You're unconsciously being a spammer, stop now!

59 78
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

Welcome to another episode of read.cash basics! Just kidding, LOL.

And yes, you're reading the title right! Before anything else, I just want to clear it out that I am not accusing anyone of being a spammer, just read the whole thing first before you react.

This article's purpose is not to call out anyone for being a spammer, this is more like an awareness because as my title states, "unconsciously". These are just some of my observations on the platform, I based it solely on my own perspective so if ever that there's a part of this article which you don't agree, feel free to share it on the comment section below. :)


If it so happened that you are doing some of the things that I will mention below, then you're unconsciously being a spammer, and that should stop.

I listed some of the things that some users are doing which I can consider spamming. I'm not saying that they are really spammers, actually, I am also guilty with some of the things that I am about to say in here, and that thought awakened me that I really should stop doing some of those things.

  • saying the same comments over and over again

What I mean in this is that, I just noticed that some of our comments are being generic. Whenever I read comments, may it be my article or not, a comment consisting "thank you", "you're welcome", and "congratulations" are always present.

I'm not saying that it's not right but maybe we are overusing it already. I mean, it can't be helped. I also do this one. When I posted an achievement, of course, congratulatory messages will come, and what can I say aside from thank you right? And then you're welcome will follow.

But maybe, we could do something about how we can make each comments unique despite the use of the generic words which I mentioned above. We can add messages based on how we know that user. We can also tackle about some things they mentioned on their article instead of focusing only on their achievement.

Think of commenting as if you are writing to a friend, make it more personal, thoughtful and what you say to one user should be at least different to another user. We all have different experiences. User 1 might have achieved his 1BCH in 2 months while user 2 achieved it in 6 months. That fact alone is already a huge difference so maybe we can produce another comment other than "congratulations! Road to 2BCH!". Can we and shall we?

  • plugging went overboard

This is another thing that I think should be addressed. Of course, there is nothing wrong in promoting our own article, it's allowed, and we all do that I think. However, we should be aware when it's getting overboard.

We can share some part of our article when we are promoting it so that readers can have a sneak peak on what it's all about. We can share the summary of it, we can share few lines that can caught reader's attention. We can even use clickbait.

But one thing that we shouldn't do is to insinuate that it is necessary that they should read our article. Plug it, drop it, but never say such words that would appear like it's required for us to read your article.

We have the liberty to plug and promote it but let's promote it with grace. Readers will read it if they want to read it, because they can relate to it. Not because they are too shy or worst, irritated on our constant plugging.

We can post it on our noise.cash account but posting it once or twice should be enough. I also think that it's okay to promote it privately but be careful to not be too intrusive. You can also plug it in conversations but make sure that it's related to the conversation. Avoid plugging it every chance you get even though it is unrelated to the conversation.

It can be really annoying and honestly and personally, it just gives me more reason not to read articles coming from plugging like that. It's giving me the feels that it is necessary for me to read that article and that it's giving me pressure that I should read it immediately.

We wouldn't want to give our readers that kind of feels right? We want to give them the excitement and the lessons on our articles, we want to be remembered because of having such a nice writeup, not because we're the annoying writer who's persistency went overboard on plugging our articles.

Again, there's nothing wrong in plugging, but don't go overboard. Okay?

  • tip back, read back

Another thing that we should be careful to read between the lines. Like what I mentioned above, there's also nothing wrong with tipping comments to your articles, and tipping the articles of your readers. There's also nothing wrong with also reading the articles of your readers, I also do that and I do encourage that. But I just want to ask this question, what is your purpose of doing that?

In tipping back and reading back, we should have clear intention. Are we tipping them because they deserve it and we really want to give it to them, or are we tipping just for the badge?

Are we also reading their articles because we want to read it or it's just because we want to pay them back for also reading their articles? Are we only limiting ourselves with only reading articles from those who supports us and disregard those who doesn't support us back?

What I'm saying in here is that we must read the articles of others because we want to read it. It's nice to pay it forward and it's a nice attitude to return the favor to your readers by also supporting them but let's also make sure to not limit ourselves with only reading articles from those who support us.

Explore in the platform, interact to new people. There's a lot of articles and writers out there who deserve our appreciation and support and it's just a shame to missed out from them just because they are not our supporter.

Again, just to be clear, it's nice to pay it forward or to give back, but make sure to have the intention that you really want to read their article, not just because you want to return their favor.

  • not reading the full article

I've been telling this quite a lot eh?

Not reading the full article might result to unrelated comment because there's a high chance that we won't get the full context of the article. And when we comment unrelated things, it's obviously spamming.

I won't elaborate this further, but please, read the full article. Don't just comment just for the sake of commenting or maybe tips or exposure.

I'm sure most of us who are readers in here are also trying to write in here. Would you also want to receive unrelated comments? If not, then be a model for yourself. Read the full article then feel free to express your thoughts through comment.


I guess, that would be all for now. I've been meaning to write about this since last month and finally, I made it. I'm kind of nervous to published this right now though. I feel like I didn't make any sense and some users could hate me for this. But please, no. hehe

Just like what I've said, I'm also guilty of doing some things which I have mentioned above. And that should stop.

We're not spammers but we have the tendency to be one without us even noticing. I hope that this article was able to bring awareness to all of us to be more careful on our actions at this very platform.

For the nth time, offending or accusing someone to be a spammer isn't the intention of this article but if I happened to actually do that, if this article might appear offending to some, I apologize.

Geez. I'm really nervous with this one but since I've already done it, I'm taking the risk to actually publish it.


Shameless plug for my other read.cash related articles:

Any reactions coming from you guys is acceptable at the comment section. Thanks for reading this far and as always, take care! :)

No. 116, Published: 09, August 2021

20
$ 12.71
$ 11.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @leejhen
+ 15
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

Comments

Now i know the reasons why maybe rusty never visit me 😔 its because a lot of mentioned above is im doing lately. Hoping that I can make it better in coming days and change what i know its not necessary ❤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It takes time to attract Rusty. It took me 12 articles before he noticed me. He's just really so random. It took 2 weeks for me to get noticed, for others it's just 2 days, for others it's a month, to some it's more than a month. we'll never know. what's important is that we keep going, work hard, wait patiently until the seed we plant will have its harvest season.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka jan sis ang important is nag eenjoy naman tayo sa mga ginagawa natin dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes po ayan talaga. madami na naggive up kasi akala nila easy money dito. kaya talaga if hindi tayo nag eenjoy dito hindi tayo magtatagal

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt guilty for the same comment. I did it before especially to subscribers from other countries. They reply naman kasi unrelated sometimes that's why I say the same thing. But I improved my self and did better in replying to them.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Well, yun naman ang mahalaga. At least you already learned. Ako man din, guilty sa mga yan haha. Ang hirap lang din kasi magdeal sa mga unrelated comments. Ang offending lang minsan kasi super obvious na hindi nila binasa or inintindi ng mabuti yung sinulat mo. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May alam ako na user rito before na nakakainis kasi inaabuso niya yung comment section sa mga generous na tao specifically sir marc de mesel. Alam mo yon, para makakuha ng tip at medyo nakakawala siya ng gana. Pati rin sa noise, di siya nagcocomment related sa post kaya haha. Hinanap ko kaagad yung un niya rito specifically sa post ni sir marc. Di na siya active at sinearch ko yung name niya sa noise. He turned out being a scammers by a concerned netizen. Baka alam niyo na to eh, nasa gc lang siya at hindi na siya activr

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opx hala super late ng reply ko pero parang kilala ko nga hahaha. Grabe nga yun nashookt din ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty me! I honestly try to maximize my time so I zone in to things that I can relate to and talk about that. Sometimes the comments are the same so I reply with the same words too lol! I don't check on who upvoted my articles. Firstly, I focus on those who commented and checked on their articles as well. They did give time to read (I'd like to think that for their comments are related to the post) so why not return the favor? Time is precious :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, I also focus on comments first. I love comments, it excites me! I can feel the support through comment and really, it's nice to see people and to know that they are really reading your article. And I do that too, returning the favor, coz why not?

I'm just highlighting those who are reading articles from others just because they want those someone too to read their articles and when that someone stopped reading their articles, they will stop reading from them too. I mean, it's our choice whether what articles we are gonna read but well, this is just my opinion. geez. I can't also get myself. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

On being a parrot: I'm guilty of that. I'll need to see what are some synonyms for Congrats, Thank you's, and Welcomes. Hmmm...maybe I can make up my own unique ones. On being a plugger: I think I'm still okay here. I only plug when there are holes. Hahahah...or to give a better understanding or background details for the current article. Phew. Safe. On tipping: I'm a miser. LOL. Nah, I have started a system for one area of my tipping. I'll write about that one day (not a plug). On reading: If I have to resort to scanning an article, then I'll not do any tipping. No charity reading for me. LOL. Too little time to do that. However, for those with whom I have a closer relationship, I will read due to that relationship. In my book, that's the privilege of any relationship. (I've written about that. Not published yet. Again, not a plug. LOL). Though I read, that does not guarantee a tip. The article has to carry its own weight. It's only fair.

In closing, I'll say that I love spam...they're unhealthy but boy, they are great if you cubed them and add them to fried rice. Yummy!

$ 0.07
2 years ago

Lol! We're all guilty of that, me included. Haha. So yeah, you just did an assessment and I can see that you're good. Not being a spammer. Lol

that's the privilege of any relationship

This is also a factor. Of course, we will support those people whom we are close with and yeah, it's good.

Oh spam! Haha. Really unhealthy but I love cooking it for breakfast. Aside from egg, it's fast and easy to cook. Lol 😂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yummy. I love spam. Yeah, great with egss too. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oops. that's unhealthy! so don't eat it so often. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it was based on users rin. Honestly, it's kinda true that seeing people plugging some stuff on conversations online (like on noise.cash) was off for me. Yeah, sharing things are alright but using it to give context on something unrelatable was truly questionable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I received that a lot, that's why I was able to write this. I don't usually react, most of the time I just stop replying. Less talk less mistake. Lol

But really, it's off, specially if it's unrelated to the conversation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i have noticed some comments tagged as spam even if indi naman spammy looking yung comment.. perhaps part nga un ng unconsciously spamming na users

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May mga ganoon talaga. Namark as spam yung acc nila kahit di talaga sila spammer. Pero it's for the system to decide. Yung iba naman basta maayos na user naalis sa spam section after some time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh i see.. that's good kun naaalis naman sila after awhile..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In fairness dito sa read.cash, wala na masyado spammers. Before nong point system pa, sobrang dami 🤦‍♀️😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True ate hahahsga pero kaloka yung mga unrelated comment minsan. Pero agt least hindi naman madalas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh myyy, I am guilty dun sa congrats, thank you and other common comments. Huhuhu I really need to make some time para ma expand pa yung vocabularies ko and provide a unique and also personal comments sa mga articles na binabasa ko beee. Minsan kasi, binabasa ko naman talaga yung buong article kaya lang may mga times tlaga na medyu lutang ako or medyu nadudugo utak ko s amga words kaya di ko gaano ma gets yumg whole context huhuhu. This is a wake up call and I will definitely take this as a lesson. Thank you bebeeee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huy oks lang naman siya for me as long as hindi lang basta thank you ba. I mean, pwede tayo magopen ng ibang topic. Or gawing open yung comment para may irereply din sila aside from you're welcome. Haha. Basta gets ba? Oks lang naman talaga basta ang point wag lang puro ganoon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

guilty guilty guilty so I guess I should learn my lessons then. pero binabasa ko naman talaga lahat di ko lang siguro iniintindi masyado aigoooooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHQ may times din na diko gets ih, oks lang yan mommy. Ang mahalaga nagbabasa talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

interesting naman kasi yung mga articles like yours...aside lang talaga sa horror at suspense aigooooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

bakit ayaw mo sa horror or suspense? hahaha. sabagay di din ako nagbabasa ng ganoon pero hindi naman dahil sa nakakatakot. basta diko lang trip haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayoko talaga nang mga horror eh...ako unang nahihitay same sa suspense na grabe yung kabog nang dibdib ko na di ko maintindihan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

scary hahaha. I love those kinds of movies dati pero kasi may satanic power siya na nagbibigay satin ng fear so I stopped watching horror movies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

no deal ako pag dating jaan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sabi mo mommy e hahahha. wag na nga tayo manonood or magbabasa ng horror. bad naman yon hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahah tama!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

magkaheart attack ka pa doon e aahahahhaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dati talaga yung uso pa yung feng shui ba yun ni Kris talagang di ako pinatulog nun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty ako 'dun sa pagko-comment ng "thank you" 🙈 Kaya minsan dinadagdagan ko ng kung anu-ano nire-reply ko. May mga times lang talaga na wala na akong iba pang masabi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huy oks lang naman yon hahahsha. Ganyan din ako lagi may dagdag para di naman obvious na puro thank u nalang haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truuuu. Or 'di kaya naman is other words na lang like 'no worries' or 'no biggies' Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ginagawa ko din yan hahahaha. basta maiba lang haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diba nakagawa kana ng ganito mo? yung about sa commenting?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

About comments lang yun mare ih saka yung last point lang dito yung kasama doon kasi feel ko need ulitin e. Ang dami pa din kasi di nagbabasa ng article talaga hays

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is also what enters to my mind this past few days. I often received congratulations tapos lahat ng reply ko thank you din 😆. Wala na kasi akong maisip na pwedeng ireply. Depende na lang, tulad ng sinabi mo kung open yung response nya. Like may pwede ka pang isagot sa kanya kasi hindi lang sya nagfocus sa isang aspect

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang hindi naman kasi maiiwasan haha. Minsan nag aalangan na din ako kasi pare pareho ngang thank you reply ko pero ayon, hanggat may kaya idagdag, idadagdag.

Pero yung iba lang din talaga ayoko maging offending pero nakakaloka kasi ibang comments diba hwhshsh basta ewan if naeexperience niyo din basta ayon. Diko din gets sarili ko haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unconsciously, indeed😔 huhuhu I am afraid by commenting the same word been used again hehehe inevitable but making best to be reminded this kind of things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just typed a long 2 paragraph comment and the system detected it as spam. Context is kind of the same from my previous comments eh. Lol.

Anyways, don't be afraid about commenting. As long as you read the whole article, there's a lot of things that you can say. And if there's none, know that we are not required to leave comment all the time. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes, it can't be helped. Specially the thank you thingy. Lol. I am also guilty of telling that a lot but at least, I always try to add something to the conversation aside from the thank you itself.

Don't be afraid at commenting! Just say what you gotta say and it's already a start. There's actually a lot that we can say specially if we can relate so much to the article. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mejo guilty ako jan not reading the article a lot. But I so it only dun sa taong gumaganon din sakin, halata naman kasi hahaha. Ewan, minsan di na related ung comment nya sa mismong topic ko, para lang sabing nag comment sila. Unfair lang ee, tsk. Minsan nga naiisip ko, siguro di malinaw pagkaka sulat ko kaya ganon. Hmm. About naman sa spamming comment haha. Minsan mahaba ang comment ko dun pinag cocomentan ko ee, minsan maikli basta iba ina. Lalo na sa mga ka close ko. Asahan mo na ang mala artikol ahahaha. Peri minsan ko nalang ata tu nagagawa. Skl ahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHA kaloka parang ang unfair diba kasi pag obvious na di sila nagbasa, nakakasama lang ng loob kaya manong di nalang magcomment para din sa image nila haha.

Akalain mo may part pa na guilty ka? Hahaha best in comment ka nga ate ih. Apakadaldal everywhere saka pag ikaw nagcomment, ang genuine lang tas alam na alam mo kasi nagbasa ka. Aynako alam mo nga ata kahit di na kasama sa artikol hahshaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I honestly got a system warning during my newbie here LOL the word "Thnak you for reading" made me to merely spam to comments 😮 please be guided newbies

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. I also got a warning like that back then. Good thing the system is really helping us thru detecting those kind of mistakes to give us warning so that we can stop doing that. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It did make sense and there’s nothing to be sorry of.

You just enlighten us and awaken some people that are “unconscious” that they become a spammer.

You did it really well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks much! I am also enlightened with this article of mine. Actually, the very first reason why I was able to pull it off is becauae i'm also guilty of unconsciosly doing some of it.

It's just that I feel like this topic is sensitive, the reason for the advance apologies. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's no need to say sorry Mary. This is very well said and an eye opener to everyone.

As much as I want to read all the articles in my notifications for a day, di ko talaga magawa kasi I have a shift everyday e, 9 to 12 hours per day. Kaya what I am doing is that, I read first the article of my sponsors and the people I am sponsoring to. That is how I managed to get back on track. And after, babasahin ko na yung mga nasa notif lahat. Pero di talaga natatapos pa din kasi natatambak e.

Don't just comment just for the sake of commenting or maybe tips or exposure. - This one is also true. If we do not want to read someone's article, just leave it be and do not leave any comment. Sometimes it will make the author sad because what's on the comment section may not be related on the article itself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same haha. As much as I want to read every articles coming from my friends and subscriptions, I just can't. My time won't permit me.

Nice strategy you have there! That will do. After all, we are not required to read every articles. What's important is that at least, we're making an effort to read as much as we can on our given time.

I actually have a diffefent article about commenting but yeah, it's just so saddenning and kind of offending to receive such an unrelated comment wherein you'll know instantly that they didn't read your article. Huhu

Anyways, thanks for this long long comment that surely made a lot of sense. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You don't have to be apprehensive about bringing up this topic. I found it very sensible and respectful. You also touched on the precise points in an article that exhorts and teaches.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you found it that way. Really. :) I just thought some points should be pointed out or else we will continue to do it. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At least we should avoid these things. And we should do something creative that can make our account un spammed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes doc. I'm not talking about literally on the spam section tho. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After reading your article, I wasn't sure if I was supposed to tip or not lol xD What you wrote makes sense, it's well written....that's why I tipped :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha geez. Thanks! This comment removes 10% of my nervousness. Lol. Glad I made some sense for you, I don't exactly know if i'm making sense or not since what I listed above are just my observations. Lol

Anyhow, thanks for the appreciation! This one surely boosted my confidence. Lol

$ 0.05
2 years ago