The most memorable 18th birthday

23 58
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Way back when I don't have a job and my father was the only one sustaining our daily needs, we were raised to appreciate simple things. Like when it is snack time, me and my siblings were only given P5.00 to buy our food. We often bought polvoron. At some point, I got really envy with my cousins who can buy piattos, lala and a lot of different food just by asking their parents. I can still clearly remember on my puberty days, I started to grow and my boobs became visible but my mom can't afford to buy baby bra because my father's income is only enough for our food supply, sometimes don't and my mom had to make ways for us to eat for the day. We were in debt, we never got out in debt even after I reached my college years.

During college, my pocket money was P50.00. So everytime my friends would ask to eat somewhere, I have to keep P7.00 for my transportation. I was just lucky that I became friends with individuals who can understand my circumstances. There were times that we will eat in KFC. Hotshots before only costs P50.00, that's the cheapest meal they have. So when I ordered that, my friends will contribute ao that I will have a money for my transportation. These instances in my life made me used on not celebrating my birthday.

As a girl, I guess everyone wants to celebrate their 18th birthday as extravagant as possible, I too. But since I know that we don't have enough money to do that, I accepted that no celebration will be held. Come my 18th birthday, me and my kambal (twin); our endearment since we were born 1 day apart, we don't have any planned get together nor eat out that day. Our friends understood. It was already time to go home from school. Usual girl thing is we go to the restroom. Joanna; our bestfriend, blindfolded us (me and my twin) using a scarf. She guided us back to I don't know where but when we removed the blindfold, our friends held a surprise debut celebration in our classroom. There's cake, gift and there were also 18th candles and roses, even christmas lights on the floor was set up. It was hosted as if it was a normal debut celebration. We were even got called out by the guard in our school because it's already late and we should not be at the school premise, but he understood that situation and give us an extension to stay. Us celebrants were speechless at the moment and we did nothing but cry and said our thank you's to everyone. After celebrating at the school, we invited them to eat street food near our school, they gladly agreed.

On my way home, I can't still not believed what had happened. After unwrapping their gift, I saw that it is an Avril Lavigne cd. I'm a die hard fan and it made me really happy. But that's not how it end. My father got home from work with a flower he gave to me. It was not bought since as I have mentioned before, we were not capable on spending outside the budget. He got it from a municipal program's decoration. I literally cried because of how he spent the effort on getting the flower, given that my father is a real shy type person.

I grew up appreciating simple things and that's something I will keep forever with me. I may not be rich monetarily, but I was gifted by people who will never leave my side during my worsts amd highs. They are still with me up to this date and I know they are all God given gifts that I am blessed to have.

Closing words

I remember those days when we do not really celebrate pur birthdays much. But when my elder sister finally graduated and got her job, she never let a birthday passed without any celebration. Even "small" achievements are now celebrated such as getting through a hard semester, being one of the honor students for a quarter, getting the highest score or perfect score on an exam, etc.

She never let us feel that we have nothing to look forward to on our special day. For my part, I try to contribute to make her days special as well.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for the first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/jnW1VlYYjkb

19
$ 10.49
$ 9.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 12
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Naalala ko tuloy nung nag debut ako haha kakain lang dapat kami ng mga kaklase ko sa mang inasal kase wala kaming pera. Kaso ginabi naman kami ng uwi kaya hindi na nakakain sa mang inasal kaya nung pag uwi ko sa bahay kala ko hindi ako hinandaan pag dating ko haha ang daming handa kaya bigla kong sinabihan mga kaklase ko konti lang nakapunta. Kaya yung mga pagkain na hinanda hindi naubos mga nasira lang kinabukasan nasayang haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember my 18th birthday and it was Good Friday, yeah, Holy Week. No celebrations, I don't like celebrating my birthday lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako nagdebut ako pero hindi dahil sa gusto ko kundi gusto yon ng mama ko. Di kasi niya naranasan nung mga kabataan nya yung ganon. Isang araw sabi niya samin, ayaw niya na maranasan namin yung buhay na naranasan niya nung mga kabataan niya. Hangga't kaya niyang ibigay yung best nya para mapalaki kami sa ayos gagawin niya. At isa sa mga memorable day ko yon na hinding hindi ko makakalimutan.

Hindi naman mahalaga kung ingrante o hindi ang celebrasyon sa mga ganyan ang mahalaga ay yung kompleto kayong pamilya sa araw na yon at iyon ang kulang sakin sa mga araw na yon. Maswerte ka padin kasi may Papa kang nagbigay ng bulaklak sa araw na yon na diko naranasan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What really matter talaga pag birthday is kumpleto yung family o di naman kaya malusog ang pangangatawan para enjoy ang handaan at higit sa lahat be thankful sa maykapal..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so sweet. I, too never experienced having a cake on my birthdays. I'm 21 now, and never had an engrandeng celebrations and each year only few people greets me aside from my fam. But it's okay, I never saw it as negatives, I see it as my inspiration. The most important thing is I have my family and close friends who's been there with me through the years. I want to be like your ate someday, I want to celebrate each achievements of myself and my fam too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope that you will be able to be like her too, someday. I am sure that your family will be happy to celebrate things with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako, ok lang sakin kahit hindi engrande yung birthday ko basta ang importante kasama ko ang pamilya ko, masaya kami at healthy. ❤ thanks for this article!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tama po hehe, malaki gastos pag engrandeng handaan eh. Mas okay na yung simple tas close members lang ang kasama

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww, sweet. If that's me iiyak din talaga ako. Yong simple pero galing sa malapit mong kaibigan and then your Dad. It's sweet 🎂💙💙

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kaya nga po eh, super lucky ni ate sa college friends niya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How I wish may ganyan din akong fwiend huehue

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I volunteer as tribute po HAHAHA, gusto mo bang crochet gifts and letters sa bday mo? G ako HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this. May God bless your sister more and more. The little effort your friends and dad made is something that is even bigger than money . I shows they truly care.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Small things can give us happiness and sometimes cannot forget specially this kind of occasions.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's so true. Skmetjme people forget that small things matter and only focus on getting more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes they didn't give importance the small things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the way you feel and think, I think that makes you special, Youth makes us feel things that sometimes we don't want to, feeling a little envious is not so bad because they are feelings that don't hurt anyone. you can't even call it envy. I am glad that you have been adopted by a good family and that you are learning good things from them. You feel like a millionaire of love and happiness

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I can tell that you were so happy at that time. Even simple celebration if it shared with the ones you love will always be the best ever.😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My sister was very happy when she went home. I remember being amazed with the flowers she received hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As I am getting older, I do not really celebrate big birthday bash anymore. I am contented with just having food and my family. The money that I received is I just invest.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's true. The dreams for extravagant parties is fading and a small celebration with family is more than enough.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so happy that now you all celebrate even small achievements with happiness. Dear, that's the beauty of life. Really enjoyed it. Although I missed the birthday cake.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree, the little things really do matter and I'm glad that we can appreciate them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago