Sunset at Mt. Tapyas, Coron, Palawan

15 50
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

After writing about the Slam Book article, I lost track of what I should be writing next and since I can't find the inspiration to write on certain topics, I decided to go back to the year 2017 we traveled to Coron.

I will instead be sharing pictures and add details to it as this blog progresses because travel articles must have photographs!

Disclaimer: All images are owned by yours truly.

My sister-in-law, my brother at the back, and my husband taking a photo of the plane.

As you might have read on my previous travel blogs, in the majority of our trips, we acquire airline tickets through seat sales and this trip too. I have my email notifications on to make sure that I would know if such an airline is having a seat sale. We traveled to Busuanga via Philippine Airlines.

Safely landed!

It was a four-day three nights trip, from Cebu City, we flew to Francisco Reyes Airport in Busuanga. Then we were picked up by a private van going to our hostel. We were the only passengers and we all felt like VIPs!

Hey hoomans, my name is Muche!

I booked an affordable backpackers room at Patrik and Tezz Guesthouse. Hotels in Coron are a bit on the expensive side tho. But backpackers inn are available and I choose one which has been rated by Tripadvisor with five stars.

We have separate fan rooms and boy, I regret getting a fan room in the summer! Good thing, we are not always in the guesthouse but it was still hot in the late afternoon. There's an unlimited supply of water, coffee, and tea too. The owner, Patrik lives in the other house at the back of the guesthouse with his dogs. There's a mini pool too which helped us cool down.

Mt. Tapyas

Sister-in-law at one of the stops going up to Mt. Tapyas

Our first activity was Mt. Tapyas in which we have to take 721 steps to reach the top. Going up was more of an exercise for us, we had to take a lot of stopovers because it was just tiring. We were advised by the local vendors to get ourselves some water because the climb would be energy demanding and it was hot as well and sure do, they were right!

Hubby and I

But the view from above was definitely breathtaking. It showcased the beauty of Coron's limestone mountains and the bay plus the sunset, we didn't regret coming!

That brown area is the town's market and Lualhati Park

This view was on the left of the peak while on the right was where the sun sets and we waited for it before going back. More people came, a lot were foreigners and all were sweaty!

Stop and rest those legs!

You can obviously see in their faces how draining this uphill climb is. There were shaded benches too which were helpful because rest was necessary!

It was pre-pandemic so everyone was out of masks but thinking about it right now, if we had to travel with our masks on, it's just so much of a hassle!

Finally, we reached the top and I forgot to mention the cross at the top and the CORON stand sign.

Sunset at Mt. Tapyas

With the use of a zoom lens, we got a shot of the perfect circle sun slowly going down to rest from this side of the earth. I would love to show here a timelapse of it but it would take so much time so I will just leave a screenshot of it:

As for the timelapse, my GoPro was able to capture a moving 180 view of it plus with our backs too! Our photography and film-making skills were still very poor at that time but the view deserves to be recorded, I have to have remembrances and souvenirs that we had at some point made it here.

Everyone was just chilling at the top, it was windy up there and the heat of the sun had somehow lost its strength so we were just positioned in a spot where nothing could block the view.

Unfortunately, I can't embed 3speak videos so I will just leave you a link to that timelapse. Also, I already requested read.cash to support 3speak links. I usually upload my short videos there else, I do it on YouTube. The timelapse was a short one so I have it uploaded in 3speak. Here's the link: Timelapse of Coron's Mt. Tapyas Sunset View

I still have a lot of video files during this trip that is still waiting to be edited. I am not sure if I could still edit them though, I guess I will just keep them as souvenirs to watch when I grow old.

After the sunset, we headed down, we were supposed to go to a hot spring and everyone in the mountain was talking about going there. It was already dark and we were hungry. Thinking of all these people going to the same spot discouraged us to pursue it so we just headed to a nearby eatery and had dinner.

By the way, Coron is expensive in terms of food. The prices of meals here start at Php 150 which for us budget travelers, is too much.

That's all for today. I will share more of our Coron trip in the next blogs!


Check out other related travel topics:


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.


11
$ 7.44
$ 6.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
+ 10
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Napakaganda. Though I don't think I can do that. I have asthma, and I might be catching my breath halfway.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh.. pwede naman hinay hinay lang sir pero mahaba habang lakaran kasi noh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We climbed that nonstop, me and my partner. It was a few minutes before it got dark when we reached the top. It was lovely!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yay..that's great!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The climb surely is all worth it with that view from the top! While reading my mind went like, "I wish there was a road going up" because I know I couldn't take that much walk and enjoy it too. One thing is for sure sis, you have much to look back to and smile about when you grow old :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The sunset view is breathtakingly amazing sis. Thank you sa mga beautiful tours sis. Kahit nasa bahay lang, para na rin akong nakapaglibot sa Pinas.😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow that's indeed a wonderful view! Don't worry I'm sure you have plenty of other travels so you won't run out of topic! Hehe. Also you know we have a lot of writing prompts here. Hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahh, salamat sa tour madams, I wish mapuntahan ko na din yan soon. For now ipon muna huehue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ipon ipon muna ng bch madam hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had a good a trip I must confess

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hanggang virtual travel muna tau dahil sa banta ni delta.. it's good you have all the wonderful photographs we could get our eyes to watch.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your travel blogs. It makes me want to visit the Philippines. And that sunset you captured is simply breathtaking!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Traveling is such a nice thing to do. Getting to know places and learning about their gastronomy has always been important to me. They are beautiful photos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One day mapuntahan ko rin ang Coron at Palawan, yan nga sabi nila ang mahal daw gumala dun pero pag gusto magagawan ng paraan yan heheh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best getaway is with family 👪.. Ang ganda ng lugar, yun mga views pati sunset 🌇 ganda ng moment

$ 0.00
2 years ago