Stepping outside the Crowd - Okay or not? | Sharing my life story as an example.

2 83
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

It took me a while to understand what made me step back and take a closer look at my life. And when I did that, I became a different person.

Image Source

My childhood was not easy. Nope, financially we were fine. But deep inside I always felt something is missing. Maybe it's because I grew up without the firsthand care of my parents. They were both busy taking care of life, finance, and other things. Both of them were government jobholders. My maternal grandma and my aunt brought me up. I grew up with my other cousins but there was a missing puzzle, the name of the puzzle is LOVE!

Just like any other middle-class kid, I grew up, had my college education done, went to the university, fall in love, had thousands of dreams about life. I never thought deeply about where I'm going. I had the average dream everyone has, the life everyone lives. I had a lot of friends, I was building my career, and so on.

But then...

I lost my Father, the most precious person in my life. It was 11 years ago but still feels like yesterday.

This one thing made me rethink, where I'm going, what purpose I'm serving, what's the meaning of everything I'm doing, what value in adding.

And I found a big black hole, there was no answer for anything.

It was before I got married. So I thought to make a fresh start. And I believe, it worked. I became a person I never thought I would be.

Image Source

The crowd around us doesn't let us think, we flow with it, we believe in the crowd. But there's a whole different world outside the crowd. Maybe you wouldn't feel it until you feel like you are choking. It was a different feeling, I felt like I was alone in the crowd, I couldn't breathe, I felt uncomfortable being around the crowd.

I took a break. And see what, I became a different person. My value, purpose of life; everything changed. And it changed for the better.

Why I'm telling my life story?

So that if you ever feel you are choking, don't dig yourself in the crowd anymore. Take a step back and see life. It will become a lot of meaning in other ways, in a better way...

3
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of remona
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for remona
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

It requires a special person to leave the herd (you call it crowd) and not being a follower. I have discussed this in my article https://read.cash/@Mictorrani/the-strength-of-being-an-outsider-by-choice-0afbebe4

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree with you. Breaking the tie with a certain state is tough. But if we talk about freedom and choice, then we must take a step. Thanks for sharing your article, it was a good read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago