Suggested Reading 8

15 529
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

In this series, I assume the role of a reader instead of a writer, discussing articles by other writers... things I recommend.

In this edition of Suggested Reading, we begin with Meta, mega and mastery, all the good words in crypto start with M lately (weekly crypto updates), which is a compilation of some recent crypto news, written by @H3ruvim78. Not all-encompassing, but definitely worth the while to read.

Then a warning from @TruSuccessXpert: Sam Altman's Worldcoin Wants Your Eyes, Beware! The warning is about allowing anyone to scan your retina, but it really goes for all biometric information used for identification. This article is a must read for those of you who values privacy. In spite of too long paragraphs, which makes the text look massive for readers not used to heavy texts, it is well written and expresses the main idea clearly. According to the information provided, it is an article by “Predictable Future“, posted, with due permission, by @TruSuccessXpert.

An article by relatively new member @Debesh: Fiat Versus Cryptocurrencies. This is not a deep or advanced comparison, but it is clear and definitely useful for those not yet grasping what cryptocurrency is.

Those who know me, know that I would never touch Facebook, not even with a pair of tongs. However, a lot of people do, and many of them are naive as to its consequences for their privacy. I recommend you read Facebook is tracking your activities! by @Success.1.

Speaking about Facebook, take a look at their new project, Meta. @Amoryarte explains Meta and Metaverse in Facebook's New Brand, 'Meta', Launches Them Into The Metaverse.

The history of currency is related in three articles by @ChrissCrypto. The material is over 8 months old, but well worth reading. In a concise way, it covers most aspects of the topic:

History of Currency - Introduction

History of Currency - Part 1/2

History of Currency - Part 2/2

@aniruddhasen recently posted The low and middle class mindset programming , which is one of the best articles the recent week. He also posted another article, Evolutionary defects in human body, which ought to be read by everyone who believes evolution to evolve perfect organisms.

Who are the Anti-vaxxers? wonders @n00b in a recent post.

@Gemstone discusses an interesting philosophical question: Treating Ideas As Psychic Entities. It makes me think of Ludwig von Mises and what he wrote in his “Theory and History”:

"Thoughts and ideas are not phantoms, they are real things. Although intangible and immaterial, they are factors in bringing about changes in the realm of tangible and material things."

@Olawale4967 has written a good series in 3 parts:

Essential Life Lessons Everyone Should Learn Early on in Life[Part 1]

Essential Life Lesson Everyone Should Learn Early on in Life[Part 2]

Essential Life Lessons Everyone Should Learn Early on in Life[part 3]

@Pearlkel published 2 interesting posts the last few days:

Place Of The Talking Drum, which reflects an expression of African culture: the talking drum.

Silence Is Golden, where the title is self-explanatory – and I certainly agree with what the author states there.

@Blogika claims that Natural beauty is the foundation of a happy relationship. It is really refreshing to see someone who marks her distance to the artificial ideals which are so dominating in contemporary society. But it's not only a statement of opinion, she presents a consistent basis for her opinion(s).

In The Strength of Being an Outsider (by choice), I have previously written about how I am lacking herd mentality, so I also like what @remona says in Stepping outside the Crowd - Okay or not? | Sharing my life story as an example. She found strength in stepping out of the crowd, as she expresses it.

You’re So Old! Must Be Time for You to Die. (An Opinion Piece) by @cmoneyspinner might trigger some self-reflection.

@daffaputra writes about the cobra effect in Dangerous Cobras. (No, it is not primarily about snakes!)

In Mirror: A portal to the other world, @Argent writes about mirrors as a portal to another world. It is fascinating with the many aspects of mirrors in human culture, just think of Snow White or how vampires are said to be without reflection in a mirror. A long time ago I published Magic Mirror on the Wall, where I discussed many aspects of mirrors, however not directly in the way @Argent brings up this subject in her article.

What does a mirror look at?”

(Frank Herbert, Chapterhouse: Dune)

The quotation is from the 6th book in Frank Herbert's epic about “Dune”, and it serves as a bridge from mirrors to the next subject.

@nomadghada reviews the movie Dune (2021) in Dune (2021) is the best adaption ever. I will not discuss any version of Dune more here, I have expressed my opinion about the book series before.

Another review, this time of a book, comes from @Librarian; he discusses King's Cujo by Stephen King: King's Cujo.

In another post, the same author is Presenting Alfred Hitchcock Presents, a unique series with a unique personality – the Grand Old Master of horror and suspense movies.

Dune is science fiction, so this a couple of months old article can be suitable: The History of Science Fiction by @NakamotoBch. The same author also wrote 5 Sci-Fi Books Made Into Movies Worth Seeing.

@Infinity writes about ta book: The illustrated devil. I had never heard about this book before, and since I am interested in books, I found this being an interesting article.

Rainbow Lover is a post, in which @ErdoV praises reading and how extensive reading develops certain abilities in the reader. I think @ErdoV is right, reading expands the mind in many ways.

Finally 2 articles about history:

The thousand-year history of the pen by @ilias. It's quite well summing up the history of the pen, even if some years have become wrong in the text. The post is 11 months old, and the author has not logged in for a month.

The second history article, on the other hand, is the first post of an entirely new member: Romanian Historical Sites: Neamț Citadel by @seba77.

Read the whole series, ”Suggested Reading” and my series “Retrospection”.

Copyright © 2021 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

You find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic, here.

My 5 most recent articles:

Iodine, Molybdenum, Zinc, Copper, & Manganese

Selenium & Chromium: Important for Your Health

Suggested Reading 7

Old Language & Distorted Text

Animals' Sense of Smell


24
$ 36.35
$ 34.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.05 from @nomadghada
$ 0.10 from @ChrissCrypto
+ 13
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

Comments

hi, thank you very much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the mention of my article. Much appreciated. I bookmarked this article because it's going to take me a while to check out your recommendations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you once again for this wonderful article @Mictorrani. I am happy of course because you mention my articles but also because I don't have time to read everything and as such, you help me get suggestions to the best authors. And it is interesting to read your comments about what you wrote before (such as your take on Dune) and what others are saying across the space. Thanks again! Looking forward for more!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words, you are most welcome. I am very glad to hear about how my article is useful for you. Especially since this series is different from my ordinary articles and started to some extent as an experiment. It was never in my mind to really make it a series, but the positive reception made me continue... and so it evolved as an open-ended series.

I'm also glad to be able to give more attention to good material here, which otherwise threatens to disappear in the sheer amount of posts.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for another edition with great recommendation and also for mentioning me 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the mention my friend. Im glad you like it 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your nice comments

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, thank you for taking the time to read my articles and for putting them forward :)

I think it's essential that to understand cryptocurrencies, it's important to understand what 'money' is

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, of course. And I like he way you treated the subject. Moreover, I want to bring attention to some good older material here; it so easily disappears for ever in the steady stream of new posts.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, of course. And I like he way you treated the subject. Moreover, I want to bring attention to some good older material here; it so easily disappears for ever in the steady stream of new posts.

Thank you very much for your support

Like many sites of this kind, too many articles are posted and too many have a few lines, and no research work

We have to accept that, otherwise nothing good will be posted, many times I almost pervert my work and post random, but for my personal respect I don't do that, I prefer to continue doing what I do, I do it mostly for me, and then for the few people who will have the chance to browse my work :)

Thanks a lot

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow this is huge...you really did a good job compiling all this together. Thank you putting me in part of this project.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I think you deserve to be here. I judge only from what I think is good - which of course is subjective. That's unavoidable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir, thank you for believing in me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I appreciate the mention.

I am a cybersecurity researcher and solution architect for digital identity & password security.

I connect with like-minded people on LinkedIn, Twitter, and Odysee-dot-Com: https://www.linkedin.com/in/debeshchoudhury/ https://twitter.com/debeshchoudhury https://odysee.com/$/invite/@debesh.choudhury:d

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. This is a big task you took here. Compilation of all these great works make this a great read. I am indeed grateful for the mention. I hope to being more quality work here.

$ 0.01
2 years ago