Symptoms of Shyness

42 69
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

-Dr. Seuss.

We continued our seminar yesterday and thank God the groups were called randomly and my group was lucky to be called. While presenting, I noticed some people were shy to face the crowd and express themselves freely including myself. I noticed the same symptoms in them which I jotted down and decided to research more on it when I get home. I already told @Kristofferquincy in his article that when we make research, we also learn too not minding the hours we used while doing that. I told him I would also start researching but it would be after my exams so I can have enough time but this present one cannot be put aside but to write things I learned from it.

Shyness is among everyone and it's an emotion that causes fear and anxiety to people. It affects how a person feels, behaves and act around people especially strangers or at a new place. Shyness is mainly for the introverts because you cannot see an extrovert to be shy, but would always mingle around everyone. These sets of people find it hard to build relationships and would prefer doing things on their own.

Some symptoms of Shyness are nervousness. They feel worried when they want to do something in public. One of the students presenting today, I noticed her mood and I could see fear in her. She was worried on how to say something in public and with this, they develop stage fright just like me. Another is that they are breathless. My friend did her own elsewhere and when she returned, she narrated of a particular lady who was rushing everything she has crammed and when it got to a point, she became breathless. She was choked and couldn't speak nor breathe. She had to step back for another person to continue.

This sometimes happens to me too where I would rush things so I can go back to my seat but in that process, I feel choked and would want to calm myself down before continuing. Shy people are self-conscious. They are always scared of other people and they assume when they think, they are talking about them and with this, they feel insecure. Shyness will cage the victims and make them unable to do or say what they want.

Voice shaky can also be a symptom of shy people. Though they know what they want to say but once they mount the stage and start talking, you will feel their voices shaking and this can affect them from saying what they intended to say. It's always easy to rehearse things you would say on stage and will be done perfectly but once on stage, the shaky voice will make them forget all what is in their heads and wouldn't be able to go further.


CAUSES OF SHYNESS

One of the causes of shyness may be traced to home where parents who are authoritarian or overprotective can make their children to be shy. Parents who do not allow their children express themselves or do things on their own may develop shyness.

According to research, about 15 percent of infants are born with a tendency towards shyness.

Source link

When parents are also shy, definitely it will affect the child too. When a parent is warm, caring and less strict to their children, it will result in them relating so well in the environment and are more comfortable around people.


While growing up, my parents never allowed us move closer to boys. We never talked to them and none of us had a relationship with them in school. All our friends were females because the fear they instill in us made us stay away from them. Till I got admitted to the college of education, I had the fear and shyness to talk to any guy even at school and it's still affecting me today because I feel I might not be accepted. Thank God for social media where I am trying to relate and move closer to them. This is to say, parents have influence on their children.

Another cause is bullying. When a child is being bullied in the school, it will definitely affect them to be shy especially when they are threatened not to expose their secrets to anyone.

Then, a society, community or environment can also cause a child to be shy. The society should build solid relationship with peers in the society and this can be done by dividing tasks for them and also to work in groups. When children are relating and communicating with each other, they find it more comfortable and convenient to open up in public and not feel shy.

Now, with all these being said, how can parent or anyone prevent shyness?

  • Cope with change

  • Teach them how to manage anger

  • They should start practicing being humorous

  • They should show compassion and help others. This is one thing I am trying to do around me to prevent shyness too.

  • Going out to explore other places.

Thanks for reading from my blog today

Photo by DesignCologist

[February 02, 2022] (No 33 article for the year)

23
$ 6.38
$ 5.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 14
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Shyness can affect a lot of things princess. I am introvert princess and I'm really shy person in real life. Yes that's true if you are a shy person you're always felt nervous. I am thankful princess because I change a little bit since I joined a beauty pageant. It lessen my shyness. It boosts my confidence. It helps me a lot.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Such beauty pageant will stop it quickly because you are working with the public and one who is shy cannot do well in that part.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thankful those opportunities came in to me princess because it helps me a lot. Thank you princess.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is me , though I don't like facing crowd , I am in the choir in church for over 8 years now, but I still shake when ever I am called upon to minister. I think you can also call it stage fright. But I am not shy or scared when talking amongst my own people . Only on stage

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, we tend to not feel shy when we are among those we relate with well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can get so shy!! I've learnt to work past it to an almost unnoticeable extent though. I try to look confident and talk to myself and I find that smiling always helps me, if keeps me calm and relax and if I make a mistake, I smile it off and continue

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is what I do to help me overcome shyness too. I smile at strangers so I can be nice around them and they also return such smile back and I feel good.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! 😂 When they smile back you'll just feel better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Shyness and introvertion Arron the same page I believe. Most people were not actually born shy you'd be surprised how hperactive they are when with close friends and loved ones. Lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, they aren´t born shy but it is their surroundings that makes them shy if not worked on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I ruined and missed a lot of opportunities because of my shyness before. I may look like I am not that type of shy girl but the truth us that I am shy when it comes to interacting with some strangers.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. Many of us are shy when in front of strangers because of our self consciousness. We feel they have negative thoughts towards us, whereas, they aren´t even thinking of that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Shyness and stage fright are both problems for me, even though I am not exactly an introvert but I guess it happens to most people, depending on the exact situation. There was a day I was to present a topic in class and I thought I won't be able to do it but it actually went very well, and one thing I learnt that day is that it's easier if you're in front of familiar faces, it will just be like having a conversation with your friends

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is very easier when those faces are familiar to you and it would make you express yourself in the best way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a shy person to strangers but I don't have stage fright. So I could still voice out my ideas to people whoever they are. Maybe because I chose to fight with it. When I was young i am shy to hold and talked in microphone really because I was shy, but I survived with it hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is great. If only I could be confidence enough to talk on stage without my voice cracking or shaking 😃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I'm only shy when it comes to talking to girls and talking in a public place.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And I am shy talking to guys 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think many people have experienced this because of the fear of not having an adequate environment and lack of communication with people. In high school, I was shy about girls and didn't speak out as much as possible, but college changed everything.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

College will change people, no doubt about that because you will always be around different people to relate with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know that one that could be traced back to the home but I still believe that it is still very much an inborn thing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I agree with you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think every one is an introvert but when you connect with people that like you and see you see you for you the boom 💥 you will be an extrovert in an instance

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right here. I think everyone needs to activate such spirit to be extroverted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have those symptoms 🤣. I'm really shy since I was a kid . and now.. Still shy with some confidence haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You shouldn´t be shy anymore since you always love to go out to different places and meet new faces. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my goodness. Being shy isn't a funny thing at all. I remember as a kid I missed a gift from my uncle because I was shy and didn't want to come out. My elder sister grabbed the gifts and I was unhappy about that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ohhh, I thought she would collect it and give to you seeing you are shy. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know it could be pass through genes to another generation. I am a shy type but none of my parents are because they are both working as evangelist and pastor and those roles require communicating with people.

I am a shy type and I avoid making my presence known to avoid attention because it makes me nervous.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your parent cannot be shy talking or relating with people. You are right. I also do not make my presence known unless I am called upon to intervene.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a shy type person too especially when that's a first meet. I'm introvert who love to stay at home.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I do stay at home too until I started going out just to chase away the shyness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to be a very shy person at some point in my life but I had to break myself out of it by constantly practicing looking people in the eye while talking. In the end I figured that it all has to do with my personal confidence and my ability to believe in myself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, we need confidence and determination to erase shyness from us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never knew that shyness is hereditary. This explains why I'm shy it is because my dad is shy too. Good thing that while growing up and being in school, I learned to open up even a little.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Of course, it is hereditary. My dad too is shy in some aspects which I emulate that from him too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The problem with shyness is the lack of confidence and it mainly begins from home. Most parents barely allow their children to have a say or have conversations with them, hence all killing their confidence..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! Parents should help build confidence in children.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Big work on introverts like us🤔🤔. I used to be a victim of they shaky voice untill I shook it off. The voice Will be sounding as someone that's crying 😢

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! I still feel it in me too especially when I decide not to feel shy. You will still notice it. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It shows parents have important roles to play. I believe you did well in the presentation

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, parent´s role cannot be ignored here. They need to play their part making them not to feel shy. Yes, it went well. All glory to God. Thank you Tife

$ 0.00
2 years ago