A deserved moment

36 84
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

 “I don’t like to gamble, but if there’s one thing I’m willing to bet on, it’s myself.”
— Beyoncé

Sunday was another great day for me, even though I didn't go to Church, I was at home with Grandma since she doesn't go to Church again because of her strength already going down. According to her, she does not want to stress anyone.

I remembered when Mama was still very active, she would always make sure no one was left behind on Sunday. She leaves home exactly at 8am and everyone must have gone before her. She is always punctual and time conscious. I would say I learnt those skills from her. Mama being a retired teacher would always speak good English with us even till now and she would always crack jokes for us to laugh. She is always fun to be with.

Someone was knocking at the door yesterday morning and I quickly went to answer the person and I saw Mama already coming to sit in the sitting room. Mama was surprised I didn't go to church, she just smiled at me. While going back into my room, she called me back to sit with her and that was when she started her story. I was keen on listening to everything as I didn't want to miss anything from what she was saying.

She started with how she got married and how her parents didn't want her to get married to my grandpa because of his background. Mama said she gave her life to Christ and was always praying for the right man.

She finished school and met her husband while he was on the missionary field. She saw how devoted he was in serving God, she was convinced they were both going to make a good couple. They came to know each other and dated for five years before getting married.

According to mama, grandpa was the only child who went to school and Graduated, even their marriage was the best and the first couple who did legal marriage and because of this, there was a battle against her and grandpa. They tried their best to kill mama but they couldn't because she was always praying to God.

She said she couldn't report to her parents because they already warned her of going into such a family but she refused and insisted she was going to marry him. She reported her matter to God and she has always been vindicated.

Mama said they killed six of her children but she didn't get angry at them but forgive them. She adopted many children who they both trained and took care of till they grew up. Many are already old and some have died. She never maltreated any of the children with her but was always helping them under her roof. They tried all their best to destroy the marriage but they couldn't get to her. Mama gave birth to five more children after then and they are still alive today.

There was a day she slept and when she woke up, her two eyes were closed. They wanted to make mama blind but God didn't allow them and operations were done to the eyes to make her see till today.

I was listening attentively as she kept speaking. I felt for her because of what she went through in her husband's house but she never for once fought back at those trying her.

She and her husband never involved any third party into their marriage and this is another great lesson I hold on to from her. She said when both of them are shouting at each other because there is no marriage without misunderstanding but when they see anyone coming, they smile and pretend as if nothing happened until the visitor has gone, then they resume back but at the end, they resolve the matter between themselves without their Children knowing about their fights.

Till grandpa died, he served God with his life as a reverend. I was very young when he died but the little time I spent with him, I know he was a great man with principles. He knows how to handle a matter and would settle it amicably leaving no one behind to be hurt. His judgment is always a fair one with no partiality. Whenever I look at their pictures together, I wish papa hasn't died but to see how his family are doing today.

When you are going into marriage, it is important we hold onto God who instituted marriage and ask for His guidance especially in a home you are going into. There are many forces in each home but with the grace of God, He is capable of journeying with you when you call on Him to guide you in your marriage.

Mama finished her story and I thanked her for telling me all these. The day was great throughout as I kept ruminating on what mama told me.

Thanks for reading

Image by Cherrydeck on unsplash

[April 25, 2022] (No 115 article for the year)

31
$ 12.22
$ 11.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Talecharm
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 25
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

No human in world is perfect, God is the only that does things without making mistake. Good times with Grandma, glad you learn from her words and I hope you make use of it. Wishing you the best in every area of your life.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wow. God is really on your grandma's side. No one can harm her because God is within her.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Definitely! Those with God cannot be harmed. Thanks 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are lucky to have moments like that will Grandma. It will help you in future and also momnets like that will stay in your mind forever, the stories and the joy in her eyes when narrating it. Great lesson from her Experience by the way.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, I am glad she talked to me about her experience and I learnt something from it. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am really excited to hear about such story and at least I have also learned one or two things from it, but all what I know even the devil himself knows this one thing that God is God, He is the supreme one, He reward everyone according to his or her works, so it is left for us to do the right thing and also hold unto God the intimate one, the author and the finisher of our faith.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

He knows God is the greatest and no one competes with Him over His children. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For some, marriage is just a legal partnership and commitment the reason why there are many divorcements out here.

I agree with you @Princessbusayo a marriage will be filled with guidance if we put God a center into it simply because he is always in control.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Perfect! God created marriage and a fruitful marriage would surely be possible with Him involved. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If our faith to God is really strong, no matter how many challenges that the enemy will throw at us, it will not prosper as God is at our back always.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Definitely! God is for us and who can be against us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Prayers have great power as you can see that how they protected them from being killed. We must secure time daily for offering prayer to Almighty God

$ 0.02
1 year ago

there is a quote that the deep meaning of this story is when someone puts his hope in God in prayer by doing everything that is commanded by God then he will always get blessings and protection from Him. Jesus bless you.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is it. Thank you, friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Before reading this I was in deep thought of something that have been hurting me all day and by reading this it open my head to calling on God to take over for me because it really hard on me .......

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, it is only by calling God to get involved in our matter, only by then would we be free and have peace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The best thing is to learn about our past relatives and ancestors, there are always great stories that excite when telling.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, I was excited when she revealed many things for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A great lesson from here princess. My shout out to your grandma. Grandma's are bags of truth and experience

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Nothing is perfect expect God , the most merciful and gracious. He planned much better to us then what we think.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

God is supreme and should be put forward in all we do. People can't ruin what they don't know, that's why her marriage lasted.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I could relate to those battles she faced in her husband's house, it's just like scenes in a typical Nollywood movies. One with God is majority, she was with God and God stood with her all through, made her untouchable. We are adviced everyone now and then to hold onto God for our marriage, Once He's not there, anything can happen

$ 0.02
1 year ago

One with God is majority. You are very right. This is why we need to hold onto God to help us fight every battle. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Listening to stories about life told by grandparents open up our eyes and mind. They are just the fountain of knowledge and wisdom as they have all the answers to all our questions... They'd never get tired if telling us the stories of their life so that we don'take the kind of mistake they made. Also to give us courage and hope no matter how hopeless the situation might seen

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, we can live a good life when we follow our elders' advices and never to make such mistakes they made and we would be opened to many things and that would be a guide in our own journey. Thank you, Bilqees.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such a great bonding with grandma

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well said, Beyonce!!!! I'm glad that you were able to gain from the experience. Moments like that are pretty incredible

$ 0.02
1 year ago

A. Very touching story. Marriage is no piece of cake. I get scared when I read about some things. Ranging from the in-laws disapproval to how things could terribly go wrong at some point in your matrimonial home. All we can pray for is God's guidance.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, prayer is all we can do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's God who guides us in everything..especially in marriage.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is it ate! God guides us in all things because He is the maker of them all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such an inspiring story cess. It's really important to do what God had intented married to be.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

"Finally seen another person that actually believes in spiritual powers and unseen forces." People these days; feel there's no strongman in houses, they feel it's just ones imagination. I was filled with smiles when I read your take on this. Marriage is more than love, but it's about knowing the man you're getting married to, and knowing the background of the family you're getting married to. Beautiful article, Princess.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes oo, I believe in spiritual battle and it is by calling unto God, He will save us. Thank you, Ella.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The memories of the people who were dear to us remain alive in our minds all our lives. I remember my grandparents and there are days when I become very affected by these memories! Have a nice day, Princessbusayo!

$ 0.02
1 year ago