You are your own kind of awesome

5 31
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

To my younger sister,

Yesterday marked the time when you finally left your teen days behind and start your life as a 20 years old. It might not seem like not much has changed since then but I want you to know that now is the time to take life seriously.

I know that you are not someone who likes to do difficult things nor are you someone who puts more effort than necessary into things that you are not interested in. I wish you would be become more serious in what you want to do in life.

I wish you would be more honest with yourself about what you want to do instead of just blindly trying to follow what anyone tells you to do. You took the same course as me without a single idea about the program that I took. Now you settle into having "teamwork" with your block mates without learning anything on your own.

I know how tempting it is to take the easy way out especially when this is something that you barely have any interest in, but I wish you would realize that you are only cheating yourself. I worry about what will happen to you once face to face classes come back again. The professors in our course are not exactly kind, they take pleasure in sharing that they fail half the class all the time.

I wish you would take your life seriously because you are the only one in charge of where your life could go. I know that you can go far, but only if you wake up and start focusing your attention on the road ahead of you.

I remember when we were just elementary students, I heard the story of how you recited a story without looking at the book. I remember how my mother told the story of how the teacher was so proud of you and how other students just read the book without emotions but you recited with feelings. I remember thinking that you will achieve greater things than me.

I do not know all the things that happened between then and now. All I knew was that as we grow older, when I see my old teachers, they always told me that you were the naughty kid, the one who does not listen to the class, the one who talks when the teacher is speaking, the one who is always part of the noisy list. I remember that when we were standing side by side with our mother, the teachers will say these things as well as if it is a good thing to compliment one child by comparing her to another.

They wanted you to be more like me. And for a time, I did too. I wished that you would just be shy like me and more responsible. I wished that you would be praised for your good behavior in class and your academic performance.

Over the years, this put a strain on our relationship where I wished you would by anyone but yourself. Thankfully, with time comes with wisdom and I have been able to recognize that you being different from me is not a bad thing.

While many will say that I am better at academics, I recognize that you have more skills than me that is useful in life. For example, you are sociable when you want to be. You are generally more well-liked than me as I prefer to keep to myself. You are also good in applying your lessons to life. I remember how many new dishes we have tried when you studied cookery back in senior high school, that was amazing. You are better at playing games. Your painting skills are also growing day by day. You can also play musical instruments.

The truth of the matter is that there was no point in ever wishing you were me. You are you and that is so great because no one else could ever be you. I hope that you realize your skills instead of bringing yourself down. I hope that you know you have a bright future ahead of you. I hope that you will see yourself and not see a failure, because you are not. When I see you, I feel proud of you. Sometimes, I feel worried because you seem to have no plans for the future. But maybe you have plans but are just refusing to share it. Still, I trust that you will find your way to the life you wish to have.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

November 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for the first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/Z2N10X4rVlb

10
$ 7.25
$ 6.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @Jinifer
+ 6
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I think these are depends on your mood. If your mood is low, nothing can makes you special or happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am what I am, a unique individual. I admit that sometimes I wish to be a somebody but again realization snaps at me, telling me to stop comparing and wishing to be someone because I am what I am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy about what I am and who I am. It really means a lot to me. No one should desire to be someone else. Everyone is unique.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reaching 20 years old doesn't mean that we need to think maturely, it's still part of teenage days that we need to enjoy. We are living on belief that a we reached 20s that's the start of our true battle, however for me that's the beginning of exploring deeper things in life and the way we see the world before will change into new one. We can feel that having lots of friends is not necessary cause not all of them will stay, as we reached that age, realization will also appear one by one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much. I was the first reader. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago