Confession of a working student

60 43
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Lead Image Source

Who among you have experienced working while being a student at the same time? Well if you are, I know you can really relate well with what I am going to share for today’s article.

The beginning

After I graduated from secondary education, I went to Manila to pursue my college education as promised by my uncle. He told me that he knew someone who can offer me an scholarship, unfortunately I didn’t make it. I decided then to stopped my education and pursue it the next year. I was able to enroll in the next year but due to financial problems I had to stopped again. I decided to move out at my uncle’s care and transferred to my aunt’s house in Marikina to start working so that I can earned and fund my college education. Eventually, I got hired as a service crew in Frenchbaker at the age of 18. Since then after the contract ended,I have to look for another part time job. To cut the long story short, after earning a decent amount, I finally decided to pursue my college journey.

Image used from Unsplash

I took an entrance exam in PUP sadly when the result came out I can’t find my name on the list of passers. As we all know, the tuition from this university is very affordable with a quality education. After finding out the results I almost give up, but someone told me about another state university in Manila, it’s almost the same as PUP because their tuition fee was less than 500 php per semester. I took my chance and luckily I passed the entrance examination in EARIST. During that time I was working as a production crew in Dunkin Donuts. Just a little interesting fact, that is where I met my husband. Ok, commercial ended.

Being a student

That same year, I finally enrolled and met my classmates for the first time. I was a little awkward because some of them are three years younger than me. Most of them called me “ate” and it was definitely fine with me. At first, it was really hard because, I needed to report on my duty early in the morning and then in the afternoon I went to school to study. I am just glad during that time, heavy traffic wasn’t a major problem yet. I finished my contract and didn’t looked for another job, because I wanted to focus on my studies. I took up Bachelor of Science in Office Administration because the course I wanted wasn’t offered in that institution. Since I wanted to work in an office I chose the course that was related to it. I finished the first year without any failed mark.

Image used from Unsplash

Being a part time worker

Moving on to my second year, I looked for another part time job, although the school’s tuition fee is not expensive, I needed to pay for the books and my everyday allowance. The money that I got from my mother wasn’t enough to sustain my student’s expenses. Apart from that, I am living with my relatives so I share for food expenses in return of staying there. On my second year in college, I was then hired again as service crew in Red Ribbon. I met my ex boyfriend there, see even if I am busy with studies and work I still find time to cater my love life. Time management is the key. But as the saying goes “walang forever”(There’s no forever) we broke up after months of fooling around with each other. The conflict schedule between my work and school leads me to a failed mark in second year. After my contract ended, I decided to get focus again on my studies. And looked for another job on my 3rd year.

Image used from Unsplash

Hardship and challenges

In my 3rd year in college, I was hired as a cashier/crew in Tokyo Tokyo. This time, I didn’t have any complications with my schedule because the store’s location was just near the institution. I moved to my cousin’s house too, for my own convenient. The only problem I encountered this time around was that the major subjects were getting harder each year. But with perseverance and determination I was able to overcome it and without failing marks that year.

Best job ever

Finally when I was in my last year of college, my cousin recommended me to her part time job as a teacher aide in a preschool. I accepted it willingly because the owner has been considerate with my studies. It was a very fun job because I was able to assist the teacher in handling the kids. Honestly I am not into kids, but when you got used to it, the love you have for them just comes out naturally. I love the kids, the teachers and the school surrounding just make me feel at ease. And the good thing was that, I used my part time job hours in the preschool as a requirement for my on the job training for my course. Everything goes on smoothly that year until I graduated from my course.

Closing Thoughts

“If there’s a will, there’s a way”

This quote has been my motto in life. If you wanted to achieve one thing, you need to be determined to do something about it, finding every way you can to achieve it despite any difficulties. This maybe sound cringey to everyone, but this has been proven and tested. Getting a better result in the end, will make you feel satisfied and will make all your sacrifices worth it.

Thanks for reaching at this point. Let me take this opportunity to thank everyone for the comments, like and upvotes. I do appreciate it a lot. See you on my next blog. By the way please do appreciate all the lovely sponsors I have below.

Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty

21
$ 9.74
$ 6.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.00 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.50 from @Eybyoung
+ 13
Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I salute you for being so hardworking my friend. You reminded me of my closest friend who has a lot of part-time jobs during our university years. She wanted to finish her studies that's why she put an extra mile.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Leticia:) Absolutely if you wanted to achieve something in your life, you have to work hard for it😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

there's indeed a way in everything...

we also have a working student at home, she helps us in the house and we pay her tuition fees

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aw😍 God bless your kind family sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I am a working student myself. I am working at school. When I don't have class, I go to library to be an assistant in organizing books and entertaining student. I am also a member of a choir where I can get a scholarship for my college. I also write theme papers and get extra money from it. I provided for myself when I was in college.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Galing galing naman:) Proud of you sis, ramdam ko ang hirap mo but at least you’ve made it😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang galing mo sis at ang dami mong napasukan na work at young age. I salute you sis. May kasama pang luvlife oh😉.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha! kaya nga di nag excel kasi may lovelife 🙊😁 Inspiration din un😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahamakin ang lahat dahil sa iniirog hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha! naku sis kagigising gising ko lang, naalala ko dami ko palang gagawin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ui sana all nkakatulog ng hapon ako nagpahilot ako sa manghihilot ko ksi ansakit ng mga kamay ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mukhang maraming love story nabuo sa Dunkin donut ah hehe! Ambaba ng tuition noon sis ah, below 500 lang. Muling ibalik 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha! libre na ngayon doon sis, kasi state university kasama sila sa batas ng free tuition kaya sarap mag aral ngayon😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kami nakapagbayad pa kami sis kada sem more than 5k rin per sem. Pero okay lang yun graduate naman na ngayon kahit dumaan sa hirap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really a lot of pressure when you have to work and study at the same time. I'm happy to see that you are doing fine. Have a good day.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is, I am glad the law for free education in our country has been implemented in some of the state universities, it’s a big help for those who can’t afford to go to college because of financial crisis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree is, if there is a will there is a way. I was an SA too. It wasn't easy at first but I had fun as time went by. I became a regular student though in my 4th year in college so I won't extend for another year. But being a regular student bored me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha! hinahanap kasi ng katawan natin ang work, kasi naman pag 4th year na konti na lang ang unit kaya boring na yun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually fully loaded ako nung 4th year kasi may mga naiwan but kinaya ko naman..Di ako sanay na walang ginagawa after ng klase ko unlike nung SA pako super busy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakainspired and story mo sis. Totoo talaga ang kasabihang " if there's a will, there's a way." . Slamat sa Dios at nakapagtapos ka dib. Good job, sis. 😊God bless you more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sis, this is just a throwback story happened to me more than 10 years ago, wala pang free education kaya kelangan magbanat ng buto para makapag aral

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama. Nakaraos ka din. Salamat sa Dios. Hehehe ang hirap noon noh wla pang free

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your story is very inspirational and I draw courage from it. I love meeting young and hardworking people, especially industrious young women.congrats dear, you have succeeded already.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you dear. I am glad you were inspired by my story. It happened many years ago and I hope to share this story for my future generations so that they’ll be inspired to get serious with their studies:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It must have been very hard to balance school and work, I can imagine the pressure but you proved to be the better as you overcame those challenges, you are an inspiration to many others out there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you dear😍 It was a really tough battle all those years but I always keep in mind that if I give up, it would be my lost. If I really wanted to chase for my dreams I have to work hard on it. Actually it’s a basic knowledge for all of us, some of us just easily give up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Determination will lead you to success! I do believe that there's no impossible for those willing to aim the vision and hit the goal. There's no success without paired the heardship, this two always be complimented. So proud of you mommy yhanne🤩🎉

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you mars kleah, this is something I can share with my future generations that whenever they are having a tantrums in studying I could easily relay this story of mine for them to realize not everyone are privileged to go to school. Some works hard for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, totoong working student. I tried 6 months in jollibee para maka buy new phone. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha! loka ka, 5 months lang contract kasi pag umabot ka ng 6 months regular ka na 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

6 months talaga kami sa jobee, Di ako na regular. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Schooling and working at the same time isn't easy,most time you would wake up as early as possible to catch up with time..am so happy for you that you finally got a best job that is suitable for you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you my friend. It was one of the tough times in my life, because of my determination to finished my study I need to work or else I wouldn’t be able to continue it. But hard work pays off in the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so proud of you sis, nakapagtapos kang pag aaral sa sariling sikap. Thank you sis

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat sis, oo mahirap pero kapag ginusto talagang kakayanin :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama sis, ika nga nila, walang mahirap sa taong may pangarap

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also a working student before but unlike you who were able to have different work. People who strive for their future are successful ones.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay bet ko yung last sentence mo sis😍🥰 Ako naman eh no longer working na, so I guess this story of mine is something I can share to the next generation of my family so that they will be inspired.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, super nakakainspire nga and nakakaproud ka

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are just doing great yhanne I know it is hard sometimes but it all brings a wonderful result at the end of the day))

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Trofil😍 we should always focus on the prize no matter how hard it is:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

photo.jpg

Hi there, Merry Christmas..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

😍 Thank you very much for the early christmas blessing, I will surely share it. Thank you @Eybyoung 😍 More blessing to come:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako lang talaga yung wlang pangarap noon hehehe hndi ko nagawang makahanap ng paraan para makapag tapos ng college.😅 Actually nag try naman ako, pero biglang nawili naman sa pagtatrabaho kaya hindi na nagkainteres mag aral.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hala ka sis, ang laki ng upvote mo, di kaya nagkamali ka ng pindot, just tell me ha

Anyway, pede ka namang kumuha ng mga short courses if you still want to pursue, wala naman din sa edad yan eh, yung kakilala ko sis nasa 40 na pero tinuloy nya pag aaral nya:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂😂oo sis nagkamali nga kc anak ko nakipindot din..hahahahha pasaway na bata

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! I’ll transfer it to your latest article

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'll give you back sis..hahaha binalik mo lahat eh.. thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is indeed a great inspiration to everybody sis. I felt amazed and proud. You passed all those challenges because you are a strong woman sis. You are dedicated. You are determine. You really work hard. You make me proud sis and i salute you.

Yes sis I agree "If there's a will, there's a way" if you are willing to achieve one thing you can find the possible ways to commit it. You are continuing positively make it until you finish it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you sis, mahirap pero para sa pangarap kakayanin, napahugot tuloy ako. Ok ka na ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nalagpasan mo sis at proud na proud ako sayo. Medyo okay na ako sis. Maraming salamat sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You nailed it sis!..and congrats for overcoming all those shortcomings of being a working student..

🎁I've been lucky to receive @Club1BCH gift and hence I am sharing half of it with you. You may share half of it to someone else too!.🎁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aw, thank you sis, nagulat ako sa laki ng upvote mo, I will definitely share it😍😍😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag gusto talaga may paraan. Kudos to you sis for being strong and able to pass all these struggles in life. Cheers to more success and blessings!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat sis, ituloy natin ang ating pangarap kahit maraming sagabal, mahirap pero kung magiging matatag kakayanin:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Student life is an important time in my life. I have seen that many students work part time jobs to study. Many of them help their families and earn their income.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly dear, same in our country. I also have classmates that were working that time, but it’s worth it in the end:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not literally a working student, but I did help my aunt selling different stuff to earn a little while studying. Yup, it tough.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Parang working na din sis, hirap ano pero nakaraos din:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago