Deal With Your Stress Accordingly

4 28
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

My class in Stress and Conflict Management formally ended a few days ago, and we were asked to share our takeaways from the subject. I love the timing of the subject in the curriculum - it has to be taken in your final trimester of schooling. If not for the pandemic, we could have gone somewhere for a mini-retreat just to relax, but due to COVID restrictions, we're stuck on our computer screens. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

I am interested in the subject because this is the content of my book proposal with a local publisher. So I made sure I get the most out of what's being discussed every week. And for three months of gleaning insights from our teacher, here are some of my takeaways:

We deal with stress differently

We are stressed when we feel overburdened with emotions that cause us not to respond and perform normally. Symptoms of stress vary from person to person, but usually, it involves headache, anxiety or nervousness, overwhelming sadness or anger, tense feeling, and sometimes inability to breathe normally. Some stressed people even feel the urge to eat excessively or the opposite - lack of appetite. Some even feel tired and exhausted even with minimal activity. Even more, some feel physical body pain, upset stomach, and even weight loss (or gain). However, under normal circumstances, stressed people are emotionally overwhelmed people.

How we can minimize its effects

First, accept your limitations. It helps in reducing stress because you are shutting down in advance things that might cause you to feel overwhelmed. When you know you can't handle a specific task, you will not accept it in the first place. You will know when to say no, and when to say yes. You will not overcommit yourself and spare your mind and body from physical exhaustion. There's nothing wrong with setting boundaries to limit what you can and willing to do. It is proactively helping yourself not to be overburdened. 

Second, try to fortify your mindset. Stress and attitude, or mental fortitude are directly proportional. People vary in their capacity to handle stress, and it is often due to their mental fortitude. Some people are naturally pessimistic, hence they tend to be more stressed than their optimistic counterparts. Negative thinkers are often overreacting, and overburdened. They see the problem as bigger than it is. However, positive thinkers see hope even in their problems. They do not magnify their problems. Hence, they handle their problems very well. They are the last person to get stressed. Our attitude determines our capacity to handle stressful situations. 

Third, identify your stressors. If you know what irks you, what triggers you, you will know what to do with them - be it people, situation, or even a specific place. It's like winning half the battle already. You can prepare yourself whether to avoid them, cope or yield with your stressor, or try to reduce the effects of that stressful situation. Stressors are just lurking around us, waiting to get the best from us, but if we know them well, we can deal with them accordingly. 

Final Thoughts

I have written an article "What to Do When Stress Overwhelms You" and there I shared what I usually do when I can no longer take the pressure. I vent out, I let the steam out so I can function normally again and unload my emotional burdens. We can not totally eliminate stress. But we can minimize its effects.

Read my other BCH-related blogs:


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock!

3
$ 6.61
$ 6.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
$ 0.01 from @kingofreview
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Lahat tayo dumadanas talaga nang stress sa skwela man, sa trabaho, kahit sa bahay, at personal issues. Stress talaga common na nagiging sanhi nang mga problema. But, it turns out, we are the ones who knows how to deal our own stress. We are the ones should know when to stop it. Tama ka, hindi talaga totally mawawala ang stress, at pagmi-minimize lang dun, kumbaga prevention.😊

Thank you for sharing this to us😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat din sa pagbabasa! Totoo daming sources ng stress, kaliwa't kanan. Basta kung kayang wag magpaanod sa stress, huwag hehe :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm often get stressed every single day and I'm easily to get tired, and I think it's because I can't easily adapt the new normal. Medyo napapagod ako kasi kailangan ko sila pagsabayin at kapag nagmomodule ako, madalas may mga terms ako na di ko magets most likely sa fundamentals of abm at statistics and probability kasi walang nagtuturo😭😭😭😭😭. Ngayon, di ko alam kung tama ba desisyon ko, pinipilit ko lang talaga isiksik sarili ko ngayong pandemic. Naiinggit po ako sa mga kaklase kong online class or nanonood ng live kasi may teacher na maggaguide sa kanila. In addition, yung mga activities ko na nalaktawan tapos wala raw akong ipinasa. Madalas naiinis ako kasi lalong napapatungan oras ko. No sense yung time management kasi kung di mo magets lesson, no choice ka kundi habaan oras mo. Sorry po Sir sa napakahabang comment. Admit ko na lang na di ako kagalingan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

totoo naman na mahirap talaga ang new normal classes. kahit ako siguro mahihirapan kung sakaling ako ang nasa sitwasyon mo. mahirap din talaga ang accounting subjects lalo kung walang teacher na naggu-guide, kaya hindi mo need mag-sorry at lalong di mo need isipin na hindi ka kagalingan. sabihin na lang natin na naipit lang tayo sa sitwasyon. for sure iba ang magiging story kapag nasa dating scenario pa rin tayo. :) kaya mo yan, laban lang!

$ 0.00
2 years ago