What's Your Take On This?

41 80
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Image Source.

It's important how we choose to deal with the things that have formed an opinion in our heads. We have to unlearn and relearn rather than get stuck with one view that can hinder our ways in life. Your exposure, as they say, is your reality.

We all have a different mindset and we are all guilty of holding a particular opinion to ourselves at some point. The truth is, in this life, we need to be open-minded. Being open-minded is the key to learning and embracing new ways of life so we can be better for it.

I came across something (as usual)... Don't mind me, I am observant and I get to see and hear things a lot. It's shocking how some people think and I wondered if most people think this way too. I would love to know what you think...maybe I am missing something here. I believe we can all learn together and I am open to seeing things from your view.

I think if most people think this way, we would either have more problematic marriages or we would have a low number of people interested in marriage. It is one of the most disturbing things I came across many years ago and I am taking it with more seriousness because I feel most people have the whole idea of marriage in the wrong way.

This guy is 40 years old and the lady he is dating is 27 years old. I have no issue with people dating older people... I once dated someone 8 years older than me, so it's about maturity and understanding. So, they have been dating for 3 years and the guy told the lady he would like to settle down later in the year because age is no longer on his side (I still don't appreciate people who think they need to get married because of age anyway...)

The lady asked if he was serious about it and he said he was. The lady later told him that they can’t get married with the 80,000 naira ($250) a month - that was 3-4 years ago... And that was what the guy was earning at that time. She told him to get a better job or find another stream of income. (This is not bad advice because I always say we need to be financially ready to a certain extent before getting married). The guy paused for a while and told her; "I think you are missing something my love...but that's not only my salary we have to factor in... we should be fine with mine and yours together and I know mine would increase over time since you know I am working on another stream of income too". To my greatest surprise, the lady blurted, "It is not my responsibility to take care of the house. It is a man’s job. So, it's based on your salary, not mine."

Image Source.

She was right when she suggested another stream of income. I think that no matter how much you earn, always try to have another source of income when it comes to marriage because a lot goes into building a home. You don't want to add the frustration of not having enough money to pile up with the pressure of running a home. Inadequate finance has broken so many homes and love is not all there is to it.

I think the lady doesn’t want to be with him. If you want to be with someone, you will have to support them (that's what marriage is about - support... it's not gendered specific as long as the other person is not lazy). I have a big problem with the way she thought, saying it is the man’s job to take care of the home. Would it be nice for him to tell her to quit her job because it's the woman's job to stay at home, cook, clean and raise the kids when it should also be mutual? It's a selfish and greedy mindset it's important to marry someone with a similar vision to what you are trying to build.

If you ever consider your age before getting married, you will put yourself under a lot of unnecessary pressure and you will always take it out on your spouse later when things don’t go quite well as you expected. I would be surprised if that guy ends up marrying that lady but I wish I can follow the story to know if they ended up together or if she was able to receive a talk down that made her understand that marriage is about support.

Marrying because of age would heap pressure and would make you not consider all the things you ought to consider. You will overlook the warning signs all because you are desperate. Never go into marriage due to desperation because you will wish you had waited a little bit longer.

Learn to change your mind from thinking that certain responsibilities are peculiar to your spouse. Always act as the occasion demands. If she is tired and you can cook, as a guy, please do...and if you can't, place an order to make things easier for her. If you have the cash and he doesn’t but there is a need in the house to be taken care of, as a wife, please take care of it.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. 🙈

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

17
$ 1.10
$ 0.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 11
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

This makes me built up ideas of getting married if you're realy ready and you and your partner both have obligations for everything, you need to be a support on each other because if it's you or it's just your partner will work on that then your marriage would be possibly a lot in chaos. Both parties should help each other.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Both parties should help each other. It's obligatory from both parties. We need to support one another to get the most of the relationship.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh it is really disappointing to see one sided relationships like this. Marriage is about partnership I really don't like it when it becomes like just the responsibility of a man to provide. It is quite a hard world out there. It is hard to live with just a single income. I grew up from a double income household. Both my parents worked hard to raise us and send us to school.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I admire your parents and the support of your mum. I love your deeper understanding of this to. It's a hard world out there and double or multiple income surely helps. The wife helping makes it easier for the man to do even more.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed, never ever marry just because your getting any older. Marry because your ready enough to make some sacrifices and ready enough to add more responsibility. Marriage life must be mutual. Both must do some adjustments and give a mutual support to build a stronger home.

Age anyway doesn't matter in a relationship. My partner and I has five years gap, and I'm older😆. But we have the same mindset and we have mutual support, to keep our home strong. I don't think that everything must be shouldered to my partner and so even in my simplest way I help him, so the responsibility becomes lighter.

$ 0.04
1 year ago

God bless you, Garreth... Thanks for sharing this. Indeed, it's a life of sacrifice and we need to see it as such. We need to support each other to build the home.

Thanks for sharing that personal information about you. I admire how you are both matured to handle it. It's about maturity and it takes maturity to help and not push everything to one partner.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Riding knot with the person whom you want to spend you whole life with means helping him and supporting him in his bad and good times. But If you don't want to help or don't want to supportive then what's the need of merriage? Age does not matter what matters is how much you love your partner and how much you are supportive to him!

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you so much, Kate... I love and enjoyed this. It's about supporting one another but see it as a way of relaxing in their responsibilities because they just have to have fun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think age has to be factored in. It might be challenging to cope up with the kids as you age.

Raising a family should be the responsible of both parties and not to rely it to one person alone.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's another angle to it...coping with kids as we age... I love that. That's another lovely angle.

I agree, raising a family is the responsibility of both parties. Some women see it as an opportunity to be free from spending their own money. It's weird.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why then was she suggesting marriage if she is not ready to be her helper. Marriage is not by force if both are not ready to help each other. What if the guy was earning more as she wants and suddenly loses his job after marriage. They should not get married in the first instance.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

God bless you, dear. Exactly... What if the guy was earning more and after getting married he lost the job? I'm sure she would leave that marriage especially with this mentality that she has.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They should not get married if she can't change her mentality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly...simple and short... They should not.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really don't like her view, she's been selfish, as long as they are having a family she should be rest assured that she will have to support the man, it's not only the man's work, the woman too Should support.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you for this. I don't like her view too and I feel she's selfish and greedy as well. It's unfair and I hope she understands better by now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I already followed you there. I am there with the name GrecyG. I think relationship should be give and take. They should help each other as they vow to do that inside their relationship.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

[deleted]

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh sorry I accidentally click the spam, but your response is not a spam. I don't know how to undo it. I apologise. I am replying to this comment to have it seen

$ 0.00
1 year ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I'm really sorry. I feel bad about this. Thanks for deleting. I don't want to harm your account. I hope nothing bad will happen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's just like a scenario where the woman does all the house chores and when she asked her husband to help and he says "babe, it's a woman's job " huh really?

The home he's running, she ought to contribute to her ability... there's joy when you do what you want without a man interfering in the cost.

And why would he getting married at the age of 40 lool...a normal saying a fool at forty is a fool forever...he made this decision so late...he would have started making plans for marriage before now. Regardless, age is not a major factor to get married... people allow folks mount pressure on them as for me I allow them rant...hehe...so so remember @Olasquare you be doing most home chores too .. you have entered a foreign land lool

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha it's not about doing the most of the house chores but about helping one another ...it's as the occasion demands, we should help to make things easier for one another.

Thank you, sugar 😘😘😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love that.. spoken like a true man😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks boo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In having a family, it doesn't matter who has a bigger income The most important is the support you give to your spouse. settling down to marriage is not a joke. as a woman I have to find my assurance and as the view of our generation today many families were broken because of lots of issues that they didn't resolve resulting on separation. common issues are money and betrayal.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's right, Maria... Settling down is not a joke. Most people have broken marriages because they are not willing to do what is required. It's not a joke at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you are female and you want to enjoy your relationship, you just be ready to support your husband, mostly the husband salary might not be enough to take care of the family and foods so I think she is not ready to marry the man

Thanks for the article

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's it...a little here and a little there helps. Support is the most important and everyone should be able to do their part.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes 💯💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😊😊😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will not support the lady because I am also a lady but what she said is right, before you think of settling down as a man, I think you should rule out your wife's source of income. Knowing she has her own needs to take care of. If she is okay with sharing her income with you, that is fine but if she doesn't I don't think that should make her a bad person. Putting yourself under pressure of marrying because of age is not cool, you may end up with the wrong person.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Does it now sound right to ask the guy if he is willing to share his income too? Hahahaaha. I agree with you, a lot of people put themselves under unnecessary pressure and it has forced their hands in making in wrong choice. Pressure can be managed but when they go with it as it's pressing, it clouds their judgements.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seeing such twisted examples I am now a bit scared of marriage. Why it's so hard to have a mutual understanding or get a person with that? 3 years of dating and such an answer, lol what a time waste.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

A wasted time indeed. Relationship should be about mutual understanding just as you have rightly said.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend. When we talk marriage is not about the man is the only one who has a responsibility of taking care at home but it should be the both. Marriage is about between the two person that supporting and helping each other.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's about helping or supporting each other as you have said. It's not a ground for selfishness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend ola that's true. I hope the couples knows about it or realize with this kind of things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really hope so too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Marriage is the name of mutual cooperation and support. It doesn't mean to burdened one's shoulder with responsibilities. We really need to change this thinking.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

We have a lot to change in this generation because the weird thinking keeps making it hard.

$ 0.00
1 year ago