The Things They Say That Scared Me of Breastfeeding

13 34
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

As it is still a breastfeeding awareness month, I try to think about what other breastfeeding topic can I write about? As I was breastfeeding my 12-month-old baby, I remember those times when my friends from college had a get-together pre-pandemic time and I was already pregnant at that time. We talked about their experiences during giving birth and the funny things too.

Aside from that, they also shared their breastfeeding journey and even went talking about their worst experiences as "padede" moms. So, today, I would like to share some of the things that others told me that scared me about this journey.

Having Milk Out Of Luck

Someone asked me if I plan on breastfeeding or bottle-feeding and if I choose bottle feeding, what brand of milk will I give to my baby? I told her I plan on breastfeeding, formula feeding was not in my mind at all so she continues well, you'll breastfeed if you will be lucky to have lots of milk and at the back of my mind, I thought she is not educated about breastfeeding at all!

Well, I graciously told her of what I have learned from my growing baby classes and the things I have read on breastfeeding forums and websites.

A newborn's tummy is very small, it is tiny as a cherry which means no big amount of milk is required at all! This is also the reason why most mommies think they don't have milk. In fact, during these days, a mother will be providing the colostrum instead which is very nutritious for the baby.

The abundant milk arrives only after a few days, if you are blessed, some mothers would be producing milk even before giving birth but most of the time, milk flows visibly by the fourth day or more.

At this time, it may seem like there's no milk flow but the indication that the baby can drink and there's milk is their output. As long as there are wet and soiled nappies, the baby is alright and breastfeeding worked!

To get more supply, there should be more demand so the more you get the baby to latch and be at the breast, the more the brain will request the alveoli to produce milk and the milk ducts to send them to the nipple. It is a supply and demand kind of system.

Breastfeeding Will Ruin Your Boobie's Shape

I felt like this one might be valid. I see my relatives and neighbors complain about it but it didn't bother me at all. Back when I was younger, I always question the use of my breasts, they are not big though and as I became a mother, I realized the main purpose of this part of the body. It is not for me but for my baby.

And if breastfeeding will ruin the shape of this body part, then so be it. This is a sacrifice I am willing to do for the sake of the nutrients and the antibodies that my baby will get.

But, although the breast may grow, swell and extend due to fats and milk, they can be covered by bras so why worry?

Biting Baby

This one scared me the most especially when I saw Matti teething already but surprise! My baby only had bitten me when he is asleep and was not aware that momma's nipple is still in his mouth!

I guess this does not apply to all, perhaps most teething babies would bite their mom's nipple but not mine and I am thankful for that. I always would talk to Matti and tell him not to bite the nipple.

Whenever he wants to bite, he'd let go of my nipple and bite my hand instead, to which, I am very amazed. So, I am not sure if he did understand me when I say no biting mama

After a Year, Your Milk Will Drain

Thankfully, I didn't, it was scary to think I will not be producing milk when Matti turns one. At first, I thought well, if that will happen, then Matti might be weaned soon. My mother weaned us when we were 11 months, all four of us but I don't want that, instead, I want to let Matti decided when to wean.

It may sound ridiculous to others but some moms continue to breastfeed their four-year-old son or daughter. Some may even tandem feed when they give birth to the next baby.

As breastmilk is best for babies even beyond two years, there's no reason for me to stop giving it to Matti even after a year. A time will come when he will say he won't feed by the breast anymore and it will be a moment to which I don't want to happen soon.

Breastfeeding Matti for me is not just about feeding, it is our way of bonding too. I get to tease him and now that he is very playful, he would tease me too by talking while latching and we laugh, I tickle him and he laughs so hard it brings so much joy to my heart.

I am thankful to my other breastfeeding advocate friends who had shared the beautiful stories of their journey and it inspires me to continue especially during this time of the pandemic.

Conclusion

Although there are scary things regarding breastfeeding, the positive things that breastfeeding provides for my baby overrule the fear.

I had come up to the conclusion that those stated above may not occur to everyone and do not apply to all. Some may have the worst but it depends on you and the baby.

Still, breastfeeding is a journey that I don't want to end just yet although my mother had given me advice about weaning him. Breastmilk is best for babies up to two years and beyond. The beyond maybe two more years and so on and I have no reason to back out. This journey requires pure dedication and perseverance. If there won't be any situation that will stop me, I will continue. I will persevere for my baby's sake.


Thank you for reading this and if you are a breastfeeding mom, let's continue giving the best for our babies.

Related topics:


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

8
$ 3.75
$ 3.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 6
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Oh you're lucky to have plenty of milk. I've had some batchmates complain before about not having milk and such. And yeah I also read about some moms breastfeeding until 3 yrs old so I guess it's fine to breastfeed past age 2.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate dun sa maubusan ng milk supply tapos takot makagat ni baby hahaha I don't even though my boobies are not that big, I am lucky that I still get to feed my Prince. Then yung nangangagat same tayo! Nung tulog si Prince ko dun nya ko nakakagat hahaha dun din ako nagigising madalas kasi unli latch tong sakin hahaha masaya at fulfilling ang pagiging nanay lalo na kung bf si baby kasi bukod sa quality time and bonding, tipid din sa pagbili ng gatas. Cheers to all Padede-Moms!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala pa rin po talagang tatalo sa nutrients na galing sa breastfeeding po. Lahat po kaming magkakapatid breast feed po kaming lahat. Thanks God nakayanan ni mama ang lahat kase 8 po kaming breanestfeed niya..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Breasfeeding mom din ako ,patuloy parin nag pa pa breastfeed ng anak ko kahit 1year and 6 months na siya hindi naging pantay boobs ko kasi tong si bunso ayaw nya ang lasa ng left boobs ko ,ewan ko sa kanya hindi naman ganyan kuya niya ,yung 1st baby ko , mag 3 years old na siya nung nagstop na syang dumede sa akin😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako sis, hindi nakapag breast feeding dahil etong Angelo ko before ayaw nya dumede tlaga. As in ginutom na namin sya for half day, eh naawa naman kasi kami dahil iyak ng iyak na sya pero ayaw pa din nya tlaga kaya sayang lang milk ko. Pero pinapump ko sya nilalagay sa bottle then hanggang sa nawala na. Sayang dami ko pa naman sanang milk. Pero sister ko, lahat ng 5 kids nya breast fed sila, ayun malalakas silang lahat naman. okay pa din naman boobs nya..... ahaha.... hindi naman nagiba ang shape, mas lumaki nga lang... haha. Sympre pinaka best pa din is mother's milk than formula. HIndi sakitin ang baby.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I plan not to breastfeed my future baby soon because I feel like I will not be comfortable with it and am scared too. But then this article moved me in some way to change my decision. Thanks po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas malakas nga raw ang baby pag breastmilk. Yung iba nilalagay na ata sa feeding bottle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember a post in fb regarding breastmilk transported from one country to the other. I don't remember the details now but a mom working in Singapore would send her milk via courier here to the Philippines.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

yes sir it is possible... though there are risks but it is possible and airlines would even allow breastmilk to be handcarried

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mind blown nga ako nung nabasa ko un e. Galing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

super precious ng breastmilk, we call it liquid gold.. maraming mga hospital nag aask ng bm donations para sa mga nasa NICU...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I stopped breastfeeling when my daughter turned 1 year and 2 months old. Mejo malaki na kasi ngipin nya nun. Pero pure breastfed talaga ako nun, sis Jean.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

oh i see sis..hehe kinakagat kaba ni arianni?

$ 0.00
2 years ago