What To Do When Stress Overwhelms You

4 55
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

After long, grueling hours of staring at the computer screen, absorbing all the radiation and strain I can absorb, my head finally says “I’m tired”. It throbs as if it is telling me to “get a life outside your office”. I already have had enough stress for today due to seemingly endless bank reconciliations and financial reports. Indeed, if accounting is the language of business, it does speak harshly against me.

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

If only I have the luxury of time (and resources), I would like to spend quality time traveling around places I have never been. I want to treat my eyes with the pleasure of gazing into sights other than those that can be seen inside the office. I want to be pampered by fresh air, not just by the coolness of the air conditioner.

But until now, all I can do is dream, especially since the pandemic is still around. And until all the work is finished, I have to endure the sights and the stress I used to deal with every day. These are the very things that I know I cannot live apart with, not until I am led to other work, other duties to do.

Good thing, writing my thoughts give me instant relief, knowing that in one way or another, someone will be able to relate to my plight.

What are the things we can do when we feel the stress and strain because of our daily activities? Let me share some ideas:

Writing your thoughts

As I have mentioned, writing has been very beneficial to me especially when I want to relax my mind. I have written two articles on my blog regarding journaling. 

The Benefits of Journaling and Writing Things Down

Useful Reasons For You to Begin Journaling Now

In brief, writing can be therapeutic. It focuses my mind and relaxes my thoughts. I write my rants, my complaints, my dreams, and wishes, practically anything that I can not speak aloud. It has the same effect as doodling for our visually artistic friends.

Biking

Whenever I have the chance, I go around biking. I have written how bike-friendly our city is in one of my earliest blogs here in read.cash. 

A Walkable City is a Healthy City

Whenever I go on bikes, whether solo or with friends, I have the privilege of seeing sights that relaxes my eyes. It also exercises my body, reinvigorates my breathing, and relaxes my muscles. My line of work requires me to sit around idly the whole afternoon so occasional biking hours are a welcome break from my routine. 

Buying (and Reading) Books

Books are best friends. People who know me personally are well aware that I love books. Though lately, I am struggling with my schedule to read my pile of books, still nothing can stop me from buying books (and hopefully reading them all soon). There's a Japanese term for this: Tsundoku - is acquiring reading materials but letting them pile up in one's home without reading them. It is also used to refer to books ready for reading later when they are on a bookshelf. The term originated in the Meiji era (1868–1912) as Japanese slang. 

Sleep

No one can underestimate the benefits of complete and healthy sleep. The phrase "sleep is for the weak" is a big NO. I have mentioned this in my previous post, Study Hacks to Apply On Your Next Review Session, and I'll say it again: sleep plays an important role in our well-being. It is necessary. So when stress overwhelms you, seize the moment to sleep! You'll function better after. You will feel energized, ready for another set of challenges. 

Are you experiencing stress right now? What other tips could you add to this list? Share your thoughts below. 


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock!


7
$ 15.68
$ 15.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.10 from @lerkfrend
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I agree. Most especially with writing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes the reason why I am getting stress is because of my endless thoughts espescially at night and I really hate it, to be honest life was very happy when there's no pandemic yet..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True! This pandemic caused us much anxiety and limited movements. May this pandemic end very soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah but I don't think it will be soon because I heard there are three types of Covid variants and some might not work with the effect of vaccine..Seems like COVID is unstoppable :((

$ 0.00
3 years ago