Cold or hot? Which one would you prefer?

72 192
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

That's me on the lead image, braving the cold fresh water coming from the mountains. Let's take another virtual tour to one of the places here in the Cordilleras, particularly Barlig, Mt. Province. This is said to be the last forest fortress.

Two years ago, our family decided to have a tour. This was our last travel together before my brother and family migrated someplace else. Sort of a send-off travel if you will.

I posted this blog in my account at another blog site. If you don't want to read, you can just watch this video which I will also embed at the bottom of this post. This pretty much summarized this travel of ours. It's a tiny part of the whole experience.

Barlig is a place of firsts for me. So if you want to know why, read on.

BARLIG: A place of enchantment

Barlig is one of the municipalities of Mountain Province and is said to be the last frontier of virgin forest here in our country. It was formerly called Eastern Bontoc. Barlig comes from the word "Fialikia." (I still haven't found the meaning of this)

This land of mossy forest rises at 1,500+ meters above sea level. It is reported that only 10% of the land is not mossy forest. I'm not sure though if that is still true. The neighbors of Barlig are Ifugao, Bontoc and Kalinga. It consists of 3 major areas - Barlig, Lias and Kadaclan - subdivided further into 11 barangays.

What you see here is just a part of what this place can offer.

Zero width embed
Taken at Barlig

When me and my family decided to go to Barlig, we were at my father's childhood home in Alab, Bontoc. It is about 2 hours drive from Alab to Barlig. Our original plan was to go to Sagada but it was closed to tourists at that time. They were having a cleansing of some sort. There was a hot spring in Bontoc that we wanted to go but the road going there is closed. So wended up going to Barlig instead. I was actually up for it since I haven't been to Barlig. We were considering Sadanga but to get to the real great places there, one day is not enough.

Landscape on your to Barlig

The aim that time was to go to a place where we can spend a day and then go back to Alab. So Sadanga was out of the list.

Barlig it was.

When we went there, there were still road constructions so it was a rough start. At one point, our vehicle broke down because of overheating. Luckily, the place where we stopped had the nicest view. I think it was Barlig's way of welcoming us and saying, This is me.

There were waterfalls and streams along the way which makes it even more enjoyable. Going up the road to Barlig, as we get higher and higher, the vistas felt like it was from another country. I grew up in the mountains but here it felt different and seem different. Everything is clearer and fresher and greener.

Lake Tufob

Lake Tufob
The kid in yellow is my then 2-year-old nephew, our youngest hiker.

Before reaching the center of the town, we passed by Lake Tufob which is located at Chatol. From the road, we have to hike going up. It took us about more or less 10 minutes to reach the Lake. It was fun for the kids were raring to go especially my 2-year-old nephew that he did not need to be carried. The way going up was weeded out even. It seems as though we were really being welcomed there and they've cleaned the path for us.

The trail is a bit steep so one must be careful when hiking. When we reached the part where the cabin was, the slope had a gradual rise. However, it was still slippery. Good thing it was not raining that time. It was gloomy mostly throughout the day but it did not rain thankfully.

I am telling you. The gods were on our side that day.

In the photos that I saw online, there were deer. Even when one of my brothers visited the place, there deer. However, when we got there, no deer. Not a single soul even. Only the juju or water eel are swimming freely in the lake. Good timing for we were able to see the lake full of water. It is best to come here during the rainy season for the water level is high.

It is said that this is the crater of an extinct volcano called Mt. Puguis.

We took our time and had some snacks while enjoying the view. It was peaceful and only the sound of the nature can be heard here, the rustling of wind, the silent lap of water to the shore, a solo or chorus of birds. It is almost church like. There were places for campfire there too. I wonder how it feels like to camp there. We saw make shift houses on the far side of the lake but we never saw or met anybody at that time. It was really meant for us to enjoy the place.

We then headed directly to the town proper for it was almost lunch so we ate in one of the restaurants with the nicest view. I have been to places where it used to be just a small community only to flourish but in a congested and unpleasant way that the place is losing its beauty. Touristy and commercialized. I hope Barlig will retain its integrity as a small town.

The one covered by clouds in the background on the right of the photo above, that is Mt. Amuyao. This is the highest mountain in Mt. Province and the 10th highest in the country at 2702 meters high. When we were at the restaurant, there were hikers there who just came from Mt. Amuyao. I would love to hike that someday.

Mornang Hot Spring and Waterfalls

We went to Mornang which is our second and final stop. The trail's entrance is at a bend on the road and it will be easy to miss so we had to drive slowly looking for the signage. When we saw it, we parked by the road. Me and two of my nephews started on the trail right away. It was downslope so we walked fast and ran even at some points.

The sign said that it is a 30-minute walk but we got there quickly but coming up was where the challenge lies. The photo above is where the tricky part was. The slope is steep here and slippery so you really have to be careful on your way down for there are no rails to hold on to. One wrong step and you will find yourself at the bottom of the mountain in no time.

When I saw this scene below, I wanted to fly straight to it. I'm so curious how it looks like and what to find there.

You can see in the photo a shelter at the bottom of the photo and beside it is a small pool. Two pipes go through that pool, one is hot and one is cold. The hot water comes from the hot spring and the cold comes from the waterfalls, the water that is draining from the mountains. It is up to you to control the temperature of the water in the pool with these pipes.

I like the orangey color of the rocks. That indicates the sulfuric water coming out from those rocks. I am amazed that hot and cold water are coming at one source. I also like the rawness of it all. The presence of hot spring in this site made others believe that there is an existing volcano here.

My cousin (l) and brother (r) posing behind the waterfall

The reason that I don't want people to discover places like this is due to the fact that we are undisciplined. Lots of trash are scattered everywhere. There is a place where trash should go but some people have not seen a trash can their entire life they don't know what's the use of it so they just throw their garbage here and there. Even along the trail, there were lots of rubbish. Nature gives fresh and natural things but we give rubbish in return.

I can't tell you exactly how lovely this place is. Photos are not enough to show the true beauty of Barlig. One must go there and be there to experience it. This was just a part of Barlig that we have been to and we really enjoyed it. How much more if we have explored the whole of Barlig.

Here's a video I made about our trip

I can still remember like it was yesterday when we visited Barlig. I think it was memorable for it was a bitter sweet moment with family. We don't know when we get to see our brother and family again. So we decided to spend the remaining available time traveling to places creating memories. I guess it's this rain that's making me remember these moments with my family.

*All contents are mine.

34
$ 32.00
$ 30.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 19
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Ewan ko ba bakit kahit binabasa ko lang parang naeexperience ko yung bawat scene tapos nahirapan ako humunga sa part ng slope. Hahaha. Yung bang navivisualize ko sarili ko doon. Pero duwag kasi ako talaga. Parang natatakot ako subukan yun lalo pa kamo walang rails πŸ˜…

But I have to agree with you. Minsan maganda na lang na hidden gem ang isang lugar para hindi masira ang angking ganda nito. Pero maaari pa rin naman na maging puntahin siya ng mga tao pero may fine for every trash. Sa Zamboanga ganun doon sa pink beach nila. May fine or community service. Kailangan kasi mapreserve yung island gawa nung mga corals and reefs daw. Tsaka strict talaga sila before going there. May orientation pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love traveling, though I don't do it often............................. The pictures made me feel a little nostalgic for a place that I haven't even been too. weird wright..........

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That happens. I get the same feeling too. Maybe because of familiarity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow a beautiful place to hike. Beautiful view of waterfall

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And i travelled virtually again..huhu..sana mabisita ko ito.soon.😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Di ka magsisisi kung mavivisit mo yan :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you again for touring us virtually. You're indeed a blogger na talaga hehez. I want to experience the coldness of waterfalls there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks so much for appreciating :D If you have the chance, travel to Barlig and there are more waterfalls there to see.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure someday 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope this pandemic ends soon so we can freely travel again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a nice travel! I haven't experience to to a waterfalls before, I want to see a high waterfall.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too! The ones we have here are taller. I think the tallest I have seen is the one in Batad, Ifugao called Tappiya Falls.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You took me on a journey with your article, a wonderful one i wish to have...you had lots of amazing moments with family and your photography skills is πŸ’―

$ 0.01
2 years ago

These are moments I will always treasure. Thanks a lot for appreciating!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay gemays dat.. you had the chance to hike the way to lake tufob.. now, sementado na xa.. wla na ung thrill nga maigalis galis on the way

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mayat kuma garud nga agsubli. Han ba nga mas slippery t nasemento? Maymayat ladta kuma jay natural trail hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't been to the falls yet even though there are many falls here in laguna. But I really dream of being able to do that because I just see others. I'm satisfied :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have yet to visit Laguna. Dami pasyalan sa Pinas. Gusto ko mapasyalan lahat hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napakaganda po. Lalo na para sa min na taga-kapatagan, parang sabik sa bundok. Although di ako mahilig sa hiking dahil madaling mapagod ang aking tuhod. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yung dagat nyo naman ang gustong gusto naming pasyalan :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah such an amazing and eye soothing sites 😍 you surely had a blessed tour ❀️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was. Much more so for it was with my family :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waaahhh nakakainggit kayo huhuhu. Gusto ko tuloy mag hike din 😭😭

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nakakamiss nga e. 2-3 years ago pa to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda ng falls. Namimiss ko na din tuloy pumunta nga Mambucal Resort samin sa Negros, may pitong falls dun eh

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pitong falls? Wow damin naman nyan. Add ko yan sa mahabang listahan ng pupuntahan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po, tapos may hot spring pa yun dun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Panalo :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Search niyo lang po Mambucal Resort

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kita ko nga e ang ganda nga!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really had a great time there since you spent it with loved and ones and beautiful nature. We need that in these trying times. ☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. Moments like this are priceless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakaingit naman kung may oras lng talaga ako para mag hike jusko. Busy lng talaga sa work eh. tsaka kailangan kumayod para sa mga bayarin hahaha. Kahit na Taga bukid ako gusto ko parin mag hike sa ibang lugar lalong lalo na dya sa mga pinuntahan mo hays. Pwede po ba mamingwit dyan sa lake? Parang malaki dalagang bukid dyan ah. Sarap ihawin pag nagkaganoon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wala mga maliit lang na isda ang meron dito hehe. Ganda nga sana balikan to e kaso need pag ipunan hehe dami din bayarin e haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakagawa ko lang nang article na gusto ko nang waterfalls eh...sadyang ang ganda at akala ko paa yun puno pala hekhek...the scenery is quite beautiful and refreshing in the eyes din..grabeng bukid na siguro yang lugar na yan no?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Favorite ko talaga waterfalls :D May iba pa ako ipopost na mga waterfalls pero tsaka na siguro hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the orange streaks of the waterfall that leaves the water with sulfate. Hopefully, soon you'll be able to meet your brother again. Those family trips like the one you did are the best. And it's sad how human beings are bent on destroying the nature around them. Thank you for taking us virtually to Barlig. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love them too! I have more photos of those and they seem like paintings.

It's evident everywhere how humans badly treat our environment.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gusto ko na tuloy ulit mag punta sa waterfalls and hot spring! Sa waterfalls kung saan lalapit palang ako e nanginginig na. πŸ˜†

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Manginginig ka talaga jan kasi sa ginaw ng tubig tas mejo malamig din un lugar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May malakas na hangin pa ganon. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Grabidad. Kulang na lang snow :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lits of memories can be activated by rain, huh? Especially in my.place, it's raining a lot nowadays, so I get lots of inspirations to write. Haha.

Love this place you showed, though I don't think I'd do what you did in the lead image. Is it not painful? Lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I stood behind the waterfall. It looks like I was in it but I wasn't :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh okay! Got it! Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah a perfect place to hike, but the Lake Tufob really catches my attention. The breathtaking view ugh 😍, pwede ba don mag kayak? Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo pwedeng pwede kasi maliit lang yan na area tas di naman ata ganun kalalim. Pag summer walang tubig yan :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always see your photographic skill even ateng @bloghound are you two both pro camera gamer? :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nagmana lang ako dun hehe. Salamat sa pag appreciate :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The header image: Looks like you have long arms! LOL. "It was only a small town and I hope it stays that way." I agree. As I was reading, I was thinking - mossy mountains, mossy trails = unspoiled nature. messy mountains, messy trails = too commercialized, natured spoiled. Mornang Hotspring is so unique. You're so blessed to have such unique natural beauty in your country.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I didn't notice that but it does look it :D I'm torn between sharing or not natural beauties like these. Yet, I also want it to be known, something to be proud of.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hayyys.. May nalang...May virtual tour dito, makita ko man yung ganda nang Pilipinas.. hahaha.. Nakakamiss na talagang mamasyal at mag.hike din..😌. Thanks Lee..☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Ganun na lang talaga muna. Gang virtual na lang muna tayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hayyss.. Matapos na sana ang pandemia.😌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lapit na. Tiwala lang :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kailan pa kaya yung malapit sir Lee?? hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bukas na haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have really taken me on a long journey virtually,it is one of my plan to travel all over the world too. I know one day I will. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope one day we'll cross paths and maybe travel together somewhere. Thanks for appreciating!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure,I pray it happens. You are welcome sir

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hot for me :D Ayoko sa cold lol!

Based on your photos and your descriptions, Barlig is a beautiful place. Amazing fam adventure!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gusto ko man sa cold pero sobrang cold para sa akin yan haha! Tiniis lang talaga magpapix :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I can imagine. Galing sa bundok eh, so malamig talaga sya :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Ang lamig pero refreshing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I can imagine. Galing sa bundok eh, so malamig talaga sya :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay agasem that! How fun!!! I like cold!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pirmi nag lammin dita isu nagbabad kami dagus napudot hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I love this! I love adventures! All of it are beautiful and amazing spots. I wish someday, I will take a chances to explore there.. πŸ™β€οΈβ€οΈ

God bless you..πŸ™β€οΈ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I really hope you could and bring me along with you lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes together...all of us.. 😊 to create a memorable experiences ARTicLEE..❀️

Have a nice day ARTicLEE..❀️

$ 0.01
2 years ago