Dating and Academics, II.

36 109
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Image Source.

This is the second part of the post shared yesterday as promised and you can catch up with the first part here: Dating and Academics .

I enjoyed the engagement on the first part of this article and while others said they tried it and it worked for them, others said they tried it and it was a disaster. That's right and that is why I stressed the importance of having a partner with a like-mind; someone that values education as you do and wouldn't want to place unnecessary demands on you at the detriment of your studies. I also read of someone who dropped from First Class to Second Class in the comment section because he got entangled in a love web.

I mentioned the importance of knowing yourself. Some people can compartmentalize while some struggle with it. I love what someone says that it prepares us for the future when we learn how to manage the stress of education with that of a relationship because if we look at it carefully, we can't say we would always focus on one at a time because we would learn to compartmentalize.

After school, you would start working; for someone or yourself and you would need to still learn how to cope with relationships and your job. Same with when you marry as well, you would learn how to just as when you start having children. So for some, it's a good ground to learn how to, from school and for others, they still learn it later but focus on school first and that is not wrong either. It all depends on who you are and what works for you.

...continuation...

Image Source.

What About Meal Time?:

I mentioned in the first part that no one is truly as busy as they claimed SOMETIMES because it depends on priority. At least no matter how busy we get, we can always make out time to eat. Why not factor your partner into your eating routine when you are too busy with school activities and of course, the purpose of this would be defeated if there is a distance between you two. This is only applicable for those who are in the same institution of learning.

Just like studying together, it's like using one stone to kill two birds because while eating or after you are done eating or as you are walking to where you'd both eat and after, while walking out, you can both engage in discussion, see each other, laugh and make fun of each other. You both are together to bond while also having time together which is cool.

Conversations should spring up while together and you should both make the most of that time. Your schedule should also include your eating time and that's why you need to factor your partner in as mentioned in the first part. This is to make up for the time you've both been apart hence the reason why you need to eat together and still, it won't affect your education.

It's easier to get distracted and want to take it further after meals but leave each other after your meals to get back to your studies as highlighted in your schedule expect you both have no classes afterwards. Understanding plays a huge part in this and when you have someone who values the things you value, it makes it easier. Discipline is important in this aspect because distraction is just a step away if you both get carried away.

Someone also shared her experience in the comment section of the first part where she said she got distracted because she has never loved anyone as deeply as she did then. The guy was okay but she dropped off the wagon. This is why having someone with a like mind helps. The guy didn't help and was simply enjoying his time with her while she suffers academically. I also blame this on communication because the guy should have known she was struggling and should have done his best to draw up a better schedule for her but as I have said, not many people can handle it so it's best if they focus on their academics for a while.

Image Source.

Other distractions:

The funny thing is, as much as we claimed we don't have time for certain things, we always make out time for our phones, particularly social media. Having a scroll on Instagram can be addictive and you won't know how 2 hours of your life went which you could have channelled into your studies or even taking a walk with your partner or bonding on a video call with that person.

We seem to spend a huge amount of our time on social media and even when we are with our partner, rather than have meaningful conversations, all we do together is bedmatics and social media which makes the value of whatever you are trying to build be kicked to the curb. Those hours you use on your social media, channel it into something more productive and you would be thankful that you did. Make use of every time available to bond with your partner or do an assignment that you put off for tomorrow. Do it now so you can free up that time for your partner in your schedule.

Image Source.

Never Forget Your Study:

I am reiterating that your education should take the center stage especially when you cannot balance both. Not everyone is strong enough to handle both so in this case when you have to choose between your books and your boyfriend or girlfriend, it's an obvious choice, your study must take the center stage.

There would always be a time that in all honesty, you would be indeed busy and if your partner cannot understand that then it's good enough reason for you to let go of such. This is why we need an understanding partner and the reason why I said we need to let go of those distractions so that when days like this come, it would be so easy for your partner to understand. It goes both ways and there would be days your partner would be so busy too and you just have to understand as well especially when you know they always free up time for you before now.

Find yourself an understanding partner who you also love and loves you back because it is pointless to spend all the time with your partner and your studies suffer for it. It's not wise and for the umpteenth time, know yourself and what works for you.

Thank you for your time.

Kindly follow me on Noise.Cash... I am trying to engage more with people and connect with everyone with this account. I look forward to seeing you there... You can say hello to me there so we can get familiarized as well. Click here.

26
$ 7.23
$ 6.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Belozoriana
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 17
Sponsors of Olasquare
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Olasquare
2 years ago

Comments

The best thing to do is to just let go of your partner if he can't understand you better about your education because you will be the one to suffer from it you get distracted and carried away by life. You might end up with carryover or feel like dropping out of school. Understanding really matters in a relationship to make both lovers achieve their goals and bring about success which makes will make them live a beautiful life after school.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is so true... I love it. Understanding is vital.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to the eating together part a lot... I have observed that I got a long way in a meal when I am eating it togetjer with a loved one. Just watching him or her eat or talk is enough to stimulate my appetite.☺. But when I am eating alone, it might be quite boring

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You got it hahahaha...that's the real deal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always have time for everything but too lazy to have time to study hahaha it's just bores me too much haahaha just reading the first page of my reviewer makes me feel sleepy hahahha but yeah ai should prioritize it hahaha also I'm to lazy to build a relationship haahha I don't just exist and enjoy whahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha that's why you need a partner that is driven who can help you. We all need a little push sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eagerly waiting for that person who could stop me, look at me and with a demonic voice could say, 'Lucifer, hands up. I'm arresting you.'

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Arrest you with love haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need to fucos in our studies first for better future for our family to be build in the future.

But sometimes we can build better future too even we are not diploma holder. Its in our strategy to have better life 🙂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree... It's about doing something and finding a partner who understands too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We Filipinos have a common saying that says " if gusto may paraan, kapag ayaw may dahilan" which means, if you want there is a way, when you don't want there is always a reason or an excuse.

So I agree with you that no matter how busy we are we can still spend time with our partner or something we want. What we are just talking is spend a time , not all your time. Just a time management

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much my friend. That's true adage. It's always about time management.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice sharing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is always time for everything but study should come first before thinking about relationships and if both comes same time there always ways to balance things.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I totally agree... Studying should take the center stage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Studying has to be the number one priority before thinking about having a relationship and your partner must also understand you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Spot on...and true. Study first...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ola, there is one thing we need to know. Women na cameleon oo. Today them be green, tomorrow na red. Relationship my brother na for people wey get mind.

E dey sweet sha oo. But bro, if e cast you go come dey ask whether them do you juju b4.

$ 0.01
User's avatar xus
2 years ago

I totally understand you and as we have them in female, we also have them in men. It's all about exposure and the motive for selecting a partner. Well, this post isn't about that...it's about how people can balance dating with education.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah.

$ 0.00
User's avatar xus
2 years ago

I don't have an interest in school before but lucky me, I have Kelzy. She helps me with the subject I get stressed and in return, I help her with other things. Finally, we have both graduated. Balance is the key!

$ 0.03
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

This is amazing and I am happy to know this. You both helped each other's area of weakness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sir you are absolutely right, education must be our first priority, education show how good we are or how was how character, personality or value.An educated person always be responsible for every situation,he knows i have to eat,bath,play or something like that, Love is good for everyone but it doesn't meant we have to do dating on our academic time.we are responsible for this. Be happy.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, knowing ourselves would help us know whether we can combine both or we can focus on one at a time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The above advice is what everyone needs. Find a partner partner understand you but at the same time academics should be the priority.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Spot on, my friend. Absolutely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm much older than you'd think but relationships are just not for me, I'd pass at least for now. When the right time comes I'd consider.

For those still in school, I'd advise they focus on their studies, relationships can come later. There's no point in rushing.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love this... There is no point rushing. Education should take the center stage and it's a good foundation to build things on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your advice to choose study when in doubt is sound... Nice write up friend...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For a long time I have been practicing family dinner or lunch together. But it doesn't work out. It all seems to happen in a hurry. Unfortunately, my studies were not useful in my life in any way, it's a pity...Instagram is out of my life forever, and this time is wasted. Replaced this time with more useful things.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am sorry about that and that's true... We need to replace irrelevant time with more useful things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm currently not in a relationship, but can I try and study with my partner? I think No😪. Distractions will set in, because I like studying with zero distractions

$ 0.03
2 years ago

As long as that's what works for you, please stick to it. That's why I said we should know ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like it when you said that no one is as busy as they claimed sometimes. Very true to me and to people around me. As for me, I wasn't able to experience juggling time between study and dating because I was afraid that my mom would scold me if I would get a boyfriend and fail my exams. Haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha I can relate to that too. Our parents want us to have zero distraction because of their investment in us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago