We are our own enemies.

65 157
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

I was listening to an audio podcast last night and I was inspired. It's not that most of those words said were new to me. I decided to use the word "we" so we can learn from it together and not only myself keeping the knowledge to myself.

We have been made to know what enemy stands for and how they are tagged "our enemy". When we are hurt by people, we immediately turn them to enemies. When we ask for support from people and they do not help us, they have become an enemy. When our friends are not happy with our achievements, we immediately say "he or she is my enemy." Of course it's true. Anyone who doesn't want our progress definitely do not like us and they are enemies to us. Do you also know we are our own enemies too?

Many of us tends to get worried over things being said to us and because of that, we feel sad and get depressed. We decide to hold onto those words which deprive us of our happiness and peace. We would never satisfy everyone and people will never appreciate our efforts, but they are fond of criticizing other people. Then, when we now accept everything said to us, we are our own enemies. We do not love ourselves at all.

Something most importantly that also leads to becoming our own enemies is comparing ourselves to other people. Involving in negative competition with other people means you do not appreciate yourself. There is need to practice self love and never accept what people say to you negatively. Listening to what they say to you, criticizing you and also harbouring those words in your heart will never give you peace of mind and it will hide your potentials.

You know when you have an enemy, they will continue to hunt you and find means to deprive you of your happiness but when you do not allow negativity or criticism, you will be fine. That is one thing that is sure. Enemies look for ways to bring us down and draw us back from progressing. They would try every means to stop us and create different excuses to block us from succeeding.

There are many activities going on social medias and we have allowed them have their way in our lives. We forgot that things we see on social medias, most of them are fake and not real but because we see those swags and paparazzi being flaunt around by them, we look down on ourselves and think we aren't better in our own world. There is nothing wrong with us, we are only creating false words into our heart. When you are pessimistic about your life, you will never do something tangible because all you will keep thinking of is that "I can't do it."

When we keep comparing ourselves to others. When we keep accepting those bad words into us. When we decide to live by them, we are definitely our enemies. I have always been someone who loves to ask for other's opinion on things I buy for myself, perhaps I shouldn't have done that but I see these kinds of people as friends but I think they keep having their own say while I accept everything they say. Whenever I ask if what I have is okay, some would compliment me while others would say it doesn't look good, don't use this, don't use that etc. I allowed those words dictate me which I would also change my mind and feel sad. It got to a point, I felt I wasn't good at things. Then, one day I stopped telling them or asking for their opinions and I was fine with my things.

There was a day I was putting on a short trouser and someone started criticizing me, saying what I wore isn't good, it looks childish, it's local bla bla bla.... I immediately replied her to "stop it and I am okay with it." That was how it ended. I found out not everyone would like you if you are achieving a feat or doing things they never expected you to do. We would always have the bad ones among us, but not being influenced by them is on our own to decide if we want to live a happy life.

There was a lady who made a beautiful hair and added some beads to make it cute. Seriously, there wasn't anything wrong in it. At least she did something that made her happy and it's her preference. When she entered, people started saying negative words and criticizing her for making the hair. I had to look at the hair again and I saw the lady's countenance as she went inside. I stood up and counter their words making them to know there's nothing wrong in what she did and it's her preference.

Accepting everything being said to us will automatically control our feelings and dictate our actions. You are your own enemy if you keep these words in your heart as it will not help you grow as you had wanted. It's normal to listen to the words but you shouldn't allow that hold you down or dictate your life. You own your peace and nothing should hinder you from doing what you ought to do on time.

If you have read to this stage, I appreciate your time. Thank you for reading.

Photo by Martino Pietropoli on Unsplash

[January 03, 2022] (No 3 article)

35
$ 6.86
$ 5.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.06 from @Olasquare
+ 28
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

It is a given that the majority of people would attempt to change you to conform to someone they would like to see and hear, not someone who actually knows how to live their own life and have their own opinions on different subjects, whether it is foods or clothing etc. This is the much preferred way to lead the person straight to the photo, not to the open image finding website which is not correct, but you have the right idea, just use the URL address instead of the image address. Martino Pietropoli Here is my latest post that you may find helpful: https://peakd.com/theterminal/@jamerussell/easy-and-correct-minimal-sourcing This post was obtained through Dreemport.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think appreciating ourself us the key, if you have low self-esteem whatever others say will get to you.. talking about social media, some gave not made good use of it in recent times, that's not even to become bitter with life. Appreciate yourself for who you are and what you are, you will have no enemy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember a song by a Yoruba music evangelist saying that while we think some people somewhere are our number one enemy, he said most the biggest enemy of one is that person himself or herself. We need God assistant to breakthrough.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is very true. We may not understand but we need to know that we are our own enemies except we learn to understand who we are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is a saying that " we could not please everyone", so no matter how good me are in whatever aspect their would be someone that might give negative comment. We just neee ignore them as long as we are comfortable with what we are

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is it! We can´t please everyone, let´s do what we know how to do and never listens to them. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah you right there we are our own enemies,it's our thoughts and character which show how good we are and how people deal with us,if we meet people only for works they said you selfish friends they don't know how busy we are how are we serving our life they just think and make their enemies own. We have to meet people with happiness and with positive minds

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right! Thanks for contributing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You welcome dear 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Turn a deaf ear to them" that's my need watchword. Rather than let people's word get to me henceforth, i will just mute or archive their chats. It's of no use pleasing everyone, you can never please them all.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. I don´t have their time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe anyone that is not happy with my achievement is no worthy to be called a friend, there worst than an enemy only God can save us from their plans and this year may God lift us above them and their evil plans.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen Blessing. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, Princess! And belated happy holidays! I can say you are right about the part that there will always be people to criticize us even we are not doing anything wrong. We can't just please everyone. But we should, mong others, please ourselves, by doing what we want, as long as it is right and appropriate. ♥️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I totally agree with you! We need to do what pleases us and taking the right decision that suit us. Thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This one also the reason of my anxiety. I hate to heard side comments that's why to avoid them I restrict myself to people. I don't want to get along, talk for long because I know what is not good to me so before they saw it I will hide it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love your technique. When we know ourselves, we should try to move away from things that might trigger us from misbehaving. Thank you Kelzy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the sad reality. We often comoare ourselves to the pictures we see in social media that we almost forget that what we see in internet isn't true at all. We are so busy listening to other people's opinion towards us that we often forgot our realy worth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is until we realize we have worth too, we will keep being blinded in the darkness until we see the truth about ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, I believe that no one can hurt me expecially verbally ,except I was the one that present them the opportunity. We are the ones that are responsible for our own happiness. We shouldn't allow anyone walk through our minds with their dirty feet.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Very correct. We can control things ourselves and we should not allow them into our lives. Thank you for your contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being negative to oneself is like causing yourself so much pains a d the last thing I will ever do is to compare myself with others in anything I do. Just be yourself that's the slogan. How are you my darling daughter princess busayo

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! We would see we have peace in us when we walk on our own pace without comparing ourselves to others. I am doing well ma. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although this is our mentality as Africans about people who don't seem to go well with us. We tag them as the enemy. I agree people may dislike people but sometimes our attitudes attract such reactions.

For me, I make things simple. If you are always negative towards me, well, I don't care. But when time for business comes, i will go business with you in equitable terms.

$ 0.02
User's avatar xus
2 years ago

I agree with you! When people see we do not care, they will shut their mouths up. Our lives should move on

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly!

$ 0.00
User's avatar xus
2 years ago

The enemies and friends are within you!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a life even you didn't make something wrong still there is a person who will throw a bad words to you that's why we should be brave with this kind of situation because it's always exist. It's depend on us how we face it.

Never compare ourselves to others since we have our own. We have a differences. We are not the same. We have a different paths to walk one. Just stay who you are and be positive no matter what happen.

I like your article princess.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You have said all. Thank you my friend. Comparison is deadly and it will kill us if we keep on with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should practice self-love, because we will keep hearing negative comments about us. I think what happens mostly to individuals is that we always keep the negative comments and forget the good comments. Especially if you use social media very well and then post a picture of yourself, we let the negative comments get to us, and not appreciate the good ones. I think we should learn to appreciate and love ourselves, because we can’t get it out there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely true! We should learn to appreciate the good comments about us more than the bad ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wise words never spoken before... comparison is number 1 reason for stress in life..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for reading 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The enemy will always be lurking, it is in us if we allow him to disrupt our lives.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are very right ma. Thank you for coming around.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we are the enemies of ourselves. We just need to embrace everyone and know the kind of friends we make. Some friends can make you call them enemies just because of the way they behave towards you.

There is no one in earth without having enemy but we just need to do what is right and indeed do what will make them not to come after you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm guilty on the part that I think that myself my greatest enemy. But as I get older and matured enough, I realize that comparing myself to others can't benefit me at all. It's such a nice article to read.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Everyone keeps growing and learning things more than when we were very young. As we get older, we should see that all these things shouldn´t dictate or control us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article of yours princess gives me so much realizations in my life. And I must say that I'm kinda guilty with some of what you've said lol. And the worse thing is that I became my own greatest enemy. But as I grew older, I learned a lot from myself too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We are in it before but I noticed I hurt myself much if I continue to hold onto words being said to me, I later found out I am in control of my emotions and it´s best to live your life the way you want and nobody controlling you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enemies are like necessary evil ... you should have them yet it isn't good also . I say people have their opinions and would always say it when given chance even if it hurts the person being addressed. It is left to us to not let it weigh us down or reduce our productivity

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are very right. Thank you for your contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's hard for me to accept defeat, times when people talk shit about me, I feel bitter within me and sometimes I just let it go. A few times, I don't care what people say when I know that what I do is my stern decision and it's freewill

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it´s normal to feel bitter but it shouldn´t take long before taking it off our shoulders and mind and continue to live our lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So fast . No 3 article in the new year.

Yeah in addition that’s just humanity for us. We are the cause of our own problems at times. That’s one reason why I just look forward to people ahead of me and at the same time look at those behind. Most of the time I rest and take good care of myself ignoring what the world say about me..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Naso my brother. Life is too short to start holding onto people´s word and be left depressed. Enjoy life and do not worry. Yes o, I am going on a fast lane with my articles 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also coming behind you. Determined to miss no article this month

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In like, you never even compare yourself with others if you really want to grow

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The point whereby you mentioned we keep on comparing ourselves to others is the main downfall of people, just move at your own pace and you will see changes. If we keep comparing ourselves with others we will find ourselves doing what we are not meant to do

$ 0.02
2 years ago

At that moment, we are depriving ourselves of good opportunities and we will be stuck on the road. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We ate always ourselves and our enemy by accepting people’s feelings or comments about us. We shouldn’t turn someone who couldn’t help into enemy because we are all going through a lot.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I've learnt to never compare myself to anyone, same way I'd never allow other people's negativity to influence my decision.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! We need to be ourselves. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

a person who usually seek others opinions before doing anything can't be happy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Words really hurt, I have to learn not to dwell on people's negativity. It's sad how people expect someone to behave in the way that pleases the society instead of the person involved

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Many people want others to be under them so they can keep controlling them as they want but we shouldn´t allow that for ourselves if we really want peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even the person did nothing, there is always that someone who hate that person of Who he/ she is. In other words no one is too Good of the eyes of other. Anyways it is our life we become happy even someone hate us . we are the ruler of our self and we the one whocontrol in our emotions.

Nice article☺

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You get it! we are in control of our emotions and we should not take people´s words into our heart. Thanks for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really informative article! really we are our own enemies .... When we are hurt by people, we immediately turn them to enemies

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for reading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my pleasure and I also love to read

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago