Polyandry Marriage

63 78
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

There are some things you never know and when you are taught, it becomes permanent in your brain- this is what we call "Learning". Learning is a relatively permanent change in an individual. Would you want to forget something you were taught in school or anywhere? Even if you have forgotten and you find someone to give you an hint, you remember immediately what you were taught even in your primary school.


We were taught types of marriage in class last week and Polyandry Marriage was mentioned. Sincerely, that was my first time hearing that and even when I got home, I made more research on it and the countries that practiced it.

What is Polyandry Marriage?

This is a type of marriage whereby a woman is allowed to marry more than one husbands. A wife with two or more husbands joined together is called Polyandry Marriage.

I have known about a man getting married to more than one wives which is very common but the case of a woman being joined together to two or more husbands is something else to me. This also means when the wife gives birth to children, the husbands owns them and share sexual bond and access to the wife equally. So, this means when the wife satisfies a man on bed, she gives it round to other husbands too and no form of partiality there.


According to Google, polyandry is being practiced in 5 countries which are;

NIGERIA: Nigeria is one of the countries that practices polyandry marriage but it's limited to a particular tribe called "Irigwe" of Northern Nigeria. Irigwe is located in Plateau State. Though the marriage was said to be outlawed in year 1968 even though we don't know if it is still being practiced in some other tribes apart from the said tribe above.

INDIA: Research made us to know that India has more than one tribes that practiced Polyandry and also there was a woman named Draupadi who was the daughter of King Panchala who married five brothers and they believed that the tradition must continue that way.

"According to a survey of 753 Tibetan families by Tibet University in 1988, it was found out that 13% practiced Polyandry." Source

KENYA: Polyandry is practiced in this country and it isn't seen as something bad but a law which was made there. They do not forbid those practicing it at all. In August 2013, there was a case where Kenyan witnessed two different men who fell in love with a woman and they married themselves.

CHINA: China is said to be practicing what is called "Fraternal Polyandry". This is a kind of marriage in which a woman marries more than two men who are related or brothers. This fraternal polyandry is so common among the Tibet in the Nepal parts of China and India.

China believed that a child can have more than one father since the husbands have equal access to the woman they married. They encouraged the practice the more especially in a case where the family is poor and sharing the properties becomes a problem to them from separate fathers, they then decide to keep the properties and marry the same woman so as to have equal access to the properties.

SOUTH AMERICA: Polyandry is also practiced in this country especially with the Bororos. It is also a law in there and no legal action is taken against anyone practicing it.


I believed we have been lectured this morning as I have also gained something before now because I was keen to know more about Polyandry Marriage, I went in search online and I got what I was looking for.

Thanks for your time reading again.

As my usual way of appreciating my sponsors who renewed their Sponsorships, I am taking this opportunity to appreciate Monica who is also known as @fantagira and @Bloghound πŸ˜‰πŸ˜πŸ˜ God bless you two always.

|December 13, 2021|

28
$ 9.47
$ 8.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 21
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Onyyy! That is unique.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my first time hearing this. And so chocking it used to be practiced in Nigeria, thank God is no more cos wahala go dey oh

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Real wahala go dey πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Like seriously? How the hell it supposed to happen with multiple husband. I think polyandry marriage reduce the importance of marriage ceremony.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right. Such practice should then be abolish completely. What the is the importance of marriage?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marriage mean to be grand priority between a girl and boy. I totally agreed with you . It should be annihilate completely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's actually shocking to know that it is practiced somewhere in Nigeria, or maybe it was, I hope so

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's shocking too to see Nigeria too among the list.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello PrincessBusayo! actually, I'm from India and I think you ignored a little fact that it used to be in practice in India ( that is past and not just sometime before actually really a loooonggg loooongggg time before). your example is from Hindu mythology (FROM MAHABHARATA) and now I THINK you already can guess how long it was hahaha

nice to meet you ma'am))

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think you have just made me understand more about it here again. Thank you very much for making it clear to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you are more than welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I watched one time like 4 of them in a house and it blows my mind. Never in my wildest dream, I will be sharing my husband or myself. 🀣 But if that makes them happy then who am I to judge.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

To some, they enjoy it but it's nonsense practice 😁😁

I can never share my husband with anyone. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The two things that surprised is that polyandry is practiced in Nigeria and second one is the fraternal polyandry practiced in China, of which a woman can marry men that are related or brothers 😳.

I have learnt and I'm really wowed

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you learned something. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was in basics five I learnt about polyandry. And I was astonished.

Well like you wrote there are lot tribes in Africa, that do practice polyandry.

All this a reminder that nothing is new under the sun.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea, nothing is new under the sun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had read something on this subject but you have gone a bit further. There are also sectarian groups in the USA that practice this particular style of living as a couples.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow! Also done in USA! Thank you very much ma for your contribution.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I heard about polyandry many years ago in primary school in social studies, our teacher was teaching us about types of marriages and he mentioned it but I only knew it's practiced in India, I found out about other countries now including Nigeria. I recently saw a case of a woman marrying 2 men and on the same day (I think last year or 2019), but I have forgotten the country it happened, probably Kenya

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Perhaps I was taught too then but didn't notice if it was true or not. At least I know polyandry marriage now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I need to move to another country and have many husbands then 😁😁😁 Thank you for the shoutout Princess. I need to change the amount next time! πŸ’™

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehehe πŸ˜… do not try it pls

Wow! Thank you for thatπŸ’•πŸ˜˜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I had watched several documentation about this Princess and mostly the reason is financial aspect.
Honestly, i didn't find it okay as I was a conservative type. But then it was their culture .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was their culture indeed and just as you said, financial aspect is another cause.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learnt about this pattern of marriage in primary school, where a lady is allowed by marry as many husband as she want. My problem is how they'd "share" the child(if it's only one the woman give birth to).🀣🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is what I can't get too. They would know themselves na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm.. You just brought back memories. We were thought about this kind of marriage in primary 6 and we were also taught that it is widely practiced in India.. Thinking about it now, it sounds very weird?_ Does that mean the men would be taking turns to cook for their wife ? If thats the case I would like to try it outπŸ˜€

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha! You want to try it out to see how it looks. Do not try it my dear πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup I have watched some about that on youtube. They were married but the wife turns out to be a bisexual and gets into a relationship with another girl, and basically, the guy now has two wives

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Really? That's another weird thing happening.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is interesting, I've heard of it before but I didn't know that it was still being practiced.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I didn't even know it exist especially as a law in different country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na wa o. So such english word exists? Lolzz...Na wa for life and the constant learning process we are all into. left alone, I would not have been able to think of a thing like this in my entire life if not that you are saying it now. I now know what it means and how to regard the people of China, Kenya, etc as you have made us all to know. Introducing such a culture here in Nigeria will be So So sweet o hahahaha or what do you think about that princess B

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People and their diverse cultures sha. It still baffles me though. I know a certain woman who married up to three men. All alive and all had children with her.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

But I don't like such practice. It should be one man and a wife with their kids.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na wa o. So such english word exists? Lolzz...Na wa for life and the constant learning process we are all into. left alone, I would not have been able to think of a thing like this in my entire life if not that you are saying it now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same with me too. I was shocked hearing that for the first time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know that such setup exists. Interesting. I hope those who do it can keep peace.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Peace you say? Marrying one alone brings war not to talk of more than one 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought they already stopped it in all those countries but on hearing this that they still practice polyandry it's sad since the woman wouldn't know who owns any child she gives birth to.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well since they have signed a contract to marry themselves, then being confused about who owns a child shouldn't be a problem to her. It is made to know the child has many fathers and not one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There was this woman bloggers interview months back. She had 11 husbands, she's a native doctor, according to her is the gods that chose a husband for her..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Jeez! 11 husbands. How does she cope? That is too excessive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She builds houses for all of them separately and she unite with them one at a time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She must be super rich to have done that or perhaps her magic power did itπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a very good lesson regarding learning the things we've never come across with in our entire lives before. At least now I also know about its meaning

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We all are learning new things. Thank you ma for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I found your article very interesting. I didn't know these facts about polyandry marriage. I wasn't sure if it existed. I wouldn't be happy to be in the shoes of those women. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Really? You want to experience such too? 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, of course not. πŸ˜€ I wrote that I would not be happy to be in their shoes. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… alright then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought these never exist. I mean a men with a lot of women is common but this one is new to me. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea, I also have come across this practice in the news before but didn't know it is called Polyandry Marriage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was really knowing about this "Polyandry Marriage" princess. I always heard the man has a lot of wives but woman I don't hear ever once and it's my first time when I read this article from yours princess.

I learned something new today especially the countries you've mention who are practicing with this kind of marriage.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also got to learn this through my lecturer which made me went in search to know more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are different styles in different regions, it seems a little new to me. However, whatever the formality of marriage, but I like it very much. And I have a lot of fun with different cultures.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also like when I experience other culture different from mine. There is fun in it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Had no idea polyandry was practiced in Nigeria, especially in Northern Nigeria. I am thinking, if a woman has children with all her husbands, are they step-siblings or just siblings. πŸ€”πŸ€”

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't think they are step siblings since the husbands slept with her before giving birth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me see if I get it, you mean they will all sleep with her together? Like the same night

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not same night though. Perhaps two might sleep with her that night as it depends 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago