Washable Sanitary Pads: Are They Worth It?

16 57
Avatar for charmingcherry08
2 years ago

Women are having their monthly bloody days. Most of us are complaining about the cramps, cravings, and other annoying hormonal changes before, during, and after our menstrual cycle. Also, sanitary napkins became part of our lives.

Just a trivia: My grandmother used to tell me that they were using washable sanitary napkins before. Her Mom will keep old clothes and turn them into sanitary pads. According to here, disposable napkins are not a thing before.

Last year, there was a month that I became too emotional. I saw the amount of the disposable sanitary pads I used. There are a lot of them, and I felt sad because they are made of plastics.

Also, since I am a Financial Management student, I considered buying washable pads to save money. As I remembered what my Lola told me, I checked out items online. Luckily, I found a shop that sells them.

It was around July 2021 when I purchased the pads. It has been 9 months of using them, and I think it's already time to share if it's a good buy or not. I would like to share my experience, and if I have saved money from using it.

So, I found a shop that sells Washable Cloth Pads. As you can see on the product's name, they are waterproof, washable, and reusable. Also, they also works for women who experience heavy flows during their red days - like me.

One of my tips when buying online is checking the number of sold items, the products ratings, and read a lot of reviews. As I looked for more, this is the best shop I found. I took this screenshot days ago, and saw that they already had 13k+ orders sold. What makes it great is that they have 4.9 Ratings. I will add the shop's link below.

After studying the ratings and reviews before, I checked the items and the choices. And there are different sets that you can choose from. It depends on you and the purpose of your pads. Since I want items for my heavy flow, that's the set I bought.


You can only buy them by set, which consists 5 Pieces of Pads and a bag. Choose from these 4 different sets:

  • Panty Liner Style - I haven't bought this yet, but I am planning to. I know that ladies will already imagine the size of this. You can use this everyday, since we also experience having discharges. And this is perfect for spotting days.

  • Regular Flow Style - Just like the panty liner style, I did not buy this set too. This is for menstruation days and women who like wearing regular pads. I also plan to buy a set of these. This is perfect to use during day-time.

  • Heavy Flow Style - This is what I bought since I often experience heavy flows. Actually, even when I was using disposable pads, I always buy those in heavy flow sizes. I always end up having menstrual leakage when using regular pads.

  • Mix Style - Yes, they also give you a set of mix styles. When I checked this choice, you will have 2 Panty Liner Style, 2 Regular Flow Style, and 1 Heavy Flow Style. This is the best choice! You will have all the three styles in one set.


Was it a good buy?

Since we are talking about my experience here, I will share my review from the day I purchased the item. I placed the order around July 2021, and waited a few days before it got delivered. Below is the order details.

The set I bought costs 339 Pesos, but I had a free shipping voucher and redeemed some coins for a discount. I ended up paying 295 Pesos.

I have been using the pads for 9 Months now, and I need to compute whether I save money or not. I bought the set for 295 Pesos. Before, I am using the Sisters Night Plus and it costs 26 Pesos for 8 Disposable Pads. I usually experience 5 bleeding days. The first three are heavy and the last days are not totally, but I still use pads.

On the first three days, the average number of pads I use each day is 5 which depends on how heavy my flow is, and the 4th and 5th day is only 3 pads for morning, day, and night. When we compute this, I use around 21 Disposable Pads monthly. I usually buy 3 sets of the Sisters Night Plus. It means that I spend 78 Pesos monthly during my red days.

If you are curious why I use that much sanitary napkins, it is because I experience itchiness when using only one pad for hours. I had to change every time I already feels the heavy flow.

When I continued using disposable sanitary pads since July 2021 until now, I already spent a total of 702 Pesos for nine months. But since I purchased washable pads, I saved up 400 pesos. This means that my washable pads are a good buy and one of the best purchases I had last year!

If you also want to buy one, you can check their Shopee Account. The product link is below and a screenshot of the shop's feed.

Link: https://shopee.ph/product/326667940/6160592747?smtt=0.271801248-1648786626.9

Shop:



If you still have time, here's some of my latest articles:

Published: <April 2 2022>
Author   : <charmingcherry08>

Want To Connect With Me?

Drop a direct message or comment on my:

16
$ 9.39
$ 9.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @Jher0122
+ 7
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
2 years ago

Comments

I got plans to buy this also. I got reminded by your article. I'm always having a problem with where to dispose of them in the province since we only use a compose pit. I'm embarrassed to dispose of them with our daily garbage from the kitchen, so I often dig up and bury them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same goes with me. I always worry about where to put the disposable pads, and grrr, we have no choice but to bury them huhu. It is the reason why I have thought of purchasing washable pads. 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to try this one. Because sanitary pads are costly. 😟

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can try it out! They're worth it. It will be a great buy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Environment friendly din yan kasi bawas na ng itatapon na basura.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po. Kaya rin gusto ko ng ganito eh, para rin sa mother nature.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't thought of it before.. Pero maybe time to try something new naman? Will try this recommendation of yours. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naisip ko kasi ito noong nakita ko kung gaano karaming napkin nagagamit ko every month. So, I thought, dapat sustainable na yung gamitin ko and yung makakatipid din ako. Noong una sabi ko susubukan ko lang din, hanggang sa nasanay na ako. It's been 9 months na pala mula noong nagstart akong gumamit neto. Thank you for considering this! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang tulong na nito for the girls..lalo na't hindi talaga madali pag may dalaw.. Nakakatipid na din sa bulsa at the same time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko talaga puro girls lang makaka-appreciate nitong article na ito, hehe. Oo, tama ka dyan. Makakatipid talaga at mas okay pang gamitin kesa sa mga disposable na sanitary pads.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakikita ko kasi mga tita ko minsan ...si mama noon at mga classmates ko na babae sa school.. namimilipit talaga sila sa sakit ..nako.. Irecommend ko to sa juwa ko kung magkakajuwa man ako 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay nako, sinabi mo pa. Mangingiyak ako sa sakit talaga. Ang observant mo 'no? Hehe. Anyway, malay mo naman this year maire-recommend mo na yan to someone. Aruy! Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow naman! Ito yung solid na life hacks na natutunan ko sayo. Di ka naman tinatagosan? Kasi parang gusto ko din yan bilhin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi naman ako tinatagusan. Yung Heavy Flow kase binili ko. Noong unang ginamit ko siya, medyo nagwoworry ako kasi baka nga tumagos since tela siya. Pero hindi pala. Bumili ka na, let's save mother nature. Hehe. At mas healthy gumamit ng ganito. 😍😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang maganda yan noh kasi washable..di ba talaga matagusan? Mas healthy kasi gamitin mga ganyan kesa mga disposable napkins.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ate. Noong una natakot pa ako kasi baka matagusan. Pero noong nagamit ko na makapal at may tela pala na waterproof.

Mas healthy nga po sya ate. Hindi na ako gaano nakakaramdam ng sakit ng puson, kasi noon malala yung ganun ko eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago