Drowning together

3 51
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

In the midst of the uncertainties, I faced I know that I can count on you to be there for me. You have proven time and time and again that you got my back, even when I just wanted to drown.

Since the pandemic started, I was worried about how we will cope without us keeping each other afloat the tidal waves.

For me the demons I fight are mostly inside. The monsters that I see in my reflections, or the shadow that follows me. But for you, the monsters are all around you, and some crept inside of your mind too.

I often felt frustration when I see people saying that the online setup is the best, without even considering that maybe there are peopke stuck with their abusers 24/7 for how may nmmontgs now.

I hate that I cannot offer a simple hug or a shoulder to cry on now because the means of communication is limited. We try to make do but I often fear that it is not enough.

The nightmares plague my sleep. I try to sleep through it but they feel so real that I was afraid for a moment that they are true.

I was afraid that you slept right through my fingers because I could not offer more. I can hear you refuting me immediately, saying that listening and giving you silent support is already enough.

But is it truly enough if I can see the water slowly pulling you down?

I know that the current is strong, and I know that you have been holding on tight for as long as you can. Would it be selfish if I ask you to try and fight longer? Would it be selfish to ask you to wait for a better future?

I know the answer though. Because you showed me the right answer when I was the one drowning. When I was the one struggling to hold on to keep fighting, you were there.

Even when I still felt the urge to give in to the waves and just sink underwater, I was hesitant to let your hands go. I doubted that things will get better but it did, for the most part. I still find myself spiraling our of control sometimes just thinking about your belief in me is enough.

I wish that I could be there for you more. But how can I if you're the one who is begging me to stay away?

Someday, I have trust in the Universe that it will give you enough courage to take the help I am offering. I do not want to wish you too much because it might be more weight on your shoulder instead of being a relief.

But I know that there will come a day when you will be okay. I cling to that hope because I do not want to think about any alternative outcome.

For now, I will do as you ask. And I will be always available for when you needed someone to talk to. I hope that for now, it will be enough.

I do not care how long it will take you the first step in getting out of your cage, but know that I will be ready to help you. I know you know that I am here for you. And you know I know that you are doing your best to stay afloat too.

In this situation, that is the only thing I could ask for. And the other things are just us hoping that this nightmare comes to an end soon.

Closing words

Think of it as either fiction or non-fiction. It is open to your interpretation. I just woke up from a nap, and suddenly the words write themselves down.

I don't know exactly what I wrote, I just felt that it needed to be written. Maybe someone needed to read this or maybe I needed to write this down. Who knows?

Thank you for reading this. I wish you are well. Take care of yourself.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

October 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for the first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/qiQRy8OBdlb

14
$ 4.93
$ 4.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @sijey07
$ 0.10 from @HappyBoy
+ 10
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

You are doing well. Stay afloat.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This was beautiful. I believe we all have monsters, the difference is how we handle these monsters. Be it A fiction or nonfiction, I believe we all can relate to certain parts of this lovely write up

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am glad that you are able to relate to parts of this article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago