Christianity Against Women and LGBTQ+ Rights

22 76
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
1 year ago

Pro-abortion individuals are shocked and showed disapproval to the recent US Supreme Court decision to overturn the Roe V. Wade ruling which recognized the woman’s constitutional right to abortion. From this time, America allows its states to decide whether they will continue or ban abortion in their place. 

Based on the political discussion I watched on BBC News, Roe V. Wade was a landmark decision that gives women the liberty if they choose not to continue their pregnancy. For 50 years, this has been implemented but not until today when the US Supreme Court overturned it. 

According to them, the other states in America will continue to legalize abortion, but the remaining 13 conservative states are expected to make it illegal. So, if a woman resides in one of those 13 states and really needs an abortion, she may still go to another state to have one.

This may impact poorer women because it restricts their rights to cheap and accessible healthcare. If their certain pregnancy puts their life in danger, it will be costly to travel a thousand miles just to have an abortion. 

I watched a Filipino documentary back then that showed how difficult it is to have an abortion here in our country. One of the things discussed is the danger of practicing illegal abortion. Given that the government doesn't allow this, women have no choice but to resort to unsafe practices that further endanger their lives. 

In the latter part of the documentary, a pregnant woman can't abort her child despite the danger of her pregnancy. Even if the doctors didn't want to continue the pregnancy, they had no choice but to comply with the law. At the end of the film, both the mother and baby die because of complications. 

Many famous personalities condemned this backward progress in America.

They said that one of the factors that played a big role in this Supreme Court decision was the conservative justices that former President Trump put into power. These Christian conservatives pushed to reconsider Roe V. Wade decision. 

In a video I watched earlier, a woman couldn’t contain her emotions on live TV after hearing the recent US Court Decision. 

No offense to my Christian readers, but after watching her, I can't help but agree with what she said. 

As a person who is baptized to be a Christian, I am expected by the people around me to grow based on the morale of Christianity. But as I grew up, I started to question several beliefs and several prejudices of the holy book towards women and LGBTQ+. Because of this religion-based book, people spread hate to others; people take away the rights of others. 

Here in the Philippines, the population is composed of a Christian majority. This isn't shocking because we were colonized by the Spaniards, who were the first to introduce Catholicism in the country. Since then, we have become accustomed to this and have incorporated it into our daily lives. Even laws are undeniably affected by religion — abortion and the SOGIE bill can't be passed into law because of our conservativeness. Sorry, but for me, it's disgusting to think that we disregard the welfare of several people just to follow a religion we don't even know if it's true.

It just saddens me because according to historians, there is numerous evidence that we already have our own religion that respects women and homosexuals. But sh!It happens, Spaniards came and brainwashed us. 

Isn't it ironic that Spain is one of the countries that are open when it comes to these topics? Hays, I think the Philippines is evolving, just backward. 

Again, I apologize. But as long as Christianity is one of the reasons why people keep on taking away the rights of some people, I will forever see them against women and LGBTQ+.


CHECK MY RECENT ARTICLE 🤩

You can also read my other articles....

Reach me on:

Noise.cash | Telegram | Twitter

13
$ 6.77
$ 6.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @DennMarc
+ 5
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

This will give more power to abuser, I mean the anti-abortion. Those who have been sexually abused and got pregnant will have little to no choice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have seen an American movie which tall about abortion... abortion if care is not taken, is life threaten...my sister friend loss her life as a result of these

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry to hear about this. Abortion should be really legal especially if the the pregnant woman life is in danger

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's nice that we share the same opinion. I am pro-choice, for many reasons. Basta dami kong hanash sa topic na to haha.

May mga case din na minor girls (like eleven years young) get pregnant because of rape, tapos sasabihin blessing yung bata? Whuuuut? Basta maraming cases wherein delikado ang pregnancy sa babae, and some solutions include abortion.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tsaka di naman porket binan nila yung abortion titigil na yung abortion. Marami pa rin namang gagawa pero mas magiging risky at unsafe lang yung practice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i dont know where I stand because many people do this activity even it is legal or illegal,all I can say is abortion is killing to one's life but respect for the opinion of others is more appropriate than arguing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This quite a sensitive topic, I mean here in our country.. you know church vs the law.. Though if I were to ask, I think its case to case basis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you Kli4d, others may not understand it because we have different perceptions towards everything, but what matters the most is to know how to respect others' beliefs and choices.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Philippines is still a conservative and traditional country. Kahit papano, may iilan na sa atin ang open to these kinds of topics no. Kaya lang, karamihan pa satin ang kulang sa awareness. I believe that abortion should be legalized in accordance to biological and health-related issues.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am pro life, I could say I am against with the abortion but sometimes there are circumstances that "doing it is needed". We cannot judge them about it though. We still have our own choice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is such a good topic to discuss. I am pro life, but I do respect one's decision for their bodies as well. Abortion should be legalized, but with some laws and regulations implemented alongside with it, like having set of considerations, doing counselling, and educating people to not take it for granted.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hello, kli4d! I agree with your beliefs. As a Catholic myself, I am pro-abortion (not minding how my family nor others would think of my faith and belief system). I was fighting for this advocacy since then, which you would discern from my articles last March.

The issue of religion still plays a major part in how some people believe what's right and wrong. Sadly, most people invalidate the idea of biological and health-related issues associated with abortion. For me, abortion should be legalized, of course, with legal and ethical considerations.

As for LGBTQ+ rights, may it be in the United States or in the Philippines, the importance of SOGIE must be emphasized. Perhaps, this is the time to reevaluate how the constitution and the nation should treat individuals, regardless of gender and sexual orientation.

Great article, truly informative!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Very informative article

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such a conservative and a hot topic friend. Dami pwede I consider

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ate hahaha. Pero need mapag usapan kahit papaano para maging open

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But how can a man against LGBT+ nature be a woman? Or how can a woman become a man? do you find it logical

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No, of course. That's the irony.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ohh i'm glad I thought you were defending them man

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am a pro life . Huhu

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

I respect ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is shocking! I read the headlines, but didn't actually read the entire article. Walang maasahan sa Pinas kapag religious-based and body-based ang usapan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omsim hahaha. But still hoping for the time na our legislators prioritize the feelings of people not the feelings of the church

$ 0.00
1 year ago