Private Affairs.

45 152
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Kindness, Helping, Blogging, Nigeria, ...

Topic:

Private or public recognition: On the occasions you help others, or do positive things for them, do you like or expect public recognition or do you prefer private thanks or gratitude. Explain why in either case and give an example.

This is the question asked by Galenkp on Hive and I did justice to it. As usual, I decided to share my response as I shared on Hive with you all. You can also participate in the question, either on Hive or here on Read Cash.

I am a private person and I don't like anything that draws too much attention, especially when it comes to what I did to help others. It's okay if they want to tell others what I did for them but I would never rattle it out to the next person seated next to me. My Wifey hardly know the things I do for others. If we have a mutual friend and that person mentions it, all well and good but she won't even hear it from me and she knows about this, except we decided to collectively help someone. I don't blow my horn or make a public display of whatever I do for others. It has never been my thing and that would happen for a long time to come.

I grew up with that mentality - "Whatever your right hand is doing, never let the left hand know about it". It's a popular saying here in Nigeria that signifies people growing silently or making a difference silently without the need to make everyone aware of it. I don't seek my rewards from other fellow humans, I believe God and life have their ways of rewarding me if it's deemed worthy of reward.

I don't like hearing "Thank you" too. I can thank you from now till tomorrow for whatever gesture you do for me but I am not the type that loves receiving thank you. I allow people to say it once, out of courtesy but the moment it's getting frequent I tend to run away. It keeps me humble so I don't want anything that makes me think I am more than I am because I was able to help someone because I believe that if I don't, someone else would help them so it's a privilege if it's me.

I prefer a private thanks and gratitude only because I know the other person would want to be grateful but please, just do it privately and once. The world doesn't have to know.

There was a time I entered a cab with this woman who mistakenly slammed the door on her own finger as she was coming in. She sat at the door and there was someone in between us. I told her sorry for her pain because I know how that thing hurts. I noticed I was close to where I would drop and I already heard where she said she would drop. I gave the driver the money for both of us and told the driver who it was for. The moment I did that, I looked away.

I felt her stare at me from the corner of my eyes and I knew she was trying to get my attention but I acted like I didn't know. The woman in the middle was the one who tapped me and I looked in her direction. She thanked me and asked if I know her or her husband but I told her no. She was shocked and said thank you.

Image Source.

I prefer random acts of kindness sometimes because there is a higher chance that I would never see these people again so there is no way they can make a public show of gratitude to me. There was another instance with a young lady on a bike. In my country, way before now, two people sit on the bike. I sat behind the rider while this lady sat behind me. She dropped before me at a junction called UCH and immediately, I told the bike man to move as she was reaching for her purse. As the bike moved, I told her "Don't worry" and with her purse in her hands, she stood motionless on that same spot trying to understand why I did what I did without even asking for her details or anything. That particular one struck me the most people it looked like she has never been used to being gifted something without being asked for something else in return (just my interpretation because when the bike moved a bit more, I looked back and still saw her on the spot.

Paying for one lady inside the cab made her follow me to my Church because she said she just got to my city and had been thinking of where to fellowship. She asked where I was going that day and I said Church. She didn't bother going home again, we both dropped at the junction and headed for Church. Another one that was a bit awkward for me was this lady. I don't know her then but she wanted to pay before her junction or mine. I had to quickly act and I paid. That was how she started the friendly conversation by asking about my name, and what I do and started introducing herself while she gave me her phone to punch in my numbers. It was awkward because that would be my first time engaging anyone in a cab or anyone I decided to help randomly. I am used to running away. Well, she's still my friend to date.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks. I am love's chemical content in human form and that's why I advise people to take a dose of "Olawalium" daily. πŸ™ˆ

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

21
$ 2.20
$ 1.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Talecharm
$ 0.06 from @Ellawrites
+ 15
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Kindness, Helping, Blogging, Nigeria, ...

Comments

wow great congratulations to you with all my heart. There are few people like you. because people like to commemorate a favor they've done

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I agree. Some people like to have a public show or even place a demand on the person after they have helped them. I want to believe that kind of giving is conditional and I don't fancy it at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't like people like that. If you're going to tell everyone what you've done, don't do it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly. It's not worth doing if everyone must know.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely dude

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! This is beautiful, just like the bike girl, I honestly would also think same. It's like a norms; guys do this often, they render help and always ask for a number.

There was a time I was kind of financially unstable, I wanted to withdraw the last 500naira in my account, unfortunately bank had deducted charges I'm not aware of, so it wasn't up to and read "insufficient" this guy from nowhere just told the POS worker not to worry, he gave me the 500 and gave me back my card. According to him, he was led.

I was beyond shocked, infact led or not led, I was expecting him to ask for my digits, Nah, he did none of that; which made me feel more disturbed.

I honestly love this, people who give privately would be blessed and more appreciated, I think there's a part in the Bible where one would see that God blesses those who give privately than those who give publicly(not sure).

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Exactly...most people like to take undue advantage of situations which makes it get worrisome for some people to actually take their help. God bless the heart of that young man. I love it when people have that shock look on their faces as I changed their narrative from what they were expecting to what they were not. It's always priceless. I love moments like that and I usually feel more fulfilled.

Yes, the Bible spoke about it. God who sees in secret usually reward those who don't make public show of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When you do a good deed secretly and don't brag about it in front of people, it's the most honorable thing to do. Because the purpose behind that deed is pure and not to showoff. I too prefer doing good things secretly. And the saying that you mentioned sir it is part of the saying of our Holy Prophet Muhammad (PBUH).

He (PBUH) said: Allah will keep seven men in His shadow on the day when there will be no shadow except His shadow. The person whose heart is attached to the mosques and the two persons who befriend each other only for the sake of Allah when they are together, they are together for Him and when they are separated, they are separated for Him and the person whom a woman of position and beauty invites for adultery and He may say: I fear Allah, therefore I cannot come, and he who gives alms in secret, until his left hand does not know what his right hand has spent, and he who remembers Allah when he is alone and let his eyes be wet with tears.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I prefer privately too. There is no need to make a public show of it. Even the Bible supports this that the moment we make it a public show, we have received our rewards already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes that's very true

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€—πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜Š

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Smiles, I was just smiling reading this, I don't know if it nice but not wanting to hear "Thank you" Sometimes, you would feel its not necessary, but if you do me good and I want to thank you and you make not to be a big deal, I might get offended..

I'm a person that do feel indebt for any good deed.. I don't know if others feel like that.. Its a good thing to do good and not blow trumpet like the politician do.. But I would thank you and make it a big deal.. Beside you have always help me both directly and indirectly, so Thank you sirrr

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I understand that. That's why I don't stop people from saying thank you even if I don't want to hear it. I know it's basic courtesy so I allow it but I won't rattle that person out by stating everywhere how I helped so and so. I feel it's not necessary.

Thank you, brother.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awww... You're so nice sir

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's the basic principle I learnt from also. Once you are recognized for a kind gesture and people clap for you then you have received your reward instantly. We tend to receive reward for what we do in secret.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I believe so too. Most people help others and state it everywhere they go. It's detrimental to the mental health of those we have helped even.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our little deeds of kindness and words are either private or from government gave benefit to whole Humanity. Your each start with your picture gives us very good lesson.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am glad you enjoyed it. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

According to what I've learned from the scripture we don't need to show our good deeds, because the Lord will reward us for doing it in the secret.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

God who sees in secret would reward in the open. That's absolutely true. The Bible never lies. Thanks for that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't like both private and public, once you have said thank you immediately after I render the help , that's done cos I can be shy when telling me thank you again 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, I feel shy and embarrassed too when I am being thanked too often. I see it as a privilege to help others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love saying thank you, in fact it's very close to my mouth always, But Note, I hate it when I'm being praised in the public, or someone trying to kid me. Or you trying to whine me, as we do say, lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Trying to whine you hahahahaha. I prefer the private things too. Our view of life influences this just as someone already said.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When you give with the right hand, don't let the left hand know. I believe in some event, we should let it know to others, not because we want to get accolades from the public, but to motivate others to also do the same when they have the opportunity to help someone in need

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I totally understand your point but that's to make a point to others not to gain public accolades. Some would even mention the names of those they have helped and how they have helped them. That's a no-no.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kindness is good and appreciated when you don't expect anything in return or when you don't have to make the world know that you did something for someone. It even makes people respect you. We don't have to be noisy😊

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly... I love that part where you gain respect for it. Everyone would know that they can come to you for help and you won't rattle them out in the open.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Private life is still the best. It's better to keep things private because people like to ruin moments. There's a beauty in living a life when no one is watching.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I would take privately helping people over a public show as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For it is much better to help silently rather than doing it in front of camera's while showing it to the world...I even doubt those doing that are rely sincere

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I don't think they are sincere too. I feel it's for attention seeking and it's never my kind of thing. I want to help discreetly.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You really had a kind heart Ola

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much, darling. πŸ€—πŸ˜˜πŸ˜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Welcome Darlin!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

❣️πŸ₯°πŸ˜πŸ˜˜πŸ˜˜πŸ˜˜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel like if we do something for a person and we expect a thank you then it takes away the goodness of heart of which we did it in the first place

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's the way I see it too. It looked like I've received my reward already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love being discreet in my doings. I see no reason why I should allow anyone know if I assisted someone in the past in order to get praised or seen as almighty. I don't appreciate it at all.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Same with me. It doesn't sit down well with me. What's the public show of help expected to achieve? Vain glory.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

we help other because we want to help, not to be recognized by the community. i know others don't help without eyes watching them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's so true. We are all different. Some prefer the attention.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your act of kindness sir is what make you who you are, there are lots of people out there that if they help you and you see them next day and you didn't say thank you they will pick offence, if you see them the next week sef, you must say thank you, bt your uniqueness and how you view life is what make you different

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£ that's so true. I've come across people like that too. You are so right, our view of life shapes our choices.

$ 0.00
1 year ago