Why I Decided to Exclusively Breastfeed - The Wonders of the Breastfeeding and Breastmilk

33 52
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Back when I was still a young and carefree lady, I had a few conversations with my college friends, one of them had already a baby, she was pregnant during our graduation ceremony and asked me if I have plans of getting married and have a baby. The truth was that I didn't know if I would want a baby. I know I might want marriage but baby, not sure though. I couldn't imagine myself taking care of a newborn, I can't even picture myself giving birth, that was at that time, I was naive. I thought to myself I might end up childless especially that our maternal side has this trend of couples without a child.

The eldest cousin adopted a child, they have been married for several years but couldn't get pregnant, the problem was with my cousin. Then another cousin who is based now in the United Arab Emirates had the same case but they didn't adopt a child yet. And the problem as well lies in my cousin, not his wife. Another cousin who's living in Negros Oriental has the same case but she is happily living with her nephews and nieces so she's fine not having any child at all.

When I thought I might be part of the childless band, I got pregnant but lost it in 2017. But thank God for He had gifted us, Matti. I never thought my body could host another human. I never thought that I would be a full-time mother! I never thought that I would be exclusively breastfeeding my baby. 

Speaking of exclusively breastfeeding, I would like to share with you what I had learned about breastfeeding and why I had decided to exclusively breastfeed my baby. I won't deal with the obvious benefits of it, I believe that everyone is aware that breastfeeding is still the best for babies. There might be some cases that result in the mother being unable to breastfeed and I respect that too.

Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

Breastmilk Has Everything Our Baby Needs

The human body, specifically, the mother's body is created in a very special way. As the baby grows, the milk adapts to the needs of the little one. There are numerous studies and they all return that those who have been exclusively breastfed have fewer respiratory illnesses, ear infections, and diarrhea. The anti-infective properties of the breastmilk increase too as the baby grows and as he or she is exposed to new bacteria from the surrounding, isn't it amazing?

With the presence of COVID-19, pregnant women and lactating mothers are highly recommended to get vaccinated because even if the baby can't get the vaccine, he or she gets the antibodies that the mother's body creates as the vaccine is injected into her system.

Breastfeeding is a Time to Bond With the Baby

My church friend and discipler had breastfed her firstborn until four years old. She was a full-time working mom and she would pump while at work, she said she was just an "enougher" which means she pumps enough milk for her little one to consume the next day. When she's at home from work, her baby latches directly.

Breastfeeding, she said is her option not just because she wants the best nutrients for her baby but also, it was her way of bonding with her child. Lucas, her firstborn is now six years old and he is the sweetest, he also tells others that his most favorite person on earth is his mother. How sweet is that?

When breastfeeding Matti, we get to also giggle and laugh a lot. I talk to him and he also expresses it in his own way. I guess he considers me his favorite person too because he is still very dependent on me. He cries when I am not around when he wakes up after a nap and cries when he sees me going out of the room.

This is not only nurturing my baby but it is giving us a strong emotional trust and bond through the hormone that is produced during breastfeeding.

Breastfeeding is Nature Friendly

I had friends and even relatives who decided not to breastfeed, I respect their decisions but I had done my part in encouraging them and giving education on the great benefits of breastfeeding. Some of them say they don't have milk while they just gave birth a week ago. The right education is very important as well as the support of the people around us.

When I think of offering a bottle and a formula to my baby, I thought of the effort in cleaning the bottles, the time that I have to spend mixing milk. The energy that I have to exert just to get up in the middle of the night, and so on. Oh, and the amount of money in buying the milk, it's expensive now you know. There are many expenses along the way, there are also garbages that comes with it.

So breastfeeding is surely mother earth-friendly, I can feed the baby in the bed while we sleep, I can offer my breast anytime, anywhere! My bag is free from bottles, I don't have to spend time in the sink brushing and washing. I don't have to throw boxes and plastic packs!

Did you know that breastmilk contains natural antibacterial properties that inhibit the growth of bacteria and yeast? It is even not recommended to always wash the breast because it will just make it dry.

Conclusion

Those are the reasons why I had preferred to exclusively breastfeed my baby. I stopped working, I extended my maternity leave because I have to prioritize my baby's needs. Thank God for my husband who is able to provide for our basics that I don't have to work, not all mothers have that option and I salute those who would need to sacrifice a lot for the sake of their baby. Thank God for noise and read for giving me a venue to express my thoughts and share my articles.

Breastfeeding is not always fun, there are times when I feel exhausted and would even think of not offering my breast to him when he asks for it but breastfeeding is indeed a commitment and it's okay not to always enjoy it. It is normal to feel that way but because I am committed, regardless if it's in the middle of the night or in the morning when he asks for it, I would give in to his needs.

After all, this is not for a lifetime. There will come a time when Matti will tell me, I am now a big boy and will not feed on the breast anymore. I would surely tear up when that day comes.

To those who are expecting, you have to make a choice, do educate yourself with the pros and cons of breastfeeding and formula. But I am encouraging you to choose to breastfeed, it is still the best for our babies and every baby is different, formula can't meet that.


Related articles:


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

15
$ 4.76
$ 4.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 8
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Nakakaburn dn daw ng calories magpabreastfeed, at dahil jan mas lalong lumaki appetite ko. HAHAHAHA.

I also tried to pump during my her first week, I thought di marami naiinom nya na milk kasi at leasr 1oz lang both boobs nakukuha ko. With my sister's encouragement and support, nagunli latch na lang ako para di ako malungkot na wala akong nakikitang output kapag nagppump. After 6weeks nagstart nako magpump because I wanted to build a stash for emergency needs na lang dn tska para mas dumami pa milk ko. Pangarap ko talagang maging oversupplier lels!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

uy nangarap din ako na maging oversupplier..nakaka 2oz ako before haakaa during latch ni matti sa isang bobbie.. ang ending direct latch pa din ngayun..hehe naisip ko maganda naman mag store ng stash talga para kung aalis pwede si baby ipatake care kay lola..pero parang di ko kaya iwan sya..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My bunso is ebf for 2 yrs.. Andami kong challenges for that entire 2 yrs. Anjan yung pressure to produce 20 ounces of milk sa work.. Kailangan kong makapag uwi ng 20 ounces para sa pang consume nya kinabukasan. Sobrang struggle kasi ayaw ko syang i mix feed, pero ang probs, may times na hindi ako nakakapag pump sa work kaya naubos yung mga pang buffer ko na stock sa freezer kaya dumating ako sa point na yung iuuwi ko today yun lang ang pang consume nya for tomorrow. Pero sa awa ni Lord, nairaos at naitawid namin ang 2 yrs na hindi nag mix feed. Till now 3 yrs old and 6 months old na sya pero dumedede pa din sya kapag matutulog.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

wow kudos to you mommy! i salute full time working moms na ebf pa! i won't be able to handle that myself siguro.. kaya extended maternity leave pa din ako now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes momshie.. May dala dala lang akong cooler, 4 to 5 bottles nung tig 5 oz ang laman, tapos breastpumo syempre saka 2 icepacks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe pala talaga ang power ng breastfeeding no? Ako noon ayoko rin magpabreast feed kung sakaling magakaka anak ako pero ngayong mahirap na panahon, mas makakatipid pag breast milk at totoo, maganda sya compared sa mga pwdered milk

$ 0.01
2 years ago

siya talaga ang best for the baby sis..hehe ung makakatipid is just a bonus :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naman. Kaya sana soon abundant din yung milk ko charot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree with everything you mentioned. I also saw a post on fb made by a mom who got Covid. Her 6 or 7 year old daughter, who she still breastfeeds, didn't show any symptoms. Galing diba.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

i was tested positive din sis.. my baby didn't even have one symptom.. maybe i should blog about it too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should mumsh! Ang amazing talaga ng breast milk!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lahi ra gyud bitaw ang breastfeed compared sa kanang milk gyud. Ang anak sako ate kay both, pero ig human niyag inom sa iyahang milk kay muduol sa iyang mama para mudede na sad. Hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahahaha kana nga bata ang gitawag na para sure jd ma....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahaha lagi. Maong karon, kiat kaayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My grandmother thinks that the reason I am thin now is because my mom only breastfeed mo for less than a year contrary to my sister, she was breastfeed for two years that is why she is not thin and not fat now. She rarely gets sick too. Praise God for that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

if you were breastfed, that's still good...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You made the right decision sis, I also believe breastmilk is the most nutritious milk there is, ekompara mo pa sa pinakamahal na commercial milk.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

indeed sis... kaya nga nasa box sya sa lahat ng fm .. hehe thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iba talaga pag laking breastfeed ang baby. And yes sabi din ng ate ko nakakapagod minsan magpadede kasi may trabaho sya kaya naman bumili nalang sya ng gatas for my pamangkins.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

super energy draining at nakakagutom..heheh ung pambili ng gatas.. pambili ko nalng ng food ko..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sad for my firstborn sis because I don’t have enough milk in my body when I gave birth to him, wala masyadong lumalabas kahit nagpahilot na ako, pero with my youngest jusko naman inabot hanggang 3 years and a half exclusive breastfeeding, no formula added, nag aaral na sya sa nursery noon, nung malapit na sya mag 4, nagkusa na sya hahaha! 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

haha darating talaga ang time na kusa silang magstop sis noh? hehe how did you feel?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung mag stop na sya, noong una masaya kasi dadating sa point na nakakapagod din magbreastfeed lalo pag malaki na, madami na ngipin un, 😁pero bandang huli nakakamiss din, eh napakaclingy netong bunso ko dati sakin lang tumatabi, pero ngayon ayaw na. Good morning sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on your beautiful baby and breastfeeding.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks a lot dear.. appreciate it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I gave birth to my second child I promise myself that This time I will be a breastfeeding mom not only our bonding moment with my baby it also makes my baby healthier than other babies.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

it is true mommy... i am glad to find breastfeeding moms here.. cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wasn’t breastfed when I was a baby even though my mother wanted me to and rest of my sibs were bf babies. SO i decided i want my kids to be exclusively bf.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

salute rox..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At this moment, I am breastfeeding Eila while commenting here. Hindi naman exclusive si Eila pero sya yong baby ko na lagpas 1 year old, dumedede pa rin sa akin. I tried, weaning her, but ayaw nya, so ayon, continue kami. Bottle feed sya minsan pag wala ako, pero pag uwi ko agad sasabihin "dede". bonding na namin ang dede moments nya. hanga ako sayo kasi exclusive ka talaga. ako I think 5 months, nakaya ko, pumping lng talaga pag pumupunta ako sa office or sa other na places na di sya kasama.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

astfeeding Eila while commenting here. Hindi naman exclusive si Eila pero sya yong baby ko na lagpas 1 year old, dumedede pa rin sa akin. I tried, weaning her, but ayaw nya, so ayon, continue kami. Bottle feed sya minsan pag wala ako, pero pag uwi ko agad sasabihin "dede". bonding na namin ang dede moments nya. hanga ako sayo kasi exclusive ka talaga. ako I think 5 months, nakaya ko, pumping lng talaga pag pumupunta ako sa office or sa other na places na di sya kasama.

i tried talaga mommy na mag pump but hindi ako confident in storing the milk...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mommy Jean anlaking tipid ng breastfeeding aside from the fact na walang formula milk and tatalo sa gatas ng ina. At wala yan salami at liit. 🤣 Nung nagbreastfeed lang ako nagkadede super proud ako noon! ,😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

haha sa breastfeeding lang nagkadede? haha yes walang fm ang makakatalo..

$ 0.00
2 years ago