Saturday Well Spent with Kids

24 42
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

And just like that, the weekend had once again said goodbye. Time is just so fast I sometimes think it has something important to do, lol! This made me afraid I might just wake up one day with white hairs in my head and my baby walking down the aisle for his wedding day. Oh! I badly want to slow down time!

Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Thank lovies!

What happened during your weekend? I had received some news about the huge fire in Cebu City. A lot of my friends' houses were almost taken by the fire. One friend said there was only one strip of houses and then theirs will be next, praise God the fire was contained before it reaches their home.

I am saddened by this and I hope that there are help coming their way. If you search Punta Princesa sunog on Facebook, you'll find some drone shots of the remains of that fire and it breaks my heart!

Oh aside from that, there were news of some 20 year old jumping off a mall in Cebu too!

Tsk, tsk, tsk, there are just so many bad things happening around. A lot of us are afraid and scared for our properties and even our lives. On Saturday, I was reminded of the very simple principle in life - be a child.

Through the eyes of these kids at Cabugan, I once again found life's simple things - pure happiness through dancing and singing. It brought me to those times when I was also still a young girl living in a simple town. When my mind was still innocent and when all I could think of was play.

I am glad to see no gadgets during this event, I believe that these children are the easist to please and with no electronics on hand, they got their eyes and ears all focused on who's talking in front.

This was a feeding program initiated by our church's Ladies Servants in Christ, my mother is part of the team and I am supposed to be part too but this was my first time to join their activity. I look forward to joining the next events as I enjoyed it so much.

Pastor Pedot led the opening prayer and also some of the first songs and just look at how happy these kids were in the above photo.

It was Ate Bjai who also taught them some new songs, each kid was very interested to learn the new songs and since they are action songs, the kids were able to pick up the songs right away.

My favorite though was the Everybody, Everywhere. It's just cute to see these kids dancing and singing altogether. The average age though was seven years old so most of them can read the lyrics written on the manila paper.

Then the story came next, it was Ate Pie's turn to speak and teach the kids a summary of the story of the Bible. She focused on the "way" to heaven. It is in the Bible that Jesus said, He is the way, the truth, and the life, no one comes to the Father except through Him.

The kids also did a memory verse and even in the memory verse, there's also action so it was easy to memorize it.

But one of my favorite parts too was when they used a paper and made some origami. I thought they were making a paper plane. Each fold represents certain things in our lives which we though could give us happiness. But most of these things will disappoint us and so the kids were instructed to tear some parts of the origami and as soon as they were all done, they unfolded the paper. Most of them were really surprised to get a cross.

I enjoyed photographing these kids! Their pure reactions and innocent smiles just make me happy!

Since this was a feeding program, after the kids were done with the activity, they were served with a cup of warm binignit. It's glutinous rice with some nutritious ingredients such as banana, sweet potatoes, et. A thanksgiving prayer was done first before it was served.

They all enjoyed the food served and were really grateful!

We had a photo opportunity with the kids although some of them went home already after eating, still a majority were left at the venue.

It was such a blessing to be able to document this, there were more photos and videos which I still have to edit and compile. I am really behind all the editing and the files are still in my drive.

Thank you for reading! Do check my previous articles here:


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

14
$ 1.64
$ 1.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @mommykim
+ 7
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Comments

makita jud nimo sa mga bata ang pure joy ba..this is what i love about community outreach and feeding

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes momsh.. tinuod na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awnnnnn...the kids look so pretty and innocent. I love spending time around children cos their happiness always rub off.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

indeed dear... thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely love the kid praying. He is praying in earnest. It's great that you are able to do this again, sharing your blessings to others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ve the kid praying. He is praying in earnest. It's great that you are able to do this again, sharing yo

praise God sir.. sana marami pang susunod

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow!😲👏 Sa pagkakaalala ko, the last time na na-experience ko to is nun pang college pa ako. Kakatuwa nilang tingnan sis oh. Kitang-kita yung saya nila sa ginawa niyong activity intended for them talaga. More activities like this to come to you and your team. For sure, madami pa kayong mapapasaya at matutulungan na din. God bless you! 😇

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nilang tingnan sis oh. Kitang-kita yung saya nila sa ginawa niyong activity intended for them talaga. More activities like this to come to you and your team. For sure, madami pa kayong mapapasaya at matutulungan na

Praise God sis.. masaya ako to be part of it.. Glory to God!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. I miss being part of this kind of activity maamsh. We used to do this before pandemic. I was also used to be one of these kids.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ng part of this kind of activity maamsh. We used to do this before pandemic. I was also used to be one of these kid

aww... i hope you can do that again soon sis...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kanindot pud ug naay mga ing ana sa mga lugar nga needed ug guidance ang mga anak ilabina ilang mga parents ky sige lang ug away sis para pud malamdagan ang mga huna2x sa mga bata ba

$ 0.00
1 year ago

tinuod sis.. happy sad sila kay daghang bata didto... nag enjoy ug nabusog jd sila...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nalingaw jud ky puro mga bata usually

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakatuwa sis. I'm happy that your heart is full by helping other people. I remember nung sumama ako sa ganyan, I can't help too feel sad but at the same time nakakataba ng puso

$ 0.00
1 year ago

can't help too feel sad b

true momsh... am happy and i hope to join more in the future...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that is an amazing work for the Lord ate. maganda na natuturuan ang mga bata ng Salita ng Lord. mapag patuloy pa po ang inyong magandag adhikain ate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glory to God alone dear...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God bless ma'am jean. 😇 Ang saya lang tingnan yung mga kids sa pictures. Naalala ko yung mga experience ko noon na hindi pa masyado nakatuon sa gadgets yung mga kabataan ma'am jean.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oo nga sis eh.. masaya ako at di ko nakita ang cellphones that day...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo ma'am jean. Makamingaw ang mga panahon gayud na dili pa uso ang mga gadgets.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God bless you, you're all good hearted stewards of God. May you receive so much blessings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thank you teacher jen!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glory to God! I missed this, we have like this last time, the good news classes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thanks sis..indeed to God be the glory!

$ 0.00
1 year ago