Reasons Why I Brought My Nephew During The Outreach Program

20 49
Avatar for charmingcherry08
2 years ago

I don't know if I already mentioned about my nephew, John Paul. He was my brother's first child, and he's my favorite. Our story began when I first saw him at the hospital. We are all excited as he is the first born in the 2nd generation of our family tree. When the doctor handed him over to us, I already loved him.

My brother and his wife are young parents, so my Mom and Dad had to guide them. They lived with us for almost a year after my sister-in-law gave birth and it has been a roller-coaster ride. But along the way, we had my nephew who became our stress reliever.

To cut the story short, we almost raised my nephew as he is living with us for years now. I can still remember how I experienced the sleepless nights because I had to make a bottle of milk for him. I experienced singing a lullaby so he could sleep before, too.

Also, I was the reason when he showed off his first steps - he was running towards me. And with all of that, I think I have loved him so much like my own son. He became a part of me, and I would give everything to him.


Recently, we had an outreach program and I took him with me. Note that he is only seven years old. Actually, I asked my Mom first and she agreed. Since my nephew wants to go too, I thought that it was the perfect timing to show him life lessons. And these were the reasons why I brought him with me. To further elaborate all of it, I made a list.

I want him to experience life adventures.

I am an adventurous person, and I would like him to be like me, too. Luckily, he said yes when I told him that we will sit at the top of the jeep to get to the mountains. When we were already there, I can see the excitement in his eyes. He wasn't scared at all - even when the rocky road causes us to hold tighter. And that is what I wanted to teach him. The good things in experiencing adventures once in a while.

I want him to appreciate nature.

I am into nature. I love going to beaches, hiking, and even exploring waterfalls and rivers in town. And just like me, he started to love all of them too. I took him with me during the outreach because I know that he will appreciate the nature. While on our way, he is not talking but I know that he is observing his surroundings as we are passing through big trees, lakes, and the mountains.

I want him to appreciate the simplicity in life.

Before we got there, we already had a discussion about having no internet connection and signal out there. He simply nodded and agreed not to use any phones there. While roaming around the place, I started observing him. He is just looking at the kids, the small houses, and the aetas the whole time. He even tried to meddle with them, but they are shy.

As we start giving, I am also talking to him about how the kids deserved our gifts. I even told him to look around and understand that they are living a simple life there - kids with no phones, etc.

I want him to realize that not everyone is lucky to have a good life.

I am not saying that we have a good life. But seeing and comparing it with the lives of the aeta, ours are way better. This is another reason why I brought my nephew with me. I wanted him to see and realize at his young age that not everyone has the privilege to live a good life. Not everyone has the access to everything.

I want him to realize that there are people out there that needs more attention and help.

When we got home, I asked him about his observations. And I am shocked that he has a really good memory. He told me that some of the kids are going to school barefoot. Some of them has no bags at all. After his stories, I told him that those were the reasons why the kids deserved our help. Among others, they deserve more attention. I saw that he was listening to me the whole time. I think reflection is working on him at this young age - which will be a good start.

I don't want him to be ignorant.

Also, I want him to reflect that what we are doing is good - so he could do it too when he is older. I even started to tell him that these kids should not be laughed at. Their physical appearances are okay. Their eyes are beautiful. Their skin color is just like others'. Their hairs are unique. They are wonderful people. I will not raise a kid that will laugh at them and mock them. It is a good way to open his eyes.

I even asked him if he find them funny, but he answered that he felt pity for them. I don't want him to look at them with discrimination someday. When we were there, I wanted him to play with him and God knows he tried, but the kids were feeling shy. I hope someday I can see them play and have a connection. I really want him to build a friendship with them.

I want him to be a special, better, and kind individual someday.

Yes, this is the main reason why I brought him with me. While he is giving some candy treats, I already saw the sympathy, care, and concern in his eyes. He is not laughing at all when he saw the kids barefoot. I did not see the mocking facial expression on him while running and walking beside them. And there, I already knew that we are raising a good man someday. He just needs to be more open in such kind of acts.

My nephew is a good and smart kiddo. We had no problem sending him to school as he learns fast. He is not too playful, and I think he's a serious type of man when he gets older. Just recently, his teacher told us that he's one of the smartest kids she ever handled - especially in Mathematics. I know that he will not be just an intelligent man someday. I want him to be someone with a good heart for others. A man who is willing to help. A man who will also live his life with purpose.



If you still have time, here's some of my latest articles:

Published: <March 28 2022>
Author   : <charmingcherry08>

Want To Connect With Me?

Drop a direct message or comment on my:

7
$ 5.92
$ 5.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Hanzell
+ 5
Sponsors of charmingcherry08
empty
empty
Avatar for charmingcherry08
2 years ago

Comments

I totally agree with you dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww . A good tita nmn yan. Its good for him that he already knows about the situation of others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree. Para makita nya rin na dapat humble lang sya sa buhay at hindi sya mapagmalaki. Sana lumaki syang may magandang perspective sa buhay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo yan sis. Naniniwala ako na meron syang perspective na ganyan lalo na witnessed na nya ang mga bagay or sitwasyon na meron pala na ganyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis. Lalo nakikita nya yung sitwasyon ng buhay nila at yung mga ginagawa namin para mapasaya sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This really is a great opportunity for the kid to explore on the individualities or differences in terms of races. Good thing at early age you made him experienced such adventure sis. Good job! ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree! 🥺 This is exactly what I want him to be aware of. That differences should not divide people. He should learn how to have a connection with them, regarding their physical appearance or where they come from.

Sana madala nya sa paglaki. At sana mas magkaroon sya ng relationship with them habang lumalaki siya. It is to help him grow and be a good man too. Isasama ko lang sya ng paulit-ulit hanggang sa mabuo na sa isip niya yung magandang mindset sa buhay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a great example to him, sis. Surely he will grow with all the learnings and experiences you shared and showed him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so. I am setting a high standard to this kid. I want him to be a better person someday. And all these experiences and learnings instilled to him at his young age will surely help him build a better mindset and view in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cute ng pamangkin mo. Mganda yan pra matoto about life sya sa murang edad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ate. Mahiyain yan. Nahihiya sya pag pinupuri sya na magaling at pogi. 😅 Parang serious type na lalaki pag lumaki. Hihi.

Tama ka ate. Eto kasi minsan ang kulang sa mga bata eh, yung mamulat yung mata nila sa reality ng buhay. Buti nga at nakakaintindi na sya kahit papaano kapag nagpapaliwanag ako sa kanya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Magandang experience yan for him bhe, makikita nya ung difference ng buhay at matuto sya magpahalaga sa mga bagay na meron sya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka dyan ate. Kaya nga noong tinanong ko siya kung gusto niya pang sumama ulit, oo agad sagot nya. Nag-enjoy din naman at gusto nya talaga makisalamuha sa mga aetas. Alam ko lalaki sya na hindi tatawanan itsura nung mga bata, at sana tulungan nya rin sila someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayos yan para paglaki nya maging advocacy nya din at the same time nakakaiwas sya sa gadget

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po ate. Atsaka nag-eenjoy sya ate, mahilig din kasi sya sa mga bundok, dagat, ilog ganyan. More on adventures sya katulad ko. Halos lahat may pagkakapareho kami. Sinasabi nga nila baka anak ko raw talaga sya 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayos yan tsaka mas marami pa syang maikukuwento sa mga kaibigan at kaklase nyapati teacher nya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sinabi mo pa ate. 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice cherry,your teaching him by doing,that kids will surely learned to helped someday,as what he has seen from you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo ate. Pinapaliwanag ko na po sa kanya yung iba't-ibang sitwasyon ng mga tao sa buhay. Sabi ko nga sa kanya ate, paglaki nya sana gawin nya rin yung ginagawa ko. Sana nga lumaki sya na nasa puso yung pagtulong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago