Weekend Get-Away.

82 131
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

What a weekend I had this past week and if I had the chance to do it again, I would do it without batting my eyelids. I called it a weekend get-away because I left the familiar to form bonds with my friends turned family.

My childhood friend got married in my former state over the weekend. I left Lagos for Ibadan early morning on Friday. I drove down and it was just myself because wifey's office organized a Children's Day treat for every child and she had to also take my baby along. On Saturday, she was scheduled for a speaking engagement which made it difficult for them to follow me down to Ibadan.

This life is a simple and humorous one, sometimes. My childhood friend that I went for his wedding actually got married to the younger sister of another childhood friend of mine. I didn't even know until the introduction a few months ago. I saw my other childhood friend on Zoom since I couldn't attend the Introduction in January and after I called him he told me that the bride is his sister. I was just left in awe and impressed at how life connected my two childhood friends together as well with this.

I got to Ibadan around 10 am on Friday and it was a smooth ride. The road was free so I was just moving with ease on the road. I got to Ibadan, the road was blocked at the major express due to renovation and traffic. I had to visit my former office that was nearby. I had fun with them and one of them took me through another alternative route.

I got to my grandma's place and no one was around. After spending around 20 minutes waiting after none of them picked up their calls, I left for the hotel to meet with my friend since I still had time before the engagement around 1 pm. I got to the hotel around past 12 and we laughed. I met another old friend; Femi and I was super excited to see him too because I haven't seen him in years. It was so refreshing to exchange contacts with him again. We were practically together for the two days and he is an amazing and interesting person. Never a dull moment with him.

The engagement started a bit late but we had fun. We did all we had to do and then retired to our respective hotels. Most of the hotels were booked out but Femi and I with another friend found another one around midnight and we lodged there. The Saturday was the wedding proper; Church and reception. The Church affair went smoothly too even though I almost missed the junction. The reception was amazing and that's where I took most of the pictures I did.

I can't remember sitting at the reception and the same goes for all the Bridesmaids and the Groomsmen which I am one. We were all up and doing trying to make everyone comfortable. I am glad all hands were on deck and I even granted an interview even though my brain was stressed at that time. I can't even remember what I said but I know I wasn't making too much sense to myself because my mouth was saying something different from the words I had formed in my head πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£. Is fatigue your mate? πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ Fatigue can mess you up...we move...but I am not sure anyone noticed but when you say nonsense, you know even if you mask it up pretty nicely hahaha.

I met a lot of faces that I hadn't seen in a long while and I was happy to see them. I taunted and disturbed a lot of them as usual but it was all fun and full of laughter.

Enjoy the pictures while I try to explain each of them...the ones that need no explanation would speak for themselves...

WARNING: The pictures are quite much. Exercise patience. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£

I haven't seen Anastasia in a long while. She dropped in for just 5 minutes at the event center, so I met her at the gate. See how her filter gave me pink lips 🀣.

I snapped this with the Best Man...at the hotel. Any background you see with this, we had the snap at the hotel before heading to Church for the joining.

L-R Yusuf, Femi and I. This was taken at the reception.

I took this at the reception too with my other childhood friend's (Ajibola) girlfriend.

I can't even remember what made me exclaim. πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

Okay, let me show you some engagement pictures from Friday below:

I'm the one with the wine native attire...

Trying to count the money with my left hand before I will bring out what will cast me πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£.

Asking me to drop more money πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

That's the impressive and amazing Groom to my right hand side.

Greeting the bride's family while they prayed for us... especially the groom.

Let me stop it right here...

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. πŸ™ˆ

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here https://noise.cash/u/Olasquare

22
$ 4.86
$ 4.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Belozoriana
+ 15
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago

Comments

This sounds like you really had a great time with your childhood friends. I'm glad the marriage was a success.

But there was something I couldn't help but notice, the best man is tall oo, ah!!, I just kept looking at his height, wow.

And I love your agbada, it looks really good on you. It was as if I went for the marriage too just by looking at these image. I came via dreemport.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yaaaaay. I am glad you enjoyed them and yes, he is way too tall. Made most of us look like dwarfs hahaha. Thank you so much for your kind words. It means a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fantastic. Loved the photos and write-up! Dreemport brought me here.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yaaaay. Good to have you here and thank you. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow i really enjoy going through those pictures, what I am seeing is so beautiful to my looking, I have also listen to friends comment here and they really sounds so funny, anywhere that is just friend for you never mind.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha it's all fun and banter. Thank you so much. I am glad you enjoyed it too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It always my pleasure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😊😊😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwwwn, such cute pictures. Lol, honestly, the first time I attended a proper traditional wedding, I was so shocked when I saw them asking the groom and his friends to drop money and drop more money inside a bowl, I felt like it was just too much, kilode, what if they don't have, I felt they were embarrassed, lol. Seeing it here again has made me realize that it's one of Yoruba culture.

Lol, πŸ˜‚ Fatigue isn't really anyone's mate, I trust you said something awesome though, πŸ₯° Handsome Mr Ola

$ 0.04
1 year ago

Hahahaha it's really the Yoruba thing. These ones were even nice. Some would never let us enter until the bowls are filled. They receive more than minimum wage in a single event and still, they get paid separately for the service they rendered.

Yaaaaay. Thank you so much, darling.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're looking fresh in that tuxedo. Should I come and take it when I get to Lagos?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Kris ooooo. Come to Lagos first.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Obanikoro abi? It's not far from Ikorodu buy I dey Ondo state at the moment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ you go soon reach.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok for me is the suit, there is no picture of the suit that I won't stare at the suit for like 30 seconds or even more, love everything about it, I can't seriously remember the last time I attended a wedding or any special gathering at all, and I always wanted to attend a Yoruba wedding just because of the food they said that's there, and that sometimes is serve yourself, I mean SERVE YOURSELF!!!! I will love to attend one someday, and I promise not to be weird because it will be my first time so still on the suit for me oooh!

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahahaha you will enjoy the food, the dance steps and the fun. Agbada would make you look super dope but suit would make you look like one of the groomsmen. I love both outfits too. Thanks a lot. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow this feels like I came for the wedding too. My. Oga Ola always looking dapper as usual

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahah I brought the wedding closer to you. Thank you, brotherly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo see height! 😯 I am talking about the best man and that other guy that looks like he is even taller. At first I thought you were just short πŸ˜‚ but those guys really have long legs.

I really love the pictures, all of you look super fine and the backgrounds of the pictures are perfect. You didn't show us the bride 🌝

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£ one is taller and the other is huge. They made me look like a dwarf.

I'm protecting our new bride πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe... Ola you're really a lucky type, God saved you at the 6th & 7th picture you took at the hotel. Haha, God sent someone that at least you are taller than. Sorry for my bad mouth. Beautiful pictures, i raise up my hands in the air for the tailor that made you that suit, it looks good on you.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ don't mind those guys...they want to intimidate me with heights but God saved me. God no go shame us hahaha.

Thank you so much, beautiful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes oho, last last, God no go shame us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha yes o. We go dey alright.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

See Owambe. It is evident u u had lots of fun. Don't come back to Lagos without party jollof o πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ e don spoil o. Na inside booth I put am.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha. Before he gets to lagos, the jollof rice would have got spoilt.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You gerrit hahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. He can heat it up before leaving for Lagos and seal it in an airtight container. It won't get bad. 😌

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah. No be today you don dey eat party rice o... Hahaha I was knackered. No time for searching for airtight container o

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah!!! I am beginning to suspect you. You don't look new in this kind of things. You have been doing it right..haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God bless you, Peju. Awon eleyi baddddd gan πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha.....

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ just applying basic science principles.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Basic science keh... πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Help me ask o 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are guys are so funny eheheh, I really enjoy it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Basic? No... I didn't do science πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But ola all of them are taller than you now can't you just put on high heels lol 🀣 just kidding But wait you o you are prostrating than the husband naw abi you want to take the wife ni 😜 Such a nice wedding

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ wahala wa o...make I no prostate in peace? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

Na giants I snapped with o.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ola wey sabi over do. You should have asked for enough space so that you can do the prostrating well with your hands well spread πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ what is worth doing is worth doing well, na my mantra be that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your own pass jare

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ wahala wa o

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha... You saw it too with me. I use to see our dear Ola as a tall person, but this wedding has proven me wrong. Ola i can donate some of my high heels if you don't mind....hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ I don't want heels...I am tall but those guys wants to shame me with heights. They are huge.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lemme just say, the overall attire perfectly suit you! Thanks for sharing your weekend!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yaaaaaay. Thank you so much, my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're good-looking and your suit makes it more perfect. Your genuine smile shows that you had a great day with them. Hello, nice to meet you :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I absolutely had a great day and time. Thank you so much and so nice to have you here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Love the photos! Genuine and happy smiles! I also love the suit, sir. You really looked good on it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much, dear. You are a darling.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a nice suit Mr. Ola, anyways seems you really enjoyed bonding and being reunit to them, oh before I forgot, congrats to the newly weds😊

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, I really enjoyed myself. Thank you so much, my friend. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Adorable suit ola, love those looking especially you're in a good company.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much, dear. Glad you enjoyed it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

(Ajibola was beautiful and sexy too! I had noticed Nigerian are fashionable. Ola, why your friends were so tall? haha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Those guys wanted to shame me with heights. I should have picked my level πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. Yes, we are fashionable and impressionable too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha I know you are tall but you just reached above their shoulders... I was thinking what about me if I gonna stand next to them? I only stand 5'1πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. It gonna look like David and GoliathπŸ˜‚.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ don't go close to them...it would be too obvious

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha, even the ladies were blessed with good heights😁. You guys were luckyπŸ˜ƒ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha... We have shorter people too, darling.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahha and I thought there is none. So just like inmy country. Physical appearance varies maybe because of those races that colonized our country.. We are mixed raceπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha...diverse culture...so much to learn. Not a bad thing I guess...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aside from what happened in the history? Haha at least nothing bad as of now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—β£οΈβ˜ΊοΈ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice suit uncle..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

My day is made. My fashionista said my suit is nice. I wanna screammmmmmm. Yaaaaaay. Thanks sweetie.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow.. the pictures are truly much πŸ˜‚ but then they all look so good.. u did enjoy your weekend not me working and working at church πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

God will reward your labour of love, never doubt it. Thank you so much πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You obviously enjoyed your weekend, that woman who wear a green gown is difinitely beautiful .. πŸ’šπŸ’š

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I enjoyed it and yes, Lola...she is such a beautiful lady with her charming smile.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The awesomeness in Ola came out sparkling 😊. U really had a great weekend. Nice looking pics 😍. Do have a nice day always. πŸ“Œ πŸ“Œ πŸ“Œ

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yaaaaaaay. Thank you so much. Deeply appreciated.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The world is too small for that incidents, knowing that the bride's is just the sister of one of your childhood friends too, makes the world so smaller. Anyway, I was really amazed with the beauty of the lady in green. She has a perfect fit and I love her beauty, she looks like a model actually. Anyway congratulations to the newly weds.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Her beauty is second to none. She smiles so beautiful too and she sew the dress herself. Very creative and smart too.

Thank you so much, my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You all look good in your photos Ola! What a wonderful weekend indeed!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

A wonderful weekend it is. A memorable one too. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know your weekend was fun with your friends and relatives including Victor as well, Handsome you!!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha Victor? Where was he? Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago