Work or School?

50 76
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

The day is bright

It's another chance for us

Almost the year running to an end

Ten days to Christmas, 16 days for 2021.

Hulala Hulala Huuuulaaaallaaaa πŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ•ΊπŸ•Ί

Do you like the song? Ohhh! You only read it but didn't listen to the rhythm of the song 😁

Okay! You know what? Find a rhythm to it on your own.


TO WORK OR TO GO TO SCHOOL?

Image created from Canva

I was in class when the Lecturer was explaining to us on a topic and she mentioned the problems of Education in Developing Countries (Nigeria Specifically). One of the problems is "Poor Attendance In Class as a result of urge for Wealth".

This is where the talk on those involved in Yahoo business was brought it. Many students wouldn't attend class because they want to make money. They prefer to go in search of wealth rather than searching for knowledge through education. Some would also give people money to represent them in class, help with assignments, tests and even examination while they are out there sourcing for money. Not only in Nigeria is this happening but in some other countries.

She continued by telling us of a boy she once taught in Primary School who was seen some weeks back riding a bike. She asked why was he not in school. The guy said he doesn't have money to go to school and so, he ends up riding a bike and taking people from one place to another. My lecturer said she isn't against riding a bike but using it as a business to train himself in school.

This was where my own experience came in. When I finished from the college of education in year 2015, the following month, my mom died. After the burial and mourning, I went in search of a Job to do which I got employed in a Private Primary School. I thought the salary I was collecting was enough for me and I was determined not to go to school but use the money to help myself and family.

Even before then when I was doing my programme, I told myself to work and use the money to continue my education but the reverse was the case when I first received my first salary. The money looked much to me and made me decide to keep working and forget about school.

Not until after few months of working, my sisters called me and asked about furthering my education. I told them I am not thinking about any education for now, I want to keep working. The NCE Certificate I have gotten is okay for me.

"You are deceiving yourself. You better go and take Jamb form and enrol into a University" My elder sister said to me. She assured me of helping me pay all I needed for my education. I didn't want to bother her but she kept forcing me to take a form. She was the reason I changed my mentality of going back to school to have a bachelor's degree. Now look at me today. If I had insisted in working alone, I don't think I would have any opportunity to go to school. This is where you see some oldies who come for education at their age because their work permit them to get a particular certificate to earn them a promotion they needed.


I wouldn't want to blame those who stopped schooling because I want to believe it's not their wish to do so but lack of money is the cause of it. While saying this, we still have some people who are sponsoring themselves through their menial Jobs and still have the best attendance in class. It all depends on your determination.

The situation in Nigeria also contribute to it. When an individual finishes school, went to serve and after spending many years accumulating knowledge, he then decides to look for Job as a graduate, there is no employment anywhere. With other reasons coupled with it, it has make many people have the second thought of forgetting about education to help themselves and their dying family.

When I first gained admission, I have a male friend who was hustling and struggling to help himself but after some weeks to resumption, he called me and told him he wants to stop his degree for now to look for money. He said no help was coming in for him and that was how he deferred his admission. He should have been graduating with us next year but money disrupted his programme. I do pity those who are of his category because they never planned it.

If only Nigeria is good and assures many youths of employment after education, there won't be such case of stopping education for work.

Thanks for reading

|December 15, 2021|

23
$ 9.63
$ 8.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 21
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

There's a lot of cases like this princess. All of us know that education is really important since you have a big advantage when it is time for applying a job when you are a degree holder. There's a big possibility that you will encounter a lot of opportunities compare those who didn't finish with their studies.

In real world, there are a lot of reasons why it happened that's why I felt pity for those who didn't finish because of the financial problem which is the main reason that's why they choose to stop and find a work. All I can say that whatever happens we should be brave and continue to be productive. I know if you will find a ways you can continue your education and finish it. Give your hardwork, determination and be positive always.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for the last statement. We need to be brave to overcome challenges confronting us. Thank you J!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Work and school, work because people need financial support and school since we can learn from it and through this we can have a good job waiting ahead. But if I'll choose between the two I would rather pick the school. If ever I need money for my tuition then I'll find a way by applying for scholarships.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I like your strategy but I don't think it would work here in my country. If one do not have tuition fees, he or she is sent home till he has the money and that would cost him an extra year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was once fooled with this mindset too πŸ˜‚. I am just glad that I didn't let it consumed me. I almost gave up my education just to earn money. I forgot that moment that knowledge is power and will bring you anywhere πŸ€—

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, knowledge is power and thank God you didn't heed to what they were saying because one would regret it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Education is a our greatest priority in life,we should choose education I've wealth cause there would be a time in life when we would need a certificate and we would come back to education,many children just choose to get money instead of education.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not to regret later, we need education and the certificate so it doesn't get us unaware then. Thank you dear

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have heard of many instances like yours of people working and not wanting to go to school again. I also experienced this last year during Covid-19 lockdown, I never wanted to leave where I was working even after school resumption.

The Nigeria system is the major cause of this. I have my sister who just left for London three months ago, she said the way the system is there, days when there are no classes, there will always be a part job on ground for students which is provided by the government.

Some people do not have any hope somewhere, and they wish to have or further in their education, thereby left with so many options. This situation so pathetic and had therefore dashed so many future or ambition

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love other countries who still provide part time jobs for their citizens even when they still go to school. This can never happen in Nigeria. You are on your own.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same cases in here, a lot of students dropping out of school because they prefer to find a job to help their family to support financial needs. But some students prefer working while studying or working students to support their needs. But as for me, I always prefer finishing my school to be able to find a better job in the future

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will commend those who are working and studying because they do not have anyone to support them and they all depend on themselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hulalala πŸ˜‚ the moment I saw that first word, I just subconsciously started singing the song.

This problem of poor attendance in class is everywhere, you will see people that hardly come to school because they are also doing yahoo. One of my classmates is currently in 300 level right now while the rest of us are in 400 because of his lackadaisical attitude to class, he thinks yahoo is the way and now he is regretting it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Can you imagine? If you want to work, work and do not let it disturb your education. I call these type of people the strong ones.

Hehehe! Keep singing it πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thats my one of favourite song

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of youths have lost their direction and are now chasing money instead of knowledge which is quite sad. I'm in school and a lot of my classmates say that they are tired and all of this is not needed in the real world. I hope their mentality changes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, the struggle of sponsoring oneself in higher institution and still struggle to look for a job that will give him or her, someone will just decide to let go for now since the education doesn't have age limit.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know it's not easy but I still must commend those in it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Education is the best but due to Nigeria situation I better say we should strife to gain the both work and education are really important . Let us go for work to earn money so as we will be able to get process in education. I choose to work over school , Nigeria is not really stable πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you. Nigeria is just so hard and not easy to even go for both. This is why I still like other countries which allows their students to go for part time jobs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true that education is the best legacy but in this Nigeria that we are that first class results can't earn good money to depend on I will choose work over school o

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ And this first class aren't given to students. They withheld the result even when the students deserves it. Such a pity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true that the majority of this generation is looking for money , and they have less interest for school. Not their fault , because they know that the country is nothing to offer them after school.

Majority of people are just going to school for going sake, they don't want to belong to the league of illiterate people, but in a situation whereby a good work is guarantee after school, they will rather focus to be successful in school.

But not withstanding, the knowledge we gain from school can never be a waste , if we have the opportunity to go to school , we should make use of out time wisely. One can go to school and still have the mentality of illiterate people.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Knowledge can never be a waste. Even if you want to work, it's good to be a literate and not be illiterate. Thank you dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is always sad to see, students leaving their schooling just to earn money. But its not always their fault, lack of money force them to leave it. But I am glad your elder sister convinced you to join the University again.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I understand them too. It's not their fault. I hope everything works out well for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The situation ha alwayd been the same with almost everyone as the drive and the quest for money making would always ensure that we stick to making the money first and especially when the pay seems very big rather than going to school but when someone is there to encourage and help us see reasons why going to school superceeds working first without education, then decisions are meant to be rechanged onjly for those who wish to rechange theirs o

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. We just need someone who would give us the right decision to help change our mind. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear, for us mothers, it's work work work at all times no more education as the case may be though I had a degree in computer science education

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, you already had a certificate which is great. You can now focus on work especially for the children now. Thank you ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know the saying if education is expensive try ignorance

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Abi na! Ignorance will kill one's destiny if care isn't taken.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know the current economic situation in the country is bad, but its very bad to be in school and leave it to pursue Money. If you want to work, just go and work, if you want to school, then do so.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. I agree with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People forget that knowledge from school is never a waste and you can both go to school and have a work you're doing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! We can do both and still gain at the end.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't think of anything to tell you about the current situation. And such problems have appeared in almost all countries of the world. For me both is important school and work.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also agree that both are important. You just need to balance it and increase your skill in time management.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I think the problem may be with Nigeria because if you go to school for 4-7 years, some jobs would still ask you for 5-10 years experience. Doesn't that mean that experience is better than school?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Don't mind those companies. What the hell is that statement? Where do they get Experience if they aren't given employment? That is our country for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My sister , the situation in Nigeria right now and its students that are worse it more than any group of persons. I just wonder how the ones from struggling background cope in school with the continual high costs of prices of commodities in the market. It so saddenly, the other day, a school boy was saying in a bus that. Boarded, that if his parents knew they were poor, y did they even bother to send him to school.. The thing was really painful because his parents definitely meant well for him. I just manage to squeeze 1k into his palm.😒

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! So sad. It's such a touching story and God bless you for the kindness. It's not the will of some parents though because they want the best for their children, that is why they try their best sending them to school with the little they have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wealth is good but education is the basis for which wealth is sustained. When the mind is fixed on wealth, education becomes secondary and loses its place in the individual. This is perhaps the trend among our youths today. The term education as sc because their mind is now fixed at quick wealth. That has resulted in the low academic performance of students no doubt.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is what I told my brother too. He needs to focus on his education because it's his primary assignment while he should also try and hustle with his skill. None should disturb another.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s both work and school for me. I am always shuffling both of them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. That is how it should be so we just need to balance both of them so we don't lose.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the song is Rockabye right? clean bandit

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No, I formed this myself πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago