Don't Grow Too Fast...

33 34
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Eyes small and wide fixed into the laptop screen, the music was playing while Matti sits on his father's lap. He closes and opens his palm, acting like it's a star, he got a favorite music video now at 13 months - Twinkle Twinkle Little Stars. He points to the screen and turns to me, then smiled while he utters the words "mama". Oh, my heart! This baby is just over a year old! How many months, weeks, or days will it take for him to be able to converse with mama? This thought excites me.

As a first-time mother, everything that is going on with my baby is something that just causes me to a deep realization of how unexplainable a mother's love can be. It's all happiness, delight, joy, anxiousness, worry, emotion, drama, and excitement all mixed up, and at this moment, while staring at my baby, I got this butterfly sensation of joy but I am also anxious about what life he'll have especially in this generation.

I got out of my imagination when he started crying, his point finger still at the monitor. The music video just ended and he wants to play it once again, it's the third time that we had pressed the replay button. He had also developed an attitude! He would cry, shout, closes his fists, and draws our hand to move the computer mouse. Worse, he would slap anyone near him if the video isn't replayed. At this point, we won't play the video again and this decision won't be changed.

The husband told me that we must only let him watch videos on the computer or the tv twice a day, every after bath time. I have a soft heart of course and oftentimes, in the past three days, I would give in to Matti's demands but I realized, husband's right, we have to set limitations and we must be the ones controlling our child at this point and not the other way around.

I determined to get him out of the computer screen and we sat inside his playpen for actual play. He enjoys throwing his toys now from inside of the pen and then goes out of it and then throws the toys again inside. It's a cycle.

When he is over it, he'd go to the car and would ask me to push him around the room. He would say "mana" with conviction which means all done and gets out of the car. And since he can walk now by himself, although he needs more practice with his balance, he can go to wherever he wanted faster.

Matti has shown great progress, he had reached several milestones in just a few weeks after celebrating his birthday. His first attempt at walking by himself happened unexpectedly, it was the first of September when he just let go of the couch and strolled towards me. I was caught off guard, I wasn't able to open my phone camera when he was walking slowly, arms open, managing his steps, and finding the courage to proceed to the end of his goal. I was just stunned at that moment, I was happy to know that he can walk now but I was also tearing up inside because it is another means of him letting go of my hand. He won't need my support soon in terms of walking and direction. He will walk and soon run to wherever he wanted and that scares me a bit.

In this age and generation, it is undeniably impossible for every parent to become anxious for their children. There are a lot of bad influences outside the home, there are so many stories of accidents, tragedies, and even man-caused incidents that I am afraid that my child would encounter or experience. It's just mind-aching to think and to worry about those things. It will surely break my heart if anything happens to him while we are not by his side.

I remember @PatsKy8135's article about Let your Toddlers Grow in accordance with Their Milestones, it reminded me of how protective parents can be but we have to let them grow.

I am overthinking and I can't help it. I am sure I am not alone with this, I know most mothers tend to overthink. I just have to let go of this thought. I pray for guidance, for Matti's life to be protected from the negative elements of this fallen world, that God may grant him friends who would help him grow independently without harm. That God would provide for him a life partner (although, that should not be hurried) who will be his source of strength and happiness. That when we are not anymore here on this earth, he will have a family who will love him and support him. And lastly, that he will remember us, his parents who love him dearly.

I won't be able to stop progress and growth. As much as I wanted him to slow down a bit so I can cherish these moments when he is still dependent on me, on us, we can't stop or even stall it. It's beyond our capabilities, we have no power to do so. 

Growth is needed, he has to reach milestones after milestones, he has to learn, he has to evolve. We are merely stewards of this beautiful soul. Our prayer is for him to know that God loves him and for us to be confident that no matter what happens, we have a good good Father in heaven who is looking down on us, on him, who takes care of us all and won't allow us to stray away.

I am comforted with this thought, I brush the negativities away and I pray for His divine guidance and protection for my baby. I am confident and convinced that whatever happens, when we won't be there for him, God will.

Don't miss checking out my sponsors who are very kind and generous:
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

Related articles:


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

12
$ 4.61
$ 4.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 6
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Matti is so adorable. He is so blessed to have a mother like you. Indeed, mothers are amazing and you deserved all the good things in life. Praying for Matti 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks dear..appreciate it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang bilis nila lumaki. Mga pamangkin ko, mas matangkad na sa akin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha abunda ata sila sa cherifer sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The most important of all that you say is that you instill solid values in your baby, and above all the love of God. Enjoy every stage of his growth. Don't accelerate those processes in your thinking, because that is not healthy. You are loving parents. and you have a healthy and beautiful baby.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank yoi dear..truly appreciate your comment and i am noting this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I dont know how motherhood is, but I did watch and somewhat raise my niece, It truly was an amazing experience!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's greay ..anyond is Capable of loving and taking care of a baby...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are a very caring and considerate mother. It's nice to enjoy & watch your child play. No worries the child inturn will be a confident one in future

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap ng tawa ni Matti hehe. Parang kelan lang no? Bilis ng panahon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate sis.. Parang ang bilis bilis nila lumaki.. Parang kahapon lang karga karga sila at ang alam lang nila gawin ay dumede umiyak at matulog.. Tapos biglang isang araw gumagapang na tapos magklalakad na..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We are all nasasabik sa first word na babanggitin ni baby. . .I don't have child but I saw my niece growing, you must cherish every moment, every single words, every single day, may nakapagsabi na enjoyin lang ang bawat stage kasi ang mga baby, soon lalaki sila at mamimiss natin pagkababy nila. . Hehe. So I'm very happy looking at your child na masaya sya at masaya kayo. . . Very active din sya, ang cute.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't relate that much since wala pa akong baby. Pero I can tell na it's very fulfilling to have one. Matti is a ball of sunshine 😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hehethank you dear.. it is indeed a fulfilling one..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ka relate jud ko sa akoang mga anak pud. Karun dili nata kabuot unsa ila ganahan e suot Kay naa napud sila ilang favorite. Cherish every moment, because tomorrow they will have their own decisions. Haayst makamingaw Raba jud ilang pagka baby. As much as possible, I record those moments and their milestones.. karun Mao na ako tan awon pirme, maka gigil mag watch sa ilang videos sa baby pa sila. Thank you for this, worth reading and I enjoy it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ng mga anak pud. Karun dili nata kabuot unsa ila ganahan e suot Kay naa napud sila ilang favorite. Cherish every moment, because tomorrow they will have their own decisions. Haayst makamingaw Raba jud ilang pagka baby. As much as possible, I record those moments and their milestones.. karun Mao na ako tan awon pirme, maka gigil mag watch sa ilang videos sa baby pa sila. Thank you for this, wo

thanks momsh.. mao nakasabot nakos atong mga ginikanan... hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He is a beautiful child. Soon you will be talking to him at length. Parents always find a way to protect their children and also to let them grow up.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thanks a lot dear... soon, i am excited and concerned too... i hope I could instill to him good values

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cute nya :) Thanks for sharing, Jean. It's like we are there with you and Matti. I'm genuinely happy reading this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

aww.. i appreciate it sir..thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Blessings for you and your son. We always have that feeling of wanting to protect them even when they are older. Enjoy each stage since they grow very fast. My son is already 17.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

thank you dear.. that's what I was saying, that regardless of their age, we would always want to protect them from harm ..thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to this sis, both of my two boys super hands on ako. It’s a great feeling to witness every milestones they reached. Treasure every second of it, di mo mamalayan binata na yan😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

kaya nga sis.. hayz.. masaya na may halong konting lungkot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akong anak laki basta naa ang papa Kay kusog kaayo mamarayeg. Attention seeker sa papa. Mag tantrum ra ni kadiyot pero maulian rapod balik sa iyang toys. Mo tan aw sa iyang fave cartoon sa YouTube kadiyot ra. Maayo di kaayo mag dugay sa screen. Excited ko permi sa iyang milestones ug ma amaze ko permi nga paspas kaayo ang tubo sa bata. Murag ako ra ang mama di moingon don’t grow up too fast. 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha feeling btaw nako mingawon ko maau in ani pa sya kadaku.. mingaw na gani kau tong baby pa sya...hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mag sige ko share Sa fb memories pod kay super cute. Matod pa sa akong bana grabeh kaayo akong baby blues samot na ron nay bag ong bata. Grabeh manggigil jud ko. Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww! He's indeed growing up fast. He's already walking! But that is the nature of the universe, something we can't control. I believe he's growing gracefully :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

indeed sis we can't control...awwwwww

$ 0.00
2 years ago