Bullying as Love Language

44 85
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

First things first, do not judge this article solely based on its title, you will see the reason behind it as you progress on reading this article.


We, people, are unique from each other that even our way of showing love can differ from one another. I don't know how it happens but I guess, the way we love comes naturally from us or that it was influenced by our environment.

The most common type of showing love that I know of are the 5 Languages of Love or the 5 Different Ways to Show Love which are:

  1. Words of Affirmation - based on my own understanding, in this kind of love language, people show their love through words and I just think that these kind of people are vocal about their feelings. They can show love through giving compliments, assurance and encouragement and the recipients of it are the kind of people who want to hear that they are loved. Most probably, this is your love language if you love saying compliments, encouragement and of course, words of affirmation. And if you are the kind of person who wants to be loved that way, one of your characteristics is that you always seek reassurance that you are loved.

  2. Acts of Service - this kind of love is when someone performs an action from the other. May it be simple tasks like cleaning, cooking, driving or even running an errand for your partner, friend or family. By doing this, one person shows love and the other person feels love and it could be vice versa. People in this category likes to do things for others because somehow, that made them feel wanted, needed and important.

  3. Receiving Gifts - people in this category feels validated whenever someone made an effort to give them a gift. It doesn't have to be extravagant or expensive, these people appreciates it whenever someone remembered to give them simple gifts or tokens. After all, it's the thought that counts. If you always anxiously wait for birthday and Christmas gifts, maybe this is your love language.

  4. Quality Time - as obvious as it is, these are people who enjoys spending time with their loved ones. They don't depend on material things, bonding, talking and catching up with each other is already enough with them. They have fun and enjoy with each other's presence and just being together really brings them happiness.

  5. Physical Touch - touchy people, this is for you. These are people who shows their love through touch, of course. They are cuddly, the love hugs, or even simple putting their hand on someone's shoulder. They constantly crave to be to be close to the person they love and they are the people who are most likely to show public display of affection.

If I were to describe how I love and how I want to be loved based on these five things I mentioned above, maybe my love language is acts of service because I love doing things for the people who are close to me. Though it sometimes gives me stress and additional work, I won't deny that it somehow made me feel wanted and I love the fact that someone is relying on me. There's also a hint of physical touch in me because though I am not really touchy, I really do like hugs and it is kind of my habit to put my hand on my friend's shoulders. Hehe

On the other hand, I also feel loved through words of affirmation. Receiving complements embarrasses me and I really do think that it is not a big deal but still, I also can't deny that I still appreciate it when people are also appreciating me. In addition, I think I somehow show love too through this category since I often act as the encourager on my circle of friends or even on our family.

How about you, where do you belong in all these 5 categories?


Going back to the title of this article, aside from the 5 languages of love I mentioned above, I believe that love cannot be limited only on those categories. Therefore, I conclude that we all have our own unique ways on how we show our love. And as for me, it happened to be bullying.

Don't get me wrong and hear me out first, it is actually not literally bullying. I don't know, I just get that because my friends always tell me that I am a bully. On my defense, only to them, I am only like that to them.

As I was saying, it was not really bullying wherein I have a victim which I seek to harm. It is never like that, I never intended to harm someone. On my case, it is more like a joke since I just usually twist their words and use it against them. You know, those petty fooling around which I think is pretty common between people who are really close to each other.

Most of the time, I just try to annoy them by not agreeing to them and proving that I am right. Or sometimes, it is simple as when they asked if they are cute or pretty, I'll flatly say no. Or most of the time, I have quite a lot of friends whose height are 9'2 (nahinto sa paglaki. LOL) so I call them minions. Hehe

I also don't know how to explain this but rest assured that I only do all of those things for fun and that I am not causing harm to any of my friends. After all, they wouldn't remain as my friends if I am bad to them, right? Hmm

This made me remember our unofficial 'bullying club' back when we were on junior high school. Again, that was just a joke and we just made that up. I even remember us printing a copy of our oath with all of the 'members' name on it and we even included our signature on. Such a good old days!


One last thing, I am also sensitive about the people whom I fool around with. I am well aware that there are really people who are sensitive and would take jokes seriously so I am also being careful not to speak words that could be offending to them.

I am lost for words on how will I explain this bullying but I hope that you get where I am coming from. And mind you, I am just all words, in the end, I am still the one getting hurt because when I joke around with them, they always retaliate with either a punch on my shoulders, or a hit on my head. LOL

To attest to all these things that I am saying, I am tagging these friends who knew me personally and also have first hand experience of this so-called 'bullying' of mine. Heya @trulySarah, @carisdaneym2, and @dziefem. May you not sell me on the comment section. LOL


Thanks for reading this far! Feel free to share your thoughts about this article on the comment section below.

:)

21
$ 11.09
$ 10.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @dziefem
$ 0.04 from @foryoubtc09
+ 8
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
2 years ago

Comments

Nakaka relate talaga ako nito ba. Ako kasi medyo na bu bully ng mga friends ko but it's okay for me kasi close ko naman sila. Pag okay naka tempo, ako naman nambubully sa kanila haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

bawian lang yan para masaya hahahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also like to tease my friends whenever possible because they are just the same to me, same feathers flock😂 not the bully type of harming or physically violent them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yup, just more on jokes. no to violence. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha bullying pero walang hate for fun lang. Wala kaming ganyan dito. Tahimik ako na tao ee saka wala namang akong pagbubuhusan ng affection ko pero if online HAHAHSHSZ eheem. I also give nicknames din s amga tinuturing ko nh friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ate dalaga, dadaldalin kita makita mo hahahahha. bawal tahimik, ilalabas natin yang kadaldalan mo hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwahahaha suge nga subukan mo hahaha . Dalhin mo sinLutcho baka magpadala ako sa pang hihimok nya HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHSHSHAHA AYSUS HAHSHSHA dadaldal at dadaldal ka talaga, akala mo lang hindi kasi wala ka kausap na makulit hahs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo, bully po yan, magaling mang-asar kaya nanggigigil po ako sa kanya haha. Tuwang tuwa yan na may naaasar. At nananakit po talaga yang si Mary. Hinahampas niya po ako chaaar haha. Cute naman kaming mga minions! Tsk. Haha. At sorry not sorry haha love language ko manapak. 🤣

At opo, totoo po, she love doing things for the people who are close to her (yiiee gaano kayo kaclose ni ano? Hahaha).

$ 0.03
2 years ago

luh sino kaya mas bully samin, words lang akin sayo with sapak hahahaha pero di ka naman mali, saya kaya mampikon ahahahaha chour

o ano na naman yan ahahahha ano ano na naman e hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa sapak lang ako nakakabawi e hahaha ikaw lang nasasayahan dyan haha

Nagtatanong lang e 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I appreciate your thoughts how you explain it. All this things are in love language I also agree with it. And my love language is 1 and 2.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm. That's a great combination. You love saying people that you love them and at the same time, you also do things for them. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your article. Medyo relate din po ako diyan. Ako, a person would know I'm comfortable with him/her already if nakaktikim na siya ng mga biro ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tipong pag super kilala mo na kasi talaga, it will not be offending haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Tas may sabay hampas na talaga yon. Hehehhe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo same tayo mare hahah napaka bully ko talaga, pero sa mga tropa at close friends ko lang. Though halos lahat naman kami puro bullies eh haha. And also it's my way of lambing narin sa kanila. Ayoko kasi ng physical contact na a awkwardan ako llalo na kapag hug, I swear super hate ko talaga yang mga yan. HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahaha apir! same din sa circle of friends ko, ayon nga may pa bullying club pa e kami kami lang naman nag aasaran haahahah. tapos sa hug, well, I'm not touchy din dati kaso nakaadjust na hahaha. I have friends kasi who loves hugs, naimpluwensyahan na haha pero meron din akong friends na di kami nagdidikit hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

grabe ung 9'2 bhieee higante po ba kayo?? charrr... naalala ko tong topic na to tapos ang love language ko now is words of affirmation pero ung partner ko naman ay quality time at ung touching emerute. meheheeh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

9'2 (nahinto) sa paglaki ih hahahaha. nux same sa word of affirmation haha. ang contradicting e, mapang asar ako pero nangeencourage din naman haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahaahhaha natawa ako sa mapan asar pero mang eencourage pa din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you on this one. My partner and I belong to the same circle of tropa when we were in high school and most of the time, my partner teases me, as in. Kaya akala ko before wala syang gusto sa akin kasi palagi niya ako binubully pero I take it as a friendly joke naman and di masyadong harsh. nalaman ko na lang nung nagconfess sya, marami na raw kasing pumupuri sa akin kaya sya thru bullying haha saka mas gusto niya raw na na-aannoy ako. Weird hahaha pero I like that, I want to be annoyed by my partner for the rest of my life if that's what love means.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

luh #kelegs ahahahaha. thanks for sharing your story! I imagined it while reading this comment. haha ang cute lang uwu. tapos nagclick talaga kayo. effective bullying tactic niya haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh maygaahd ako lahat kasama pati pambubully sa asawa ko. Binabalikan nya dn naman ako ng pambubully HAHAAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha baka po laging may prank wars sa bahay niyo haha. That's fun though, sarap kabonding yung mga mapagpatol at hindi pikon e haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nako wala pa naman kasi mahirap mangprank ng may baby hahaha. Pero minsan mas natutuwa ako kapag naasar asawa ko hahaaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha bully! mas nakakatuwa talaga the more na naaasar sila haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well i like those people, it's okay to say or act harsh or joke sometimes the thing is we know that its a kind of showing love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Also, what's important is that it's not hurting anyone. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me I am the mix type excluding the fourth point not interested much in that, but I would prefer the form of love to be the mixture of other for types, haha greedy fellow. Next bullying and teasing with friends are common, most of us with a group do that. It's just a friendly way of getting along and having fun with the group

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL. That just means you are a loving person. Haha. Yeah, you got the word, teasing! It's just really fun to tease your friends. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Act of service, quality time at physical touch. Ganya lang ako magmahal, char hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

huy, hindi yan 'lang' ah haha. magkakaiba lang talaga tayo ng way of showing love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehez same tayo siz I'm notba person who's sweet haha but my affection and love shows towards my annoying people and bullying hindi yung literal na bully ah yung aasarin ko lang sila pero knowing them alam namn nilang yun yung way ko to show my love for them haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Apir!! hahaha. I can really relate. I'm not showy kasi at lalong hindi vocal. Mapang asar lang tayo pero we care and we're the ones who are usually one call away o kaya ready talaga tumulong isang sabi lang haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

2,4 and 5 are my love languages hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see! We're the same at 2 and 5. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mukhang maliligo ng hampas at kagat magiging jowa mo tita sa hinaharap haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay grabe di naman po ako nangangagat or nanghahampas, nang aasar lang hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha aie, di ka pala gigil palagi tita. Hehe kala ko naman. Haha pero legit yung hampas, pag isang buong araw mo kasama friends mo mukhang mararamdaman talaga nila yun haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer someone who is brutally honest with me. I have a friend whom we can be brutally honest to each other. I'm not sure bullying as a love language though. But yeah, you can only do it to your very closest friends.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmm. I get that. frank of the frankest. LOL well, it's not literally bullying, it's more like just joking around with them and of course, I am only doing it with my closest friends since they know me and they won't get offended with whatever words I say.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree with that

$ 0.00
2 years ago