa mga amag sa bahayy yun

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo pang amag nga din daw, antibac, antivirus pa hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have no knowledge of this process of misting the house. But I do know about the heavy rains and the leaks that form. I think the very impact of the water on the roof makes the holes for me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right. Water will always find a way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ano ginagawa nun pre at ganun ba daw talaga standard prize nila?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ou daw. Ang alam nga ng ibang friend namin nasa thousands. Kaya nagtaka siya nung sinabi namin na 550 lang nagastos namin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't heard of misting yet. Pero mukhang need po talaga ninyo ng against sa mga amag at humidity. Madaling masira yung mga gamit at kahoy dahil doon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo nga e. Lalo na dito sa Baguio lagi malamig, mahamog ganun. Kaya dami molds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ano po yung misting huhu. Sorry, di ako familiar dito eh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Papausukan un bahay hehe. May ilalagay sa machine na solution para un ibubuga nya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm pag isipan hahhaha.. Oo to be safe kc syempre chemicals pa din yan kaya tama ibalot mga gamit lalo ang fuds ilabas na lng, cooking utensils, etc..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pero parang ayoko na ulitin. Nakakatamad mag balot at mag ayos after haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nextweek manen kitdi a hahha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Wag na. Bili na lang ako dehumidifier.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stay safe and God bless po

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat. Ingat din po :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah isu gayam daytuy jay naka my day nga inpost mu. Kunak nu anya tadtayen ikakasta da dita. Nalakan a piman singir da.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wen hehe. Nalaka nga agpayso. Agasem jay thousands ngay nu sabali. Ngem agbabasa met ladta ti floor haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have any idea about this 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's my first time to lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep safe po.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Thank you :D Stay safe din lagi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago