How I Lost 73K $CATS And 37 $EBEN In LP

88 159
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago

I don't know how to write this article, but I will try my best to share with you my 18-day journey in staking my LP tokens, and how I lost more than 50% of them. Before anything else, let me explain what is a Liquidity Pool in my own understanding.

Liquidity Pools or LP are paired crypto assets, in my case, EBEN-BCH and CATS-BCH, that are pooled together to earn a certain token, which is EBEN. Since I'm not into technical stuff, I highly recommend you to DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH or better yet read this article to know more about LP: Liquidity Pools 101 - How NOT to Lose Money

Feel free to read this: Full-Detailed BenSwap Tutorial (TagLish Edition)

18-day journey in LP

So August 30, I added 100K CATS and 0.0269 BCH into the LP. I also swapped 0.011 BCH for 51.9 EBEN. The 51.9 EBEN was added to liquidity and an amount of 0.0109 BCH was also needed to complete the pair. Both LP tokens were staked in the hopes that I could earn more EBEN fast.

  • 100K CATS - 0.0269 BCH

  • 51.9 EBEN - 0.0109 BCH

I had no idea about the risks until @Jane mentioned it to me in our TG group. PVM also said he doesn't like providing liquidity. According to him, if APY/APR is high, you could lose.

I was a bit worried but didn't bother to pull them out yet since at the back of my head, I could gain more profit once BCH hits $700. However, @francis105d1 also posted his reminder in our TG group that finally made up my mind to do something about it before I regret not pulling out on time.

You should read this article, though: A crash course to DeFi on Smart Bitcoin Cash.

Unstaking your LP tokens

So yeah, after 18 days, I finally pulled out everything. So the process was simple, in case you want to unstake yours. I'm not saying you have to unstake it now. Just DYOR and ask the experts. Anyway, to unstake your LP tokens, here is the first step:

  • Click the '-' sign under the LP token you want to unstake.

After I unstaked my EBEN-BCH, I immediately checked my wallet to see if my assets were back. I was shocked when I couldn't see it. I almost got panic. So I explored the Liquidity page, and there I saw my token. So what's next?

If you want to pull out everything and have no plans to stake them back...

  • Hit Remove.

  • Set the percentage bar to max.

  • Confirm the transaction.

  • Hit Approve, and then Remove button.

  • Confirm.

Once the transaction is completed, you will then see your assets in your wallet.

Unfortunately, from the original 51.9 EBEN - 0.0109 BCH, what's left for me is 14.4054 EBEN (plus 4 from the Harvest) and 0.0401133 BCH. This means I lost 37.4946 EBEN and gain 0.0292133 in BCH.

I also pulled out my CATS-BCH. From the initial put-up of 100K CATS - 0.0269 BCH, I now have 0.10494 in BCH but lesser CATS. Out of 100K, I lost 73,406.5 CATS, which means I only got 26593.5 left back to my wallet.

How exactly did I lose my CATS and end up having more BCH?

As I've said earlier, LP requires two assets that need to be pooled together to earn a certain token. The goal is to keep the two assets' value linked with one another and must always remain constant. However, if one asset increases its value, an adjustment has to be made, resulting in lowering the value of another.

So in my case, I have gained more in BCH but lost more than 50% of my EBEN and CATS. This means the price of BCH is high but the tokens are both low. Despite having more in BCH, I'm still saddened by the loss of my CATS and EBEN. Now, I only have 28593.53 CATS and 21.41721 EBEN left in my wallet.

So where did the risk comes from?

As Francis said, providing liquidity can be very risky. Due to volatility, you may end up experiencing impermanent lossΒ on the value of your pooled assets. You may also end up having more worthless tokens and less of your valuable ones if a rug pull occurs. This is why you must DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH first with the tokens you want to add into a Liquidity Pool to avoid such hassle and loss.

Closing thoughts

Despite this quite unfortunate event for me, I'm happy that my BCH is secured now. Plus, from the initial investment of $47.65, now $142.03 in BCH + $60 that I added in WBCH. Most importantly, I gained something valuable, and that's the lesson I learned from staking in LP.


34
$ 13.81
$ 12.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @francis105d1
$ 0.12 from @Mr_Trenzs
+ 18
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you for your mention and referring to my article. I hope we all can learn together as we go after all it is all about learning in this life. It is the big experiment of all time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have staked around 4.2 EBEN - BCH LP tokens during the time eben was around 2 dollars each. Maybe I will just let it farm and wait until it goes back to the price I bought it to prevent impermanent loss.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I believe you can cover the loss someday. Hehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is huge and painful. So sorry about that MJ. I finally got through to the post. It was a long day for me. Wow. I must say you are even brave to try it and now you know the risks attached to it. Thank you for learning from this and making us learn as well to avoid the same thing..I am deeply sorry, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Learning experience, and by the way, I had mine too ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest, I do not know if it is lucky or unlucky that I am not able to stake to BenSWAP for EBEN. As a result, I had avoided a loss on this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are in the safe zone. You avoided the loss but you also missed the opportunity to earn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Despite having more in BCH, I'm still saddened by the loss of my CATS and EBEN.

You can buy EBEN and CATS for what you have gained in BCH when the price or the tokens falls.

I got more EBEN than I put in, but less BCH. If I sell the EBEN, I will get less BCH in total than I put in. It is always the total that counts and not the individual token.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Planning to buy more of those. I want to stake more of my EBEN but no LP this time. CATS is also doing great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will stick to farming and sell the earned EBEN again and again when the price is good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What other tokens can you recommend, Sir? Do you think ARG is a good investment?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't want to recommend anything to you, but I have some ARG and KTH.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have those too. But just a tiny bit of KTH from their airdrop. Anyway, thank you. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah this is the thing about LP. I think they can be great and I have been in a bnb-cake pool for a long time already and it does great, but with tokens that are super volatile it's playing russian roulette. Ah well, valuable lesson learned!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, at least I gained knowledge and experience about it. Maybe I'll try LP but with SLP. Haven't tried other DeFi platforms tho.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The tried and tested ones usually have some safer pools, but the APY is a lot lower of course

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same in learning of Liquidity and stacking I also lost my CAT$ from 900000 to 1200. I am worried about this loss. But it is kinda part of life. Without risk you learn nothing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Omg!!!!! That's such a big loss!! But yes, you're right. Without experience, you won't learn something.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never try this kasi ndi pa ako marunong hehe, tlagang need a thorough studies bago pasukin ang ganitong mundo hehe, pero atleast po safe pa din ung mga BCH earnings mo

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Safe ang capital pero malaking kawalan si CATS. 100k is 0.44 BCH na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang laki nga po, nakakapanghinayang kaso nangyari na eh, for sure madam mababawi mo din yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, you've learnt your lessons. Maybe next time you be more careful meanwhile, congratulations on your earnings in BCH.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, this is something that I will always remember. To do a thorough research before doing anything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my. I really need to learn this all before risking anything I have. Pero bawing bawi naman po yung bch so di masyado masakit hehe pero masakit parin

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Masakit pa rin sis. Laking kawalan si CATS. Pero wala na akong magagawa but to move on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa bagay. Ako nga abangers rin sa cats eh hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the risk really sis. Glad I pulled out mine earlier so I did't lose much. The impermanent lose is unavoidable.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Didn't know how serious it was until I pulled out my assets. πŸ€¦πŸ½β€β™€οΈ Oh well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Learning experience sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still don't have any about about LP tokens. It seems like that It has too risk so I think It is better to avoid it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Just try to avoid it until you gain enough knowledge about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhuhu that's really too risky sis. But it was still fine since you also gain more bch. Lesson I gain here is that, once something is gone there will always another thing that will be added as well that makes it still valuable. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, sis. Me nawala man sa assets ko pero me natutunan naman ako. Tho sayang pa rin yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga tama sis. Everything has a learning to ponder.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is such a timely article. Been doing more research about this since Ate Eybyoung commented on one of my articles. Thank you for this!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Did you also try LP?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po HAHA pero thankfully maliit lang nilagay ko. Tas ngayong niremove ko na yung iba, konting tokens na lang tinira ko pero konting value lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halla ate sa Pool yan hindi po sa Farm mismo? 😱 Sa farm po kasi naka stake Eben ko buti nalang maliit lang yung inano kong Cats sa LP CATS + BCH.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yan nga. Liquidity Pool. Basta hirap igets ang term. Dm mo ako mamaya. Me papa check ako sayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sige sige po ate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Inabangan ko talaga tong article mo. I also provided liquidity but with other token, maliit lang ang value kaya d ako masyadong kinakabahan. If paired daw with stable coins medyo okay, i have bch/sbusd pairing..

Ung sa liquidity lang ung niremove mo po? What about dun sa farming? Hindi din ba sya safe?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yung sa pool mismo sa benswap okay lang. Kaya nga sa SLP daw mas bagay mag LP.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww okay.. stick to farming and Pool na lang siguro ko. Dun na lang sa mas safe, mahirap na, baka lalong masunog ung kakaunting puhunan hahaha

Dko masyado kabisado ang slp, di pa naabot ng kaalaman ko hahaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe it's a matter of luck, the market is unpredictable, still lesson learned and I'm glad that you've earned profit in BCH, I think that amount is enough to buy CATS and EBEN again.πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'll buy during the dip. Bababa din mga yan. Bibili ako kahit pakunti kunti.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Still didn't know how this things work. But I'll try this next time when I have more to risk

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can read the other articles I mentioned tho or do more research.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i haven't tried mine yet....still doing some researching, reading others' experiences, like yours, to give me more ideas on what I'm getting into. Thank you for always sharing infos like these.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Glad I was able to help you with this. Yes, more reading pa coz mahirap mag risk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't relate to this ate but if ever I will have a chance to try this, I will avoid that LP hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, avoid lang muna sa LP until you gain more knowledge about it. Mahirap na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kakulba sie ni. Haha. Ako nga nga sige ra gihapon ug explore kaback out-ton.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayaw lang back out sis. Iavoid ra ang LP.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lessons learned.. And thanks for sharing your experience ate..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Of course. Mas okay na yung ibang nagbabalak, ma avoid nila to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep.. Sabi nga ignorance is not an excuse..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You lost a lot of tokens, pero di pa rin po masama kasi safe ng BCH, which is yun po ang mahalaga. Sa mga experience ng iba, natututo na ako. Hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ako wala e. Haha. Pero ganun talaga. Part of improving yourself is to make a few mistakes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama naman po yan. ako nga walang ginagawa para manlang maggrow. Di din naman ako natuto ng ganun. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now i have a little idea about what LP and how it works haha ayoko pa sya itry hehez. Atleast po you've learn a lesson naman better luck next time

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo. Ana na lang jud. If you have tokens, ihodl na lang or buy and sell. Ayaw iLP.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ga hodl sa ko ate hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya ako hanggang pool lang eeh kasi laging sabi nina Jane at Eyb na it's very risky. Buti sana if ang ka pair is stable coin kaso mo walang available non sa benswap. Pero naka gain kapa rin naman ng BCH not bad na rin ano. Basta wag na basta basta maga farm aguyy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo. Ang alam ko narinig ko na to dati kay Laurenceuuu pero yun nga minsan talaga kaka explore, kung saan saan na napapadpad. At least, BCH is fine at me na learn din ako. HAHAH. Sige lang part of growing to sa crypto journey ko. At least nakapag share na rin ako ng experience ko so hopefully yung iba, matuto rin para di nila to ma experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yayy, another experience lang naman areh more exploration to come pa hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not bad having 0.10BCH from 0.02, you should be grateful because BCH is valuable than CATS hehe but for EBEN it's a bit painful. That's why I didn't made LP, we reminded all of you in the beginning but at least you didn't lose BCH that's more saddening. Don't regret experience, it's a great lesson.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I did the LP way before you mentioned it. HAHA. During the first day when the staking is live. I did it in the hopes to earn more EBEN. But yeah, at least my BCH is safe. And sometimes, we have to learn the hard way. LOL. At least alam ko na kung anung difference nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lesson and learn na rin ate sa lahat, thankyou po sa paalala.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo. Since maraming me CATS, mas okay iHODL na lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tried providing liquidity on another network last year. I was in loss so I guess that was my first and last doing that. I don't like it anyway. If you want to do that find stabe coin pairs like usdt/dai. The percentage is less, but they don't lose value.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You mean a token + USDT? Well, at least, I'm not alone in this journey. HEHE. And yeah, this would be my first and last. Better stake then and forget about LP.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I meant two stable coin pair. I am pretty sure I saw that somewhere. Yes I prefer staking staking. If you find a promising project it can be profitable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was expecting that you'll lost BCH and gain EBEN since it was the reward πŸ˜… .. It was the opposite in your case maybe because the EBEN and CATS price dropped when you unstake them...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So good pa rin ba? Nalungkot ako sa CATS ko. HAHAHA. Bili na lang ako pag nag dip. Pero at least, hindi ako nalugi. Yun ang importante.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not for me. Kc malaki value nyang 73k+ CATS 🀣 at EBEN compare dun sa nakuha mo na profit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. Yun nga talaga iniisip ko. Hayst. Wag mo na ipaalala. 🀣🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww..sayang din po yung loss na Eben marami din yun..but atleast po you gained something .. Nako..buti di ako nag stake ng madami..diko pa pala nacheck cats ko..patay

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Itry mo daw icheck kasi baka nasobrahan lang ako sa ka panic. HAHAHA. Try mo to, please. Kung me LP ka lang. Punta ka liquidity at let me know kung me asset ka ba dun? Di ko kasi na explore yung liquidity after ako ang add ng assets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The general idea is this one "providing liquidity can be very risky. Due to volatility, you may end up experiencing impermanent loss on the value of your pooled assets." Im happy its going well for you, because when I read the tittle, I start criying.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

HEHEHE. Still, not totally well, though. 73k CATS? :( 37 EBEN? :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of corse, you could lose everything! At least you almost tripled your BCH. :) Of evil, the least

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have you tried this one before?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have not tried. I have friends who do it, some have done well, others better not even tell you. I am a bit isolated because I have lost money and I have rethought what to do with it a thousand times before acting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayan nga mahirap sa LP Kaya sakin purp stake lang.

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Na try mo na to dati? Ngayon ko lang talaga na try. Kinabahan pa ako kasi akala ko nawala assets ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di jud ko makarelate ani sis..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sis, naa ba kay Metamask? Naay daghan airdrop, sis. Pero since wa pa ka katry sa LP, ayaw na lang jud itry.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naa nuy metamask sis unya naa na pud kuy arg, kitten ug candy. Pero di jud ko ana mutesting kay wala jud kuy understanding ana..

$ 0.00
2 years ago