$323M In My Wallet

44 88
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Alright, can you imagine that humungous number inside your wallet or bank account? I can't. I mean, all the mansions I can buy, all the luxury cars I can fit in all their garages, all the Jordan's I can stack up on a room dedicated to all my kicks, and the room is the size of a museum? I don't know how many bowls of Michelin-starred ramen I could eat. And of course, how many beautiful ladies I can... treat with utter pleasantries and respect. Not that, it is relevant to the amount of money, I would just have a lot of free time to explore....the world with these ladies, as a philanthropist.

Well, for some people, they wouldn't have to imagine, all they do is look at their Ethereum wallet and they can then think what to do with that huge of a figure. Just like the hacker or hackers that attacked Wormhole bridge earlier this year. They managed to mint 120,000 ETH worth $323M as of that time. Whew.

So what's Wormhole? And how did it happen?

Wormhole is a cross-chain bridge that bridges SOLANA to other blockchains. If you need a refresher on how cross-chain bridges work, then definitely visit my other article here: Crossing Blockchains with Cross-chain Bridges.

So as we know, bridges allow cross transactions to happen by holding the native token and then minting another type of token on the other blockchain that is equivalent to the held tokens.

To help visualize it, let's play a little scenario in our minds.

Let's say you have a Metamask wallet. Now let's say you have 1 ETH on your wallet and you want to use that ETH over at SOLANA blockchain. Instead of selling your ETH to fiat and then buying SOL using that fiat money, you'll use Wormhole to sort of transfer your 1 ETH over to SOLANA. The request was processed, it was validated, and then the minting of 1 ETH over at SOLANA is approved and granted.

Now you have 0 ETH on ETHEREUM blockchain and you have the equivalent over at SOLANA blockchain.

The hack worked in the same concept. According to some experts who looked at the case of the Wormhole hack, the hacker/s used a previous request to successfully mint those 120,000 ETH.

To fit it with our example, let's say that they use your request to mint 1 ETH over at SOLANA but they tweaked it a bit. They changed 1 to 120,000 and they changed the wallet address from yours to theirs. The validator over at Wormhole failed to recognize that the request has been tampered with and forged and he proceeded to mint the requested 120,000 ETH but they didn't see that there was no ETH on the Ethereum blockchain with the corresponding amount. It was a small mishap with a colossal effect.

I'm pretty sure that the hacker/s partied all day and all night for several days after that.

But of course, you'd think that people capable of doing that stuff are not after money, maybe they are after the challenge or to just expose the vulnerability of the system. Or maybe, they are even insiders. Who knows?

Have you seen your ETH wallet lately? Take a peek, maybe you have been an unsuspecting benefactor in an attempt to launder the stolen ETH and you might have a couple inside your wallet. Wew.

All I know is, if I have the skills to do that hack, I'll just create my own bridge and get rich in a legal way, and then when there's enough crypto locked in my bridge, I will pull it off the internet. LOL. Just kidding, or..am I?

Hi!!!

Thanks for dropping by. If you have any comments or suggestions regarding this article or any article I have written, actually, if you just wanna talk or wanna chat, you can reach me via the comment section below or thru any of my contact details below.

I really appreciate your time being here, and that's it from me, until we read again...

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise | Torum Twitter | Hive Publish0x Blurt.blog

Telegram: meitanteikudo

Would You Like to Earn Some More?

Passive income with your internet (gain $5 instantly by using my referral link)

Play some games and earn.

Series    : All About Crypto
Title     : $323M In My Wallet
Published : 14-Mar-2022
Author :  © RB

27
$ 15.90
$ 15.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @TheGuy
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 11
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Sarap nang ganon pero parang hindi rin kasi di mo pinaghirapan.. kung ako nyan ipamigay ko iba haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha me too. Ipamumudmod ko yan! hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha sarap nyan pamudmod kasi di naman sayo hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha lalo na! hahhah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahanapin ko kung san ka nakatira of ever totoo yang 323 M haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah no need. I'll send you some. haha Pero hindi naman kasi sa wallet ko napunta un. hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The truth is that the money is a huge amount of money and the wormhole would be greatly affected after the hacker looth their funds

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! Imagine getting that amount of ETH by just hacking into the system? You will be an instant millionaire! But in an illegal way, maybe people who did that tests the system vulnerability just like what you have said but as a computer science student, that act is against from computer ethics

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ethical hacking all the way!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll be overwhelmed if I have that much of money. Maybe I'll wonder where to spend it all. And hacking? Hahaha! No no.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah I have a good idea what to do with the money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow what a fast way to be crazy rich! I wish to have that skill hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we all do.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can imagine all the things I would do with $323M in my wallet. Been working on all the necessary steps needed to get there. Maybe, only then, may I be allowed to list all the goodies that come with afterwards. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha nice..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang laki and if ever may pera akong ganito, waaah. Resign agad sa work. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah ako I will still work, but I'll just go in whenever I want. hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I have the ability or knowledge to hack ..siguro gagamitin ko nalang in good way just like those white hackers out there .. mas maganda na yung makakabuti sa nakararami kaysa sa iilan lamang..sayang din yung abilidad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayun.. buti nga ganun.. ako man..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just by imagining it lods, lasing na ako, haha swerte nun na confirmed yung transaction. Matic na rich chillin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

chillin chillin ice cream talaga. hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung ganito lang friend talagang hahanap na ko bagong planeta haha charott pero much better if legal way po talaga to create money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha true..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So many luxuries, I see you are a Man Of Culture! It was a glitch right as the address that served as a medium didn't have that much Ethereum? Or I got it wrong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

there's no glitch. it was a hack

$ 0.00
2 years ago

much better get rich in legal ways sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha is there any legal way to get rich ? haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

magbanat ng buto sir hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, but yes, it's a lot better to become rich in the legal ways, less worried and lots of peace of mind. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahha but is there any legal way to get rich fast?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

business lang nasa isip ko po, hahaha and doing crypto trading i guess 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pa balato love ha. Kung meron man. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha kung merong ano??

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabeh nmn kng ganito hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha sobra ayyy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have any money in my ETH account 😁. Anyway, if I have the massive amount of money, I'll surely be living my billionaires life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha that's going to be massive!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang swerte mo naman friend,at ang laki pa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah $323 Million? ahhah pano pong swerte?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang wala naman haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha wala naman talaga... ahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang swerte naman kapag ganun..

Pero tingin ko, yun mga hacker eh di after s money kundi un sa challenge na magaw nila na mahack un system. Siguro bonus na lang yun pera tapos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha yep ang laking bonus nun hhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago