"Exotic Foods that I Ate Then and Now!"

71 92
Avatar for renren16
2 years ago

Them:

"Yikes, that's gross!"

"Why are you eating that food?"

"Is it really delicious?"

"Do you like/love it that much?"

________________________

Good day my Readcash family! How's your day? What makes you busy? How about your grindings over there? Have you reach your goals, already?Hmm... Me? Let me, I'm about to.

Anyways, yesterday, I published an article entitled, "I Craved but I want Resist it!" And since, I started this food blog, let me share another blog, regarding the topic. As you can see in the title, its all about exotic foods that I tried eating then and now. If you can still remember in my written and published article about myself a long time ago, I told you that I am not a picky eater. I love eating because like I said, "Food is life." So, whenever I get the chance to taste foods, especially those like, "sa hitsura palang masarap na," I really see to it that I can have even just a small portion of it. As for you know, I grown up as one of the average people in our little barrio, so "hindi uso ang maarte."

Without any further ados, here's some of the exotic foods that I already tried eating;

Balut

https://theculinarytravelguide.com/exotic-foods-in-the-philippines/

What is Balut?

- Balut is a popular food commonly sold by street vendors in the Philippines and Vietnam (where it is called hot vit lon). It consists of a fertilized duck egg that has been incubated for approximately 18 days; a period of time which results in the formation of a partially developed embryo within the shell. (link)

I started eating Balut when I was already in High School. Before that time, I don't have my interest in it because I know that there's something in it that I don't want see. Lol. But, one of my friends gave me a kind of technique on how to eat this one if you are a first timer. She said that I should eat it in dark area/spot, so that I will not be able to see it and when I am about to eat it, I should see to it that I eat it all at once. But at that time, I am still not fully encouraged. Every other day, a Balut vendor is peddling his Balut. My papa then is a Balut lover. He always buy it. And there's this girl that kept on looking at her father while eating it and suddenly felt her stomach growls. He told me that I should try it, even just once. So, I get one Balut and just follow what my papa did. Sipping the soup, then add some vinegar then a bit of salt to taste. After the first taste, I liked it! So, after that, I always requested my papa to buy it if there is Balut vendor who peddled it. As for my mama, she kept on telling that its disgusting.

Some benefits of Balut:

  • SFGate reported that balut eggs are an inexpensive and readily available source of protein throughout Southeast Asia and "packed with vitamin C and beta carotene, both of which powerful antioxidants that help clean free radicals from your bloodstream and support your immune system." According to the publication, balut also contains niacin, riboflavin and thiamine, all of which aid the metabolism of energy.

    (Read More)

Chicken Feet

https://freddysmusings.com/2018/08/09/philippine-exotic-food-they-will-never-ever-see-the-light-of-day-in-our-uk-dining-table/amp/

- My papa also influenced me to eat this chicken feet. This food is good for "Pulutan" while having a glass of cold beer. I also enjoyed eating it with my friends back then, especially when someone is selling a barbecue. I also eat in "Spicy Adobo style."

Isaw/Chicken Intestines

https://thedailyroar.com/food/must-try-exotic-filipino-cuisines/amp/

- Barbecued Isaw is one of my favorite exotic foods. "Tinae," that's how we called it in our dialect. My papa, together with his friends also love to eat this one especially when they are drinking. They somewhat like toasting it to make it crispy. In Bisaya term, "Pinagangking."

Frog

https://www.goodnewspilipinas.com/fear-factor-worthy-delicacies-philippines-try/amp/

- Commonly cooked with "Gata" or coconut milk. But I preferred eating it in deep fried. I started eating it when I was in High School too. I was influenced by my friends who love to eat this one. It taste like the chicken. Some also said that it's better than the chicken. Papa's friends also love to hunt frogs and make it as their "Pulutan."

Suso/Snail

https://www.facebook.com/TuyoSusoStore/

- Whenever we get to have this so called, "Pangaligo sa Sapa" or taking a bath in a stream, we didn't miss the chance to get some suso before we go home. Recently, we ate this one. My mama do the honor of cooking it with coconut milk and some horseradish. Like they said, its good for the pregnant women too.

Some benefits of Suso:

  • In addition to containing significant sources of protein and low amounts of fat, snails are also good sources of iron, calcium, Vitamin A, and a number of other minerals. Vitamin A helps your immune system fight off diseases and strengthens your eyes. It also helps cells in your body grow. (Link)

Betamax/Pig Blood

https://www.pinterest.ph/pin/533465518331329049/

- I ate it when I went to a street foods stalls. I used to ate chicken blood too. (Cannibalism yarn? HAHA.XD)

Coconut Worms

https://m.facebook.com/memories1032/posts/namiss-ko-to-sud-an-namo-ni-sauna-unsa-tawag-ani-sa-inyoha-sa-amoa-batolsalubi/3874225939358294/

- Back then, I was being nagged by mama because I said to her that I ate fried worms from our neighbor. I was an elementary student at that time. She really got mad at me. But I just laughed at her. She even told my papa about it. The next day, she asked that neighbor and our neighbor told her that it was coconut worms, but not those that are already on the ground. After that, I never tried to it again, because I am afraid of my mama. But I say to you, it really taste good. In our dialect we called it "Batod."

________________________

All of us have different taste preference. I know some of you don't like to eat what I featured today, and there are also some of you that do like it. Well, what matters is that we value every single amount of food that we put into our stomach and its a blessing from above. We just have to see to it that it has good benefits for our body and just eat it in moderation. After all, "Self-discipline is the key!

And that ends this blog fellas. Tomorrow I might publish another food blog and its all about exotic foods again, but it will be all about those exotic foods that I want to try eating. So hopefully, you will up to read it too. Thank you for spending your time my Readcash fam. Take good care of yourselves!❣️

TO GOD BE ALL THE GLORY!😇

________________________

Sponsors of renren16
empty
empty

I want to extend my deepest gratitude towards the people that keep supporting my works in here. To my avid readers, likers, subscribers, and upvoters. As well as my sponsors; (old, new, and renewed ones). Having you as my Readcash family and virtual friends, gives me the feeling that my job as an online writer or blogger is being done quite well. Thank you for making my Readcash journey fruitful. May the Lord God bless us more fruitful days, months, and years to come!

No Hate, Just Love!❤️

@renren16

xoxo(*˘︶˘*).。*♡

________________________

|#220|15th Article of the Month

|03.15.2022 @12:31 PM|

Lead Image source: edited using Canva and Pixlab App

_______________________

PREVIOUS ARTICLES:

"I Craved but I want Resist it!"

https://read.cash/@renren16/i-craved-but-i-want-to-resist-it-1d616c46

"Ten Thousand One"

https://read.cash/@renren16/ten-thousand-one-edcf5741

"Thank you Father for I have Confessed my Sins!"

https://read.cash/@renren16/thank-you-father-for-i-have-confessed-my-sins-5ff41396

18
$ 4.61
$ 4.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @trixdawson
+ 4
Avatar for renren16
2 years ago

Comments

You are seriously enjoying. We do not eat someone these foods in country. But they look so good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes my dear. But as for the coconut worms, I think I can't eat it again. I don't plan to eat it again. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's see, chicken feet are consumed a lot here, I like the way they prepare them, also the pork ones. The different types of snails are delicious, here they make some cocktails with oil, vinegar, parsley, lemon and Worcestershire sauce. We call pork or beef blood blood sausage, we usually eat it roasted as an accompaniment to roast beef or chicken. Chicken intestine I have not eaten but pig intestine I have eaten. I would like to try the frogs and the coconut worms, but I don't think so about the balut, I have to think better of it. I have eaten rattlesnake, cat and other reptiles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was so shocked that you ate rattlesnake, cat, and reptiles sir Frank. But I guess, you are enjoying it.

Hmm.. as for the pig intestines, my mama love to make a delicious dish out of it. We called it "Paklay." :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh! My mama love to make a delicious dish out of pig intestines. We called it "Paklay" sir Frank.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm..Rattlesnake!😱Cat!😱 Reptiles!😱 Ahhh.. I guess, I can't take even just a bite of it sir Frank... I felt scared.

And ohh! My mama love to make a delicious dish out of pig intestines. We called it "Paklay" sir Frank. About the balut, you should try it because its nutritious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Snake! Cat! Reptiles!😱😱😱 I guess you really are enjoying these foods sir Frank.

Hmm... As for the balut, you should try it though, its nutritious by the way but it should not be consumed everyday like my papa said. I also tried eating pig intestines. My mama made a delicious dish using it. We called it, "Paklay."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am seeing these foods first time in my life..... cause these are unavailable in my nations

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well then, you should visit our country my friend and try eating these foods. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coconut warms, I love this so much. I've missed it so much. I ate last when I was very little, when my dad was into tapping of palmwine. So sweet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh! So, you really ate them. That's good to know my friend. But you should cook it well though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, we usually fry it. It tastes better when fried

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko pa po natatry yung coconut worms at palaka pero parang ayoko hahahhaha di sa nag iinarte kasi alam kong palakang bukid yun pero parang di lang kaya ng utak kong kainin lalo and daming palaka dito samin lagi tapos ang lalake pa kaya nakakatakot kapag tinalunan ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

American frog ang tawag niyan sa'min. I mean yung malalaking frog ba. Katakot nga yun. Naalala ko tuloy yung one time na lumabas ako ng bahay tas may biglang tumalon sa paa ko, pag yuko ko, ayun kalaking froggy. Napaiyak talaga ako sa takot. Elementary pa ako nun. (Skl. Hehe)

But anyways, wag mo nalang isipin pag pasubo ka na.. Hehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang di ko lang nakain jan eh un coconut worms at palaka, hindi mo talaga ako mapapakain nyan, hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Pa'no pag may price yung pagpapakain niyan sis? Ayaw mo pa din kainin? 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nope, di pa din hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Ayy talagang ayaw mo lang din kumain sis, ano?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, hehe.. Di keribels ng sikmura ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha...Huwag nalang natin pilitin sis. Baka kung mapano ka pa. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like Balut and intestine before but I guess I don't like to eat them now today. Ow, I haven't try the coconut worms.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh, I see. But why is that sis? Hmm...I guess, you will not try to eat the coconut worms too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lami kaayu Ang balot samot na ug naay nindot nga suka man hang , nako😅 my favorite exotic food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sakto kaayo my friend. Mao jud na'y makapalami sa balut, ang lami pud pagkatimpla nga suka with sili..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't really like chicken feet, although I ate it as a child. My elder siblings told me about the worm and they bought it once but I was too disgusted to try it lol. I don't think I'll be able to eat a frog or any blood-related meal lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, the choice is yours my dear. But if you were here, I will definitely insist it for you to taste it. Bwahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung balut talagaaaa ee! Nag crave na tuloy ako. Makabili nga sa labas hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Bili kana sis. Bigyan mo'ko ha.. Charss. Enjoy sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natikman ko yang iba sis, yung coconut worm lang wala. Yung chicken feet, isaw at balut ang pinakapaborito kong kainin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Elementary pa ako nung huli ko'ng nakain yang coconut worms sis. After nun, di na naulit. Well, wala na din ako'ng balak na ulitin yun. Baka paggalitan na naman ako ni mama.😅

Ayy oo sis.. Lalo na pag medyo maanghang yung sawsawan, o yung chicken feet na spicy adobo style ba..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayay kalamia Ana sis ah. Spicy chicken feet adobo. Lami sad ng chicken feet barbecue niya anghang ang sawsawan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure nang makahurot ug usa ka kilo sis.. Haha...Timawa naman pud kaayo ug mahurot..🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwede kaayo mahurot ng usa ka kilo sis basta walay kanin, chicken feet lang jud plus sawsawan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahw sis uie.. Storya-storyahan raman kaha with matching tagay-tagay pud magamay. Haha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw maayo gyud na sis. Di lang isa ka kilo ang mahurot ba, hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Murag maing.ana jud na sis. Haha. Samut na ug maglami na pud ang tagay. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never been a fan of chicken feet, and I don't ever see myself eating a frog.. I feel creeped out by the idea of eating a frog.. But I wanna know.. How does it taste? Is it like chicken?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe.. Yes, it taste like the native chicken. Others said its better than the chicken.

If you will visit our country, you should try eating it my friend.. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natikman ko na halos lahat. Ang pinakamasarap dyan ay Ang balut.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sir. Lalo pag marasap din yung timpla nang vinegar..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

is this balut like eggs or fruit? for coconut worms I tried it when I was a kid behind my house there was a palm tree that was cut down and apparently the inside of the tree has lots of worms like that, grilled and fried it tastes delicious but I don't think it's suitable because of allergies and my body is red and my lips are swollen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Balut is a partially developed eggs my friend. As for your experience about the worms, so sorry to hear that. You should not eat it again if you really do have an allergy..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are a few foods you showed that I didn't even know existed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've eaten these food except frog, coconut worms and snail. I just can't dare it a worm, I'm over-all scared of them ahhaha. But exotic food are good and they taste yummy not gross as they look.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala naman ko naka.try utro sa worms sis..Pero dili napud siguro ko mukaon ug utro..Hehe... Though they are exotic, they are indeed yummy.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my God this is the first time I've heard of these types of food except for snails and I haven't tried any of them at all, it must be a strange experience lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe... You just need the courage for you to be able to eat it my dear. If only you are here in our country, I will be the one to teach you how to eat these foods.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lol I think it will be easy for you to convince me to eat it, because I love trying new things and seeing other people's faces in shock 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe. So, when will you visit our country, then? 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I finish my studies hopefully, 🥰 it is one of the countries I put on my list to visit. I read and watched a lot, it's a wonderful country and people are so nice 😍❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, we will wait for that my dear..God bless in your studies, by the way. 😇 Make us proud dear. Cheering for you!😊❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sis, I'll do my best 🥰❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I you can do it my dear!😊😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay frog and worms ate never pajud ko ana murag luod man hahahahah pero ana nika lami daw heheheh. Kalami man sa tiil ug tinae sa manok

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Sa tinuoray dili jud unta ko mukaon ana pero kani laging nag-inulit man, na.curious pud kintahay maong nisuway..Pero kanang coconut worms, human atoa, wana ko kakaon ug utro. Wa na pud ko'y plano mukaon ug utro.. Wa pa man ko'y buot atung mga panahona gud sis.. Bwahaha..

Oo, lami jud nang teel sa manok ug tinae.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahhahah makatawa kos wapay buot te oie, yay! Murag luod man ang worm hhhahahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Baw pa nganong ningkaon ko atu. Nada ra jud siguro sa kauban or sadyang nag-inulit ko atung mga panahona. HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lahat ng nabanggit mo natikman at gusto ko expect doon sa Suso tsaka sa may Coconut worms. 🤧 Sorry, di naman sa maarte pero di ko kayang kumain ng ganyan huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha... Okay lang yan marengs man uie. Well, hindi pa naman ako nakakain ulit nung coconut worms. Tas yung suso naman, di rin madalas kasi hindi naman lagian na pumupunta sa sapa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this food new for me. I never eat this food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you will visit our country, you should somehow try to eat these foods my friend. But of course, its your choice if you want to try or not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang aho ra wa natilawan sa mga na mention nimo meem nuh, is ang coconut worm hahaa di man naho kere mukaon jud ana pero ngon sila lami man daw sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After nahitabo to sauna Mamsh, wa nako kautro ug kaon. Wa naman gud diri ang manguhaay ana sauna, tua naman sa Manila. Kani laging wa pa'y igung buot Mamsh, pataka ra'g paslak sa baba ug unsay makaon.. Haha. Lami.an man pud ko atua.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naa sauna sa amo kaso wajud ko mikaon hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha... Kani lagi kunong nagpa.curious.curious ang way buot nga bata..😁 Dahh, nakakaon hinoon ug uod. XD

$ 0.00
2 years ago

na ako wa oyyy, wa nagpada kay gi lood ko nag tan aw haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

na ako wa oyyy, wa nagpada kay gi lood ko nag tan aw haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. ayaw na laman jud kaon Mamsh ug mauhon na kay para dili ka magsuka..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

na sureness jud na maam, kay makakita pa lang maglaen na ang ginhawaan hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pahingi ng balot mamsh. Lami raba na kaayo. Paborito na namo. Sa Cebu grabe kamahal ang balot mamsh. Makurat ka. 😅 Chicken feet sad mamsh lami na ug adobohon tas spicy mamsh. Daghan gayud rice makaon. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tag 20 na nang balot diri Mamsh. Sauna didto's T.O. tag 17 ra na. Lami bitaw nang chicken feet Mamsh uie. Bisan wa na'y rice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago