Alibis and our other lies to justify ourselves

27 38

From my previous article, I have talked about mistakes and how we are meant to make one, or two, or maybe a lot. We are meant to make mistakes, it is part of life, and whether we like it or not, it goes hand and hand with success.

Our every success will always be associated with mistakes and failure. It's like answering a mathematical problem that needs trial and error. There is no shame in making mistakes however, if we habitually make one, that's when it would become shameful.

Mistakes are good but only if we will use it as an avenue for learning so that on our next try, we'll know better and that we'll not make the same mistake again.

Mistakes have the power to help us, it's part of our growth, but we are hindering its power if we don't recognize our own mistakes and blame it to others instead. Or worst, make alibis for it.

Now, let me ask you these questions.

How many times did you not do what you have to do and in the end, make excuses for it?

How many times did you say you'll do something but you end up not doing anything in the end?

How many times did you delay of doing something even though you're free at the moment?

How many times did you made a mistake and chose to not acknowledge it?

How many times did you make a mistake and blame it on others?

How many times did you know you were wrong but you still chose to make excuses for it?

How many times did you lie about something just to save yourself from scolding or maybe humiliation?

You made a mistake and you know it. Yet, you chose to make excuses for it. You don't want to take the blame so you just blame it to someone, or even to something.

This hurts. I wasn't able to dodge my own questions and I was hit right on the spot. Guilty as charged. I won't come clean on this alibi thingy. I remember plenty of times that I made an alibi. I always plan my to-do list daily but end up not accomplishing anything and I can tell a countless reasons why I wasn't able to do it even though I know that the sole reason for it is my laziness.

I also have fair share of mistakes which I denied that I did. I also have many mistakes what I didn't own up, I put the blame on others, I was adamant to accept it. There are times that my pride is too high that I won't accept that I was wrong and I'll keep on insisting that I was right.

There are countless of times that I made an alibi for not being able to do what they have told me to do. I was once an habitual liar and I've learned my lesson. There's no benefit that I can get from it.

Mistakes are meant to help us, to teach us, to make us grow and when we failed to accept that we make mistakes and make excuses for it, we are giving up the chance to change and improve.

So, a friendly reminder, let's not waste our time planning the things that we should do and afterwards, explaining why we weren't able to do it. I mean, I get it, it's just way easier to find excuses than to find time to do the things that we need to do but we shouldn't be like that.

If we want to be successful, then let's also accept experiencing failure. But note that experiencing failure doesn't mean we failed or that we are a failure, we are only becoming a failure if we keep on becoming experts at making excuses.

Let's start doing, let's start finding a way instead of finding for an alibi just to cover up our mistakes. Maybe we thought we are covering it but no, we're not. Because the moment we make an excuse for a mistake we made, we already made two mistakes.

Let's not waste our time, energy, and creativeness trying to think of a way to save and justify ourselves. Instead, let's use all those resources that we have into learning from the mistake we made and to doing and being better the next time.


What's keeping you from doing anything? It's high time to stop all those excuses and to start making progress. If we really want to do something, for sure, we can find a way to do that something. As the saying goes, "if there's a will, there's a way". And the others who didn't really want to do something will always keep on looking excuses for it.

I'm going to repeat this again... Mistakes are good but only if we learn from it. And we can't learn from it if we won't acknowledge it. Mistakes have the power to make or break us. If we continue to hinder it's power to help us, all the more reason that it will break us. But if we accept it and not make excuses for it, then we will be able to learn from it. Therefore, it would lead us to change for the better and to improve, and eventually, to success.

Take note: If you want to be successful, then do something. It's not a matter of luck and if someone told you that it is, don't buy that alibi.

With that, let me leave you with this verse from Proverbs 14:23 saying: "All hard work brings a profit, but mere talk leads only to poverty."


Recent article:

Recommended articles about the platform:


Let's be friends! Connect to me through:

Also, you can join me in my noise.cash channel in giving a Daily Dose of EncouragementEncourage and be encouraged!


Article No. 158
Date: November 12, 2021
By: immaryandmerry
Topic: Life lessons, mistakes, learning

11
$ 8.55
$ 8.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 7
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Guilty as charged (2). As in, I can't even count how many times I used random alibis just to somehow justify what I did. Just like the common 'procrastination" thingy. I said to myself that I'll avoid it this semester but where am I right now? Nagpro-procrastinate pa din. Ang reason ko? Pagod eh, bukas na lang kasi madali lang naman s'ya. Mga ganiyan pero minsan, tinatamad lang kasi talaga. Feeling drained, ganun. Hehe. 'Di ko maiwasan, sa totoo lang pero mas maraming times naman na nasu-surpass ko ang araw na 'di nagpro-procrastinate. And, I'm so proud to myself kapag ganun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hala sanaol nakakaproud naman hahahaha mas madalas pa din pagpprocrastinate ko e. well, totoo naman na pagod but still, it's just alibis. kaya naman natin pero papatagalin pa bago gawin. dami dahilan e haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You cannot reap what you don't sow. Life is a cause and effect. If we want to be successful, then we have to make some action. We can give countless alibis as much as we want. Pero tayo rin lang naman yung talo sa huli. Hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

More like sarili lang natin niloloko natin. Walang naidudulot na maganda satin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes, pinapairal ko din ang pride ko. So, iilag lang muna ako sis. Hahaha. May mga bagay kasi na kailangan ko mag reason up tas minsan may mga times na kasalanan ko pero parang dinidiin ko sa kapatid ko which is very wrong talaga... Nadadala din kasi ako minsan sa emosyon ko. Pero, now, less talk na ako and I just focus sa mga bagay na need talaga pag pokusan. Minsan na lang din ako nagagalit pag tinatamad ako. Pinapagalitan ko sarili ko, pag wala akong progress sa isang araw. Sayang kasi ang buong araw na nakahiga lang..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

at least, you already learned not to take the blame to others and now you're aware na it's your own fault and yours alone. responsibility din talaga natin own actions natin and we can't blame anyone for that haha. mga biglang hinabol ng guilt e haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha natamaan ako dito hahha mas marami pa yung excuses when I have things na I'm too lazy to do, ow even kapag nalelate ako sa sa class namin nung face to face, hindi good reason na nalate ng gising so nag dadahilan ako na may emergency something ganun hahaha ansama ko sa part na sinabi kong nag alaga ako ng little sister ko kasi may sakit sya pero ang totoo wala namn hahaha para lang pag take ako ng prof namin ng exam kasi namn nalate ako almost next subj na kaya ayun hahah effective pero nakakaguilty.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

naglabasan yung mga natamaan hahaha. ako man din, kunwari may sakit kaya absent pero ang totoo tinamad lang talaga. naguilty pa nga ako nun kasi absent ako tapos sabi ko nga nilalagnat ako, then after class hours, my friends visited me at home kasi worried sila. feeling ko talaga ang sama sama ko noon haha. buti nakamove on naman nako ngayon saka never ko na inulit haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And the truth is we are actually deceiving ourself without any reason. But my problem is i can't execute good things for long.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

agreed. it's only ourselves that we are deceiving.

hmm. what do you mean with you not being able to execute good things for long?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For example, I’m 80kg panda but when i was starting exercise i gave up after 7days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm I get it. And what must be the reason why you easily give up?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh those questions trigger me I remembered my doings a long time ago.. I am that kind of person sometimes, I !ade a lot of excuses even though I just lied.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

same here! lol. countless lies just to cover up my mistakes. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My gosh, tamang tama ako Marygoround. Yong naka plano na gagawin pero gagawa ng dahilan para di matapos maraming beses na yan. And though diko naman talaga sinisisi sa iba pero sa isip ko kasi ganon ang ginagawa ko para alam mo un may dahilan ako para mag tamad tamadan. Tapos latur ayun na nga saka papasok ang regrets hahaha. It's all my fault yes pero ahahaha ambot.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

HAHAHAHAH odiba ate. ayan, pare pareho tayong tinamaam. alam mo yun, pilit nating pinapaniwala sarili natin na our reasons are valid pero yung totoo e alibi lang talaga yun haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admit my mistakes but sometimes I don't pero yung time na diko inaadmit sa sarili ko yun yung time na narealize kong ang immature ko 😖 pero diko din naman bliniblame yung ibang tao kasi naguguilty ako after and alam kong may kasalanan din ako. 😭

$ 0.03
2 years ago

diba ang immature! haha. buti naman ngayon hindi na. ako man din dati, ayoko kasi napapagalitan kaya panay palusot talaga hanggat may malulusutan. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guilty na guilty ako sa mga questions sis. Maraming excuses talaga, ayaw e admit yung mistakes at sometimes bini blame ko pa yung iba instead of blaming myself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I feel like I was pertaining to myself while constructing those questions haha. Guilty kung guilty din ako e haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those who can admit their mistakes are the brave ones and has self humility. Kaya bilib ako sa mga taong ganyan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

indeed! salute to those who are brave enough to face the consequences of their own mistake,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes it's the ego or pride..We cannot acknowledge our mistakes due to our pride and hence we tend to create a non ending alibis.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

exactly! that's also one of the main reasons that is stopping us from owning up our mistakes..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excuses are most people's escape. By hiding behind excuses, we passed on a lot of things we didn't do. Mistakes, on the other hand, can be reflected to us as success when they are transformed into experience.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

By making excuses, we're making a mistake from another mistake and that's when we're sabotaging the supposed to be experience that mistakes can give us,

$ 0.00
2 years ago